View Full Version : Hullo!
brixton fs
16/01/2003, 12:30 PM
Just wanted to say hullo to all you fine folk of the emerald isle, and ask how many you think you'll be bringing to the Scotland game on 12th Feb?
If any of you are in town before the game, there are a quite a few of us meeting up at the Pandora Bar, near the stadium, fur a bevvy or two and a bit of a sing song. You're all more than welcome!
There's a fair bit of info on our board www.tartanarmyboard.co.uk for the game, otherwise feel free to send me a message if you need anything...
Anyhow, sorry to butt in on your board, and awrabest for next month! :D
Alba Gu Brath
brixton fs
23/01/2003, 12:17 PM
Ach well... sure it would have been good meetin some of ye's.
Maybe next time eh?
Awrabest
Sorry just saw this thread now, Im heading over with a group of lads from college, still trying to get tickets, the FAI are a bit slow in replying.
Should be a good laugh
25/01/2003, 10:45 PM
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
Im heading over with a group of lads from college
What's the deal with tickets?
I'm thinking of getting the train up on the afternoon of the game but I would like to have an Ireland supporters ticket.
Not that I would have a problem sitting with the Jocks but since it may be Brian Kerr's first game in charge I want to make a real occasion out of it.
brixton fs
27/01/2003, 11:47 AM
Good stuff. If you're stuck you'll be more than welcome with us lot. We'll be in the North Stand where the pipers are... We're hoping to get a good atmos going, though the new Hampden's no too good for it compared to the old one... Anyway, safe journey and mebbe see ye's in the Pandora eh?
(get the train from Glasgow central to Queen's Park, turn left out the station and it's a minute or two along on your right...)
Slainte
Inkeeping with their tradation of not being ablse to organise anything the FAI told me that I never faxed them looking for tickets, despite the fact that I sent 3 faxes over 2weeks. I've faxed them again and confirmed that they recieved it, should have the ticket info by thurs.
I'll pass on any info I get.
Hope to see you there Brixton fs, should be great craic.
Slán go fóill
shifty
31/01/2003, 11:14 AM
i am a dub living in glasgow, going to the game with my (scottish)mates - all of us are in the main stand - is that section mixed?
all going to the queens park cafe before the game - (relax it's a pub) - handy for the stadium and supposed to be good athmosphere.
brixton fs
04/02/2003, 12:56 PM
Shifty - It's usually the west end of the south stand (from memory) where the 'official' away fans go, but usually we get a fair mixture throughout. Come to the north stand wi us lot!... that's where the pipers etc. are.
-Oh, and look out for thae stewards... they're ferkin useless!
See ye's aw there!
Slainte
Got the tickets today, we're in the West stand behind the goal, dont look like great seats. The FAI also took a €2 cut without telling me until the bill arrived!
How does one get to Hapmden for the match and whats the best way of getting back into the city centre afterwards?
Jonny
05/02/2003, 11:40 PM
SÓCcfc
This link shows you where the Pandora Bar is.
http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.srf?x=258328&y=662869&z=0&sv=G42+7SA&st=2&tl=Postcode+G42+7SA&pc=G42+7SA&mapp=newmap.srf&searchp=newsearch.srf
Click Southeast twice for Hampden - it's a fifteen minute walk from the Pandora. (Add an extra minute for every pint you've had). Get the train from Central to Queen's PArk Station.
Best way back is Mount Florida Station - or get a bus around Victoria Road.
Hope tae see ye there.
Shed End John
06/02/2003, 2:11 PM
you there Brixton fs, should be great craic.
Say hello to the fair people of Scotland to me, I don't get there half as often as I'd like. See ya for the foot.ie match.
COME ON THE NON MODS!!!!;)
Originally posted by Shed End John
See ya for the foot.ie match.
COME ON THE NON MODS!!!!;)
Bring your own stretcher :mad:
:D :D :D
07/02/2003, 8:07 PM
Got the tickets today, we're in the West stand behind the goal, dont look like great seats.
Same here but I'm in section A which is close to the South Stand.
They may not be such bad seats.
flynny
10/02/2003, 11:29 AM
there is eleven of us travelling to glasgow wednesday but we arrive from cork about 3pm n then off to hotel and it would be great to meet up - you will see us with the big c.c.f.c. flag are there any good clubs to go to is it true there are very few clubs open on week nights as we have heard? which i found surprising for a city of its population - we will also be checking out bairds bar as this will be our first time over and we all know about it on matchdays is it any good when there are no games on?we will also be on the pull so if you could let us know where all the slags hang out we would be much obliged.....
slan go foill agus tiocfaidh ar la.......
Heading over tomorrow, 6 of us, staying in Jurys Inn in Edinburgh bcoz the craic is better there, then staying in Glasgow the day of the match and back to Edinburgh again. Should be great craic, I'll be there with my City jersey on me.
My tickets are for Section A too so maybe they wont be that bad!
Flynny: I'ds say watch out spouting your tiocfaidh ár lá stuff in Glasgow, most people mightnt know what it means but they know what to associate it with:)
Cant wait..counting the hours...
Daxion
10/02/2003, 4:50 PM
Flynny: I'ds say watch out spouting your tiocfaidh ár lá stuff in Glasgow, most people mightnt know what it means but they know what to associate it with:)[/B]
They know well what it means and what it's associated with on both sides of Glasgow.
And if you thread in the wrong area wearing the wrong colours, you could very well end up in deep schitt.:(
10/02/2003, 6:42 PM
Originally posted by DAXION
And if you thread in the wrong area wearing the wrong colours, you could very well end up in deep schitt.:(
Heard about your lot alright.
Is that game in Glyn Conner Park still on?
How many of you are travelling up?
The FAI said they have sold about 5,000 tickets.
Should be a good crowd.
Safe trip to you all.
gypsydownunder
11/02/2003, 2:02 AM
Dax, me auld china plate. Have a few pints of Heavy for me.
Wish I could be there - last visit to Hampden (on international duty) was brilliant (Lawrenson 1-0). However I'll have to make-do with cherring on the Aussies from afar - oh and then popping down to the beach for a few cold beers.
Still bitter about the 83 cup final.
GypsyDownUnder
Daxion
11/02/2003, 9:08 AM
Originally posted by Peadar
Heard about your lot alright.
Is that game in Glyn Conner Park still on?
How many of you are travelling up?
The FAI said they have sold about 5,000 tickets.
Should be a good crowd.
Safe trip to you all.
1. I assume you mean the RISSC London.
2. There is a game on between the Irish & Scottish supporters about 1pm on Wednesday, I don't know the venue, but as soon as I find out will post here.
3. We ordered 145 tickets from the FAI, I believe all are travelling.
Daxion
11/02/2003, 9:20 AM
Originally posted by gypsydownunder
Dax, me auld china plate. Have a few pints of Heavy for me.
Wish I could be there - last visit to Hampden (on international duty) was brilliant (Lawrenson 1-0). However I'll have to make-do with cherring on the Aussies from afar - oh and then popping down to the beach for a few cold beers.
Still bitter about the 83 cup final.
GypsyDownUnder
"me auld china plate", Here I think you picked up to much of the local lingo when you lived in London. I cannot go to Glasgow this time, Japan, Korea used up all the holiers for this year. Restarts just in time for Georgia/Albania. Must be kinda hot in Victoria or is it South Aussie these days. Enjoy the beers and see you in Germany. And bring that big Gypsy flag, so I can find you.
83 What a super day, 2 super goals. and ya call that a pitch, more like a mud bath.:D
Daxion
11/02/2003, 11:27 AM
This is the Itinerary for the supporters club
Pick up at Jurys Hotel Great Western Road
Glasgow, Scotland, G12 0XP at 12pm
Onto Glyn Conner Park, Royston Road, Royston
After Game between RISSC and local side to The Budgie Pub, address to be confirmed
:cool:
brixton fs
11/02/2003, 6:15 PM
Daxion... an if ye decide ye's cannae be ersed playin', jus come ower tae the Pandora like the rest o' us! -We'll be there about half 2ish...
I'm awa up the road fae London tonight, so see ye's up there! You won't miss me... I'll be the guy in the kilt, glengarry and Scotland jersey - come an say hullo!
Safe journey to ye's aw!
Alba Gu Brath
11/02/2003, 8:41 PM
Originally posted by DAXION
This is the Itinerary for the supporters club
I have to work in the morning so I wont get to Glasgow until 17:00 at the earliest.
I have been a memeber of ROISSC in Ireland but never got to a meeting because I'm never in Ireland when they're on.
Hopefully I'll get my membership renewed this year and get to a meeting. Either way I plan to go to Georgia and Albania.
We could be based in Cyprus for the trip.
All off to the Step Inn, can't wait!
Really enjoyed the last trip there.
No Ireland shirt over here with me so I'll be in my Cork City FC shirt tomorrow.
(Red with a white trim and Guinness across the front)
Don't be shy, mines a John's Smiths Extra Smooth.
shifty
14/02/2003, 8:26 AM
the game at roystons glen connor park went well, finishing 7-3 in favour of the home side,sounds one sided but was close right up to the last 20 minutes, when jet-lag kicked in.
few pints then in the blochairn (budgie) bar - good stuff!
sky sports sent along a camera and interviewed a few players also,.
has anyone seen anything broadcast?
Daxion
14/02/2003, 8:30 AM
This will probably be shown on Sky Sport on Saturday morning.:D
shifty
14/02/2003, 9:06 AM
good thinking, i will tape it - cos i'll be out marching for world peace and obviously a few pints watching the arsenal or celtic game