View Full Version : Louis Theroux meets the Phelps

anto1208
03/04/2007, 12:24 PM
Anyone see this wow talk about mental , they are the guys that turn up to dead soldiers funeral to picket them !!! telling the family god was punishing them .

here is an artical on it
http://www.guardian.co.uk/usa/story/0,,2047184,00.html

03/04/2007, 12:47 PM
Anyone see this wow talk about mental , they are the guys that turn up to dead soldiers funeral to picket them !!! telling the family god was punishing them .

here is an artical on it
http://www.guardian.co.uk/usa/story/0,,2047184,00.html

Ah that shower of nutjobs have been causing outrage in the States for sometime now. They should just be left to their own devices most of the time, but arrested on public disturbance charges when they gatecrash a funeral.

I'm constantly amazed at how Theroux manages to gain such access to people like this, but I suppose waving a bag of British tax payers money at groups like this will gain you some bit of clout

stann
03/04/2007, 12:48 PM
This was frightening at first, that scum like this exist in the world should make all fair-minded, right-thinking people on the planet reach for their rusty razorblades.
As it went on though, it was reassuring how isolated they are, and in a country full of religious nutjobs that's really some going.
Louis really didn't like them, you could tell. Got quite het up by his standards. Kind of tore them apart! :D
Chap is a legend.

Edit: My searing righteous indignation made me swear more than usual there. Shame, 'twas a cracking word too... ;)

03/04/2007, 12:50 PM
I suppose waving a bag of British tax payers money at groups like this will gain you some bit of clout
I doubt he has to pay much, if anything - most of the mentalists want to get their view out there.

03/04/2007, 1:21 PM
I doubt he has to pay much, if anything - most of the mentalists want to get their view out there.

For a gang like this though, who hate him for having a child out of wedlock etc., I'd say some money would have had to change hands for them to open up as much as they did initially

03/04/2007, 2:27 PM
Very very scary. I'm surprised nobody has tried to blow up their HQ.

anto1208
03/04/2007, 2:53 PM
Im just glad after so many years they only have 71 members , but still as in one clip they packed up the whole family to fly to chicago to picket a funeral

They reckon stuff like if you get knocked down by a car it was god because you are wicked and you will go to Hell !!!! .

You can have a look on youtube there are some clips from fox news with this woman she just looks mental

CraftyToePoke
03/04/2007, 3:16 PM
Very very scary. I'm surprised nobody has tried to blow up their HQ.

im surprised no one has gunned the lot of them down in a drive-by job at one of their 'protests', there must be a chance of it happening with the ammount of twitchy, trigger happy, gun-collecting, ex-marine types in that country.

finlma
03/04/2007, 8:52 PM
It is disturbing to see people like that and shows the problem with indoctrinating children.

The funny thing is that these are probably the only people who are following the bible to its exact words and not cherry-picking the bits that suit them like other religions.

04/04/2007, 11:42 AM
It is disturbing to see people like that and shows the problem with indoctrinating children.
Did anyone see the 'Best of' show they had before he started making new documentaries?

One of them was a woman in Southern California who was putting her pre-adolescent daughters into a musical group that sang songs about Neo-Nazism. Very scary.

04/04/2007, 11:54 AM
Here's Fred Phelps giving out about Stewart and Colbert, them funny fag enablers.
e647x8xFKTs
Never knew there was a place called Sodom:)

For more timely topical bible commentary go to
www.godhatesfags.com
www.godhatesamerica.com or
www.priestsrapeboys.com

04/04/2007, 12:08 PM
gubiP3mP3Ds
Hannity and colmes in denouncing religious radicalism shocker.
Makes me think an old fashioned cult mass suicide wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing.

04/04/2007, 1:29 PM
One of them was a woman in Southern California who was putting her pre-adolescent daughters into a musical group that sang songs about Neo-Nazism. Very scary.

Is that the two blond twins who sing neo-Nazi folk songs? If it is they're far too popular stateside for it not to be very scary

04/04/2007, 1:35 PM
Is that the two blond twins who sing neo-Nazi folk songs? If it is they're far too popular stateside for it not to be very scary

Prussian Blue (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prussian_Blue_(American_duo)) is the name of their group.

As for the Phelps, I seen the show the other night and was disgusted by their views on homosexuality. You'd swear it was a choice. I felt sorry for the children, who obviously hadn't a clue what it was all about.

Bohemian
04/04/2007, 2:39 PM
Agreed, the brainwashing of the children was the truly disturbing aspect of their crazy gang. I was also disappointed that Theroux failed to challenge their image of an angry, vengefulful God.

04/04/2007, 3:47 PM
Agreed, the brainwashing of the children was the truly disturbing aspect of their crazy gang. I was also disappointed that Theroux failed to challenge their image of an angry, vengefulful God.

I think (not sure) Theroux is an atheist, so either he is the type of atheist doesn't care what they think about someone that doesn't exist (in his opinion) or he's the type that posts in the Dawkins God Delusion thread on this forum :p

04/04/2007, 5:14 PM
Prussian Blue are just plain creepy, but you have to feel sorry for those two girls, they hadn't a hope of being brought up normal. Their parents should be in jail for child abuse.

Mad Moose
04/04/2007, 5:32 PM
I felt sorry for the young kids who were brought out on the protest. One got hit by a 'soda' thrown from a passing car at the protesters.

Grampa Phelp's was one scary individual. When Theroux first meets him and Grampa is doing a sermon for TV do I hear him denouncing a person and naming him individually. I thought thats what I picked up from the sermon.

04/04/2007, 6:10 PM
You did. Jerry Falwell I think, another evangelist muppet.

hoops1
05/04/2007, 12:37 PM
I think (not sure) Theroux is an atheist, so either he is the type of atheist doesn't care what they think about someone that doesn't exist (in his opinion) or he's the type that posts in the Dawkins God Delusion thread on this forum :p

He is Jewish

05/04/2007, 1:44 PM
Yup. Actually that was a high point in the Phelps show, when yerman said that "the jews killed jesus". I don't remember the exact phrase Louis used, but he didn't hold back as he usually does. Comical.

05/04/2007, 2:49 PM
You did. Jerry Falwell I think, another evangelist muppet.

It was the renowned "fag-enabler" Billy Graham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Billy_graham) that he was condemning to Hell. :eek:

He is Jewish

I thought Louis said he wasn't Jewish during the voiceover for the programme with one of the extreme Neo-Nazi groups. He said that although he wasn't he didn't want to tell the Nazi one way or the other.

In a twisted sort of way, through their insane views Phelps and the Westboro Baptists perversely help the gay rights cause. By saying that God hates EVERYONE, not just gays, their stance in attacking the military, Billy Graham, George Bush, Bill O'Reilly etc. may make people question their own prejudices. I'm just thankful that they are, on the surface, non-violent at least. If people with that attitude decided to take up arms and help speed up "God's mission" it would be a very bad turn of events.

hoops1
05/04/2007, 3:00 PM
Yes someone else told me just after i posted
Bill O Reilly what a tool that fella is

Tazskool
05/04/2007, 4:11 PM
I sat and watched this with the MRs the other nite and they are all so screwed in teh nead in untrue!!!

When Loui asked the lad how old he was and did he understand the sign he was holding the lad just repeating the sign back to him... and then look blank.

05/04/2007, 4:11 PM
Relationship with the nutjobs did seem a little frostier than usual - there also seemed to be a cutoff point after meeting Phelps when his access was restricted. Apart from the deranged ideology, this was another example of the weirdos being friendly and hospitable (to a point). The young women in particular were perfectly nice and friendly when they weren't rejoicing in Louis' impending damnation. :eek:

I thought it was funny during the 'Best Of' show that, despite all the skinheads, racists and hatemongers he met, the most objectionable and openly mean person he met was Max Clifford. :)

stann
05/04/2007, 8:23 PM

There's a God Delusion thread on this forum?! Link, link, link!!! :D

lopez
07/04/2007, 1:00 PM
Michael Moore paid the mad pastor a visit a few years ago with some 'friends'. Hilarious!

http://www.mulley.net/2006/09/06/michael-moore-vs-fred-phelps/

07/04/2007, 1:52 PM
Michael Moore paid the mad pastor a visit a few years ago with some 'friends'. Hilarious!

http://www.mulley.net/2006/09/06/michael-moore-vs-fred-phelps/

:D :D :D

07/04/2007, 4:05 PM
Here (http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=52f_1173577553) is an Aussie journalist pretending to hit on the leading Phelps protestor.

NJTom
07/04/2007, 7:03 PM
God's wrath is not just for homosexers but also for seafood. Yes, that's right. God Hates Shrimp (http://godhatesshrimp.com/)

07/04/2007, 7:22 PM
It's best to read the "About" section of the site. It's a kind of parody site with an intelligent serious point.

lopez
07/04/2007, 9:45 PM
Interesting angle was pointed to me by a workmate about Phelps during those hazy days of the sixties, as featured on his entry in Wikipedia.

'Phelps earned a law degree from Washburn University in 1962, and founded the Phelps Chartered law firm in 1964. The first notable cases were of a civil rights nature. "I systematically brought down the Jim Crow laws of this town," he says. Phelps' daughter was quoted as saying, "We took on the Jim Crow establishment, and Kansas did not take that sitting down. They used to shoot our car windows out, screaming we were n*gger lovers," and that the Phelps law firm made up one-third of the state’s federal docket of civil-rights cases.

Phelps took cases on behalf of African American clients alleging discrimination by school systems, and a predominately black American Legion post which had been raided by police, alleging racially-based police abuse... Phelps' law firm, staffed by himself and family members also represented non-white Kansans in discrimination actions against Kansas Power and Light, Southwestern Bell, and the Topeka City Attorney, and represented two female professors alleging discrimination in Kansas universities. In the 1980s Fred Phelps received awards from the Greater Kansas City Chapter of Blacks in Government and the Bonner Springs branch of the NAACP for his work on behalf of Black clients.'

Question is...when did he have the car crash?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_phelps

anto1208
10/04/2007, 11:32 AM
Yes someone else told me just after i posted
Bill O Reilly what a tool that fella is

Is that the fox news guy , Ever see him on letterman he was on it twice letterman let him have it gave him a taste of his own medicine great viewing its on youtube if you have a look .

10/04/2007, 4:06 PM
O'Reilly is coming here to "talk" at Trinity this thursday. When I say talk I mean rant. A cheerleader for the Bush administration who never listens. A complete hypocrite and bully.

Never forget he "interviewed" the son of someone who was killed on September 11 and he ended up abusing the guy accusing him of being a traitor because the guy didnt agree with the war in Iraq:eek:

I do agree with him on his views about prisons though.

10/04/2007, 4:19 PM
I hope he's ran out of the Country. Can't stand him.

10/04/2007, 4:28 PM
I hope plenty of people go and ask him pointed questions. And when he tries to shout them down, they shout right back at him.

10/04/2007, 4:49 PM
Well, he won't be able to cut people's mics, as this is one of his favourite tactics when things don't go his way. Just an example (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epBR1vf3iV8) of what happens when he's challenged with facts. It's about 4 minutes in before he starts losing it.

lofty9
05/11/2007, 3:36 PM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article2783974.ece

"GOD hates $10.9m" fine for the good old Westboro Baptist Church.