View Full Version : Atmosphere tonight
28/03/2007, 11:27 PM
Think this deserves a thread of its own.
Started off slow, but by and large the place (or at least the Davin, where I was) was hopping for most of the match. Superb atmosphere. What was the difference?!
Very slack stewarding too! Saw one lad with a tin of beer in his back pocket, someone a few rows over was smoking hash, bags were never checked, etc. I like. )
28/03/2007, 11:32 PM
Too many people sitting down though. Some aul one behind me was driving me mad in the first half telling me to sit down...
kev mcq
28/03/2007, 11:32 PM
Atmosphere was way better than sat, i think because the team played with a lot more urgency. There were more chances in the game too. But the section in the Davin, Cusack corner where i was still kept tryin to start the mexican wave and singin who are ya:rolleyes: at the davin when people didn't join in. Also heard the "easy easy" chant from them a few times. Little scumbags are watching too much soccer am (although it is a great how!)
bohsRap
29/03/2007, 12:13 AM
I think there were more proper fans in attendance tonight. Mainly because the whole "first game in croke park" wore off a little.
I was in upper cusask and the atmosphere was better than Saturday but at the same time it was a little quiet at times.
Don't get me started on the mexican wave. Absolute disgrace at a stadium when match is in full swing. Can imagine it's a little off putting for our players at times too.
soccerc
29/03/2007, 12:21 AM
Think this deserves a thread of its own.
Started off slow, but by and large the place (or at least the Davin, where I was) was hopping for most of the match. Superb atmosphere. What was the difference?!
Very slack stewarding too! Saw one lad with a tin of beer in his back pocket, someone a few rows over was smoking hash, bags were never checked, etc. I like. )
See my post elsewhere.
Stewards were "soccer" fans.
I know them all from over the years at junior football level.
Once they saw who was there didn't want to know or get involved, even when the southern city fans moaned to them about us standing.
UCD bodhran banger deserves credit.
Alcohol, Cans, baby powers, half bottles were in good supply, if needed or wanted....................
As for the smell of hash...........................................so much for a no smoking stadium:)
29/03/2007, 2:10 AM
Atmosphere immeasurably better tonight.
Midweek games are football nights, gahheads were clearly all playing bingo or some such diversion.
Despite all the crap from the FAI and their best efforts to withdraw tickets, the EL section still generated a lot of the noise, without the support of the (woefully mistimed) samba band.
PS Soccerc if I'd known quarter bottles of Powers were on offer I'd have swapped you a coffee :)
Bluetonic
29/03/2007, 7:28 AM
As for the smell of hash...........................................so much for a no smoking stadium:)
Croke Park isn't a non smoking stadium though, smoking is permitted in plenty of areas.
casso36
29/03/2007, 7:45 AM
Davin Stand was the palce to be for atmosphere last night!! Excellent.
THE ****ING WEXICAN WAVE!! ****ing disgrace, are you not there to watch football?, this i hate with a passion and OLE OLE Shi t!!!
casso36
29/03/2007, 7:48 AM
And well done to Aidom, for organising the flag in the empty seats Davin end behind goal. Saw it on TV when went home last night.
Fell asleep watching hilights (Drunk) so not sure if there was a close up of it.
andrew1977
29/03/2007, 8:01 AM
Atmosphere was great last night, really enjoy being at it compared to Saturdays lacklustre atmosphere.
Chanting and singing more or less throughout the whole match,like a landsdowne night it was, think the hardcore ireland support was there last night to cheer on the team, my opinion saturday just seemed to be full of corporate heads and people there on freebies just wanting to sit in awe at the stadium.
It renewed my faith in the ireland supporters last night,
Countyman
29/03/2007, 8:37 AM
Yeah great atmosphere. I was in upper hogan and everyone around me was well up for it. No comparison to saturday. The mexican wave started when we were under the cosh as well. How anybody can start that when we are under pressure is beyond me.
Have to say "Stand up FTBIG..." works really well. The Slovaks added to the atmosphere too. I love night games.
P.S. The performance helped considerably too.
Ceirtlis
29/03/2007, 8:50 AM
There were a group of about 15 young fellas at the edge of the cusack stand beside the canal end that spent the whole time game trying to start the mexican wave and were signing "who are ya?" at their own fans a few times. I really pity the fans of some of the Dublin eircom league fans if they have to put up with these spotty ****ers every week. I was very disappointed in the Slovaks for joining in the thing, they seemed like a good bunch bouncing around hill 16.
Claret Murph
29/03/2007, 9:15 AM
WELL WHAT A NIGHT .
The voice has gone and thank goodness the coffee is strong as I am shagged out . The pubs around the ground seemed to be up for it before and after the match . Now as the lower Davin I am just so happy that I am in there it was a great night top Atmosphere the whole end was hopping , the last ten minutes we were all stood up at the back as nobody wanted to sit down .
Just to top it all off we were all singing on the way out of the ground
I one final note I am so happy we booked we have everything booked for the two games in September as I am sure everyone will want to go now .
blobbyblob
29/03/2007, 9:20 AM
It was a top notch athmosphere last night but jesus, what would we do if we had nothing to give out about?
We have little to be worried about if your concerned about the use of mexican waves and when and where OLE OLE should be sang. Maybe we should circulate a "How To Guide On Support"
If mexican waves and OLE OLE are some peoples idea of having a bit of craic and supporting their country, fair play to them - it all added to the athmosphere.
CROWD v WALES - 4/10
CROWD v SLOVAKIA - 9/10
harpskid
29/03/2007, 9:37 AM
bags were never checked, etc. I like. )
I had my bag checked on the way in. And there were about 10 others who were getting their's checked at the same time.
Agree about the atmosphere last night - was a big, big improvement on saturday's for sure. Although what is the problem with the Mexican Waves and Ole Ole - if ye don't like it, don't join in!
Was just a couple of rows behind you 'Stu - you really should get a proper stick to hit that yoke with instead of the poor programme :D
Dublin12
29/03/2007, 9:40 AM
It was a top notch athmosphere last night but jesus, what would we do if we had nothing to give out about?
Have to agree with that about the atmosphere and the whingers.Doesn't the latest edition of the Lonely planet say 'The Irish are never happy unless they're never happy'.How true that is these days.
casso36
29/03/2007, 9:41 AM
I had my bag checked on the way in. And there were about 10 others who were getting their's checked at the same time.
Agree about the atmosphere last night - was a big, big improvement on saturday's for sure. Although what is the problem with the Mexican Waves and Ole Ole - if ye don't like it, don't join in!
Was just a couple of rows behind you 'Stu - you really should get a proper stick to hit that yoke with instead of the poor programme :D
I don't join in!!!
I'm their to support my team and watch the game, not have people (who couldn't be ar sed) watching the game to start standing up and blocking my view.
Hope i don't sound like a moany git but thats just how i feel. If you want to do the Mexican wave, take a holiday there and support mexico!!!;) :D
blobbyblob
29/03/2007, 9:47 AM
I'm their to support my team and watch the game, not have people watching the game to start standing up and blocking my view.
their = there
I take it you dont join in with "stand up for the boys in green" for fear that you'll block the view of those behind you?
casso36
29/03/2007, 9:55 AM
their = there
I take it you dont join in with "stand up for the boys in green" for fear that you'll block the view of those behind you?
I very lucky in that sense! my seat was in the lower Davin stand Row WW with nothing but glass window behind me. Had no option but to stand so i could see the match!!
And thanks for the english lesson!! be lost without that.
DeNiro
29/03/2007, 10:01 AM
What a night! I think that has put a kick back into the campaign. The atmosphere was seriously different as well. It really shows who went on saturday, with all due respect, were probably there for the day. But every game needs to have the support that we had there last night. It did lift the team when it was needed (2nd half in particular). It probably looks like a bit of craic to us but I'm sure it rubs on the players. If it helps them get that inch further we'll I'll gladly give it!
blobbyblob
29/03/2007, 10:02 AM
Had no option but to stand so i could see the match!!
If you were standing anyway, whats the problem?
It just brings me back to my original point. As a nation, we have to give out about something. You are not alone.
29/03/2007, 10:11 AM
Maybe we should circulate a "How To Guide On Support"
It would certainly help some people. :)
Could almost understand the Mexican Wave on Saturday (still hated it though) because the game was so comprehensively dull but there was NO EXCUSE for it last night at a time when we were pinned back and possibly one clear Slovakian chance away from exiting the race for qualification.
Which reminds me of something which has transferred to Croker from Lansdowne - people leaving (up to 15 minutes) early when the game is very much in the balance "to get a head start on the traffic":rolleyes:.
If your time is that precious to you that you can't hang on to see who wins the game, why would you even bother going in the first place:confused:
blobbyblob
29/03/2007, 10:16 AM
Thats a strange one alright. By the end of full time my legs were gone to jelly. With about 5 minutes to go, 5 lads in front of me got up and left.
Weird.
casso36
29/03/2007, 10:23 AM
If you were standing anyway, whats the problem?
It just brings me back to my original point. As a nation, we have to give out about something. You are not alone.
The problem is i souldn't have to stand because some inconsiderate ****ers decide to stand every 2 seconds!! Seat is a seat is a seat!!! get my drift?:D
citizenerased
29/03/2007, 10:27 AM
ah chill out, watch it on telly if it bothers you that much...it was a crunch qualifier, the lads were creating atmosphere!!
pegan
29/03/2007, 10:27 AM
whats that all about.....it distracted the players bigtime especially when the boos rang out. We paid good money to see the game not have a load of ******** jumping out of thier seats because some other ****** thought it'd be a laugh.
also as for security... on sat i was impressed with the Garda tables set up havent seen that in D4 or at any away matches since Palermo,,,
However, we were standing at Gills corner, having a pint (as you do) and for every bag searched at least another three got through.... ah well its a start
blobbyblob
29/03/2007, 10:29 AM
Ya talk about new chants lol...
I head a crowd singing "Super Stan, Super Stan, Super Stan" after the game.
Excellent. :rolleyes:
casso36
29/03/2007, 10:31 AM
Ya talk about new chants lol...
I head a crowd singing "Super Stan, Super Stan, Super Stan" after the game.
Excellent. :rolleyes:
Heard - not - Head!!!
onenilgameover
29/03/2007, 10:34 AM
I was on the hill last night...Great view of the goal. The singing/el section looked class so well done to all involved. The Slovaks jumped the whole night. Only pity was that we didnt branch out from the tried and tested stand up for the boys in green. Far better atmosphere than sat but then it was always gonna be...
onenilgameover
29/03/2007, 10:37 AM
One or two Mexican waves is grand and only when there's a break in play. Was it just me or the a wave go round twice and was then disposed of by a stand up for the....if this was intentional fair play and if it wasn't its a good tactic for the future :)
citizenerased
29/03/2007, 10:37 AM
you moaning about 'Stand up...', your the same sort moaning about no atmosphere on saturday..ya cant have it both ways
casso36
29/03/2007, 10:43 AM
ah chill out, watch it on telly if it bothers you that much...it was a crunch qualifier, the lads were creating atmosphere!!
Bo ll ox!!!! ****ing about is what i would call it!!!
KildareBhoy
29/03/2007, 11:12 AM
I wouldnt say it was a Great atmosphere, it was so bad on saturday that it was an improvement. Mexican Wave was a bit of a joke,
antrimgreen
29/03/2007, 11:23 AM
Personally i really enjoyed last night, i was a bit worried when we were defending and the Wave started..
casso36
29/03/2007, 11:26 AM
Personally i really enjoyed last night, i was a bit worried when we were defending and the Wave started..
Thank God!! Real fans decided not to join in the second effort to get it going.
29/03/2007, 11:29 AM
I felt we didn't keep chants/songs going long enough.
They faded too quickly, with people eager to get back down on their seat again.
Luckily, we were in a position to stand for the entire game.
I liked the FAI seat covers in the Hill. They'll need a few more of them for the Cyprus game.
bohsRap
29/03/2007, 11:31 AM
One or two Mexican waves is grand and only when there's a break in play. Was it just me or the a wave go round twice and was then disposed of by a stand up for the....if this was intentional fair play and if it wasn't its a good tactic for the future :)
One or two is not grand for the simple reason that you can't stop it. Blanket ban the things.
29/03/2007, 11:35 AM
We should try "The Greek" sometime...
GK for the Town
29/03/2007, 11:36 AM
Nothing wrong with a mexican wave starting. Its part of the atmosphere aswel. Just cause it doesnt fit in to your prefect atmosphere doesnt mean ya have to start crying if one starts. It blended into a 'stand up for the boys in green' in the Davin which i thought looked and sounded quality.
I'm in block 321 in lower davin myself and the change in atmosphere was unbelievable.
On Saturday there were about 5 different groups of lads along with my own group of lads in all different rows trying to start an atmosphere but to no avail. Last night i found there were more people trying to start an atmosphere and the best thing was that everyone else joined in aswel. The weird thing was that most of the people around me were the same people. Dont know what was wrong with them on Saturday.
Saint Tom
29/03/2007, 11:37 AM
thought the atmosphere was an improvement but i cannot stand this sitting down rubbish at a football game. if you want to sit down and be entertained then go to the shagging theater, otherwise be on your feet and singing. we are a part of the failed "singing section" we were supposed to be given a prominent place on the lower canal to bring flags, drums etc. how can you bring the wavey flags when the roof on the lower canal is directly over your head?? also that clown with the bell should have it stuck so far up his hole. funny how i've never seen the bell at an away game, its an embarrassment.
why do people consider a Mexican wave appropriate when we are under the cosh in two crucial games? would a chant not be more appropriate?
Dublin12
29/03/2007, 11:45 AM
As far as I can see we do the Mexican Wave because we only have 4 songs or chants,ole,ole..stand up for the boys..come on you boys in green and ireland (clap,clap,calp),thats it.
AidoM
29/03/2007, 11:47 AM
I liked the FAI seat covers in the Hill. They'll need a few more of them for the Cyprus game.
They were FAI flags/banners not Ireland ones. :(
I got the Foot.ie flag laid out on the front (unsold) seats behind the goal at the Lower Davin end. :) Haven't seen the match on tv yet and don't know if it was seen (but Casso in an earlier post said that he saw it)
If the part at the Hill end is going to be kept to seperate away fans etc surely the FAI could make it a "flag zone" and let people put flags and banners there.
29/03/2007, 11:51 AM
Was just a couple of rows behind you 'Stu - you really should get a proper stick to hit that yoke with instead of the poor programme :DThought I spotted you behind me alright. He was looking for another programme in the second half, don't think he got though. :D
bohsRap
29/03/2007, 11:53 AM
Nothing wrong with a mexican wave starting. Its part of the atmosphere aswel. Just cause it doesnt fit in to your prefect atmosphere doesnt mean ya have to start crying if one starts. It blended into a 'stand up for the boys in green' in the Davin which i thought looked and sounded quality.
The whole thing about the mexican wave is that it takes everyone's eye off the game. On Saturday Dunne won a tackle and next of all everyone starts booin at the Wales fans for not continuing the wave. Now what's he meant to think. Again last night we're under pressure and these muppets start looking to start a Mexican wave. If you wanna do one go to a carnival.
The only reason it blended in with the Mexican wave was because people were standing up and signing trying to stop the wave!
citizenerased
29/03/2007, 12:11 PM
Bo ll ox!!!! ****ing about is what i would call it!!!
I was on about standing for you boys in green, not the poxxy mexican wave
29/03/2007, 12:13 PM
lower cusack setcion j seats 5 - 8. unreal atmosphere completely diffferent to saturday. everytime i saw the corner of the lower davin going i got up on my feet singing and everyone started getting up and singing.completely different to saturday wheni i was made sit down. our group started off a couple of chants as well that worked there way around the ground.
what i noticed today was there was 1 person every 6 - 10 seats away from eachother ( plants if you like ) that would get up, then the next guy 10 seats away would get up and so on and so forth, then the whole crowd would join in. brilliant. was this a ploy by the fai? :D
kingdom you mentioned you were in this section what seats were ye? there were a load of kerry boys in the front.
irlphily
29/03/2007, 12:19 PM
Thought the atmosphere was great and the lads responded to it!! As for the mexican wave anytime i see it at a game it's usually the dullest game ever (e.g. Sat). Was in the hill which was great but Davin stand looked like the place to be!! Heard a Few Ooh Aah Paul McShane chants aswell
29/03/2007, 12:28 PM
UCD bodhran banger deserves credit.
Bodhrán bangers, plural. ;) Although I assume you're referring to Beavis, who was standing up a lot more than me.
Problem is I keep losing them under the stand in Belfield. :p The poor programme is in flithers now - only lasted an hour before the cover fell off into various different pieces. Had to move on to my guide book to Czechoslovakia, ironically enough!
The problem is i souldn't have to stand because some inconsiderate ****ers decide to stand every 2 seconds!!
Aw diddums. Did your poor legs get tired?
Don't think you're going to get any sympathy here. Stand up and stop complaining.
As far as I can see we do the Mexican Wave because we only have 4 songs or chants,ole,ole..stand up for the boys..come on you boys in green and ireland (clap,clap,calp),thats it.
Yeah, that's a problem alright. It's getting a bit better - Molly Malone and All You Need is Duff on Saturday, Super Kevin Doyle when Doyler went off last night, Super Keeper when Shay Given came down to the Davin at the end. Just need to get those started up a few more times and hope they catch on.
casso36
29/03/2007, 12:39 PM
They were FAI flags/banners not Ireland ones. :(
I got the Foot.ie flag laid out on the front (unsold) seats behind the goal at the Lower Davin end. :) Haven't seen the match on tv yet and don't know if it was seen (but Casso in an earlier post said that he saw it)
If the part at the Hill end is going to be kept to seperate away fans etc surely the FAI could make it a "flag zone" and let people put flags and banners there.
Couldn't for the life of me see you last night, walked down a bit from where i was sitting and couldn't even see the flag. But when i got home last night stuck on the match and saw the flag at back of goal, now didn't get a great view of it. Then i fell asleep afte about 20 mins so don't know if a better view was available but will check tonight.
Newryrep
29/03/2007, 12:55 PM
Upper Davin block 723 row P
Atsmoshere was definetly an improvement but having said that it was starting from a low base. a few comments
Choice of music before the game was ****e - the Proclaimers ? i would rather go to the dentist.
Anthem wasnt rushed made a big difference
2 people directly in front were different from Saturday as were the 2 to our immediate left.
Lots more singing/people standing up/shouting abuse/ encouragement generally giving a damn about what went on on the pitch.
Mexican waves have no place at a football match not even 3-0 up with 5 mins to go. They can however be negated by Stand Up for the Boys in Green.
Can whoever is in a large bunch of singers get The One Road going - it should be a great fan song but is rarely heard.
The band infront of Lower Davin - were awfull on Saturday and i think takes away from the fans themselves but i will admit they did get a few songs going. However it does feel staged and we really shouldnt need them.
Hopefully the FAI can resolve the tickets problems although i have absolutely no wish to move.