View Full Version : P6 W0 D2 L4:
ShamTalk
16/04/2007, 11:44 AM
United are 6 games into the new season and time to have a look at where they are at so far:
I have been to all 4 home games and watched the Cork game on TV so that is the basis of any points I put forward:
Reggie Nootimeer: Is a brilliant acquisition who is the class act of all the signings.
Alan Murphy: Playing well week in - week out and attitude is top class and not fraid to get involved.
John Lester: Good ball player with a tremendous work ethic and never say die attitude.
Supporters: The atmosphere at Terryland this year has been excellent and makes the matches a very enjoyable evening.
Team Attitude: Whatever about the results and the way the team is set up, you cannot find fault with the commitment and effort of all the players on duty.
Colin James: A good defender but can he do anything other than hoof the ball. I dont think I have seen him even try to play a pass this season. Under pressure, nobody objects to Row X or playing it deep into opposition territory but surely there are times when he can try and find a team mate with a pass.
Rogers our keeper is not quiet there yet but I think he will develop into a good keeper in due course.
Stephen O'Flynn is a good striker and with good service will continue to score goals for us. Again, he has a great work ethic on the pitch.
Overall, would be disappointed with our points tally to date but my biggest disappointment is the way we are playing. We have two ball players in Murphy and Lester in the middle of midfield but every time a defender gets the ball, the hoof merchant mentality kicks in and then O'Flynn and Barry Moran are looking to win flicks on with their backs to goal. They must have sore necks looking up in the sky waiting for the cannonballs to drop from above.
Lets get the ball down and try and play football on the ground. 3-5-2 would appear to be the best system but we need to play the football that suits the system.
Come on United!
gufcfan
16/04/2007, 12:41 PM
we need to play the football that suits the system.
The team cant be faulted for effort, but they do need to fix this problem... fast
16/04/2007, 12:50 PM
Yiz got promoted too early; simple as.
I know some Galway fans won't like hearing it, but there's a reason promotion and relegation are as they are, and that's to promote the teams with the best possible chance of staying up. You are, quite literally, out of your league and I can't see it being anything other than a long struggle for yez, unfortunately.
Good post shamtalk.There is a lot of negativity because we didnt win on friday but I still feel we have progressed since last season and despite a small squad and Injuries we have only been outplayed once by Sligo in our first game back.
John Lester is still getting stick from some people and im flabbergasted at that as he has been outstanding and is up there with Reggi as our most consistent player so far. I for one was dissappointed that Dowdy didnt get a contract this season but the calls for bringing him back are strange as he is only making the bench for Athlone.
Ive great faith in Tony and I think we can finish out of the bottom three and build on it for next season and I think people should get behind the lads and stop panicking the time for that is if were in the same position with 6 games to go.
galwayhoop
16/04/2007, 1:23 PM
Yiz got promoted too early; simple as.
actually i think we went full time too early!
it meant that we could only get in cheaper options than what we would have wanted or keep young lads who cost less. we lost most of our higher performers from last year and have basically a new squad. maybe they will 'gel' soon but for the short term we are struggling.
i said it at the start and i stand by it now: why did we have to go full-time in our first season? why couldn't we just have had maybe 8 or so players full-time (if we really needed full-timers) and the cream of last years crop part-time?
Just wondering of the players that were released who would make a difference or improve the team at the moment?
galwayhoop
16/04/2007, 2:41 PM
o'dowd, raf, gethkins without even thinking
the only one we could have held on to was Dowdy and he is only making the bench for Athlone.We matched Sligo's offer to Raf and Harps were looking for €30,000 for Conor. Its not Tonys fault that Raf and Connor Left so of the rest who would make a difference now.
galwayhoop
16/04/2007, 3:06 PM
if we were part time could we have afforded €30k for conor
dowdy may only be making the bench for athlone but with what he gave to us he would be there or thereabouts
Gaillimh Al
16/04/2007, 4:39 PM
I think one of the main reasons we are being reduced to long ball options is the state of the pitch. It looks lovely and all that, but it is very uneven and because of the fine weather we're having its very hard as well.
There hasn't been a goal by any team playing there yet where there's been 4 or 5 passes on the deck followed by a shot. Murphy's v Drogs would be closest.
We have a team capable of good passing football, but for now there is very little one touch passing and the players are taking the safer option.
I know this is not something Galway Utd can control and the ground staff do all they can, but as always it wont be until all the junior and juvenile matches get finished before it gets sorted. Hopefully it wont be too late.
As for rating the players,
Glynn will do well to score 2 or 3 goals.
Moran doesnt do enough.
Lester has surprised with his battling qualities
Charles is not a captain.
O'Flynn needs support. preferably from Murphy.
Reggie good player
O'Brien a threat(to my sanity). talented but frustrating.
Tir Oilean
16/04/2007, 5:08 PM
[QUOTE=Gaillimh Al;666892]
Glynn will do well to score 2 or 3 goals. AGREE
Moran doesnt do enough. DISAGREE GIVES 100% ALL THE TIME
Lester has surprised with his battling qualities AGREE
Charles is not a captain. AGREE, Big time
O'Flynn needs support. preferably from Murphy. AGREE
Reggie good player AGREE
O'Brien a threat(to my sanity). talented but frustrating. BEST WAY HE'S BEEN SUMMED UP YET!!!!QUOTE]
Stu I see your point and was of the same opinion until awhile back. We were not going to be able to stay too much longer down there and lose out on the progression of the "New" League and we have showed we can match the big boys now and I feel that given the right run with no injuries we could be the Premier Divisions answer to Sunderland. I'd put in a smiley except i'm fairly serious and if you'd seen all our games to date you'd know where I was comin from
Gaillimh Al
16/04/2007, 5:16 PM
Barry Moran. I know he tries his best and he's giving everything but it's not enough. He's limited and was beaten to the ball too many times against Longford. Just can't see partnership with O'Flynn producing much. Unfortunately.
that is exactly the way I would see O'Dowd also, I know Im going to get slated for this, but, Dowd was a striker that could score 7 or 8 goals at the first division standards when he was playing at his best, that in the premier means nothing. We need a striker that can guarantee goals, if we cant buy one we have to look at loaning one out when its possible.
Someone asked who from last season? I have to say Gethins, that lad has what it takes and I think we should have gambled and paid what was needed for his services.
Patrick Dunne
16/04/2007, 9:36 PM
The sum of money that Finn Harps demanded was too far much for a First Division striker. For E30k plus wages over a two year contract you could get a McHugh/O'Flynn/Zayed calibre striker on a free or a player with UK experience.
gilberto_eire
16/04/2007, 9:49 PM
[QUOTE=Gaillimh Al;666892]
Glynn will do well to score 2 or 3 goals. AGREE
Moran doesnt do enough. DISAGREE GIVES 100% ALL THE TIME
Lester has surprised with his battling qualities AGREE
Charles is not a captain. AGREE, Big time
O'Flynn needs support. preferably from Murphy. AGREE
Reggie good player AGREE
O'Brien a threat(to my sanity). talented but frustrating. BEST WAY HE'S BEEN SUMMED UP YET!!!!QUOTE]
Stu I see your point and was of the same opinion until awhile back. We were not going to be able to stay too much longer down there and lose out on the progression of the "New" League and we have showed we can match the big boys now and I feel that given the right run with no injuries we could be the Premier Divisions answer to Sunderland. I'd put in a smiley except i'm fairly serious and if you'd seen all our games to date you'd know where I was comin from
man ur seriously living in a dream world if you think thats trues!!... in 6 games we've only managed to score in 2, we've only managed 1 clean sheet, and id say maybe 2-3 other clear cut chances in those 6 games.....and i have been to every game this yr so not saying that as some1 whos only been to say for instance home games, we'll do well to get out of the bottom 2, ppl can say its early but we'r 6 games in which is a 1/5 of the season 2 more onto that is a 1/4, if we had 6 points from now outta 6 games i might agree a bit more but we have 2 measly points!. id actually be happy enough with the play-off although id obviously want more but we'r playing that bad id take it..
eamo1
17/04/2007, 12:03 AM
i think there has been a very fine line in most of our games so far and if we were on the right side of it none of ye wouldve been complaining now.
(1)if alan had scored his chance against cork early on then we could have held out for win as cork were poor that night.
(2)if we hadnt conceded late vrs drogheda.
(3)if glynn had scored his chance last friday night and we had gone 2 up we would have won out easy i think.
these are just some examples of incidents that didnt go our way.if they had we would be mid table now and ppl wpuld be happy enough here.id be fairly confident we will finish above longford and waterford and maybe U.C.D.no need for panic yet but maybe in the july transfer window we might look at getting a striker and a winger on loan or something to add a bit extra for us going forward.
GUISAUltra
17/04/2007, 8:28 AM
[QUOTE=gilberto_eire;667060][QUOTE=Tir Oilean;666903]
man ur seriously living in a dream world if you think thats trues!!... in 6 games we've only managed to score in 2, we've only managed 1 clean sheet, and id say maybe 2-3 other clear cut chances in those 6 gamesQUOTE]
not that it does make much of a difference but sunderland only had one win from there first 6 games and they were playing terrible football. but it shows that it doesnt take much to get up a head of steam and build confidence and get wins on the board
galwayhoop
17/04/2007, 9:28 AM
not that it does make much of a difference but sunderland only had one win from there first 6 games and they were playing terrible football. but it shows that it doesnt take much to get up a head of steam and build confidence and get wins on the board
sunderland got a new manager, bought a sh1t load of players and got rid of a lot of deadwood!
surely we should compare like with like or are you suggesting we do the same as sunderland did??
galwayhoop
17/04/2007, 9:30 AM
The sum of money that Finn Harps demanded was too far much for a First Division striker. For E30k plus wages over a two year contract you could get a McHugh/O'Flynn/Zayed calibre striker on a free or a player with UK experience.
these players would never have come to galway. very few players will move to a club like ours at least until we are established in the division
gilberto_eire
17/04/2007, 2:24 PM
[QUOTE=gilberto_eire;667060][QUOTE=Tir Oilean;666903]
man ur seriously living in a dream world if you think thats trues!!... in 6 games we've only managed to score in 2, we've only managed 1 clean sheet, and id say maybe 2-3 other clear cut chances in those 6 gamesQUOTE]
ya but they had just DROPD a division, had a load of money to spend in a dire division and are a massive club.....
gilberto_eire
17/04/2007, 2:27 PM
i think there has been a very fine line in most of our games so far and if we were on the right side of it none of ye wouldve been complaining now.
(1)if alan had scored his chance against cork early on then we could have held out for win as cork were poor that night.
(2)if we hadnt conceded late vrs drogheda.
(3)if glynn had scored his chance last friday night and we had gone 2 up we would have won out easy i think.
these are just some examples of incidents that didnt go our way.if they had we would be mid table now and ppl wpuld be happy enough here.id be fairly confident we will finish above longford and waterford and maybe U.C.D.no need for panic yet but maybe in the july transfer window we might look at getting a striker and a winger on loan or something to add a bit extra for us going forward.
but look thats football and the same can be said for virtually any team in any game
what if the defo peno was giving in cork,
what if that great header for longford had gone in that rodgers done brilliantly to turn over, in the 1st half??
Sunderland didnt have a big budget and although I wouldnt be Roy Keanes Biggest Fan he actually did very well in shipping out a large number of his high earners and replaced most of them with Loan Signings and his biggest spend was on Carlos Edwards who is a class player.
The amount of panic and hot air about Tony not knowing what formation (he has played 3/5/2 for 5 games in a row) and what is his best team (Cooky,Reilly and Armstrong are injured) when he has made barely any changes to his first 11 since Cork.
Of the new signings the only two who havent really featured are Treacy and Brianas the rest have all done well some (Lester and Reggie) have been our best performers this season and Gary showed last friday night that he is an excellent keeper who just needed a run of games to get his sharpness back.
Roll on the next 6 games and lets stop knocking and start getting behind the lads. If we finish anywhere above eleventh this season its job done and we can concentrate on improving the squad further for next season.
galwayhoop
17/04/2007, 4:00 PM
Sunderland didnt have a big budget and although I wouldnt be Roy Keanes Biggest Fan he actually did very well in shipping out a large number of his high earners and replaced most of them with Loan Signings and his biggest spend was on Carlos Edwards who is a class player.
not true:
carlos edwards £1.5 million
anthony stokes £2 million
david connolly £1.9 million
thats almost five and a half million on 3 players and is massive in comparison with other championship teams. add to that the other half dozen or so players who came in and it is a fair big spend - on wages too. the term big fish in a small pond comes to mind. also they had just been bought out and there is promised to be big money if they reach the premiership. stokes is gettng £25k per week.
sunderland is a sh1te example of a team with a bad start who came good
GUISAUltra
17/04/2007, 4:29 PM
look if ya read my post again the very first line said that not that it does make much of a difference but sunderland only had one win from there first 6 games. i know that we're not sunderland, i know we dont have there money and i know we cant attract the same sort of players, i was simply stating that teams who have a bad first 6 games can turn it around and go on a good run
Galway Hoop makes a good point. Of course a team who has a bad start can turn it around and go on a good run, but you can't conmpare us to new Sunderland who bring in a new manager and have higher spending power than all around them. They are a big fish in a small pond. We are a relatively small fish in a relatively large pond.
Or maybe I should stop talking about fish and ponds:D
GUISAUltra
18/04/2007, 8:02 AM
i wasnt comparing us to sunderland i was just using them as an example FFS. all i was saying is that its not impossible for a team that has a bad start to the season, to pick up and put a few results together and move up the table
gufcfan
18/04/2007, 8:11 AM
O'Brien a threat(to my sanity). talented but frustrating.
You got it in one
gufcfan
18/04/2007, 8:18 AM
i wasnt comparing us to sunderland i was just using them as an example...
Ultra is right, even if his example wasn’t the best. We could go on a run. Picking up that 1st win is all important. It would give everybody a boost. Not that utd could be faulted for effort so far but, it would give them more confidence in their own ability. That mite be a problem at the moment with all the effort going in and next to nothing to show for it
galwayhoop
18/04/2007, 9:12 AM
i wasnt comparing us to sunderland i was just using them as an example FFS. all i was saying is that its not impossible for a team that has a bad start to the season, to pick up and put a few results together and move up the table
be we are not sunderland ......
i'm rising you now!!!
i agree totally that teams can have a bad start and be able to turn it around. i believe we are one of these teams, and in fact even if the season ended today we would have a play off against limerick 37 and you would have to fancy us there (what a game that would be with ski, nigel and david goldbey all down there!). we are only 1 point below waterford as it stands and if we finish 3rd from bottom this season i will be happy with that. 4th from bottom the following year and so on. consolidate our position as premier division regulars and then build further to compete for the title five years or so down the line and if some cup or other comes in the mean time then brilliant.
all we need is a bit of realism. we will not turn it around to such a degree as sunderland but neither will we fall to the depths of a watford. avoid the drop and all is good!! :ball:
Tir Oilean
18/04/2007, 10:11 AM
[QUOTE=Tir Oilean;666903]
man ur seriously living in a dream world if you think thats trues!!... in 6 games we've only managed to score in 2, we've only managed 1 clean sheet, and id say maybe 2-3 other clear cut chances in those 6 games.....and i have been to every game this yr so not saying that as some1 whos only been to say for instance home games, we'll do well to get out of the bottom 2, ppl can say its early but we'r 6 games in which is a 1/5 of the season 2 more onto that is a 1/4, if we had 6 points from now outta 6 games i might agree a bit more but we have 2 measly points!. id actually be happy enough with the play-off although id obviously want more but we'r playing that bad id take it..
Funny that is what every Sunderland fan was saying and they were playing completely ****. Do you not think we acquitted ourselves really well against the top teams so far. I take the point that winning the league is out of the question but putting in a mid to top table finish is not. If you think youre gonna go down you will go down.
18/04/2007, 10:12 AM
agreed Galway Hoop realistic post but there is a huge amount of panic and negativity about but as long as we finish 10th or higher ill be ecstatic.
The move to full time will only show in the later months of the season and the following seasons if we keep getting better quality players.I have great faith in the Managment Team in place at United and would be far more worried about Tony being snapped up by a bigger club eventually.
Tir Oilean
18/04/2007, 10:22 AM
I mentioned Sunderland as an example of a **** start that came good, I wasnt comparing us to them. Im sure there are loads of examples that are even closer to home if you want to dig them out. Agree with GUFCT and Eamo in that ppl are ****tin themselves after 6 games mostly against the favourites. As for settling for a play off place or 1 above it Roy Keane wouldnt be happy to hear that!:-)
I see why ppl are angry and frustrated so was I after the longford game but when I cooled down and thought about it its not as bad as some ppl would paint it.
18/04/2007, 10:24 AM
Tir Oilean you will never change Gilberto he has serious problems with Tony you only have to read his posts to see that.
Great to see so many still having the faith.
Tir Oilean
18/04/2007, 10:57 AM
Tir Oilean you will never change Gilberto he has serious problems with Tony you only have to read his posts to see that.
Great to see so many still having the faith.
We'll see about that when the end of the season comes GUFCT. I saw John Cleese on Just For Laughs last night and it reminded me of Monty Pythons Always look on the bright side of life You need that kind of outlook following any football team. Maybe we should make our own version of it to help these pessimists out!:D
18/04/2007, 11:54 AM
agreed Galway Hoop realistic post but there is a huge amount of panic and negativity about but as long as we finish 10th or higher ill be ecstatic.I haven't seen you play yet but I'd be amazed if you're worse than Waterford and any account I heard of your match against Longford said that you were unlucky to only draw so I wouldn't expect that you'll finish in the bottom two.
Tir Oilean
18/04/2007, 2:00 PM
Thanks for the nice comments Schumi. If only some of our ow lads could see it that way!
gilberto_eire
18/04/2007, 2:39 PM
be we are not sunderland ......
i'm rising you now!!!
i agree totally that teams can have a bad start and be able to turn it around. i believe we are one of these teams, and in fact even if the season ended today we would have a play off against limerick 37 and you would have to fancy us there (what a game that would be with ski, nigel and david goldbey all down there!). we are only 1 point below waterford as it stands and if we finish 3rd from bottom this season i will be happy with that. 4th from bottom the following year and so on. consolidate our position as premier division regulars and then build further to compete for the title five years or so down the line and if some cup or other comes in the mean time then brilliant.
all we need is a bit of realism. we will not turn it around to such a degree as sunderland but neither will we fall to the depths of a watford. avoid the drop and all is good!! :ball:
dont mean to be a d*ck but watford had an extra point at this stage, had scored an extra goal and conceded 1 less :p
GUISAUltra
18/04/2007, 3:55 PM
ya but were not watford and we'll never be watford so thats a stupid point. watford have a better manager, more money, a better stadium and better players
Comparing GUFC with English Premiership Teams is crazy.
The move to full time will only show in the later months of the season and the following seasons if we keep getting better quality players.I have great faith in the Managment Team in place at United and would be far more worried about Tony being snapped up by a bigger club eventually.
spot on there GUFCT, my feelings exactly
22/04/2007, 10:13 AM
The promotion could yet emerge to have done you a great disservice. The very hard off the field work that got you promoted could take a hit due to an on the field situation you're just not prepared for.
Paddyfield
22/04/2007, 10:19 AM
How long is Tony C's contract?
22/04/2007, 10:35 AM
How long is Tony C's contract?
it is up until the end of next season.
22/04/2007, 10:37 AM
The promotion could yet emerge to have done you a great disservice. The very hard off the field work that got you promoted could take a hit due to an on the field situation you're just not prepared for.
How? most of us had a target of tenth for our first season back in the premier and we are only one place off it !
we are playing good football, just havent got lady luck on our side. We couldnt buy a win as things stand but I feel it isnt far away now. When do we play the students? It will be interesting to see how we get on against ye.
EDIT: May 18 Home 7.45pm UCD
22/04/2007, 3:32 PM
How? most of us had a target of tenth for our first season back in the premier and we are only one place off it !
Point, I think, is that if you've come up too soon this year and go down, you'll be in the First Division next year. Had you stayed down, you'd have been able to improve again, probably win the First Division (obviously Dundalk wouldn't be in it) and come up for 2008 with a stronger squad than this year.
I possibly disagree with Poor Student though, ironically because you aren't the only First Division team in the division, which gives you a better chance of staying up.
22/04/2007, 3:32 PM
Well if you look at Dundalk, they'll now have two years of a feel good factor behind them and large crowds and that'll stand them in good stead when they go up. Galway were begining to go well but a year of struggle in the Premier can dent positive feeling and big crowds. Tenth is a pragmatic and realistic target but achieving just that or even struggling to do so won't draw in crowds in the long run.
we are playing good football, just havent got lady luck on our side. We couldnt buy a win as things stand but I feel it isnt far away now. When do we play the students? It will be interesting to see how we get on against ye.
EDIT: May 18 Home 7.45pm UCD
I haven't seen you and I'm not making any judgements but a long winless streak no matter how unlucky causes heads to drop and crowds to slowly dry up. We'll see how it works out in the long run. Hopefully I can make it to Galway for that one.;)
Tir Oilean
22/04/2007, 3:39 PM
I haven't seen you and I'm not making any judgements but a long winless streak no matter how unlucky causes heads to drop and crowds to slowly dry up.
Ooh a lecture on crowds from a UCD fan how valuable is that!!!!:D :D :D
22/04/2007, 3:41 PM
My God! I see what you did there - you took the fact that we have low crowds and turned it into a joke about one of our fans saying your crowds might decrease! That's quite remarkable! Did you see that? How he made the joke about the crowds? Brilliant.
Jackass.
[Before anyone whines about personal abuse, that's a Family Guy parody...]
GUISAUltra
22/04/2007, 3:50 PM
i have to say i agree with ye about the fact that if results dont improve then attendances will suffer but i think our results will improve soon. i cant see this run going on for much longer but then again i said that a few weeks ago as well. apart from longford which was a winable game we've played some tough teams and i didnt really expect to win any of them(maybe rovers as well).
geezer
22/04/2007, 10:03 PM
im being optimistic but the fact that we are going to dublin and not getting hit for 3-0 scorelines regularly is a vast improvement on our last experience at the top division. Cork,Drogs,Pats and Bohs have got tough games against us and with shligo in freefall I think we will bypass waterford,shligo and maybe Bray by seasons end. We do need a dupuy though and urgently