View Full Version : Who do the Irish Media Think they are?

27/03/2007, 9:44 AM
are .The Sun came out with a rare one today about Stan turning his back on the Nation because he wouldnt give the scavengers anymore than 30 seconds and this after the way they have behaved since he was installed as manager. As ive said before since Saipan the Irish media have lowered their standards to an alarming degree and some of the bile spewed as comment these days wouldnt lokk out of place in the sunday sport.

Get a life lads ye are far too full of yere own importance.

charliesboots
27/03/2007, 9:50 AM
How else can the international manager speak to the public except through the media?

Don't disagree about the standard of a lot of them but there's an awful lot of decent lads too who have been reporting honestly - Stan however doesn't seem to agree with any of them.

27/03/2007, 9:51 AM
Yeah Mackey, Malone and O Donnell seem like decent guys to me and good journalists.

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 9:54 AM
i agree that our press have morphed into their cousins across the irish sea in recent years but if stan keeps getting the media on his back it will do him no favours.

charlton and to a lesser degree mcCarthy showed a disdain to certain elements of the media from time to time but they had built up an element of goodwill and had results to point to in their defense. stan does not. if he keeps treating the media to 30 second snippets then they will need to fill their pages with their own thoughts, and these will hardly be pro-staunton mutterings.

football like life nowadays is at the beheist of the media, like it or lump it. look at bertie, always willing to give an interview and a soundbite and he gets away with everything. a less media savvy politician would have been crucified for the scandal he went through ealier this year but he survived and even increased his popularity! that was due in no small part to his charisma and friendship with the media.

stan is trying to negotiate a very slippery slope in high heels if he thinks he can stay in the job without even some support from the media. maybe not the way it should be but true all the same.

27/03/2007, 9:57 AM
He called them out to Malahide for a press conference, and then gave them 30 seconds. Presumably this was him getting his own back in response to the total misquoting and taking out of context of Carsley (the full unedited interview showed us all the difference :rolleyes: ).

I always had a degree of sympathy for Staunton on the basis that he was hardly going to turn the job down and that Delaney was responsible for appointing him, but his behaviour this weekend has seen that sympathy dissipate completely. He deserves everything the gutter press give him.

Reddladd
27/03/2007, 10:17 AM
There was a thread opened about Roy Curtis not long ago where he was slated on this forum. I read his column in the Sunday World yesterday and I have to say it was discraceful journalism.

I understand the sort of paper the World is but it was complete gutter and I can only imagine the type of reader he's pandering too. It was as bad if not worse than anything I've read in an English paper about the English team.

It was sentance after sentance of abuse in the most base of ways.
It's an indication of where we're at as a nation when rubbish like that can be printed. An excuse for a journalist!

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 10:23 AM
There was a thread opened about Roy Curtis not long ago where he was slated on this forum. I read his column in the Sunday World yesterday and I have to say it was discraceful journalism.

I understand the sort of paper the World is but it was complete gutter and I can only imagine the type of reader he's pandering too. It was as bad if not worse than anything I've read in an English paper about the English team.

It was sentance after sentance of abuse in the most base of ways.
It's an indication of where we're at as a nation when rubbish like that can be printed. An excuse for a journalist!

Yeh but we have a thing called free press and people are entitled to print what they like. The only reason Curtis is in a job is because people buy the paper, so folks don't buy the ****ing rag. There were plenty of other journalists out there that are honest and go about their job in a fair manner and they're our gateway to the team. Stan is setting himself up for a real fall here and his behaviour was well out of order. There's no need for him to tar them all with the same brush, it doesn't help his own cause, at least if he allied himself to some of the decent lads he buy himself some time but he can't grasp this. This business of trying to blame the media is weak, it wasn't the media that lost 5-2 to Cyprus, or scraped past San Marino and Wales.

27/03/2007, 10:26 AM
Just as a matter of Interest how many times have we scraped by wales before.

The hysteria and baying for blood has become a national sport with some of the Papers the Sindo and Sunday World were definitely gutter journalism at its wors on sunday.

onenilgameover
27/03/2007, 10:28 AM
By all account the 32 seconds beat Kerr's former record of 64. At least he's started to win things.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 10:40 AM

The hysteria and baying for blood has become a national sport with some of the Papers the Sindo and Sunday World were definitely gutter journalism at its wors on sunday.

Where's the hysteria and baying for blood? The only places you'll see that is in the rags and its your own fault if you buy them. The decent papers all had very fair reviews off what happened and what I saw on Saturday was a team with no direction, no clue and no leadership. And Carsleys comments (which were factual) highlighted this. We'll see after tomorrow night but what if we get a tonking off Slovakia? If we win then I'll gladly look at it again and say well maybe he's got something provided the performance is there. But if we get a kicking will you admit that maybe Stan isn't up to it or will you be happy enough to toil the line that oh well thats our rightful place in world football? Which is completely wrong when you look at teams like Croatia, Scotland, Sweden, Turkey and lets not forget our neighbours up to road.

Over the post
27/03/2007, 10:43 AM
I think it's part of a vicious circle in which the players couldn't be ar$ed dealing with the public or the media anymore, the management develop a siege mentality and the press get evermore bloodthirsty.

I found Kerr's comments about having to cancel visits to hospitals because the players complained very revealing. It makes my blood boil to see how these pampered primadonnas kiss their crests and swear undying loyalty to their country but then won't donate a couple of hours to visiting sick children.
The players seem to be more distant from the public than ever, like they inhabit a different world to the rest of us and whenever they are exposed to fans at close quarters (like getting off the team bus) they are invariably wearing headphones and seem more or less oblivious to the fans (although there are exceptions).

I also think that in many national sides, players are becoming less committed; they know the club pays their wages, and in many cases offers greater opportunities for glory. The national manager's hands are tied in some respects and it must be particularly frustrating when the media are baying for your blood.

I'm not trying to defend Stan, I think he's the wrong man in the wrong place at the wrong time, but he must feel between a rock and a hard place with several players that aren't playing to their full potential and the media seating him firmly on the proverbial bacon-slicer.

27/03/2007, 10:46 AM
He called them out to Malahide for a press conference, and then gave them 30 seconds.
If that's the case you can't defend Stan. Gordon Strachan can't stand most of the Scottish press. He ridicules the ones he doesn't like and gives time to the ones he does (usually anyone at the BBC). The media actually suck up to him as it's the only way they'll get a proper answer out of him. :)

I remember Kerr did something which annoyed the Indo. I think he told them that a press conference was cancelled when it actually wasn't. :D Ironically the guy that was snubbed, Gerry McDermott, is now working for the FAI.

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 10:49 AM
I think it's part of a vicious circle in which the players couldn't be ar$ed dealing with the public or the media anymore, the management develop a siege mentality and the press get evermore bloodthirsty.

I found Kerr's comments about having to cancel visits to hospitals because the players complained very revealing. It makes my blood boil to see how these pampered primadonnas kiss their crests and swear undying loyalty to their country but then won't donate a couple of hours to visiting sick children.
The players seem to be more distant from the public than ever, like they inhabit a different world to the rest of us and whenever they are exposed to fans at close quarters (like getting off the team bus) they are invariably wearing headphones and seem more or less oblivious to the fans (although there are exceptions).

I also think that in many national sides, players are becoming less committed; they know the club pays their wages, and in many cases offers greater opportunities for glory. The national manager's hands are tied in some respects and it must be particularly frustrating when the media are baying for your blood.

I'm not trying to defend Stan, I think he's the wrong man in the wrong place at the wrong time, but he must feel between a rock and a hard place with several players that aren't playing to their full potential and the media seating him firmly on the proverbial bacon-slicer.

good post.

however stan adopting a similar position regarding the media won't reduce the calls for his blood by the papers

27/03/2007, 10:50 AM
He called them out to Malahide for a press conference, and then gave them 30 seconds. Presumably this was him getting his own back in response to the total misquoting and taking out of context of Carsley (the full unedited interview showed us all the difference :rolleyes: ).

I always had a degree of sympathy for Staunton on the basis that he was hardly going to turn the job down and that Delaney was responsible for appointing him, but his behaviour this weekend has seen that sympathy dissipate completely. He deserves everything the gutter press give him.

Don' t think he called them out to Malahide. They train there and the press gathered there after training. He then gave them a 32 second interview as he was walking off the pitch. Not very mature but if we win tomorrow night and it takes a siege mentality approach then so be it.

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 10:52 AM
If that's the case you can't defend Stan. Gordon Strachan can't stand most of the Scottish press. He ridicules the ones he doesn't like and gives time to the ones he does (usually anyone at the BBC). The media actually suck up to him as it's the only way they'll get a proper answer out of him. :D

the big difference though is stan just seems to have a general disdain for EVERYONE with a microphone or pencil. all managers like and dislike some elements of the media. that is fine. ferguson never talks to the BBC because of acquisitions they made about his son. that is fine. so he sends out his assistant and no-one complains. but staunton has just decided that he dislikes all of the media. it is totally counter-productive.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 10:52 AM
Don' t think he called them out to Malahide. They train there and the press gathered there after training. He then gave them a 32 second interview as he was walking off the pitch. Not very mature but if we win tomorrow night and it takes a siege mentality approach then so be it.

No, it was arranged. It was an official appointment scheduled by the FAI.

27/03/2007, 10:53 AM
Fair enough, as it looked rather impromtu to me on the Tv.

27/03/2007, 10:59 AM
it was a brierfing on injuries not a press conference. He gave them the situation about Given and Ireland end of. There is a Press Conference today and no doubt stan will get laced at it again.

Its very hard for a man to deal with people who camped in the back garden of his Parents home in Dundalk trying to peer through the windows and jam their feet in the door after the cyprus game.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 11:02 AM
it was a brierfing on injuries not a press conference. He gave them the situation about Given and Ireland end of. There is a Press Conference today and no doubt stan will get laced at it again.

Its very hard for a man to deal with people who camped in the back garden of his Parents home in Dundalk trying to peer through the windows and jam their feet in the door after the cyprus game.

And it was arranged, it doesn't matter if it was a briefing or a press conference, he still should have shown them some courtesy. Not all of them were camped outside his house, like I said its usually the rags that carry on with that muck, the gutter press. If he'd any sense he'd ally himself to some of the more respected guys and that would help his cause.

27/03/2007, 11:06 AM
I remember Kerr did something which annoyed the Indo. I think he told them that a press conference was cancelled when it actually wasn't. :D Ironically the guy that was snubbed, Gerry McDermott, is now working for the FAI.

Nothing ironic about it at all. McDermott was being fed "info" by the the laney in his quest to out Kerr.

27/03/2007, 11:26 AM
Giles in the past has talked about his astonishment when he use to do the job for almost no salary and how media perceptions of him were twisted resulting in personal abuse by supporters. People can easily pontificate about how others should handle this media poison.
We know the (almost) silent treatment doesn't work. I hope Stan finds his way to deal with it. I thought he handled the post match stuff quite well.

The interpretation and isolation of Carsley's comments from even the so called good journalists were farcical. What happens in the minutes before you go out onto the pitch I'd expect are no different from any other team or manager and what last minute words does one say to Carsley about his game. Other players interviewed, at the same time as Carsley was, talked of their roles that they were to play in the game.
It's clear that Carsley's comments on Sunday were a truer reflection.
The evidence of the game was that the the team were prepared and over focussed on the Welsh strengths.

27/03/2007, 11:37 AM
The interpretation and isolation of Carsley's comments from even the so called good journalists were farcical.
Have you heard the interview? What was farcical was Staunton's reaction.

27/03/2007, 11:44 AM
Have you heard the interview? What was farcical was Staunton's reaction.
I have heard the post match interview with Carsley and heard the post match interviews with the other players. The question of roles/preparation was put to Kilbane, he answered it to satisfaction, no doubts whatsoever.

27/03/2007, 11:53 AM

was making this point at the weekend. during our supposed golden era of late 80’s and 90’s we beat them 3-0 in wrexham but lost in ’86 1-0, again lost 1-0 in the RDS in the early ‘90s, won 1-0 just before wc in 1990 and again won 1-0 in tolka park. hardly an overly impressive run of results!

the media think that they are what its all about and the football is second!

tblade
27/03/2007, 12:02 PM
It has to be remembered though that this Welsh performance was incredibly bad. I've never seen a weaker performance by them. Not just me talking. Listen to what John Toshack said himself in his lengthy and honest post match press conference.

27/03/2007, 12:03 PM
It should be pointed out those games were friendlies, where a lot more slack is available

Tipp Townie
27/03/2007, 12:37 PM
It has to be remembered though that this Welsh performance was incredibly bad. I've never seen a weaker performance by them. Not just me talking. Listen to what John Toshack said himself in his lengthy and honest post match press conference.

It was an awful performance in an awful game, but i do think that Wales get over-criticised sometimes. They're struggling for players at the moment (not including Toshack's Savage/Thatcher vendettas), so when players like Gabbidon, Koumas and Earnshaw are unavailable, ie. the spine of the team, then what can you do?.. I suppose one answer would be to hope your best player, Giggs, actually turns up :rolleyes:

Qwerty
27/03/2007, 12:39 PM
Nice one Stan. Nothing like showing who the gaffer is. That's them sorted now.

dr_peepee
27/03/2007, 12:42 PM
The media are just that. A medium between them as the senior team and us as fans. As long as it's not counter productive to the teams efforts they should be used as such. Now as a fan Stan answered any query I would've had on Ireland and Given. Anything else would've have been counter productive to the teams efforst in terms of A)Giving away strategy and B) the Media's abuse of their roles recently. They're more and more like the english tabloids now and it's fvckin sickening. Kerr himself cited incidents of time and effort in setting up an open night for journalists to provide insight into their efforts under his tenure... A couple showed. Yet they were out in force like vulutres when the easy pickings came.

The disdain for the media from the irish set up has to stop though. It's further alienating us as fans from those within the set up, players and management alike. If our only medium is the ninety minutes on the pitch it's perfectly reasonable for us to assume given recent performances that it's as bad off the pitch too. But it's chicken and egg really in terms of who started it. The tabloids are rags but condeming the entire media to punish the hacks is not the way.

A media relations advisor of some capacity should be first on the agenda after the Slaovakia game. The senior set up should choose a couple of journalists very wisely and use them as a focal point of contact for extended interviews and endure the required press conferences as a necessary evil.

craig7042
27/03/2007, 12:56 PM
are .The Sun came out with a rare one today about Stan turning his back on the Nation because he wouldnt give the scavengers anymore than 30 seconds and this after the way they have behaved since he was installed as manager. As ive said before since Saipan the Irish media have lowered their standards to an alarming degree and some of the bile spewed as comment these days wouldnt lokk out of place in the sunday sport.

Get a life lads ye are far too full of yere own importance.

Stan made great efforts to get the players to do interviews with the press after the trouble Kerr had with the media. Fat lot of goodwill they gave him for that...........

I agree that the media (Broadsheets included) have not shown much desire for the team to develop with their abuse. Critique involves saying something positive sometimes....

Mento
27/03/2007, 1:00 PM

And not to forget - write front page headlines about his ill father even though Stan had already asked to leave his family business alone.

People should also remember there are two desks in a newspaper - sport and news.
The news desk is the real bottom feeding scum, but sport is different.
Example today - the sun's news angle is Stan turns his back on the nation
Sports is more positive with Carsley and Keane being positive.
All the real negative press is more often than not on the front pages of papers, and the news guys obviously dont care about the sports journos who then have to face Stan and the team.

Mento
27/03/2007, 1:12 PM
I have heard the post match interview with Carsley and heard the post match interviews with the other players. The question of roles/preparation was put to Kilbane, he answered it to satisfaction, no doubts whatsoever.

Ye I'm sure Mr Kilbane was well groomed to face the media.
Stan's good mate and the only reason he is playing AGAIN tomorrow night.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 1:28 PM
Stan made great efforts to get the players to do interviews with the press after the trouble Kerr had with the media. Fat lot of goodwill they gave him for that...........

I agree that the media (Broadsheets included) have not shown much desire for the team to develop with their abuse. Critique involves saying something positive sometimes....

And what positives can you take from Cyprus, San Marino and that display on Saturday? Really, you can't be postitive for the sake of it. I'd rather a realistic view on things.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 1:31 PM
The media are just that. A medium between them as the senior team and us as fans. As long as it's not counter productive to the teams efforts they should be used as such. Now as a fan Stan answered any query I would've had on Ireland and Given. Anything else would've have been counter productive to the teams efforst in terms of A)Giving away strategy and B) the Media's abuse of their roles recently. They're more and more like the english tabloids now and it's fvckin sickening. Kerr himself cited incidents of time and effort in setting up an open night for journalists to provide insight into their efforts under his tenure... A couple showed. Yet they were out in force like vulutres when the easy pickings came.

The disdain for the media from the irish set up has to stop though. It's further alienating us as fans from those within the set up, players and management alike. If our only medium is the ninety minutes on the pitch it's perfectly reasonable for us to assume given recent performances that it's as bad off the pitch too. But it's chicken and egg really in terms of who started it. The tabloids are rags but condeming the entire media to punish the hacks is not the way.

A media relations advisor of some capacity should be first on the agenda after the Slaovakia game. The senior set up should choose a couple of journalists very wisely and use them as a focal point of contact for extended interviews and endure the required press conferences as a necessary evil.

Exacty, good post. Stan needs to realise that these guys have column inches to fill and by alienating them he's not going to get any support from the few people that actually CAN influence the publics perception of him. This mess with the media is partly of his own making. I'm sure most of you have heard the phrase 'keep your friends close, and your enemies closer'. You get nowhere by creating conflict and ill feeling, especially with these guys.

Soko
27/03/2007, 1:35 PM
A childish move by an immature man

Still longer than his pre-match team talk apparently

27/03/2007, 1:35 PM
A media relations advisor of some capacity should be first on the agenda after the Slaovakia game.

Did you not see said "advisor" after Staunton finished his so-called briefing? As the camera panned out you could the highly paid, ineffectual FAI press ofiicer. The media management has been astonishing in its incompetence - even for the FAI.

Kerr lost the media and then lost his job. Staunton is half way there....

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 1:36 PM
And not to forget - write front page headlines about his ill father even though Stan had already asked to leave his family business alone.

People should also remember there are two desks in a newspaper - sport and news.
The news desk is the real bottom feeding scum, but sport is different.
Example today - the sun's news angle is Stan turns his back on the nation
Sports is more positive with Carsley and Keane being positive.
All the real negative press is more often than not on the front pages of papers, and the news guys obviously dont care about the sports journos who then have to face Stan and the team.

i agree here. i read the sun during lunch and the sports journalism was in fact more positive than most conversations i have had with supporters on sat and since. the negatitive was the front page and he cause that himself by doing a joke of 30secs of an interview/comment.

the teams performances have been shambolic since he took over yet he blames the media for the critism. wake up, the fans are critising you too.

craig7042
27/03/2007, 2:41 PM
And what positives can you take from Cyprus, San Marino and that display on Saturday? Really, you can't be postitive for the sake of it. I'd rather a realistic view on things.

I've put positives on my blog...

No, there were no positives in Cyprus. That was the low point. Chile, and Holland were bad, but they were friendlies at very bad times of the year. San Marino was poor, but it was a win and we were lucky.

Again...I've put positives on my blog. I really believe people are simply unwilling to give him any credit at all though.....

www.theboysingreen.blogspot.com

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 2:52 PM
I've put positives on my blog...

No, there were no positives in Cyprus. That was the low point. Chile, and Holland were bad, but they were friendlies at very bad times of the year. San Marino was poor, but it was a win and we were lucky.

Again...I've put positives on my blog. I really believe people are simply unwilling to give him any credit at all though.....

www.theboysingreen.blogspot.com

I read the blog and I'm sorry but I don't buy it. Any manager with half a brain would be bringing these players through so why he specifically deserves credit for it is beyond me. And don't forget the McShane selection was forced upon him, it wasn't a master stroke. Likewise with the recall of Carsley which was also forced upon him and no Carsley's a fixture in the team.

And what do you mean bad times of the year as far as I'm aware the Dutch league season runs to much the same schedule as the Irish, English and Scottish so how were they fresh and we weren't, that almost as good as Stan's 'we don't play well in February' remark.

And no a win is not a win, thats not an excuse, its not a positive and its not good enough.

dynamo kerry
27/03/2007, 2:52 PM
i don't particularly care for hearing what the management have to say except possibly on the telly after a match - even then I can live without it - I don't particularly think they ever actually explain anything in real terms anyway

I like reading analysis of matches but you rarely get any of that from players or coaches- more likely to get platitudes or banal rubbish of some sort.

If they play, it gets reviewed then I'm happy - the odd interview about someone's career is ncie but otherwise they can swing.

zenokelly
27/03/2007, 4:02 PM
Yesterday's "32 second" interview was only supposed to be an "injury update" and that's what the man did.

Where some parts of the media are using the term "press conference" is confusing since there are only press conferences in match week, the day before the match and straight after the match

27/03/2007, 4:14 PM
Yesterday's "32 second" interview was only supposed to be an "injury update" and that's what the man did.

Where some parts of the media are using the term "press conference" is confusing since there are only press conferences in match week, the day before the match and straight after the match

No one in the media is using the term "press conference", it was supposed to be a briefing and Staunton was rude and dismissive of the press who attended. Then he wonders why he gets a hard time. The man's an idiot.

zenokelly
27/03/2007, 4:24 PM
Off the ball on Newstalk last night kept saying the 32 second press conference. and someone reviewing the papers on i think 2fm, said one of the top stories in some paper was about the quick press conference, I definitel didn't imagine it anyway.
Here's proof today's Irish Independent

WE have reached a familiar juncture in the disintegration of an international managing career. The silent treatment.

It's a weary and enervating road, which merely serves to distract from the real issues and the preparation for a desperately important qualifier for a major championship.

Alas, it's a road which Steve Staunton opted to take yesterday with his 32-second press conference and refusal to answer questions following a lively looking training session in Malahide. Here we are again - an Irish manager and the media at war.

Galwayutdcelt
27/03/2007, 5:45 PM
please dont tell me you buy the irish indo. they are the worst of the worst, fanning and the lot

Mento
27/03/2007, 7:24 PM
The front of the Sun says Press Conference

The back of the Star says "While Staunton was only scheduled to give a briefing and not hold a full Press Conference, his curt appearance went down like a lead balloon"

As I said before, the news section of papers, more often than not, don't have an in depth knowledge of sports issues and will print garbage to sell papers; sports desks are not as bad as people make out

craig7042
27/03/2007, 11:13 PM
I read the blog and I'm sorry but I don't buy it. Any manager with half a brain would be bringing these players through so why he specifically deserves credit for it is beyond me. And don't forget the McShane selection was forced upon him, it wasn't a master stroke. Likewise with the recall of Carsley which was also forced upon him and no Carsley's a fixture in the team.

And what do you mean bad times of the year as far as I'm aware the Dutch league season runs to much the same schedule as the Irish, English and Scottish so how were they fresh and we weren't, that almost as good as Stan's 'we don't play well in February' remark.

And no a win is not a win, thats not an excuse, its not a positive and its not good enough.

I'm just trying to state factual positives. I'm not saying he's the master at anything at this point. He has to grow into it. I think he can survive this.
And I do believe that throughout the football world I'm not alone in saying a win is a win. Its not just a Stan thing. Everyone says that...Champions league/Premiership/Eircom league - everywhere...

Good on you for looking at the blog. Even if you dont agree with it... I understand your views...

29/03/2007, 10:56 AM
Just wondering How Dion Fanning,Daniel McDonnell,Roy Curtis and Eamon Dunphy feel like this morning.

I felt like going to the press Box with a sign "We got the result this time lads so you couldnt celebrate your country being beaten like ye did after the swiss game at Landsdowne. I wonder was there any high fives when the final whistle went this time or who "bloodline" will slaughter today.

Nailer77
29/03/2007, 11:05 AM
Just wondering How Dion Fanning,Daniel McDonnell,Roy Curtis and Eamon Dunphy feel like this morning.

I felt like going to the press Box with a sign "We got the result this time lads so you couldnt celebrate your country being beaten like ye did after the swiss game at Landsdowne. I wonder was there any high fives when the final whistle went this time or who "bloodline" will slaughter today.

Before you start coming in your pants there remember that we saw a similar thing against the Czechs earlier in the campaign followed by a return to type against San Marino and Wales. Last night was brilliant, great lineup, great gameplan and importantly great substitutions at the right time. But, this result has to be built upon and improved upon. If we go back after this result and play like we have recently then it'll mean nothing and ultimately it'll be our final standing in the group that will show were we are not a Wednesday night home game against Slovakia. Hopefully Stan can come through this and that he's taken some of the more constructive criticism on board, he's got to have the balls to pick the right players for the right set up and not his mates. I wouldn't be giving the victory sign just yet but I'm far more positive than I was on Saturday morning.

30/03/2007, 8:42 AM
it was Daniel McConnell who wrote the "Cover Story" in the Sunday Independent last Sunday. Sorry again Daniel for associating your name with the gutter journalists and well done to Dundalk last night.