View Full Version : Games moved to Friday nights?

16/04/2007, 12:30 PM
Read a bit on the other forum with someone mentioning this, is it going to be the case for all the remaining home games? Friday nights are a bad night imo.

16/04/2007, 9:14 PM
ah ****e. Friday nights IMO, too much of a rush to get back home from Dublin. If i wanted to catch a game while i come over from London, ive to take an extra day off work, not convenient really. Not sure its gonna work.

17/04/2007, 10:32 AM
I'm not that opposed to Friday night, with an 8pm kick off. With the motorway finished it is now realistic to get down from Dublin, and with this summer football nonsense makes sense not to be going head to head with the gah. It could be coming from the club promotions officer, in which case he should be given his head to make a go of it and do what he's paid for.

However, if games are to be switched there has to be a proper reasoning and a target to be achieved so it can be judged as a success or a failure. It should also be stated as the day and time well in advance.

I actually raised Friday night football during the close season, and iirc the reason why it couldn't even be considered was because the players would be due more money. Has this changed?

So basically, I'm not opposed to it, but it has to be introduced in a proper way, rather than what seems to be game to game on an ad hoc basis.

17/04/2007, 4:03 PM
Im opposed for my own selfish reasons. Wont make Friday games because I work til 9pm.

25/04/2007, 8:16 AM
Heading home on the first weekend in May and hoping to catch a Town game.

Sat, 05 May 2007 Longford Town - Bray Wanderers

Will this be moved to a Friday or are the Friday night kick offs happening next season? thanks....

29/04/2007, 3:15 PM
game against bray definitely ko on sat pauro!;)

30/04/2007, 7:58 AM
Yes! Im there with bells on. And hopefully I may be bringing along a potential Spanish supporter! ;) If she can get time off that is...

30/04/2007, 10:57 AM
Yes! Im there with bells on. And hopefully I may be bringing along a potential Spanish supporter! ;) If she can get time off that is...
Keep her away from the devilish Section O lads....

30/04/2007, 11:58 AM
Keep her away from the devilish Section O lads....

Ah no, they're harmless.. ;) I've told her about my days of following the Town and about Section O. Its not the Bernabeu, but this'll be a bit of an experience for her i reckon! :)

30/04/2007, 6:12 PM
and not only that im bringin my galfriend from dublin to her first town match on sat as well. it will b sum experience. i have said to her that there will b sum slaggin goin on but it doesnt bother her! she is well educated on section o and longford town!

the two stapos bringin their birds to a match now thats a first!;)

01/05/2007, 2:29 PM
and not only that im bringin my galfriend from dublin to her first town match on sat as well. it will b sum experience. i have said to her that there will b sum slaggin goin on but it doesnt bother her! she is well educated on section o and longford town!

the two stapos bringin their birds to a match now thats a first!;)
Literally is a first....you both having a girlfriend and bringing them to a game! :p

01/05/2007, 3:17 PM
Will we start having to run a "ladys" day?! :)

01/05/2007, 6:12 PM
yes ma lady!:)

02/05/2007, 8:01 AM
Herself wont be making it looks like, she'll have to throw a sickie to go. Kinda hard when im departing from the same airport she works in! She hates football anyway. :o

02/05/2007, 8:28 AM
She hates football anyway. :o

Sacrilige! :)

02/05/2007, 9:26 AM
Sacrilige! :)
Perfect more like. Keep the match for lads nights (when let) :D

02/05/2007, 10:27 AM
Perfect more like. Keep the match for lads nights (when let) :D
Bringing them to Section O would only turn them off the game :p

02/05/2007, 12:17 PM
A nod and a wink from myself and they would turn to utterly butterly :D

02/05/2007, 1:17 PM
A bird that doesn't understand a man's need to watch the football, will never understand man. Or something like that. I'm safe so! You can all turn the attention to Marty's mot!

03/05/2007, 7:38 AM
A bird that doesn't understand a man's need to watch the football, will never understand man.
She only has to understand our need, not feckin tag along! :D

03/05/2007, 9:11 AM
You can all turn the attention to Marty's mot!I'm fed up of hearing about "Marty's mot":rolleyes: :D.

Might be making an appearance at this game myself, don't know yet though.

04/05/2007, 11:15 AM
Gentlemen (and ladies ;) ) flying out today so will see you guys tomorrow. Really looking forward to the atmosphere!

sorbothegreek
04/05/2007, 12:19 PM
By any chance are you coming to the Bray game Pauro?

sparkey
04/05/2007, 2:49 PM
A bird that doesn't understand a man's need to watch the football, will never understand man.
:D POTM, A philosophy for all women to learn, understand and accept.
Socrates, Plato, Pauro, truly the great philosophers!:p

07/05/2007, 1:47 PM
my girl was very impressed with the match and atmosphere sat night. Sinead was even chantin near the end! an the good news is shes coming back. Shes goin to the BOhs game next week as she is only seven minutes up the road from dalymount. cant wait!:)

14/05/2007, 9:18 AM
my girl was very impressed with the match and atmosphere sat night. Sinead was even chantin near the end! an the good news is shes coming back. Shes goin to the BOhs game next week as she is only seven minutes up the road from dalymount. cant wait!:)

My Mrs. used to come to Dalyer with me on a regular basis when we were first going out. Rarely goes now, though she's coming to Cork with me on Friday but thats more for a weekend away than anything.

Dillo
15/05/2007, 3:18 PM
That was a shambles on friday night. An embarassment to say the least. We were rubbish against a useless Bray outfit the week before too. I see no reason to be optimistic with this current crop of players. The future looks very bleak. Neither the ability or desire is evident from what i've seen this season and if this continues division 1 beckons.

Serious improvement needed for the visit of Derry on Saturday. We're facing a dogfight even at this early stage.

Sonic
16/05/2007, 11:21 AM
The future looks very bleak. Neither the ability or desire is evident from what i've seen this season and if this continues division 1 beckons.

Serious improvement needed for the visit of Derry on Saturday. We're facing a dogfight even at this early stage.

Sher we knew that when the season began. You would want to get off your high horse dillo. The players for me have shown balls this season the main problem is tht we have two wing back playing as centre backs through no fault of their own. With a full team available only brennan would be out of position and having seen waterford galway bray and ucd i see plenty of optimism. It was a beating pure and simple but realistically all we could have gotten with that defence was a draw at best. Relegation is a dogfight which needs everyone keepin their heads players fans and management i suggest you follow suit!!

16/05/2007, 3:38 PM
No need to worry. It gets better.

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/longfordtown/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=27726

:(

Dillo
17/05/2007, 11:03 AM
Are you still optimistic Sonic?