View Full Version : Aarhus - cheap accommodation

Paulie
04/04/2007, 2:43 PM
I've booked the Tuesday and Wednesday nights in this place for the Denmark friendly. It's about €40 per person per night sharing while a single room varies from about €70 to €85 a night. While it's small and basic it's also very central and clean with every room en suite.

http://www.cab-inn.dk/UK/index.htm

Torn-Ado
05/04/2007, 12:29 PM
I stayed in the Cab Inn in Copenhagen in December for the Celtic game.

520 Danish kronor a night. A fine spot. They throw loads of beds into a tiny box room yet it still feels spacious.

SuperDave
05/04/2007, 5:31 PM

520 Danish kronor a night. A fine spot. They throw loads of beds into a tiny box room yet it still feels spacious.

what's the story with cheap filghtis?

Torn-Ado
06/04/2007, 12:02 PM

Probably fly SAS from Dublin to Copenhagen. Aarhus isn't that far.

Im not sure because Im living in Gothenburg so I get the train or bus.

06/04/2007, 8:06 PM
Probably fly SAS from Dublin to Copenhagen. Aarhus isn't that far.

120 miles from Copenhagen to Aarhus, about 3 hours by train.

Paulie
11/04/2007, 9:52 AM

We got a Ryanair flight from London to Aarhus for about €140 although I can't remember the exact price. We still have to book our flight from Dublin to London but I reckon that all the flights will come to about €200. The only thing with these flights is that the one which departs for Aarhus on Tuesday morning leaves at about 7:30am so you'd have to stay London on Monday night. The same applies on the way home, the flight from Aarhus to london does not get in until about 11:30 on Thursday night so again you'd need to spend the night in London. It doesn't affect us as we have free accommodation in London on both nights but if you don't it would obviously add a fair bit to the cost of the trip.

16/04/2007, 4:58 PM
Ryanair fly direct from Dublin to Billund, which is about 1.5 hours from Aarhus. Its costs around 20 euros to get from Billund to Aarhus so it's a good travel option for people planning on heading out for this game.

Bomb Landsdowne
10/05/2007, 8:49 PM
What date in August is this match on. Cant find any info on the Fai site... Maybe im blind

Moscow Mule
10/05/2007, 9:19 PM
The game is scheduled for Weds 22nd August though I don't know the ko time.

kdjaC
10/05/2007, 9:27 PM

Lol i was there but we rechristened it the Cheap Ass Inn, its grand nice and cheap paid 70 for 4 nights in a double room. Which was a box with 2 beds pushed together. Its in a good spoton the canal but during the week the place is dead. Few mates paid €100 for a 3 bed room.

kdjac

10/05/2007, 9:57 PM
What date in August is this match on. Cant find any info on the Fai site... Maybe im blind

Try halfway down the page under Forthcoming Fixtures on the home page when you enter the site on www.fai.ie

shiv_ire
11/05/2007, 10:29 AM
The game is scheduled for Weds 22nd August though I don't know the ko time.

Kick off is 20:00. Tickets went on sale in Denmark 2 weeks ago.

Does anyone know how much the FAI tickets are?
The Danes have 2 categories for tickets; Category 1 is ~43 euro and Category 2 @ ~35 euro.

For cheap flights, ye could also try Ryan Air direct from Dublin into Malmo (Sturup airport). The bus to CPH takes 50 minutes and then there's the 3 hour train journey to Århus.

Paulie
11/05/2007, 2:32 PM
Does anyone know how much the FAI tickets are?
The Danes have 2 categories for tickets; Category 1 is ~43 euro and Category 2 @ ~35 euro.

Away fans are normally put behind one of the goals so I'd say our tickets will be the cheaper Category 2 ones.

18/05/2007, 10:23 AM
Just seen on the FAI site that tickets are €42

05/06/2007, 12:34 PM
Is there many making this trip. I am feeling guilty now about not going to this and I was wondering is there many heading over for it. I am finding it hard to convince both myself and my mates to go to this 1, so close to the double header.

05/06/2007, 12:38 PM
Will away fans (or any fans) be allowed?

05/06/2007, 12:39 PM
Good point, I forgot about that.

Paulie
05/06/2007, 12:52 PM
As far as I know the Danish fans have a very good record when it comes to their behaviour so I doubt there will be a ban on fans at their games. Either way our flights are bought and paid for.

05/06/2007, 1:09 PM
Culture
The "Spanish Stairs" in the city centre by the Århus å.

Aarhus is a centre for education on the peninsula of Jutland drawing students from a large area, especially from the western and southern parts of the peninsula. The relatively large influx of young people and students creates a natural base for cultural activities and there are many cafes - around 500 in the city - as well as discoteques, cinemas, museums, amusement parks and various other venues of entertainment. Each year the town hosts several festivals and concerts including Aarhus International Jazz Festival and Aarhus Festuge the biggest festival in Scandinavia.

One major tourist attraction in Aarhus is The Old Town (Danish: Den Gamle By), which is not actually an old part of the city itself, but a collection of historic Danish buildings gathered from all around the country. The old town was recently ranked one of the 3 best tourist attractions in Denmark in the same category as Tivoli and Legoland. The city also hosts the Tivoli Friheden amusement park as well as the Deer Park situated in the large nearby public forest.

Architecturally impressive sights include the 13th century cathedral in the centre of the city; Århus Domkirke is the tallest cathedral in Denmark, as well as the second tallest in Northern Europe, being only 45 cm (18 in) shorter than its counterpart in Trondheim. The Aarhus City Hall is a uniquely designed building drawn by renowned architect Arne Jacobsen, located in the city centre. The city hall is included in the national educational canon for culture as an example of important architectural work.

There are many museums scattered around the city with ARoS being the newest and largest featuring daily exhibits of contemporary art. Other museums include Aarhus Kunstbygning also featuring mostly contemporary art, Frihedsmuseet focusing on the occupation and resistance movement during World War II and Kvindemuseet mainly showcasing feminist history and culture.
The Old Town of Aarhus.

Being a comparably large Danish city, Aarhus has received a fair share of immigrants from various other cultures and is as such also home to one of the few ghettos in Denmark, Gellerup. The international cultures present in the community are an obvious and visible part of the city's daily life and contribute to many cultural flavours uncommon for the North, such as the Arabic themed Bazar West, a market with shopkeepers predominantly of foreign descent.

The city has an active and visible gay and lesbian community which the city officially attempts to promote and nurture.[5] The Aarhus Festuge festival usually includes several exhibits, concerts or events specifically designed for these communities. There are several clubs, discos and cafes aimed at gays and lesbians: Danish D-lite (sports), Diskotek Blender (disco) or Gaia Vandreklub (hiking club) are a few examples. The mood in the city is generally relaxed towards group minorities of varying persuasions and safety and security is generally very good.

It is common for tourist brochures and local politicians to refer to the town with the tongue-in-cheek slogan "The worlds smallest big city" reflecting the fact that the city has everything a city needs while unquestionably not a metropolis. Another popular, and perhaps better known phrase to describe the city, is "City of Smiles" - a slogan first coined by the city council in the 1930s as an advertising slogan, and which subsequently is used widely in popular culture today.

05/06/2007, 1:10 PM
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/denmark/aarhus_idraetspark.shtml

Torn-Ado
05/06/2007, 3:29 PM
I'll be road tripping it down from Gothenburg.

I presume tickets will be available in the city on the day of the game.

Paulie
05/06/2007, 4:54 PM
I don't see tickets being a problem for this one. If you're concerned you could buy one for the Danish end on their FA's website.

08/06/2007, 1:22 PM
Sweden have been awarded a 3-0 victory after their Euro 2008 qualifier in Denmark on 2 June was abandoned when a spectator ran on to the pitch.

Denmark have been fined £41,000 and must play their next four home games at least 250km away from Copenhagen.

As a further punishment Denmark must play their next home fixture behind closed doors and Poulsen has been handed a three-match ban for punching Sweden's Markus Rosenberg in the stomach.

Paulie
08/06/2007, 2:03 PM
Sweden have been awarded a 3-0 victory after their Euro 2008 qualifier in Denmark on 2 June was abandoned when a spectator ran on to the pitch.

Denmark have been fined £41,000 and must play their next four home games at least 250km away from Copenhagen.

As a further punishment Denmark must play their next home fixture behind closed doors and Poulsen has been handed a three-match ban for punching Sweden's Markus Rosenberg in the stomach.

You gave me a bit of a fright there. This only applies to qualifiers. Our game in Aarhus is unaffected by this. Here's a link from UEFA.

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro/news/kind=1/newsid=548881.html

stiofain
08/06/2007, 2:24 PM
Thank God for that.

Does anyone have a timetable for the airport bus to/from Aarhus? I've had a look but cant find anything in English.

Paulie
08/06/2007, 2:56 PM
Does anyone have a timetable for the airport bus to/from Aarhus? I've had a look but cant find anything in English.

I haven't looked yet but this website is normally pretty good for trains in Europe.

http://www.seat61.com/

shiv_ire
11/06/2007, 11:02 AM
You can find timetables in english for all trains/buses in DK on this site: http://www.rejseplanen.dk

stiofain
11/06/2007, 4:23 PM
Thanks for the help lads.

Paulie
15/06/2007, 10:07 AM
The match is being shown live on Sky Sports.

stiofain
16/06/2007, 11:41 AM
The Ryanair return flight from London to Aarhus I booked about two months ago for around £80 is now just £25. I feel sick.

02/07/2007, 9:30 AM
Still half thinking of going to this game. Fancy a trip Denmark again after living there for a while back in 88. Can we get a list of who is heading to this one.

Paulie
03/07/2007, 9:27 AM
Still half thinking of going to this game. Fancy a trip Denmark again after living there for a while back in 88. Can we get a list of who is heading to this one.

There's three of us in my group. I wouldn't say that there will be more than a few hundred Irish fans at this one. It'll still be good craic though.

stiofain
03/07/2007, 1:57 PM
... I wouldn't say that there will be more than a few hundred Irish fans at this one. It'll still be good craic though.

Fantastic. I'm looking forward to this one.

Sligo Hornet
09/07/2007, 2:45 PM

Far too much disposable income me thinks!!.............or "single";)

09/07/2007, 4:57 PM

This should have read 98, not that old.

stiofain
09/07/2007, 5:45 PM

Have you any first hand experience of what Aarhus is like?

10/07/2007, 12:26 PM
No, just zoomed in on Google Earth but I dont think that counts.

Torn-Ado
13/07/2007, 2:21 PM
Aarhus is a city about the size of Cork and apparently is a good student town.

I'll be at this one for sure.

stiofain
14/07/2007, 8:16 PM
Aarhus is a city about the size of Cork and apparently is a good student town.

I'll be at this one for sure.

Happys days! Bring it on!

23/07/2007, 5:44 PM
Booked up today. €69 euro inc taxes and credit card charged. This convinced me to go.

Aarhus Denmark is the country’s bohemian capital, a town known most for its high student population and thriving arts scene. Denmark’s second largest city, only Copenhagen attracts more tourists year-round. A mere fraction of Copenhagen’s size and population, Aarhus does not have a Legoland or Amalienborg Palace to show off - it does, however, have the Aarhus Festival, a rollicking combination of entertainment, featuring everything from concerts and art exhibitions to interminable beer gardens and sporting events. All this happens in the first week of September and Aarhus hotels are booked months in advance of the anticipated celebration.

But Aarhus Denmark has much to offer during the remainder of the year. What began centuries ago as a Viking settlement on the east coast of Jutland, Aarhus evolved into one of the most spirited centers of higher learning in the country. It still retains some of its history as one of the busiest ports in Europe, along with a yearly reenactment of Viking battles, and proudly refers to itself as “the world’s smallest big city.”

Outside of the arts, another aspect that helps pack Aarhus hotels is the city’s fortuitous location, as it is just a few miles from a picturesque array of beaches, castles and forests. Just south is the Marselisborg Castle, a regal palace that stretches gracefully across the countryside, a castle that’s every bit the equal of Copenhagen’s Rosenborg or Amalienborg. Nearby, you can also find the Prehistoric Museum – a 250 acre forest that feels like stepping back into the Jurassic period, minus all the pesky dinosaurs.

Aarhus Denmark also stakes its reputation as one of the best places in the country to grab a drink. Stroll alongside the Aarhus Creek and you will all kinds of bars and cafes that have cropped in recent years as the city’s teeming nightlife is always a constant tourist draw. Deep in the streets near the old town, the drinking goes steady and joyfully into the small hours of the night. Some of the most unique (though not cheap) Aarhus hotels can be found here, lining the main streets of Vestergade and Gronnegade.

But if you can power through your haze of alcohol, the old town has a lot of historic monuments to visit during the day. One center of civic pride is the Den Gamle By, the national museum of urban culture and history. The place is completely open-air and houses 75 Danish buildings, perfectly preserved to show visitors what Denmark looked like hundreds of years ago. Nothing inside the museum feels touched by progress, an entirely authentic look at how the country and society as a whole have evolv

Paulie
24/07/2007, 10:20 AM
Sounds good. It should be a nice warm up for the double header in September.

14/08/2007, 11:31 AM
I just booked a place in Aarhus for €30 per night so in all the trip is costing €150 for flights tickets and accomodation.

Sligo Hornet
14/08/2007, 11:51 AM
I just booked a place in Aarhus for €30 per night so in all the trip is costing €150 for flights tickets and accomodation.

So with a kebab....and the rest on beer...that's 300 in total:D

stiofain
14/08/2007, 11:58 AM

What hotel did you get for that price, if you dont mind me asking?

Paulie
14/08/2007, 12:27 PM

That's some price Neil. Your flights were obviously very cheap as well. I think our flights from Dublin - London - Aarhus were about €180 or so. At this stage though I don't really care. All I know is that I'm off work next week!

I hope that you or nobody else had planned on flying to Copenhagen on Aer Lingus on account of their pilots being on strike next Tuesday and Wednesday.

By the way for anyone that's going next week I'd say that a handy place to meet up is the Tir na nOg pub. I reckon that there will be very few Irish fans at this so it's probably as well if we all go to the same place to get some craic going. What do ye reckon?

14/08/2007, 8:38 PM
yeah good Call. I am flying with Ryanair from Dublin to Billund, now transfers for me. And there is a bus that takes and hour and half from Billund to Aarhus. That cost me €69 inc taxes. Tickets were €42 and the rest is accomodation.

I agree with the meet up as I would say it will be a small crowd. What kills me and I said it to the FAI is that there will be people who were in San Marino and who are going to Denmark who will not get tickets for Prague.