View Full Version : Sanchez gone to Fulham

DonO'Bate
10/04/2007, 11:17 PM
Just heard on the BBC Radio Five Live that Lawrie Sanchez has been appointed caretaker boss of Fulham until the end of the season to replace the sacked Chris Coleman. What now for Fulham's chances of staying up and NI's Euro qualifying hopes. Hopefully Sanchez can keep Fulham up with just five games left.

Maynard
10/04/2007, 11:33 PM
Why would anyone want Fulham to stay up? Anyway, seems like Lawrie is putting himself in the picture. Guess he's heard that the quality of local radio/print journalism in London is much better than in Norn Iron...:rolleyes:

galwayhoop
10/04/2007, 11:39 PM
Why would anyone want Fulham to stay up?

exactly

they are utter tedium

TheBoss
10/04/2007, 11:46 PM
A very poor decision to sack Coleman, he did the best he could with the players he had, a disgraceful sacking.

Why bring a new manager now, he has to get used to the new players in the middle of a relegation crisis, just awful by Fulham.

11/04/2007, 12:32 AM
Serious kick in the teeth for ye lads up north. He had really got you blazing a trail.

11/04/2007, 1:14 AM
Fulham are lost in the Premiership. They're genuinely not a club of that size - the Championship is about right for them instead.

Bad news for Norn Iron - but Sanchez has left them in a good position.

Yees might be able to get Pat Fenlon instead in a few weeks time.....

11/04/2007, 1:17 AM
Don't know what Sanchez is thinking taking over a club that's going to be relegated. Serious dent in his reputation...

Steve Bruce
11/04/2007, 8:10 AM
He is still the Northern Ireland manager. It is a temporary role untill the end of the season.

galwayhoop
11/04/2007, 9:30 AM
strange one this. i reckon if fulham stay up he will take the job on full time. maybe staying on as NI manager also, but i don't think you can do the 2 jobs. can't see him walk away from NI either as they do have a serious chance of qualifing at the moment although one or 2 bad results could really burst the bubble. maybe he is looking to cash in his chips while his stock is high.

Steve Bruce
11/04/2007, 11:01 AM
strange one this. i reckon if fulham stay up he will take the job on full time. maybe staying on as NI manager also, but i don't think you can do the 2 jobs. can't see him walk away from NI either as they do have a serious chance of qualifing at the moment although one or 2 bad results could really burst the bubble. maybe he is looking to cash in his chips while his stock is high.

Well if you really think about it, managing a country is only 6-8 games a calender year.

So I think he could manage NI part-time and he can send his assistants out to scout NI talent.

Already in the Belfast Telegraph, if he gets made permanent, Fulham will be singing Aaron Hughes, Steve Davis & David Healy.

So maybe he'll sign the NI team and then he will be working with them full-time:D

SwiftsSupporter
11/04/2007, 1:04 PM
Sanchez is staying and I'm not sure he'll take over there and he'll be in charge for the rest of Euro 2008. It's actually pretty good as he'll learn alot there and we don't have an international between now and the end of the season.

galwayhoop
11/04/2007, 1:51 PM
Well if you really think about it, managing a country is only 6-8 games a calender year.
yeah true but it is hard to think of any manager who has combined 2 roles successifully in recent times. also the 6-8 games a year involve 5 days each time. so it becomes 30/40 days in the year. during international breaks club managers don't take a holiday either but stay at their clubs to work with non-international, improve their tactics, go to coaching workshops and seminars and work with injured/returning players.

So I think he could manage NI part-time and he can send his assistants out to scout NI talent..
is he then committing fully on the job at hand? as i said i feel that while it may seem acceptable to mix roles it may be less so in reality.

Already in the Belfast Telegraph, if he gets made permanent, Fulham will be singing Aaron Hughes, Steve Davis & David Healy..
sounds like newspaper talk to me. but if not, can a manager deal fairly with a player (or be seen to deal fairly) when he is involved with him at both club and international level? is there the possibility that the manager has the temptation to play a player for reasons more benefical to the managers other role?

So maybe he'll sign the NI team and then he will be working with them full-time:D
maybe...... but i doubt it

anyway, i think that while at this current time the situation may be crystal clear i.e. he is doing a care-taker job for 5 games as NI have no competitive games till august. if he lands the fulham job full-time i just think it will be unfeasible for him to hold onto both roles and unfortunately, for NI, the lesser profile job* will go. he would be a big loss and if i were a NI fan i would be now hoping that Fulham get relegated!

*this is in no way a dig but international football management is now much less profile than even middling EPL teams. espically outside about 4 or 5 international teams.

Steve Bruce
11/04/2007, 4:05 PM
yeah true but it is hard to think of any manager who has combined 2 roles successifully in recent times. also the 6-8 games a year involve 5 days each time. so it becomes 30/40 days in the year. during international breaks club managers don't take a holiday either but stay at their clubs to work with non-international, improve their tactics, go to coaching workshops and seminars and work with injured/returning players.

True, but with two small concerns(Fulham are a small concern in EL football and NI are a small concern in World Football) I would think he could balance them both.

is he then committing fully on the job at hand? as i said i feel that while it may seem acceptable to mix roles it may be less so in reality.
Well I don't think he is able to check up on all the players now anyway, so one or two extra people scouting for him, shouldnt make much difference I would hope.

sounds like newspaper talk to me. but if not, can a manager deal fairly with a player (or be seen to deal fairly) when he is involved with him at both club and international level? is there the possibility that the manager has the temptation to play a player for reasons more benefical to the managers other role?
It is 100% paper talk and I don't think Lawrie would put him in a position where he could lose credibility by doing such things. His job would soon become unatainable if that sort of thing happened.

maybe...... but i doubt it
It was a tongue in cheek remark

anyway, i think that while at this current time the situation may be crystal clear i.e. he is doing a care-taker job for 5 games as NI have no competitive games till august. if he lands the fulham job full-time i just think it will be unfeasible for him to hold onto both roles and unfortunately, for NI, the lesser profile job* will go. he would be a big loss and if i were a NI fan i would be now hoping that Fulham get relegated!

*this is in no way a dig but international football management is now much less profile than even middling EPL teams. espically outside about 4 or 5 international teams.
I know exactly what your saying and your right we are minnows of European and World football(also probably the most successfull minnows in the World)

Also I would hope that Lawrie can't save Fulham as they are a two bit club with very little support. I would be happier if he got the Everton or Man City job or the likes. Although he would be a huge loss to NI, I respect what he has done for us and has brought some pride back into our national team. Who would have thought when he took over that we would be in front of the ROI in the rankings. I'm not rubbing anyones face in it, but the ROI where streets ahead, they had(still do) a better team on paper and regulary got good results. Now the tide has turned a bit and it is NI who are beating the big teams with limited players.

Responses in bold

AnnaghRed
11/04/2007, 6:20 PM
Hopefully Fulham will get relegated and we get to keep Sanchez till the end of the qualifying campaign. Be a crying shame if he left under a cloud now.

Hope i'm wrong but Sanchez or not, cant see us finishing higher than fourth in the group anyway.

Steve Bruce
12/04/2007, 9:14 AM
Hopefully Fulham will get relegated and we get to keep Sanchez till the end of the qualifying campaign. Be a crying shame if he left under a cloud now.

Hope i'm wrong but Sanchez or not, cant see us finishing higher than fourth in the group anyway.

I don't know if it is paper talk(I think the truth is stretched slightly) but they claim that he could get up to 10 times his current wage if he keeps Fulham up.

galwayhoop
12/04/2007, 12:04 PM
I don't know if it is paper talk(I think the truth is stretched slightly) but they claim that he could get up to 10 times his current wage if he keeps Fulham up.

thats what i am getting at really. we have all seen in the past where a manager refuses a 'big' job to stay put at a smaller club or international team. when he decides to move he may not get the 'big' job offer again. sanchez is on record as saying he wants to return to club management after this campaign but i fear, for ye, that if offered something, like what you are saying, the move may come sooner.

just look to scotland for a recent example of a manager leaving his international team when all seemed to be going swimmingly - could walter smith not have done both jobs like is being suggested above about sanchez?

perhaps NI will qualify for euro08, but in reality are likely to fall just short so as i said above he may cash in his chips now and get a massive salary with a mid-level premiership outfit.

if NI went on a bad run from now until the end of the campaign do you think he would be so high profile or would the next great white hope take his place? remember how popular stuart pierce was about a year or so ago and how he is just clinging to his job now! football is a here and now industry and there are very few second chances!

bottom line is if i were a NI supporter i would be more hopeful than confident that sanchez will be able to combine both roles, and if he can it will be untill november at the very, very latest. :ball:

presume theres no chance that mcIlroy will come back? :p

Steve Bruce
12/04/2007, 1:20 PM
thats what i am getting at really. we have all seen in the past where a manager refuses a 'big' job to stay put at a smaller club or international team. when he decides to move he may not get the 'big' job offer again. sanchez is on record as saying he wants to return to club management after this campaign but i fear, for ye, that if offered something, like what you are saying, the move may come sooner.

just look to scotland for a recent example of a manager leaving his international team when all seemed to be going swimmingly - could walter smith not have done both jobs like is being suggested above about sanchez?

perhaps NI will qualify for euro08, but in reality are likely to fall just short so as i said above he may cash in his chips now and get a massive salary with a mid-level premiership outfit.

if NI went on a bad run from now until the end of the campaign do you think he would be so high profile or would the next great white hope take his place? remember how popular stuart pierce was about a year or so ago and how he is just clinging to his job now! football is a here and now industry and there are very few second chances!

bottom line is if i were a NI supporter i would be more hopeful than confident that sanchez will be able to combine both roles, and if he can it will be untill november at the very, very latest. :ball:

presume theres no chance that mcIlroy will come back? :p

On regards to NI qualifying. It is quite conceivable that we could win our next 3 games. That would give us a nice wee tally and I would expect to collect atleast 3 points between Sweden, Denmark and Spain.

12/04/2007, 2:04 PM
Feck, i just looked there and you're right.
Though, they might have to beat either Sweden or Spain.
Could then probably affor to lose to the other of the pair + denmark

Steve Bruce
12/04/2007, 3:21 PM
Feck, i just looked there and you're right.
Though, they might have to beat either Sweden or Spain.
Could then probably affor to lose to the other of the pair + denmark

Well my hope is to win our next 3 games, then beat Denmark at Windsor and hopefully get a draw from either Swedan or Spain, I am hoping though that Swedan will hammer Spain and Denmark and I Hope Denmark and Spain cut there won throats and draw.

BleusAvantTout
14/04/2007, 8:31 AM
I would be happier if he got the Everton job

Everton are doing rather nicely without him! :cool:

TommyT
16/04/2007, 12:18 PM

Come off it. A total non-runner given the eh relaitionship between Rangers and Celtic, and between the Old Firm and the rest of Scottish football.

galwayhoop
16/04/2007, 1:08 PM
Come off it. A total non-runner given the eh relaitionship between Rangers and Celtic, and between the Old Firm and the rest of Scottish football.

the point i am making is still valid. it is very rear for a manager to successifully combine international management with club management - if you are not happy with the scotland example then how about mark hughes and wales/blackburn??

EalingGreen
16/04/2007, 1:43 PM
the point i am making is still valid. it is very rear for a manager to successifully combine international management with club management - if you are not happy with the scotland example then how about mark hughes and wales/blackburn??

Guus Hiddink, whilst full-time manager of PSV, also very successfully managed Australia to and through the last World Cup, despite the Ozzie players being spread over three continents and the National Association being 12,000 miles from Europe. I'm not claiming Sanchez is another Hiddink; then again, Fulham aren't PSV, nor NI Australia, so it can be done (imo)

Steve Bruce
16/04/2007, 1:46 PM
Everton are doing rather nicely without him! :cool:

Everton was used as an example of a medium sized club that win nothing every year but good enough to stay up.

It would give Sanchez a good chance to stir the medium sized club who win f*ck all squared every year and start winning things and maybe qualify to the CL a bit more often.

Steve Bruce
16/04/2007, 1:49 PM
Guus Hiddink, whilst full-time manager of PSV, also very successfully managed Australia to and through the last World Cup, despite the Ozzie players being spread over three continents and the National Association being 12,000 miles from Europe. I'm not claiming Sanchez is another Hiddink; then again, Fulham aren't PSV, nor NI Australia, so it can be done (imo)

I think he can work it for the short term. But realistically we need a full-time NI manager.

Although I agree Fulham are not where near the importance of PSV. I would be extremely dissapointed if NI got beat by the likes of Australia, who are hardly a force in football and it's hardly an important nation in football either.

EalingGreen
16/04/2007, 2:18 PM
I think he can work it for the short term. But realistically we need a full-time NI manager.

Although I agree Fulham are not where near the importance of PSV. I would be extremely dissapointed if NI got beat by the likes of Australia, who are hardly a force in football and it's hardly an important nation in football either.

Lawrie has made it pretty clear that whatever happens, he will not be NI manager after our Euro2008 campaign (whether Nov or June!). Therefore, I have little doubt he could do both until then. (I agree that for the next campaign, we should make a full-time appointment).

As for NI-Oz comparisons, irrespective of which is the better side*, I was merely pointing out the much greater logistical demands of GH managing Australia from Holland over LS managing NI from England.

* - As for your being disappointed to lose to Oz, they were bloody unlucky not to go further in Germany 2006 (imo). In fact, I'd say they were in the top half of the competing teams, based on their performances and results, so I wouldn't be too confident of NI beating them.

galwayhoop
16/04/2007, 2:23 PM
Guus Hiddink, whilst full-time manager of PSV, also very successfully managed Australia to and through the last World Cup,

australia's qualification only really consisted of a two-legged play off. their group games were a joke against the likes of american samoa & the cooke islands. in fact they broke the world record twice in 4 days a few years ago by scoring 20-odd goals and then 34 goals in consecitituve games. their qualifiers were played with home based players and not their european players. the home based squad was picked by their coach who was also based in australia. i'm not sure if hiddink went to the games or not but it sounds like a bit of a jolly if he did!

although he was there for the WC finals alright and the play-off but the commitment was minimal and very little interference with his club duties. but in fairness i can't think that the dutch league is as hyped or high profile as the EPL either - granted PSV are one of the bigger teams - it is a moot point all the same.

maybe sanchez will stay and it would be good for ye north koreans if he did but if i was asked honestly if he could do both jobs i would have to say no. maybe he will see out this campaign (i don't think he will myself) but after that i reckon it's adios!

23/04/2007, 12:07 PM
The tribune had a profile of him last week without mentioning his first managerial job in Sligo.

galwayhoop
08/05/2007, 9:38 AM
Don't know what Sanchez is thinking taking over a club that's going to be relegated. Serious dent in his reputation...

hate to say i told ya so..... ;) :D

08/05/2007, 5:56 PM
hate to say i told ya so..... ;) :D
Meh, didn't know Liverpool would have played a reserve team.;)

08/05/2007, 7:27 PM
The tribune had a profile of him last week without mentioning his first managerial job in Sligo.

disgrace!:eek:

lofty9
11/05/2007, 12:49 PM
he has just resigned as NI manager

lilywhite stu
11/05/2007, 2:21 PM
Thats tough on u lads up north. Don't suppose you want Stan by any chance?

Steve Bruce
11/05/2007, 2:37 PM
Thats tough on u lads up north. Don't suppose you want Stan by any chance?

I think he is doing a good enough job down there, i'll not want to rob you of your Stan:D

The question now is, who is there available to take the job?

11/05/2007, 2:41 PM
The question now is, who is there available to take the job?Roddy Collins is available, I think.

11/05/2007, 3:59 PM
Sean Connor is your man.

SaucyJack
11/05/2007, 4:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFGZufk4HFs

11/05/2007, 4:20 PM
disgaceful breach of faith and good will by Fulham. Fcukin disgraceful.

Noelys Guitar
11/05/2007, 7:51 PM
Bring back "wee" Sammy from Morecambe. We already have the "wise" fella!

AnnaghRed
11/05/2007, 7:55 PM
Gutted, though I thought he'd at least have seen out his contract.

Be surprised if he's still in the Fulham job this time next season. Despite what he's done with NI I still wouldn't rate him any higher than Championship material.

galwayhoop
14/05/2007, 9:37 AM
He is still the Northern Ireland manager. It is a temporary role untill the end of the season.

hate to say i told you so! people involved in football have little or no moral values. this goes for both sanchez and fulham. personally i thought this was going to happen all along and wouldn't be surprised if the deal was done (verbally) prior to him even taking on the job 'supposedly' on a caretaker basis.