View Full Version : Best 2nd Albums
Wolfie
16/04/2007, 12:46 PM
Best 2nd Albums
If you've read the Music Press reviews - the Arctic Monkeys appear to have surpassed the brilliance of their first album with the follow up (Due out 24th April).
What 2nd albums do you rate?
ForzaWexford
16/04/2007, 12:54 PM
Oasis - What's The Story Morning Glory
Radiohead - The Bends
Led Zeppilin - II
The only 3 I can think of right now. 3 class albums though, The Bends being far and away my fave.
16/04/2007, 12:57 PM
Room on Fire is underrated , Doolittle of course if you count it as a second album proper. A Rush of Blood to the Head i thought was great.
16/04/2007, 1:10 PM
Muse - Origin of Symmetry for me, i still dont think they've bettered that one, although they've come close. Some second albums remain their best, a la Coldplay.
A few more:
System of a Down: Toxicity
Supergrass: In it for the Money
Suede: Dog Man Star
Smashing Pumpkins: Siamese Dream
Nirvana: Nevermind
Foo Fighters: Colour and the Shape
16/04/2007, 1:45 PM
Pavement - Crooked Rain Crooked Rain
Blur - Modern Life is Rubbish
Love - Da Capo
David Bowie - Space Oddity
EMF - Stigma
My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
The Charlatans - Between 10th and 11th
16/04/2007, 2:01 PM
A few more...
Super Furry Animals - Radiator
Doves - The Last Broadcast
Placebo - Without you im nothing
Interpol - Antics
Chemical Brothers - Dig your own hole
citizenerased
16/04/2007, 2:12 PM
Interpol - Antics(quality)
Radiohead - (the bends)
Kings of Leon - aha shake a heartbreak
Racking my brains for more here...theres loads
16/04/2007, 2:41 PM
Eminem - The Slim Shady Album
The Prodigy - Music For The Jilted Generation
Bell X1 - Music In Mouth
Deftones - Around The Fur
Linkin Park - Meteora
Probably the only time BellX1 and Deftones would appear on a list together!
citizenerased
16/04/2007, 3:04 PM
Eminem - The Slim Shady Album
The Prodigy - Music For The Jilted Generation
Bell X1 - Music In Mouth
Deftones - Around The Fur
Linkin Park - Meteora
Probably the only time BellX1 and Deftones would appear on a list together!
Most mediocre bands imaginable
(1) Snow Patrol
(2) Bellx1
(3) Deftones
16/04/2007, 3:53 PM
Basement Jaxx - Rooty
Much better than Remedy.
Nas - It Was Written.
Altogether a better album. Much more stand up songs on it.
Ice Cube - Death Certificate
Simply brilliant.
A few great 2nd albums not mentioned yet
Cypress Hill-Black Sunday
The Libertines-The Libertines
Groove Armada- Vertigo
Tom Waits-Heart of Saturday night
NavanBohs
16/04/2007, 7:07 PM
RATM - Evil Empire
Stone Sour - Come What(ever) May
System of a Down - Toxicity
Audioslave - Out of Exile
Linkin Park - Meteora
16/04/2007, 9:47 PM
few other ones I have on my iPod
Everclear - So Much For The Afterglow
The Streets - A Grand Don't Come For Free
Jamjar
16/04/2007, 10:17 PM
Best 2nd Albums
If you've read the Music Press reviews - the Arctic Monkeys appear to have surpassed the brilliance of their first album with the follow up (Due out 24th April).
Just downloaded the Arctic monkeys yesterday (limewire, in case you're wondering), first 3 songs excellent, but haven't listened to it enough to say its better than the first, which would be some going.
Jamjar
16/04/2007, 10:23 PM
RATM - Evil Empire
Stone Sour - Come What(ever) May
System of a Down - Toxicity
Audioslave - Out of Exile
Linkin Park - Meteora
There is no way that Evil Empire was better than the first RATM album. In fact it's probably the worst one they produced. 'Bulls on parade' and 'people of the sun' were excellent songs but the rest of it was very disappointing.
NavanBohs
16/04/2007, 10:39 PM
I'd agree, no way its better than self-titled (which is my favourite of all time), still a pretty good album though. Down Rodeo and Vietnow are cracking songs. I'd say it's a lot better than Renegades (if you want to count that), but the least better of their own material.
Jamjar
16/04/2007, 10:43 PM
I'd agree, no way its better than self-titled (which is my favourite of all time), still a pretty good album though. Down Rodeo and Vietnow are cracking songs. I'd say it's a lot better than Renegades (if you want to count that), but the least better of their own material.
I'd prefer Renegades to Evil Empire.
16/04/2007, 11:06 PM
Best 2nd Albums
and they have.. the album is brilliant.. as good if not better than the first
17/04/2007, 7:03 AM
Bizarro by The Wedding Present
Ride The Lightning by Metallica
Wolfie
17/04/2007, 8:41 AM
A few not mentioned yet. I think all of those below surpassed their first:
Jimi Hendrix Experience - Axis: Bold as Love
Travis - The Man Who
Gomez - Liquid Skin
Boo Radleys - Giant Steps
17/04/2007, 9:05 AM
Boo Radleys - Giant Steps
Giant Steps was their third album but their second Album, Everything's Alright Forever was Excellent.
Their first was a bog standard indie shoegazer effort called Ichabo and I.
The Good Son
17/04/2007, 9:50 AM
Hup! - The Wonderstuff
The Clock Comes Down The Stairs - Microdisney
Metal Box - Public Image Ltd.
No.10, Upping St. - Big Audio Dynamite
Turn!Turn!Turn! - The Byrds
Tindersticks II - Tindersticks
Wolfie
17/04/2007, 12:34 PM
Giant Steps was their third album but their second Album, Everything's Alright Forever was Excellent.
Their first was a bog standard indie shoegazer effort called Ichabo and I.
Spot on, Bohs Partisan. Forgot about Ichabo. :o Pity they're not still about.
17/04/2007, 12:45 PM
Whats the Story(Morning glory)?
The Second Coming by the Stone Roses never gains the recognition it deserves mainly because everyone was expecting something closer to their debut.
17/04/2007, 1:32 PM
one or two others..
Nine Inch Nails - Downward Spiral
Beck - Odelay
Wolfie
17/04/2007, 4:22 PM
Gorillaz - Demon Days
I'd prefer Renegades to Evil Empire.
Battle of LA is better than Evil empire too.
17/04/2007, 4:50 PM
Oasis- What's The Story (Morning Glory)
The Streets- A Grand Don't Come For Free
The Killers- Sam's Town
Usher- Confessions
Eminem- The Real Slim Shady
Coldplay- A Rush of Blood to the Head
Arcade Fire- Neon Bible
superbohs
17/04/2007, 5:57 PM
does transformer by lou reed count? It was his 2nd solo effort but he had done a couple with the velvets before that?
If not then white light white heat by the velvets deserves a mention!
Eoingull
17/04/2007, 9:27 PM
"Magic and Medicine" by The Coral..."Wild Wood" by Paul Weller, but that would be a very loose description of a second album!
18/04/2007, 7:47 AM
Has anyone mentioned Nirvana 'In Utero'? very overlooked album, I reckon. Was 'Screamadelica' Primal Scream's second album? Queens of the Stone Age, 'Rated R; too
18/04/2007, 8:30 AM
Has anyone mentioned Nirvana 'In Utero'?
No because it was their third full studio album after bleach and nevermind.
Wolfie
18/04/2007, 8:33 AM
Has anyone mentioned Nirvana 'In Utero'? very overlooked album, I reckon. Was 'Screamadelica' Primal Scream's second album? Queens of the Stone Age, 'Rated R; too
Screamadelica was Primal Scream's third album.
Sonic Flower Groove - 1987
Primal Scream - 1989
Screamadelica - 1991
18/04/2007, 9:04 AM
wrong on both Primal Scream and Nirvana. Ill shut up now....
Well 'Sonic Flower Groove' was very much different to the Scream we know and love and was very much pre The Great Re-Invention so it's forgivable. :D
So too was 'Primal Scream' I suppose but it did have 'I'm Losing More Than I'll Ever Have' on it which with a little tweaking went on to become 'Loaded'.
My tuppence would be:
My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
Throwing Muses - The Fat Skier
Pixies - Surfer Rosa (am counting Come On Pilgrim as an album, because, well... it was!)
Public Enemy - It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back
Faithless - Sunday 8pm
Kasabian - Empire
Krafty Kuts - Freakshow (technically a debut solo album, but Tricka Technology with A Skillz came out before that)
Smiths - Meat is Murder. Ok, they went on to better it, but still a cracking album.
Dexy's Midnight Runners - Too-Rye-Ay. See above.
Breeders - Last Splash
Wolfie
19/04/2007, 12:40 PM
wrong on both Primal Scream and Nirvana. Ill shut up now....
Never worry Pauro!!
Sometimes you gotta throw a few into the mixer and see what happens.
(This is not a Mafia reference).
Marked Man
19/04/2007, 2:44 PM
Leftfield: Rhythm and Stealth
Pixies: Doolittle (I'm not counting Pilgrim as an album because, well, it wasn't).
Stranglers: No More Heroes
Orbital: Orbital
AC DC: Dirty Deeds
Marked Man
19/04/2007, 2:45 PM
The Second Coming by the Stone Roses never gains the recognition it deserves mainly because everyone was expecting something closer to their debut.
Naah. It was because it was crap.
19/04/2007, 3:10 PM
Sacrilege.
Think before using words that strongly.
Its not crap like.
Quite clearly.
Beavis
19/04/2007, 3:18 PM
A few more...
Interpol - Antics
No way the first is far batter IMHO. Antics is good. Turn On The Bright Lights is brilliant.
Marked Man
19/04/2007, 6:11 PM
Its not crap like.
Quite clearly.
Au contraire.
Trash Can Sinatras - I've Seen Everything
Elvis Costello - This Years Model
Teenage Fanclub - Bandwagonesque
19/04/2007, 10:51 PM
Au contraire.
:mad:
That's it.
You're a Marked Man.
I'm coming to get you.
You had a hundred billion chances and ways to have avoided today . . . . . . . . .
20/04/2007, 3:58 PM
No takers there then?
Yer man Brandon Flowers is hugely improved on the new Killers album imo.
Compare Read My Mind to that Drive Faster Boy song or whatever its called.
21/04/2007, 8:57 AM
Teenage Fanclub - Bandwagonesque
...can't believe I forgot the fannies. It did however help me remember...
Sunshine On Leith -The Proclaimers
brokenstar
23/04/2007, 12:02 PM
Ocean Colour Scene - Mosely Shoals is a quality second album, IMO
23/04/2007, 9:33 PM
Good one brokenstar.
Got their debut a while back and don't know what to make of it at all.
Eoingull
25/04/2007, 10:37 PM
Here's another one, Prefab Sprout's "Steve McQueen"...one of my favourite albums from the Eighties!
26/04/2007, 12:32 PM
Here's another one, Prefab Sprout's "Steve McQueen"...one of my favourite albums from the Eighties!
I was just about to post that I couldn't believe I'd forgotten this on my first list. Ya beat me to it. A classic alright.