View Full Version : Songs played on the radio that make you want to rip someone's head off
16/04/2007, 12:51 PM
These are the songs that live in your head. You cant get them out. You want to so badly. so you reach for the chainsaw towards the radio....
heres a few of my most annoying songs currently floating about.
Natasha Bedingfield - I Wanna Have Your Babies.
Natalie’s fella. RUN!!!!!!!!!!!
Avril Lavigne - Girlfriend:
Not only does it sound like Toni Basil’s Hey Mickey. It somehow beats it in terms of please someone shut that screaming wench up.
Mika - Love Today:
Oh God, please make that Scissor Sisters wannabe stop.
Mark Ronson - Stop Me:
Sacrilege. A fine Smiths song ruined.
And radio stations play this kind of guff endlessly. why!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:
16/04/2007, 2:56 PM
Hey, i got my new shoes on . . . . . . .
16/04/2007, 2:57 PM
Hey, i got my new shoes on . . . . . . .
Paolo Nutini. Him too. :mad:
dcfc_1928
16/04/2007, 2:59 PM
Any song by Lily Allen............
citizenerased
16/04/2007, 3:02 PM
agree with the avril lavigne one pure balls, infuriating....
..Also America by Razorlight,
16/04/2007, 3:03 PM
Thats what im talking about. Do you ever reckon there's mutiny with radio station DJs cos they're sick of playing the same old sh!te?
16/04/2007, 3:29 PM
That Mark Ronson deserves to be kicked to an inch of his life ...and then shoved off a cliff.
I have a general revulsion toward so called R&B but that one with the Stranglers sample is nauseating.
For cringe inducing annoyingness and "I have to yank the radio out of the wall/dash right now" factor that knacker dance track with a chorus that goes "Feeeeeeeeeel the love generation" one takes some beating as well.
The vocal -which might only be a sample anyway -is uniformly flat throughout on top of the bog standard backing-track. Disgusting record.
16/04/2007, 3:49 PM
Mika's Grace Kelly annoys the hell outta me. It's been played to death, on top of that it's not even that good.
NavanBohs
16/04/2007, 9:46 PM
About 99.9% of songs playes on the radio drive me nuts, and I hae to work right beside a radio that I have no control over :mad:
16/04/2007, 9:58 PM
About 99.9% of songs playes on the radio drive me nuts, and I hae to work right beside a radio that I have no control over :mad:
Me too man. Out of all the stations ive listened to over here, XFM seems to be the only one playing decent music. Lumped with Capital Radio which is godawful. And even any decent songs get played to death, so i hate them in the end anyway. Actually what is it with 'producers turned pop stars'. Bloody Mark Ronson's at it, come on its an album of covers, sung differently by other people, how good can that be. And now Timbaland no. 1 in the charts. Jaysus stick to the producing!!!
NavanBohs
16/04/2007, 10:03 PM
Well I'll sum it all up by saying that most of the time it's the country station 106.8 thats on...Christ its such a relief to get on the bus after and just blare the earphones!
In conclusion, radio sucks...
Jamjar
16/04/2007, 10:03 PM
Are you a toaster ?
16/04/2007, 10:11 PM
Are you a toaster ?
:D :D :D
NavanBohs
16/04/2007, 10:12 PM
Are you a toaster ?
pfft...:D
17/04/2007, 7:45 AM
Calvin Harris 'Acceptable in the 80's' is another being played too much on radio. he's apparantly a producer to Kylie Minogue or something. What is it with producers and wanting to be pop stars. stop it!!!! :mad:
17/04/2007, 8:13 AM
Calvin Harris 'Acceptable in the 80's' is another being played too much on radio. he's apparantly a producer to Kylie Minogue or something. What is it with producers and wanting to be pop stars. stop it!!!! :mad:
i think thats quite a good song actually
17/04/2007, 9:36 AM
i think thats quite a good song actually
its not so much bad, its just way too overplayed though. That said radio can sometimes introduce you to acts you never thought you'd think they were quite good. Amy Winehouse's singles have been playing a lot, and i have to say, not bad at all.
17/04/2007, 9:41 AM
Will Young:Think I better leave
James Blunt: You're beautiful= dive on the off/change station button.
17/04/2007, 10:55 AM
Sweet Escape by Gwen Stefani is bugging me right now too. Again its not the worst, but stop playing it! We've all heard it now. Does every radio station over here share the same playlist or what?
CraftyToePoke
19/04/2007, 11:02 AM
Are you a toaster ?
genius, POTM:D :D
im laughing out loud.
Wolfie
19/04/2007, 12:50 PM
Are you a toaster ?
Nice one. :D
The posting equivalent of chipping the keeper from the half way line........:cool:
Eoingull
20/04/2007, 11:47 PM
I've always hated that "Time of my Life" song from Dirty Dancing...and "Walking on Sunshine"...
Paddyfield
27/04/2007, 9:24 PM
"We built this city on rock & roll" by Starship.
Irritating music combined with brain-rotting lyrics. The singers sound as if their nuts have beeb numbed by a sledge hammer.
This song is what is wrong with 2FM daytime radio.
Neish
27/04/2007, 10:41 PM
Ruby - Kaiser Chiefs
Crazy Frog - Axel F
Lonely-Akon
500 Miles -The Proclaimers
Who Let the Dogs Out - Baha Men
and anything by Celine Dion
31/07/2007, 10:01 PM
YnbBVWDtYm0
Big Girls Don't Cry.
And I'm going to miss you like a child misses their blanket . . . . .
Cringey McCringerson
DaveyCakes
31/07/2007, 10:19 PM
I never listen to the radio, so I don't have this problem.
01/08/2007, 9:57 AM
Theres a really bad one at the moment that gets played on the radio at work a lot but i dont know who it is. Its like a novelty/R&B one with a weird vocoder voice with the chorus containing 'suicidal'. who is it by? Also 'Umbrella' by Rihanna melts my head, and is solely responsible for the weather being sh!t for the last 10 weeks it was No. 1 in the UK. Timbaland's 'The Way I Are'. Ok its not the worst, but the fecking grammar in the title! Kids these days will probably think that's the proper way to say it now.
anto1208
01/08/2007, 12:45 PM
That one its goes something like this
I like where we are
when we drive in the car
thats all i know as ive managed to hit the change station button by then .
Umbrella song
anything by Beonce , or generally anything that is now being classed as R&B
01/08/2007, 12:47 PM
That one its goes something like this
I like where we are
when we drive in the car
thats all i know as ive managed to hit the change station button by then .
Umbrella song
anything by Beonce , or generally anything that is now being classed as R&B
HelloGoodbye, Here In Your Arms. I thought it was a Daft Punk song when i heard it at first. Annoying as hell.
Mad Moose
01/08/2007, 3:34 PM
That Mark Ronson deserves to be kicked to an inch of his life ...and then shoved off a cliff.
Oh no. :mad: Bought it on sunday and I haven't been buying much music of late. Think I might well have made a really bad decision. Haven't listened to it yet and the Pidgeon Detectives are sitting with Mark Ronson and so far unheard. Oh and The Twang too.
I don't mind Mika at all and I can take it or leave it. That was until his latest release. That of 'Big Girls'. Absolute shocker and makes me cringe particularly that 'Grab yourself a big lady' line. It doesn't sound like lady but it is.
aberharp
01/08/2007, 7:39 PM
natasha bedingfield- i wanna have your babies
Sandi Thom-Punk Rocker. How many punks have you ever seen with flowers in their hair?
01/08/2007, 7:53 PM
Agree on Big Girls (You are beautiful).
Easy for a bender like him to say.
inexile
01/08/2007, 9:49 PM
Are you a toaster ?
post of the year
01/08/2007, 10:54 PM
Theres a really bad one at the moment that gets played on the radio at work a lot but i dont know who it is. Its like a novelty/R&B one with a weird vocoder voice with the chorus containing 'suicidal'. who is it by?
Sean Kingston- Beautiful Girls. Class song.;):D
jorge
01/08/2007, 11:23 PM
The new one by Fergie and Kelly Rowland .
02/08/2007, 8:27 AM
the Fooking tractor song, jcb whatever came on radio last night, hate it!!!
02/08/2007, 9:03 AM
Mark Ronson has done it again with his "imaginative reinterpretation" of Bob Dylan's Likely You'll Go Your Way (And I'll Go Mine). I'm not a Bob Dylan fan, but I'm not a mindless moron either (most of the time anyway). Being kicked to death by long toe-nailed four year olds is too good for him, even ignoring what he did to the Smiths track. All I can say is that Bob Dylan must really need the money.
Are you a toaster ?
:D:D
Sublime - post of a generation
02/08/2007, 9:52 AM
Mark Ronson has done it again with his "imaginative reinterpretation" of Bob Dylan's Likely You'll Go Your Way (And I'll Go Mine). I'm not a Bob Dylan fan, but I'm not a mindless moron either (most of the time anyway). Being kicked to death by long toe-nailed four year olds is too good for him, even ignoring what he did to the Smiths track. All I can say is that Bob Dylan must really need the money.
While I agree entirely with your sentiment in relation to Ronson there isn't a damn thing Bob Dylan or anyone else can do to stop someone releasing a cover version of a song. You just buy a licence from the MCPS and away you go.
So whether it's Ronson desecrating Dylan or if say... Gwen Stefani decided to put her patented Absolutely-nothing-going-on-here-but-a-video slant on the collected works of Sepultura -there's nowt the writer can do to stop another person releasing a cover version of a song (...except maybe break their fcuking neck which is what Ronson has coming to him)
As far as I know the only constraint put on the person doing the cover version is that they cannot add or alter lyrics (other than to delete lyrics) without the consent of the writer and publisher. They can chuck the entire melody, instrumentation and arrangment in the bin if they like.
02/08/2007, 11:32 AM
so that;s who. :mad:
02/08/2007, 12:01 PM
While I agree entirely with your sentiment in relation to Ronson there isn't a damn thing Bob Dylan or anyone else can do to stop someone releasing a cover version of a song. You just buy a licence from the MCPS and away you go.
So whether it's Ronson desecrating Dylan or if say... Gwen Stefani decided to put her patented Absolutely-nothing-going-on-here-but-a-video slant on the collected works of Sepultura -there's nowt the writer can do to stop another person releasing a cover version of a song (...except maybe break their fcuking neck which is what Ronson has coming to him)
As far as I know the only constraint put on the person doing the cover version is that they cannot add or alter lyrics (other than to delete lyrics) without the consent of the writer and publisher. They can chuck the entire melody, instrumentation and arrangment in the bin if they like.
It's worse than that - Dylan apparently gave the tool his blessing.
02/08/2007, 12:04 PM
probably the only known song in the century that has the word 'suicidal' in the chorus. Still a woeful woeful song. and its beginning to hack me off and it hasnt even been released yet. woebetide me when it does. :mad:
02/08/2007, 6:44 PM
Umbrella ella ella
03/08/2007, 8:37 AM
Havent heard any of their music but in the UK Mirror music reviews page, they come highly commended by Bono and Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody. Surely the kiss of death for any band.
couchy9
03/08/2007, 8:24 PM
Havent heard any of their music but in the UK Mirror music reviews page, they come highly commended by Bono and Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody. Surely the kiss of death for any band.
Is there actually any music you like?
i hate anything with beyonce.she has a bout 10 songs this year alone..fcuking wreck the head she is....RnB what a load of ******
04/08/2007, 9:45 AM
Mika's Grace Kelly annoys the hell outta me. It's been played to death, on top of that it's not even that good.
This Mika is an interesting fish. Not my thing at all mind, actually I don't mind Grace Kelly but the more recent one is very annoying in a Robbie Williams/Scissors Sisters hybrid way.
I do think though that there's an Indie-Kid snobbery of sorts at large and a double standard too in relation to him. He's dissed and rubbished for apeing Freddie Mercury by various publications and their adherents -who themselves hold up as "seminal" -bands who ape Joy Division (Interpol, Arcade Fire), The Clash (Libertines) and Buzzcocks (Arctic Monkeys).
swain
10/08/2007, 11:51 AM
I love music therefore I hate the radio which to me is anti-music.