View Full Version : Finn Harps V Wexford Youths FC

Tazskool
09/04/2007, 7:05 PM
Well after the great start to the season the Youths travel to Finn Harps in look to keep the good run going!!

I am gonna predict 2-1 to the Youths :)

12/04/2007, 12:43 AM
Match Preview now up on www.finnharps.com

12/04/2007, 9:42 AM
I'm not optomistic about this one.
Very long trip to play a really experienced side.
I think it could be similar to Athlone unfotunately.
I'd say Finn Harps 3-1.
But obviously I hope to be proved very wrong :)

12/04/2007, 8:40 PM
An interview with Mick Wallace has now been added to www.finnharps.com as well.

Seems like quite a guy!

brokenstar
12/04/2007, 8:53 PM
Cheers Galway Harps. Nice one mate. Hopefully we will give ye a good game tomorrow night!

13/04/2007, 10:36 AM
Hopefully we will give ye a good game tomorrow night!

Sod that, hopefully ye capitulate totally :)

I'd say ye have a fair chance of a draw at least, we haven't really clicked yet and are prone to the odd insane moment at the back.

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 10:54 AM
Can't say i'm too optimistic meself 'cos i just heard our lads are travelling on the day with only a short stopover in Dublin. Not the best way to approach a game so far away, but that's the way it is I suppose.

Not to be a total pessimist i'll go for an away draw and anything better than that would be an amazing result for us. Hopefully there'll be plenty of your 'insane' moments at the back for us to take advantage of! :D

G-Man
13/04/2007, 11:35 AM
Can't say i'm too optimistic meself 'cos i just heard our lads are travelling on the day with only a short stopover in Dublin. Not the best way to approach a game so far away, but that's the way it is I suppose.

Not to be a total pessimist i'll go for an away draw and anything better than that would be an amazing result for us. Hopefully there'll be plenty of your 'insane' moments at the back for us to take advantage of! :D

so will that mean there will be a home draw for Finn Harps!!:p ;)

Think it will be a tough one. It will be a long distance for the lads to go and to get out and play a game and the team is still only geling together. An "away draw" would be a good result IMO, a win would be excellent, but I think we might just fall short on this one.

Thunder-WYFC
13/04/2007, 11:46 AM
Don't want to sound too much like 'wexman' but I can see another Athlone on the cards.

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 1:16 PM
hahaha! well spotted G-Man Doh! :D

ForzaWexford
13/04/2007, 2:32 PM
I just hope we get something out of the game to carry some momentum into next week's home game against Kilkenny, which is certainly winnable.

Tazskool
13/04/2007, 9:24 PM
Latest Score:
Finna Harps 0 - 1 Youths
Malone (60)

YellowbellyRed
13/04/2007, 9:28 PM
Excellent. I was very impressed by him last Sunday. Not just because I'm a former Wexford Celt, honest..

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 9:29 PM
Patsi Malone!! 15 mins left, just hang on lads!!

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 9:32 PM
2 - 0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sinnott, Penalty!!

G-Man
13/04/2007, 9:36 PM
great stuff!

Thunder-WYFC
13/04/2007, 9:51 PM
What a result this will be,Malones on fire atm!

Tazskool
13/04/2007, 9:52 PM
2-1 atm... they score on 89 mins!!! come on Yoooooooooooooooooooooooouths!!!

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 9:54 PM
its over!!!! what a result!!! :D :D Time for a beer!!

Thunder-WYFC
13/04/2007, 9:55 PM
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

We are Wexford,we are Wexford
We are Wexford,Youths FC

YellowbellyRed
13/04/2007, 9:56 PM
Mines a heineken thanks brokenstar...

Well done youths again

Tazskool
13/04/2007, 9:57 PM
FT Finn Harps 1 - 2 Youths !!!!

Fantastic result!!!
Back up to 4th we go :)

P6 W2 D3 L1 <--- class!!!!

G-Man
13/04/2007, 9:58 PM
great result for us. season really is going well and credit must go to all involved. I dont think even Mick would have expected this start.

ForzaWexford
13/04/2007, 10:10 PM
Super result, Patsy scored a super header from a free-kick seemingly, 2 in a row now! Sinnot scored penalty after the keeper hacked Liam O' Loughlin down and got a red card for his troubles.

Roll on Kilkenny!

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 11:07 PM
Heinekens all round Yellowbellyred!!!

Ah lads, what a result! I have to be honest, alot of us on here didn't hold out a whole lot of hope for this tie, but the boys have proved us wrong. And rightly so. I'm so proud of this team right now, it's an amazing feeling. Set pieces, or no, noone can have any complaints about going to Finn Park and getting a result against one of the most experienced teams in the el. The lads must be walking on air and they'll get one hell of a reception next week at Newcastle. Roll on Kilkenny: be afraid, be very afraid! :D

WE ARE WEXFORD YOUTHS!!

Piltownpossy
13/04/2007, 11:24 PM
Holy Sh** lads, thats a great result.

Well done De Yoots!

Ex Wexford celt here too (and North End under age) :p

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 11:25 PM
ex North End over here too Piltown :D

Can't wait for next week, the lads will be flying and some will be returning from injury too which will make us even stronger

Thunder-WYFC
13/04/2007, 11:43 PM
Scum.

brokenstar
13/04/2007, 11:59 PM
Easy to be jealous of the best :p

Anyways, we're all Wexford Youths now :D

Thunder-WYFC
14/04/2007, 12:02 AM
The best is only 2 mins down the road.

Albions

Monkfish
14/04/2007, 2:23 AM
Fair play lads, have to say im more than surprised. Many of you go up?

14/04/2007, 2:39 AM
Congrats to Wexford on your first away win. From what I've heard it was well deserved and you outplayed us all over the pitch.

Time for some soul-searching around Finn Park methinks.

Chippy
14/04/2007, 7:43 AM
What an amazing result - makes you feel so proud !!!! I'm actually heading to Donegal today for a long weekend so the locals will get plenty of slagging. :D :D Just raging now that I couldn't get yesterday afternoon off work to go up a day early & get to the game last night.

Sunny Jim
14/04/2007, 1:45 PM
What a result! I would have been happy with a draw but to win in Donegal is unbelieveable! Hope we can carry a bit of momentum into the Kilkenny game now. Were any of you there?

Tazskool
14/04/2007, 7:24 PM
I wont say it but I predicted the score right :P

harry crumb
14/04/2007, 10:15 PM
Great result. To go all the way up there and get a result is amazing.:ball:

15/04/2007, 10:15 PM
Stunning result, delighted to be proven wrong.

By all accounts a well deserved win and the best performance so far.

My dad had been to all the home games so far and he picks Malone and Marty Kelly as the best performers so far.

They really look comfortable at this level!
Amazingly fantastic result, roll on next week!

Piltownpossy
16/04/2007, 4:25 PM
The best is only 2 mins down the road.

Albions

Hey Thunder - have a look - Laegue and Cup Double u16 from 20 odd years ago ;) - was a pleasure beating Albion :-)

http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t279/magicrat6876/Northend16.jpg

Chippy
18/04/2007, 8:40 AM
Hey Thunder - have a look - Laegue and Cup Double u16 from 20 odd years ago ;) - was a pleasure beating Albion :-)

http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t279/magicrat6876/Northend16.jpg

I'm intrigued .... which one are you ?????

Footsoldier
18/04/2007, 9:54 AM
Pilltown, the only reason it felt so good beating albion was because it didn't happen often!:D

Piltownpossy
18/04/2007, 11:32 AM
Pilltown, the only reason it felt so good beating albion was because it didn't happen often!:D

Beating the albion was always good but especially that year because that was the year ye were going to teach us how to play football allegedly :D

You from the same era yourselves lads?

Chippy
19/04/2007, 6:37 PM
Beating the albion was always good but especially that year because that was the year ye were going to teach us how to play football allegedly :D

You from the same era yourselves lads?

My era alright Piltown, that's why I'm intrigued to know which one of that team is your good self ?????

Footsoldier
20/04/2007, 1:14 AM
A few years ahead of me but played with, and aginst some of them in Junior soccer

brokenstar
20/04/2007, 10:20 AM
Few years ahead of me too, but remember a few of those lads playing with North End alright