View Full Version : Call To Arms

hp123
27/03/2007, 1:55 PM
Lets not get into an argument about the team, the manager, the FAI etc.

This is our football team, the fans. Nobody else matters in comparison to how we feel about the football team and the joy that comes from seeing them win.

Lets get behind the team on Wednesday night. Make it a night to remember. Croke Park, under lights, midweek. This should be a special night, but circumstances out of our control(for now) are turning it into a chore to go to the game.

Get your singing voices out. Get your Flags and Banners out. Get them behind the Canal goal. Lets make the Canal end intimidating to the opposition. Lets make it inspiring to our boys.

Lets enjoy the night and stop moaning. If a player misplaces a pass, sing louder, don't get on his back.

Come on you boys in Green. This is our football team. Nobody elses.

RogerMilla
27/03/2007, 2:17 PM
good man , i second every word of that

27/03/2007, 2:20 PM
good man , i second every word of that

me too. only way we can actually have an impact so lets not waste it

Torn-Ado
27/03/2007, 2:25 PM
I'm with that.

Put those banners and flags out to be seen. To fu&k with stewards and sponsors. Nothing better than seeing a see of tricolours at an Irish match.

Dotsy
27/03/2007, 2:45 PM
Agree 100%. Fook the moaners and begrudgers and support the team. The players on the pitch last Saturday looked like they were giving it their all to me. It's not there fault Delaney appointed an inexperienced manager

blobbyblob
27/03/2007, 2:46 PM
100% - Players will respond to a crowd. And no doubt that they need us now.

Enough with the moaning - sadly this site, lansdowne and croke park is all too full of it. Myself included.

If you are there to support your country, support em. Leave the moaning until after 90 minutes. I remember not too long ago the crowd got a 9/10 for the czech game. Saturday would have been a 4. Lets make it a 10 tomorrow.

Ole Oles , Barstoolers, Eircoms and Premiership boys and girls welcome. Tri colours with Chelsea on em, GAA boggers, stand up or sit down, Mexican waves. Bring it on!

No regrets!

Piltownpossy
27/03/2007, 2:48 PM
100% - Players will respond to a crowd. And no doubt that they need us now.

Enough with the moaning - sadly this site, lansdowne and croke park is all too full of it. Myself included.

If you are there to support your country, support em. Leave the moaning until after 90 minutes. I remember not too long ago the crowd got a 9/10 for the czech game. Saturday would have been a 4. Lets make it a 10 tomorrow.

Ole Oles , Barstoolers, Eircoms and Premiership boys and girls welcome. Tri colours with Chelsea on em, GAA boggers, stand up or sit down, Mexican waves. Bring it on!

No regrets!

Is Right!

casso36
27/03/2007, 3:04 PM
Maybe less of the Ole Ole's, and mexican wave???

By the way, every seat had a flag on saturday and nobody, well only a few bothered to wave them, so think it will be hard to get people to do it tomorrow.

blobbyblob
27/03/2007, 3:15 PM
What I think is powerful is Celtic/liverpool scarfs/flags aloft over the head behind the goal while singing Never Walk Alone or the Fields of Athenry. Really simple and a strong show of unity when everyone gets involved.

Im sure we did it in a play off against holland in anfield for Charltons last game too. Lump in throat, chills up the spine stuff.

Claret Murph
27/03/2007, 3:20 PM
No problem lads
I will have a few pints and will be ready for battle again as allways . Just 27 hours until kick off , can't wait .

co. down green
27/03/2007, 3:24 PM

This is our football team, the fans. Nobody else matters in comparison to how we feel about the football team and the joy that comes from seeing them win.

Lets get behind the team on Wednesday night. Make it a night to remember. Croke Park, under lights, midweek. This should be a special night, but circumstances out of our control(for now) are turning it into a chore to go to the game.

Get your singing voices out. Get your Flags and Banners out. Get them behind the Canal goal. Lets make the Canal end intimidating to the opposition. Lets make it inspiring to our boys.

Lets enjoy the night and stop moaning. If a player misplaces a pass, sing louder, don't get on his back.

Well said hp123

Let's make the 12th man work tomorrow night.

Collyontour
27/03/2007, 3:43 PM
Exactly. Let's do it

27/03/2007, 3:59 PM
What I think is powerful is Celtic/liverpool scarfs/flags aloft over the head behind the goal while singing Never Walk Alone or the Fields of Athenry. Really simple and a strong show of unity when everyone gets involved.

Im sure we did it in a play off against holland in anfield for Charltons last game too. Lump in throat, chills up the spine stuff.

portugal do the scarf thing during their national anthem and is really impressive.

what gets me is that there is a general perception out there (self proclaimed really) that we are the best fans in the world. would probably apply to our away fans ok but when you compare the usual home atmosphere with that of celtic, liverpool, turkish and greek clubs etc its generally like a sunday junior league match atmosphere in comparison with the odd exception

zenokelly
27/03/2007, 4:08 PM

WELL PUT FAIR PLAY!

citizenerased
27/03/2007, 4:39 PM
my sentiments exactly...do what we did against the czechs in landowne, get behind the lads....

Wolfie
27/03/2007, 4:39 PM

NICE ONE - no more to be said.

Saint07
27/03/2007, 6:06 PM
yeah the czech game was deadly some more of that would be good!!!

Hopefully get everyone singing same song at same time. I was in Davin upper and noticed at one stage the cusack and hogan singing totally different songs:confused:
Just hope people can stop the negativity during the match

Hoofer
27/03/2007, 7:07 PM
Sick of hearing all the negative **** about the manager, team etc etc.Get behind the team Wed night and sing and get a proper atmosphere goin like the czech game.When the Lower davin stand start off the songs, will everyone join in properly.Last sat at croker was full of day trippers just wanting to be in croke park for the day....I was in lower cusack and the view was good, but the atmoshphere terrible...Turn up the volume for Wed lads....

Hoofer
27/03/2007, 7:13 PM
Oh ya, also dont mind the stewards or the sponsors, hang out the banners and flags.Its not a GAA match were at...its international football.

DeNiro
27/03/2007, 7:17 PM

Well said. I agree 100%. There comes a point in time when you get sick with all the negativity of something. I think we're at that point. Never mind Staunton, we've got 11 players to give support to tomorrow night. Hopefully it will be a special one!

NavanBohs
27/03/2007, 7:24 PM
What I think is powerful is Celtic/liverpool scarfs/flags aloft over the head behind the goal while singing Never Walk Alone....

Yup, what a great way to show you're just so damn proud to be Irish...actually I wont clog up the thread with the usual argument...

Here's hoping for a better atmosphere anyhoo than last Saturday. As bad as it was in the ground apparently the place just appeared sompletely dead on TV....

honeymonster
27/03/2007, 8:09 PM
Sing our hearts out lads, scr*w all the pesimists!!

F*ck Dunphy and all the "I secretly wanted Wales to win bullsh*t"

65,000 of us - thats 25,000+ more than Lansdowne, the first Nightime roar at Croker will be electric..... As long as everbody gets singing and not moaning the boys will do the business.....

Feeling the goosebumps already!!

COYBIG!!

Countyman
27/03/2007, 8:16 PM
Im loving the idea of scarves aloft for the national anthem. If only we could get that going.

highlight100
27/03/2007, 10:03 PM
Let's all "Stand up for the boys in green" and get behind the team.

Rosco
27/03/2007, 10:16 PM
still feel staunton isn't the man for the job but lets make it a night to remember!!
We did it against the Czechs, tomorrow should be no different if not better. No booing of the team no matter what, I was sickened to hear the booing at the match and even more so at the dunne fight.
Theres nothing I want more than to be still in it when Ze Germans arrive later this year and we have it all to play for.

hp123
27/03/2007, 10:40 PM
still feel staunton isn't the man for the job but lets make it a night to remember!!
We did it against the Czechs, tomorrow should be no different if not better. No booing of the team no matter what, I was sickened to hear the booing at the match and even more so at the dunne fight.
Theres nothing I want more than to be still in it when Ze Germans arrive later this year and we have it all to play for.

You've missed the whole point of the thread. No digs at anyone. Manager, players, FAI, nobody.

Tomorrow is about the fans supporting the team. Not having a go at individuals. Not even praising individuals. Its about the fans supporting the team. United. Singing as loud as you can.

which brings me to one other point. Unless you are under 12 years of age, there is no need for a whistle, fog horn or any other ridiculous instrument to make noise. Lets drown out that annoying band with our voices.

Sing loud, be proud. Anyone who hopes we lose, don't bother going. Don't bother watching at home. Don't bother saying anything.

Rosco
27/03/2007, 11:25 PM
Fair point Call, have a good one tomorrow.

28/03/2007, 7:38 AM
which brings me to one other point. Unless you are under 12 years of age, there is no need for a whistle, fog horn or any other ridiculous instrument to make noise. Lets drown out that annoying band with our voices.

any chance of bombarding the fai with emails to get rid of band? actually helped ruin the atmosphere on sat along with playing tacky music after the goal.

sorry, i know this is supposed to be a positive thread

28/03/2007, 10:18 AM
Any news on where we can hang our flags there were more welsh than irish flags in croker last saturday surelyt someone in the FAI has some cop on and will let all the flags up tonight.

blobbyblob
28/03/2007, 10:31 AM
Nothing to do with the FAI. The FAI are renting the ground off of the Croke Park company who hire their own stewards. I was in about a hour before the game on Saturday and the head honcho went around to each steward instructing them not to allow flags to be drapped over hoarding. Money makes the world go 'round. Simple as that. International or not, they have their own interests to protect.

28/03/2007, 10:37 AM
They actually stopped people hanging flags where there was no hoarding while the welsh hung their flags all over Hill 16. I was told it would be sorted for this evening but heard nothing since. Only place ever i was refused bar giants stadium and ive been at well over 100 internationals plus world cups & euro 88.