View Full Version : Urgent: New Songs Required

galwayhoop
29/03/2007, 11:46 AM
right lads, it's getting a bit sad.
stand up for ....
come on the ....

we need to improve our singing at matches. the canal end is hopping at the moment at croker with mostly willing participants all in the one spot so lets try and get a few new numbers going. we only really have the stand up song at the moment. fair enough we have come on you boys and the fields also but they never get a full airing.

so suggestions for new songs here. the criteria for a song as i see it is:

catchy
reasonabily short
repetitive but gets louder as sung
easily recoginisible for rest of the stadium so everyone joins in
must be sung in an IRISH accent - 'who are ya', 'thierry henry havin' a larph'...etc need not apply.

i would love 'the one road' myself but it seems a bit hard for a lot of people.

29/03/2007, 12:04 PM
HOw bout using players individual songs. Sure they'd be easy to find out from clubs.

When at city a simple one for Doyler was
Super, super Kev
Super, super kev
Super, Super kev
super Kevin Doyle.

Not exactly highly original but effecti8ve. His one to ring of fire is better but not as catchy

citizenerased
29/03/2007, 12:08 PM
agree the current songs have been exhausted!!!

galwayhoop
29/03/2007, 12:15 PM
i know many on here don't like celtic but the willie maley song (james mcgrory) is class when sung by the crowd. probably the problem is that there is only a few international games a year whereas for clubs they are every week.

was thinking more of songs for the team / country as opposed to individual player songs.

can't stand england supporters or their songs but hats off to the way they sing the queens song and rule britannia the whole way through games.

29/03/2007, 12:28 PM
Blackburn fans used sing this:
All you need is Duff, do do do-do do,
All you need is Duff, Duff,
Duff is all you need.

Don't know if he came up with it, but the foot.ie member Collie sings this:
Woah-oh we're half way there,
Woah-oh Given is our player,
He's got great hands,
And ... (I've never caught the fourth line :(),
Woah-oh, Given is our player.

29/03/2007, 12:38 PM
When at city a simple one for Doyler was
Super, super Kev
Super, super kev
Super, Super kev
super Kevin Doyle.
That was sung last night when he went off.

All you need is Duff is a good one. Molly Malone, if the culchies don't object.

29/03/2007, 12:42 PM
Molly Malone, if the culchies don't object.

I'll allow it :) ... but only if it ends with

"through streets broad and narrow, singing
IRELAND ... IRELAND ... IRELAND :)

michaelguineys
29/03/2007, 12:45 PM
The Ring of Fire Kevin Doyle one is good aswell....

De de de de de Kevin Doyle
Kevin Doyle is a striker who's on fire
And he scores scores scores with Ireland (well we used obv say City) going higher,
And he scores scores scores
Coz he's on fire, coz he's on fire...

Heard a Shane Long one too last nite
It was the tune of that Gary Glitter (i think!) song, Come On, Come on...
Very basic, just said
Shane Long Shane Long
Shane Long
Shane Long
Shane Long

29/03/2007, 12:47 PM

We tried that at the Wales game, but it was a 50-50 split over how to finish it, so everyone just trailed off, looking embarrassed.

casso36
29/03/2007, 1:00 PM
To Tune Of Wid Rover!!!

I've been a green soilder for many..s a year
and i've spent all me money on football and beer.
We travelled with Charlton, McCarthy and Kerrrrr,
sure isn't it no wonder that we love our beer>

And it's no we never, no we never at all.
Now we have Stauton... who know's **** all

And its no we never, no we never at all.

Feel free to add on or jumble about>

i'll Get Me Coat Again!!!!

29/03/2007, 1:05 PM
That's not bad. The Staunton bashing isn't ideal though - we sing bugger all songs, so they might as well be positive... we can save "NAME-HERE Out!" for that sort of thing.

blobbyblob
29/03/2007, 1:42 PM

Why not sing the chorus as it was written. No confusion then an a bit more miles on it rather than getting into the Ireland Ireland clap clap business.

hp123
29/03/2007, 1:43 PM
I would walk 500 miles,
and I would walk 500 more,
Just to be the man who walk a 1000 miles to see McGeady(or insert other) score.
McGeady, Mceady, nanananananananana.

kingdom hoop
29/03/2007, 2:07 PM
Don't know if he came up with it, but the foot.ie member Collie sings this:
Woah-oh we're half way there,
Woah-oh Given is our player,
He's got great hands,
And ... (I've never caught the fourth line :(),
Woah-oh, Given is our player.

fourth line of 'and he'll save it i swear' would be good and appropriate maybe. but bon jovi??:o

galwayhoop
29/03/2007, 2:10 PM
Why not sing the chorus as it was written. No confusion then an a bit more miles on it rather than getting into the Ireland Ireland clap clap business.

as said before in order for songs to be effective and sung by the masses they need to be shortened or repeated - a la 'the fields of athenry' where only chorus gets sung. also 'you'll never walk alone' at both anfield and parkhead.

if a song is sung from start to finish - or as written as you suggested - then it tails off and doesn't gather necessary momentum. sad but true i'm afraid

Armando
29/03/2007, 2:17 PM
I posted this a couple of years ago:

I've got a song for Duffer we can all enjoy as he tears into their defence. It's to the tune of KC and the Sunshine Bands 'Baby Give it up':
'Na na na na na na na na na na na, Damien Damien Duff, Damien Duff, Damien Damien Duff'.....(and so on).

I was in a boozer in Waterford a few months back and this song came on. We all sang the above lyrics. It sounded great.

It's short and catchy, so something all fans could latch onto and sing.

hp123
29/03/2007, 2:25 PM
Duff, Duff will tear you apart again.
repeat....

Joy Divisions Love will tear you apart.

michaelguineys
29/03/2007, 2:52 PM
Quote:
I've got a song for Duffer we can all enjoy as he tears into their defence. It's to the tune of KC and the Sunshine Bands 'Baby Give it up':
'Na na na na na na na na na na na, Damien Damien Duff, Damien Duff, Damien Damien Duff'.....(and so on).

I was in a boozer in Waterford a few months back and this song came on. We all sang the above lyrics. It sounded great.

We sing that for Roy o Donovan
na na na na na na na na na na na Roy O'Donovan
Donovan
Roy O'Donovan!
They even play the song over the PA when he scores!
(Well they did v Portadown anyway!)

blobbyblob
29/03/2007, 2:59 PM
as said before in order for songs to be effective and sung by the masses they need to be shortened or repeated - a la 'the fields of athenry' where only chorus gets sung. also 'you'll never walk alone' at both anfield and parkhead.

if a song is sung from start to finish - or as written as you suggested - then it tails off and doesn't gather necessary momentum. sad but true i'm afraid

Agreed! Thats why I suggested the chorus as is.

We're on the one road, sharing the one load
We're on the road to God knows where
We're on the one road, it may be the wrong road
But we're together now who cares?
Northmen, Southmen, comrades all!
Dublin, Belfast, Cork or Donegal!
We're on the one road, swinging along, singin' a soldier's song!

29/03/2007, 3:11 PM
DUNNE, DUNNE, DUNNE, DUNNE, DUNNE, DUNNE, DUNNE
etc.

(White Stripes - Seven Nation Army)

We're going to Switzerland
A Seven Nation Army couldn't hold us back...:D

29/03/2007, 3:18 PM
etc.

(White Stripes - Seven Nation Army)

We're going to Switzerland
A Seven Nation Army couldn't hold us back...:D
To the jaws theme:
Dunne Dunne. Dunne Dunne. Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne...;)

29/03/2007, 3:21 PM
Shove you're Fcuking Wave up your arse! aimed at the muppets in the corner of the Davin

Wolfie
29/03/2007, 3:42 PM
As previously posted - Man U's "Eric the King" could be adapted to Robbie Keane if you're willing to believe he's that good. It's to the tune of "Lilly the Pink". I'd say Aldo would like it anyway............

We'll Drink, a drink, a drink
to Robbie the King, the king, the king
He's the leader of our football team,
He's the greatest, centre foward,
that the world
has ever seen.

29/03/2007, 3:46 PM
Shove you're Fcuking Wave up your arse! aimed at the muppets in the corner of the Davin

I was very tempted to sing that last night - would have if the Sloves had scored.

galwayhoop
29/03/2007, 6:08 PM
To the jaws theme:
Dunne Dunne. Dunne Dunne. Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne Dunne...;)

or to the batman tune:

Dunne, Dunne, Dunne ...... Fat Arse!! :D

in a nice kind of jokingly affectionate way

galwayhoop
29/03/2007, 6:10 PM
Agreed! Thats why I suggested the chorus as is.

We're on the one road, sharing the one load
We're on the road to God knows where
We're on the one road, it may be the wrong road
But we're together now who cares?
Northmen, Southmen, comrades all!
Dublin, Belfast, Cork or Donegal!
We're on the one road, swinging along, singin' a soldier's song!

sorry i took you up wrong. i completely agree with you on the song and the words. no manipulation of words required. great song and EVERYONE knows the words - great tune too

Murpholini
29/03/2007, 7:11 PM
to the tune of "feelin' Hot! Hot! Hot!"

Oh-Way Oh-Way, Oh-Way Oh-Way,
Stephen Hunt! Hunt! Hunt!

29/03/2007, 7:48 PM
Oooh arrr! Graham Kavanarrr!

Got a run in the Faroes and he enjoyed it. Maybe due a comeback if he gets one himself?

kingeric
03/04/2007, 8:43 PM
In terms of singing football chants, we as irish football supporters must be one of the worst in the world.
i don't how many times i've heard "come on you boys in green" followed by
"di di di di do di di di di ireland" and then "stand up for the boys in green"

3 songs is ALL we have- it's a disgrace!

even isreal brought 500 fans to L Road 2 years ago and out sang us- "2-0 and you still don't sing" and "shall we sing a song for you"

if we want the boys to do well, we should create an atmophere and shout them on.

where's the fantastic EL supporters with the their whistles horns and flags?
why can't we show the same support for the boys in green as we do for our clubs?

we need a few more songs and i'd like to hear some suggestions....

amuse me!!:) :)

DannyInvincible
03/04/2007, 9:22 PM
It's bad manners to sing with a prawn sandwich in your mouth.

03/04/2007, 9:43 PM
even isreal brought 500 fans to L Road 2 years ago and out sang us
And we usually out sing the home crowds in every country we play.

03/04/2007, 9:47 PM
where's the fantastic EL supporters with the their whistles horns and flags?
In the Davin making all the noise.

we need a few more songs and i'd like to hear some suggestions....

amuse me!!:) :)
Thread (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=56799) on this already.

citizenerased
04/04/2007, 3:35 PM
obviously the obligitary " Zindine Kilbane, Zindine Kilbane"!!

Do what liverpool do, just rob other clubs songs....

I like the 7 nation army one..

or keano to the sound of Hey Jude

Na Na Na Na Na na na na Keano ...Keano

John Delaneys Green and White Army!!

He small he fat, he almost went to Pats, Andy Reid, Andy Reid..

aidz1
04/04/2007, 7:59 PM
how about singing something that is ours..and is known....

god saves ireland say the heroes
god saves ireland says them all
from the scaffold high
or the battlefied we die
sure no matter for irelands cause we fall

zenokelly
04/04/2007, 10:05 PM
the Liverpool Steve Finnan song know the tune but dunno how to describe it

Weve got a right back called Steve Finnan
when he plays were always winnin
passes the ball out an in again
weve got a right back called Steve FInnan

And instead of traore then sing

We had a centre half called Gary Breen
He fuukd up the irish team
Saudi Arabia was his dream
We had a centre half called gary breen

a runner?

4tothefloor
04/04/2007, 11:39 PM
This was posted ages back, can't remember who posted it.

(To tune of New York, New York)

Start spreading the news,
He's playin today,
He's gonna score a goal for us, Keano, Keano
If he can - score from there
He'll score from - anywhere
He's super Robbie Keano, Keano

Also 'Danny Boy' - it's a class song, as the Dutch have often shown. Isn't there also a Lee Carsley club song, something to do with uncle Fester?? We seriously need to get this going. Maybe a few pages in that free fanzine 'You Boys In Green' with the words of whatever songs we decide would help. Definately

On The One Road (chorus only)
God Save Ireland (chorus only)
Steve Finnan Song
All You Need is Duff
Kevin Doyle Ring of Fire
Shane Long, Shane Long
Oh Danny Boy
Fields of Athenry (but has to be sung at pace like Liverpool sing their version)

For what it's worth I think Molly Malone is a pile of s**t, it's not a football song and sounds like a song your mother would sing to u to bed when u were 5. It's a pansies song basically :rolleyes: Leave it to the rugger buggers, I always whince when I hear them singing it....

Do what liverpool do, just rob other clubs songs....

Apart from "The Fields of Anfield Road" and "The Luis Garcia Song", you're talking ****e there I'm afraid. Liverpool fans have by far the most original songs of any PL club, but don't let that get in the way of a pointless remark :D Liverpool fans actually have a campaign at the moment called 'Reclaim The Kop" (http://www.reclaimthekop.co.uk/cgi-bin/main.pl?action=charter), which abhors the singing of crap Soccer A.M. chants such as 'Who Are Ya' and 'Eaaasy, Eaaasy'. It's a campaign that us Irish fans could also take a leaf out of........we could certainly do with something similar :ball:

citizenerased
05/04/2007, 9:11 AM
[QUOTE=4tothefloor;660725]
Also 'Danny Boy' - it's a class song, as the Dutch have often shown. Isn't there also a Lee Carsley club song, something to do with uncle Fester?? We seriously need to get this going. Maybe a few pages in that free fanzine 'You Boys In Green' with the words of whatever songs we decide would help. Definately

Steve Finnan Song
All You Need is Duff
Kevin Doyle Ring of Fire
Shane Long, Shane Long
Oh Danny Boy
Fields of Athenry (but has to be sung at pace like Liverpool sing their version)

Apart from "The Fields of Anfield Road" and "The Luis Garcia Song", you're talking ****e there I'm afraid. QUOTE]

Hardly, your after proving my point!!! also what about we all dream of a team of carraghers!! thats 3 songs, its enough to counter your claim that im expending mistruths!!

hp123
05/04/2007, 11:19 AM
We all live in a Red and White Kop.

The first fans to sing it in any football context.

aidz1
05/04/2007, 11:40 AM
danny boy at a football match?????

my opinion but i think the fields of athernry should be sang without the clapping...think it has a more emotional affect..

05/04/2007, 12:12 PM
the Liverpool Steve Finnan song know the tune but dunno how to describe it

Weve got a right back called Steve Finnan
when he plays were always winnin
passes the ball out an in again
weve got a right back called Steve FInnan

Michael Finnegan by any chance?

4tothefloor
06/04/2007, 12:06 AM
[QUOTE=4tothefloor;660725]

Steve Finnan Song
All You Need is Duff
Kevin Doyle Ring of Fire
Shane Long, Shane Long
Oh Danny Boy

Apart from "The Fields of Anfield Road" and "The Luis Garcia Song", you're talking ****e there I'm afraid. QUOTE]

Hardly, your after proving my point!!! also what about we all dream of a team of carraghers!! thats 3 songs, its enough to counter your claim that im expending mistruths!!
Firstly, read hp123's post. Then put it in your pipe and smoke it. Secondly, Liverpool fans don't actually sing this in the ground, it's more of a pub song. I'll also enlighten you some more. Our 'Come on you boy's in green' is originally a Liverpool song which was 'Come on you mighty reds'. You can smoke that one too ;)

We all live in a Red and White Kop.

The first fans to sing it in any football context.
Correct :cool:

danny boy at a football match?????

my opinion but i think the fields of athernry should be sang without the clapping...think it has a more emotional affect..
Danny Boy at a football match - ever watched Holland play?? Obviously not....

Fields of Athenry neither holds or drums up any atmosphere when sung without clapping, especially when you're dealing with our non-singing crowd at Ireland games

All i'll say is an end to 'Stand up for the boys in green' asap, cos it's absolutely pathetic. Maybe once during the game, ok, but not every 10 mins....

Kildare Lad
06/04/2007, 11:24 AM
What about "We all Dream of a team of Robbie Keanes" (Yellow Submarine)

Hoofer
06/04/2007, 11:36 AM
how about singing something that is ours..and is known....

god saves ireland say the heroes
god saves ireland says them all
from the scaffold high
or the battlefied we die
sure no matter for irelands cause we fall

Ya I agree with this.Its short and catchy and I think the majority of people will know it and the rest will learn it and it has Ireland in it.Think about it..... singing this on the terrace will be class. Who agrees with me???????

Torn-Ado
06/04/2007, 12:17 PM
you'll Never Beat The Irish...
You'll Never Lose To Us Either!!

12/04/2007, 8:43 AM
Don't you think club songs evolve in a different way to national songs?

You attend your club game maybe 30 times a year and songs just catch on and evolve. There's a different connection between players and fans too so at club level it's way more common to have songs about particular players.

Internationals are far less frequent and the fans are more dispersed so the same thing doesn't happen.

I'd be happy just to add something like "Molly Malone" (regardless of how it ends). In my opinion it's every bit as good, if not better than, "The Fields".

I've been happy to sing "Come on..." for 25 years now and think it is unquestionably our number one song and I hope it stays that way.

galwayhoop
12/04/2007, 9:18 AM

definately.

that is why i think we have to sing songs which everyone either knows well or would pick up quite easy. while not hoping to replace YBiG we do need to supplement it. personally i'm not a major 'molly malone' fan but would definately join in if at a match. would also like 'the one road' and a couple of others from this thread to be started. with our 'hardcore' support located in the lower davin/canal end in croke park we now have a good opportunity to introduce new songs to our matches IMO

12/04/2007, 11:07 AM

You attend your club game maybe 30 times a year and songs just catch on and evolve.

Irish "fans" dont attend any club games in their own country hence the lack of atmosphere at the majority of Ireland games. However they do attend the pub on sunday afternoon to cheer on foreign clubs. Sadly that is the football culture in this country.

galwayhoop
12/04/2007, 12:10 PM
Irish "fans" dont attend any club games in their own country hence the lack of atmosphere at the majority of Ireland games. However they do attend the pub on sunday afternoon to cheer on foreign clubs. Sadly that is the football culture in this country.

i am sitting in the lower davin for current campaign NY and all around me are eL supporters - granted there are a massive amount of daytrippers/barstoolers/EPL fans in the rest of the stadium but i think there is a good section or 2 where i am behind the goals. and a fair few eL jerseys/jackets ..etc around too. ever hear the expression about painting everyone with the same brush?

agree with your expression about the football culture to a large degree unfortunately. but sadly it goes much deeper into society than just football culture. i think you could re-write the sentence and say:
Sadly that is the culture in this country.

12/04/2007, 12:22 PM
i am sitting in the lower davin for current campaign NY and all around me are eL supporters
That's because it's the eL section.

Wolfie
12/04/2007, 12:31 PM
Liverpool fans actually have a campaign at the moment called 'Reclaim The Kop" (http://www.reclaimthekop.co.uk/cgi-bin/main.pl?action=charter), which abhors the singing of crap Soccer A.M. chants such as 'Who Are Ya' and 'Eaaasy, Eaaasy'. It's a campaign that us Irish fans could also take a leaf out of........we could certainly do with something similar :ball:

We missed the boat on that one with Lansdowne. We could have called it "Reclaim the Kip".