View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers...always a big draw!
I must say as a Cork City fan there is no other club in the country that generates such a buzz amongst City fans as when Rovers come to play...Is it right and saying that Rovers are easily the biggest draw for all our clubs when they come to visit?...they were missed big-time last year in the Premier and i for one am delighted to see them back...looking forward to seeing City stick a few past them tomorrow night...
13/04/2007, 12:03 AM
Its gonna be good to hear the new shed in full swing alright.
13/04/2007, 12:05 AM
It's probably the best for getting the punters out alright given Shelbournes absence/demise/ whatever.
I'd look forward to Derry City coming to the Cross more but the Rovers fans generally bring a good crowd which makes it a better experience than playing some of the better teams such as Drogheda.
Hopefully get 5,000 at the Cross tonight for a City victory.
Billy Lord
13/04/2007, 12:20 AM
The Derby of Ireland! Rovers' fans love going to Cork: always a decent home crowd, the Cross is now a fine stadium, everyone hates us; a real away game. Perfect!
Even the coppers are grand cos they just want to get us out of the place rather than crack skulls.
Plus we love Damien Richardson. A Hoop through and through. He's taking your money but we own his heart.
13/04/2007, 12:26 AM
everyone hates usSelf-fulfilling propaganda.
Even when you're liked (in Derry for example) you have to fight with each other to cause some bother......:D
13/04/2007, 12:30 AM
Rovers not a big draw in Derry.
Way down the pecking order after Shels, Harps, Cork, Linfield. Probably less of a draw than Drogheda as well these days....
13/04/2007, 12:36 AM
Rovers not a big draw in Derry.
Way down the pecking order after Shels, Harps, Cork, Linfield. Probably less of a draw than Drogheda as well these days....Seriously Steve, I'm worried about you.....
Have you thought about treatment?
Rovers are Rovers. They bring the biggest away crowd apart from Harps (and the Blues if you want to be pedantic) and its usually a good game.
dundalksarge
13/04/2007, 1:22 AM
Rovers are without shadow of a doubt the biggest draw for any club regarding gate receipts are , when they come to oriel you are always looking at 3500-4000 + crowd which is always good , the gate receipts that dundalkfc have been getting this year in the first division on average there is only 3 or 4 premiership teams getting higher gates and the away crowds we bring must nearly match any brought by rovers , now I know there is a long way to go and I hope Im not jinxing myself here when saying that when dundalk are in the premiership next season they will bring the biggest away support in Ireland to any game.
An emotional week for most of us Hoops. Having remembered the 20th anniversary of Milltown's demise, it's ironic that our next game is in the 'new' cross. Looking forward to it
http://www.flickr.com/photos/albertw/sets/72157600070626237/
BohsFans
13/04/2007, 7:31 AM
An emotional week for most of us Hoops. Having remembered the 20th anniversary of Milltown's demise, it's ironic that our next game is in the 'new' cross. Looking forward to it
http://www.flickr.com/photos/albertw/sets/72157600070626237/
who cleaned off the graffiti?
Steve Bruce
13/04/2007, 8:10 AM
I think the biggest potential crowd in Ireland as a whole would be Linfield vs Shamrock Rovers.
The biggest club from Northern Ireland against the biggest in the Republic. Unfortunately it will be a while before that fixture will be played in the Setanta unless Rovers get themselves a good team.
13/04/2007, 8:23 AM
Always the biggest draw in Limerick too. No love lost and the team we want to beat more than anybody else.
Re Linfield v Rovers, I was at the European tie at Glenmalure Park and even with a severely restricted crowd there was a fantastic atmosphere. Cracking game too.
I think the biggest potential crowd in Ireland as a whole would be Linfield vs Shamrock Rovers.
The biggest club from Northern Ireland against the biggest in the Republic. Unfortunately it will be a while before that fixture will be played in the Setanta unless Rovers get themselves a good team.
In case you havent noticed Me Bruce those 2 teams are not particularly well supported. Sure They have a good hardcore but thats it.
As for Rovers being a draw for the crowds, its undoubtedly true. A 3 point banker always gets the crowds out :D
What a wanky thread :rolleyes:
13/04/2007, 9:00 AM
Seriously Steve, I'm worried about you.....
Have you thought about treatment?
Rovers are Rovers. They bring the biggest away crowd apart from Harps (and the Blues if you want to be pedantic) and its usually a good game.
I'm not sure if you're trying to be sarcastic here or not ORA :)
The question was who is the biggest draw - not the quality of the game or who brings 10 or 20 more away fans than the next-best supported visitors (who, apart from Linfield and Harps, all bring small numbers to games anyway)
Ask any Derry fan the below question for your answer :
Q. If you could only physically make a single Premier Division City game at the Brandywell in any hypothetical year, which of the following opponents would you want that game to be against.
1) Finn Harps
2) Shelbourne
3) Shamrock Rovers
4) Cork City
5) Bohemians
6) Drogheda United.
7) Longford Town
And that doesn't give them the Linfield option either.
Knowing Derry City fans - there is no way Rovers would be the Number 1 choice from that list. If they were lucky, they'd scrape Number 3.
[QUOTE= when dundalk are in the premiership next season .[/QUOTE]
Premier Division please !
This thread is a complete waste of time TBH, we all know you only come out to see the Rovers anyway! :D
'Only here to see the Rovers, here to see the Rooovers' ;)
On a more serious note, really looking forward to the game today, our first proper away trip of the season, especially looking forward to seeing the new stand in Turners Cross, hopefully there'll be a decent crowd & the game will be tight enough to get both sets of supporters animated!!
Reckon it'll be a tough game for us given City's recent form and our record at the cross, though wouldnt be suprised (or disappointed ) if it finished level!
Hope the weathers as nice down there as it is up here!!
Koh
13/04/2007, 9:35 AM
What a wanky thread :rolleyes:
Agreed, seems like there will be a nice cosy love in at Turners Cross tonight :rolleyes: :D
The Good Son
13/04/2007, 9:54 AM
Hope the weathers as nice down there as it is up here!!
Nice and sunny at the moment anyway.
Steve Bruce
13/04/2007, 10:37 AM
In case you havent noticed Me Bruce those 2 teams are not particularly well supported. Sure They have a good hardcore but thats it.
As for Rovers being a draw for the crowds, its undoubtedly true. A 3 point banker always gets the crowds out
Why would I notice you:confused:
What two teams are you refering to:confused:
And also I find it rather amusing Cork City fan giving stick to othe teams and there support when Cork has struggled to keep a team in existance for long enough. How many reincarnations did Cork actually have in there history??
And going by your attendances, your attendances are certainly no better than Linfields. If anything I think our attendances are on average considerably higher.:rolleyes:
13/04/2007, 10:48 AM
Agreed, seems like there will be a nice cosy love in at Turners Cross tonight :rolleyes: :D
Poor Raheny Red.
Ya want a hug?
Don't despair.
I'm sure Shelbourne Monaghan will be electric.
13/04/2007, 11:04 AM
And also I find it rather amusing Cork City fan giving stick to othe teams and there support when Cork has struggled to keep a team in existance for long enough. How many reincarnations did Cork actually have in there history??
And going by your attendances, your attendances are certainly no better than Linfields. If anything I think our attendances are on average considerably higher.:rolleyes:
Not Judging by the 80% empty stadium every week. What crowds do you pull in? 1500/2000 max. Pathetic.
srfc-1901
13/04/2007, 11:21 AM
Is the game on the radio anywhere tonight?
Steve Bruce
13/04/2007, 11:27 AM
Not Judging by the 80% empty stadium every week. What crowds do you pull in? 1500/2000 max. Pathetic.
Are you talking about a stadium that hold 14500 seats compared to your 6000?(or whatever it holds) Course the stadium looks so empty. And maybe I have got my math wrong here, but 20% of 14500 is 2900. Which to me is quite healthy and if your judging every week then you must be missing out our games against Glentoran. Also other games like Cliftonville and Portadown. So that would bump up our average even further.
We have 1728 season ticket holders for a start.
Also the part of the ground you see on tv is the Away stand(north Stand) and the bottom of the Kop which is closed off.
What you don't see his the 3000 seater stand behind the camera that is 80% full and the 200 - 400 hundred in the kop. And that is when we play unfashionable sides like Loughgall and Distillery. We get considerably more when we play Cliftonville, Coleraine, Ballymena and Portadown.
When we play Glentoran there was over 12,000 at it. Name me a single league game you can boast a crowd like that?
We have just sold out our 4,000 allocation to the match on Saturday, tell me when you last had 4000 go to any away game?
We had well over 2500 travel to Newry on Tuesday past. Which was just a bog standard league game.
So Pablo, come back when your small fry club starts winning things on a regular basis and starts getting crowds even close to 12,000 at least once a season.:cool:
BohsFans
13/04/2007, 11:28 AM
Is the game on the radio anywhere tonight?
presume the radio coverage will be of tonight big game in Inchicore!
You not heading down for your love-in?
Steve Bruce
13/04/2007, 11:30 AM
Also could you answer the question, how many different Cork clubs has there been including the current one?
13/04/2007, 11:37 AM
Also could you answer the question, how many different Cork clubs has there been including the current one?
Who cares?
Steve Bruce
13/04/2007, 11:45 AM
Who cares?
To be honest mate, I have an interest in Irish Football on this island and it is something I do not know, so that's why I am asking.
It just so happens that I asked the question in a response to an arrogant post by a cork city supporter.(who as a club I have no feelings for one way or another, but I am hoping we get you in the next round of the Setanta as you seem to be in good form and we haven't played you yet)
13/04/2007, 11:49 AM
Here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_of_Ireland_in_Cork_city)
End of squabble.
Looking forward to that too, although I might find it tough to get to Belfast.
Would have been good to have ye at the Cross.
13/04/2007, 11:52 AM
Yeah Rovers are always a big draw....for Guards
13/04/2007, 11:55 AM
Ha Shamrock Rovers - always a big draw (http://growabrain.typepad.com/growabrain/images/big_joint.jpg)
Erstwhile Bóz
13/04/2007, 12:11 PM
That's not what he meant.
He meant it'll be 4-4.
Jaime
13/04/2007, 12:36 PM
We could yet get a good old fashioned Bohs-Rovers-Cork-Derry-Linfield flame war here, as Dodge is away. :)
13/04/2007, 1:54 PM
From memory so open to correction
Fordsons - 20's early 30's
Cork Bohs 30's
Cork 30's
Cork City (old one) 30's
Cork United 40's
Cork athletic 49-57
Evergreen 51-59
Cork Hibs 57-76
Cork Celtic 59-79
Albert Rovers 76/7
Cork Albert 77/8
Cork Alberts 78/9 (last 3 really the same club)
Cork United 79-82 (no relation to 40's team)
No team from 82-84
Cork City.84-to date
Years roughly reflect when in the league
So at least 14 depending on whether you count name changes.
13/04/2007, 1:56 PM
More clubs than the winning Ryder Cup team tbh
Erstwhile Bóz
13/04/2007, 2:19 PM
What is the (gist of the) reason for so many collapses and rebirths?
Good on the field, ****e off it basically! CCFC is now the Oldest Club and still going strong.
Worry about the Present and Future lads. Thats my advice to ye!
Are you talking about a stadium that hold 14500 seats compared to your 6000?(or whatever it holds) Course the stadium looks so empty. And maybe I have got my math wrong here, but 20% of 14500 is 2900. Which to me is quite healthy and if your judging every week then you must be missing out our games against Glentoran. Also other games like Cliftonville and Portadown. So that would bump up our average even further.
We have 1728 season ticket holders for a start.
Also the part of the ground you see on tv is the Away stand(north Stand) and the bottom of the Kop which is closed off.
What you don't see his the 3000 seater stand behind the camera that is 80% full and the 200 - 400 hundred in the kop. And that is when we play unfashionable sides like Loughgall and Distillery. We get considerably more when we play Cliftonville, Coleraine, Ballymena and Portadown.
When we play Glentoran there was over 12,000 at it. Name me a single league game you can boast a crowd like that?
We have just sold out our 4,000 allocation to the match on Saturday, tell me when you last had 4000 go to any away game?
We had well over 2500 travel to Newry on Tuesday past. Which was just a bog standard league game.
So Pablo, come back when your small fry club starts winning things on a regular basis and starts getting crowds even close to 12,000 at least once a season.:cool:
Just to pick up on a few poinst here, I moved to Newry a few years ago, 1/ this game was effectively a title decider for Linfiled, not a bog standard game. 2/ It was a public hol in N.I (3pm kick off) 3/ The distance from Belfast is 38 miles.
To be fair to Cork their closest away game in Waterford, (100 miles ?), the furtherst Linfield have to travel for any away game would be possibly Omagh (maybe 80 miles) and their avg travel distance for all other games would be around 30 miles, so hardly a fair comparison. Also 2,500 for an away match for an effective title decider is nothing to boast about.
Finally 12,000 is an excellent attendance for Linfield v Glentoran but this is only achieved when both are doing well and its a flash in the pan compared to the norm.
Linfield need to get out of the Irish lge or start a campaing to switch to summer football, otherwise their very poor european record will only continue.
I forgot to say I was at a 12,000 crowd match in Cork once, 1991, a last day title decider for both clubs (which we won)
Also I`m sure they had close on 10,000 for a Derry City game 2 years ago ?
adamcarr
13/04/2007, 9:20 PM
Also I`m sure they had close on 10,000 for a Derry City game 2 years ago ?
Officially 8,000 but that was just to shut up the H&S Id say. We could have sold 20,000 for that game Id say.
Lux Interior
13/04/2007, 9:39 PM
Your average is only bolstered by a 13000 Boxing Day crowd against us (with nearly 6000 our support) and the tit-for-tat singsong against the Reds (maybe clear 3000 there). The rest of the your humdrum games draw 1500-2500.
Sure you'll have your second biggest support tomorrow for the return game at the Oval.
adamcarr
13/04/2007, 9:42 PM
From memory so open to correction
Fordsons - 20's early 30's
Cork Bohs 30's
Cork 30's
Cork City (old one) 30's
Cork United 40's
Cork athletic 49-57
Evergreen 51-59
Cork Hibs 57-76
Cork Celtic 59-79
Albert Rovers 76/7
Cork Albert 77/8
Cork Alberts 78/9 (last 3 really the same club)
Cork United 79-82 (no relation to 40's team)
No team from 82-84
Cork City.84-to date
Years roughly reflect when in the league
So at least 14 depending on whether you count name changes.
What about Ramblers, although you could hardly call them a football club.;)
Billy Lord
13/04/2007, 11:16 PM
This thread is about how great Shamrock Rovers are. Everyone else should bugger off and stop clinging on to our glorious boot straps.:cool:
Steve Bruce
13/04/2007, 11:28 PM
Just to pick up on a few poinst here, I moved to Newry a few years ago, 1/ this game was effectively a title decider for Linfiled, not a bog standard game. 2/ It was a public hol in N.I (3pm kick off) 3/ The distance from Belfast is 38 miles.
To be fair to Cork their closest away game in Waterford, (100 miles ?), the furtherst Linfield have to travel for any away game would be possibly Omagh (maybe 80 miles) and their avg travel distance for all other games would be around 30 miles, so hardly a fair comparison. Also 2,500 for an away match for an effective title decider is nothing to boast about.
Finally 12,000 is an excellent attendance for Linfield v Glentoran but this is only achieved when both are doing well and its a flash in the pan compared to the norm.
Linfield need to get out of the Irish lge or start a campaing to switch to summer football, otherwise their very poor european record will only continue.
What you on about title decider? There was going to be no titles decided on that day. Even the other teams had of lost, it was not a title decider. That is just pure nonesense. It was a bog standard game.
You will find that every boxing day we have 5 figure attendances no matter what the position of each club is.:rolleyes: But if you choose to think you no better than a Linfield supporter, that's up to you.
Also Europe isn't that important, sure it is great to qualify but in real terms, it doesn't really concern IL teams that much. We know we are never going to get that far.
Steve Bruce
13/04/2007, 11:31 PM
Your average is only bolstered by a 13000 Boxing Day crowd against us (with nearly 6000 our support) and the tit-for-tat singsong against the Reds (maybe clear 3000 there). The rest of the your humdrum games draw 1500-2500.
Sure you'll have your second biggest support tomorrow for the return game at the Oval.
:rolleyes: How many games have you went to that concerned Linfield and not Glentoran on a Saturday? Not very many.
We have 1728 Season ticket holders, are you saying that we don't get any paying customers? Dont be silly. You can add an extra 1000 onto that and more that do pay in every week. But of course you would know better than some one who goes every week though:rolleyes:
Lux Interior
13/04/2007, 11:42 PM
:rolleyes: How many games have you went to that concerned Linfield and not Glentoran on a Saturday? Not very many.
We have 1728 Season ticket holders, are you saying that we don't get any paying customers? Dont be silly. You can add an extra 1000 onto that and more that do pay in every week. But of course you would know better than some one who goes every week though:rolleyes:
You are living in tinky winky land if you think you get at least 2728 in for matches versus anyone other than Glens, Cliftonville, Portadown. FFS, the camera shows around 300 in the West Stand for Loughgall, Distillery, Larne etc and as you've never sold out the firerisk stand against the Glens on 3 occasions this season, it's unlikely to sell out against the aforementioned.
Your smokinghazard stand has around 2700 seats (inc freebie section in middle), not 3000.
Then again, I recall your attendance estimates on ILF - laughable.
14/04/2007, 1:07 AM
Lux,
Bluemen live in a fantasy land as you well know.
Let him have his day, playtime will be over soon.
14/04/2007, 9:15 AM
Why do Derry have to hijack everything when it comes to fans. You guys are too quick to profess your "popularity" amongst other fans.
Back to Rovers, how did the big love-in go last night?
alabama rover
14/04/2007, 11:09 AM
I must say as a Cork City fan there is no other club in the country that generates such a buzz amongst City fans as when Rovers come to play...Is it right and saying that Rovers are easily the biggest draw for all our clubs when they come to visit?...they were missed big-time last year in the Premier and i for one am delighted to see them back...looking forward to seeing City stick a few past them tomorrow night...
last night!....... proof in the perverbial pudding!
hoopy
14/04/2007, 12:41 PM
Back to Rovers, how did the big love-in go last night?
Great banter as usual. Turners Cross is now undoubtedly the best ground in the Country. The game was decent for a 0-0, with Cork throwing everything at us in the 2nd half. Again, impressed with Cork's attitude of playing football even when things get a bit desperate. The drive up and back was well worth it, would've taken a draw before the game