View Full Version : Lee Frecklington

27/03/2007, 9:00 AM
From today's Guardian, by Steve Claridge. As an aside, in the same game yesterday's Times waxed lyrical about Barry Corr.

Scouting report: Lee Frecklington, Lincoln City
The young midfielder's attacking play is what really sets him apart.
Steve ClaridgeMarch 27, 2007 12:55 AM
All the ingredients are in place for Lee Frecklington to make his mark. Against Swindon Town on Sunday I don't know whether it was his game that mirrored that of the team or if the team took their lead from him but his performance, almost to the minute, replicated that of his side.

For 20 minutes Lincoln knocked the ball around superbly, with Frecklington at the centre of everything, culminating in a goal preceded by 13 passes of which he contributed two. Unfortunately that was as good as it got and after City had conceded a rather unlucky equaliser the midfielder became one of the crowd for an hour. It was only after his side had scored with 20 minutes to go that he came back to the fore.

The dip in his performance had nothing to do with a lack of fitness and, although he was clearly disappointed at some of the sloppy goals his side shipped as they lost 3-2, he never pointed the finger and kept encouraging his team-mates. And the lull in his display did not mean the 21-year-old did not make an impression. With experience he will learn to get the consistency he needs to impose his style on opponents, especially when playing in central midfield.

Defeat was a setback for Lincoln's promotion hopes but Frecklington is enjoying a great season, with a return of 10 goals from 40 games. I've known strikers who would be happy with a similar ratio. His game is even, though, because on Sunday he did his job admirably in defence. People will say Swindon's Lee Peacock broke from midfield to make and score the second and third of the visitors' goals but Frecklington tracked his designated man on each occasion and did the job well.

At 5ft 8in he is not the biggest but he tackles eagerly, closes people down, gets goal-side and picks up plenty of ball. But it was his attacking play which really set him apart. For a centre-forward he was a dream. I lost count of the times he broke from midfield when the ball was wide and moved into the box, making the extra man who is so important in unsettling the two big centre-halves.

Swindon's defenders, at times, did not know whom to pick up. His third-man runs, when the ball was played forward to one of the strikers and laid off into his path, were just as good.

Indeed, his awareness in all areas was excellent and he possesses a decent shot even if on one occasion he could have got his head up to find a team-mate rather than having a go. A product of Norwich's academy, he returned to Lincoln - his hometown club - to work under John Schofield, now the manager, at the centre of excellence. He was given his chance in the first team, albeit fleetingly, by the former manager, Keith Alexander.

Not much more than a year ago he was loaned to Stamford in the Southern League Division One (East). Some 64 appearances later he is a Republic of Ireland B international. That is understandable, given that Frecklington is a player who looks as if he will make the most of his talent and forge himself a good career.

27/03/2007, 9:03 AM
I saw Claridge on You are on Sky Sports last night ( I know I should hang my head in shame) but I was flicking on the remote. Anyway I got to say the guy is a muppet when talking about football and some guy from Ireland rang up and riled Claridge so much by saying that England were lacking quality players. Anyway back to the topic hope this lads works out but we have so many players and at similar level at the moment its the likes of Hunt and Doyle O Dea and Mc Shane that are really doing it at the moment.

27/03/2007, 10:25 AM
Anyway I got to say the guy is a muppet when talking about football and some guy from Ireland rang up and riled Claridge so much by saying that England were lacking quality players.
It doesn't take much to rile him up. :) Every time I watch that show he's bursting with anger.

Over the post
03/04/2007, 10:27 AM
Scouting report
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sean St Ledger, Preston North End

Steve Claridge
Tuesday April 3, 2007

Guardian

Sean St Ledger has grown in stature and reputation and, most importantly, just grown up since the world saw him on Sky's fly-on-the-wall documentary, Big Ron Manager, last summer. Now a key part of a Preston defence that has been revamped through sales and injuries, he surely could not have imagined that his career would flourish as it has after his move from Peterborough.
The 22-year-old cost Preston £300,000 and since then St Ledger has surprised everyone - myself included - by performing to his maximum. The team have held their own in the Championship, with their defender raising eyebrows for all the right reasons. His performance against Leeds last Friday summed up just why he has made his mark so soon.

St Ledger's centre-half partnership with the more experienced Liam Chilvers was one reason Preston will feel they should have got something better than a 2-1 defeat from the game at Elland Road. The pair restricted Leeds to very few clear-cut chances, despite being under huge pressure. Some would point to the fact that they conceded twice and criticise the centre-halves, but the principal errors came from the left-back Pavel Pergl, who is naturally a holding midfield player and was twice caught out ball-watching. St Ledger could not be blamed.

Football is a team game, but you have to do your own job first and St Ledger did it better than the Swedes had against Northern Ireland in midweek when confronted, as the youngster was in west Yorkshire, by David Healy. The centre-back was quick and decisive in the tackle, his positioning was excellent when the ball came into the box and there was almost a telepathy about his recognition of the area into which the ball would be played. For someone his age, that is hugely encouraging. Indeed, his anticipation was at times better than the forward he found himself against.

I loved the way he got side-on so that he would be able to see his marker and the ball, never getting beaten by blind-side runs. Not huge, he certainly punches his weight and he was competitive in the air and on the ground when Healy and Richard Cresswell decided to back into him.

I like the balance of his game, which is rare for someone so inexperienced. He was comfortable in possession - he played at full-back on both flanks when needed at his previous club, albeit in League Two. Called into the Republic of Ireland squad for a Euro 2008 qualifier with his eligibility apparently down to his grandmother - Ireland must have more grandmothers than any other country - he has retained his place since and it is surely only a matter of time before he makes the breakthrough to a full cap.

Whether he is quite ready for the Premiership I'm not sure, though the same could be said of Preston as a whole. What I would say is that I find that the way you play the game on the pitch reflects your character off it. If that is the case, St Ledger must now be a very different person from the one we saw on television, sulking under Big Ron.

Age 22

Born Birmingham

Position Defender

Height 6ft

Weight 11st 9lb

From Peter'bro

Anticipation 8/10

Heading 7/10

Organisation 8/10

Tackling 8/10

Pace 7/10

Team responsibility 8/10

Valuation £750,000 to £1m

DeNiro
03/04/2007, 12:34 PM
[QUOTE=Over the post;659248]Scouting report
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Steve Claridge
Tuesday April 3, 2007

Guardian

Sean St Ledger has grown in stature and reputation and, most importantly, just grown up since the world saw him on Sky's fly-on-the-wall documentary, Big Ron Manager, last summer. Now a key part of a Preston defence that has been revamped through sales and injuries, he surely could not have imagined that his career would flourish as it has after his move from Peterborough.
The 22-year-old cost Preston £300,000 and since then St Ledger has surprised everyone - myself included - by performing to his maximum. The team have held their own in the Championship, with their defender raising eyebrows for all the right reasons. His performance against Leeds last Friday summed up just why he has made his mark so soon.

St Ledger's centre-half partnership with the more experienced Liam Chilvers was one reason Preston will feel they should have got something better than a 2-1 defeat from the game at Elland Road. The pair restricted Leeds to very few clear-cut chances, despite being under huge pressure. Some would point to the fact that they conceded twice and criticise the centre-halves, but the principal errors came from the left-back Pavel Pergl, who is naturally a holding midfield player and was twice caught out ball-watching. St Ledger could not be blamed.

Football is a team game, but you have to do your own job first and St Ledger did it better than the Swedes had against Northern Ireland in midweek when confronted, as the youngster was in west Yorkshire, by David Healy. The centre-back was quick and decisive in the tackle, his positioning was excellent when the ball came into the box and there was almost a telepathy about his recognition of the area into which the ball would be played. For someone his age, that is hugely encouraging. Indeed, his anticipation was at times better than the forward he found himself against.

I loved the way he got side-on so that he would be able to see his marker and the ball, never getting beaten by blind-side runs. Not huge, he certainly punches his weight and he was competitive in the air and on the ground when Healy and Richard Cresswell decided to back into him.

I like the balance of his game, which is rare for someone so inexperienced. He was comfortable in possession - he played at full-back on both flanks when needed at his previous club, albeit in League Two. Called into the Republic of Ireland squad for a Euro 2008 qualifier with his eligibility apparently down to his grandmother - Ireland must have more grandmothers than any other country - he has retained his place since and it is surely only a matter of time before he makes the breakthrough to a full cap.

Whether he is quite ready for the Premiership I'm not sure, though the same could be said of Preston as a whole. What I would say is that I find that the way you play the game on the pitch reflects your character off it. If that is the case, St Ledger must now be a very different person from the one we saw on television, sulking under Big Ron.

What's that supposed to mean?

livehead1
03/04/2007, 2:58 PM
[QUOTE=Over the post;659248]Scouting report

Steve Claridge
Tuesday April 3, 2007

Guardian

What's that supposed to mean?

Well it doesn't take a genius to see that we're constantly capping players who are only eligible due to their grandparent. Clinton Morrison, Caleb Folan (sure to be capped), Matt Holland, etc

DeNiro
03/04/2007, 3:26 PM
[QUOTE=DeNiro;659389]

Well it doesn't take a genius to see that we're constantly capping players who are only eligible due to their grandparent. Clinton Morrison, Caleb Folan (sure to be capped), Matt Holland, etc

England weren't innocent of it in the past. They capped people who were born elsewhere; Tony Dorigo, John Barnes, Terry Butcher!

CraftyToePoke
03/04/2007, 3:31 PM
[QUOTE=livehead1;659563]

England weren't innocent of it in the past. They capped people who were born elsewhere; Tony Dorigo, John Barnes, Terry Butcher!

where was Butcher born then?

03/04/2007, 3:45 PM
India or Singapore, I can't remember which

Wolfie
03/04/2007, 3:47 PM
Singapore

Over the post
03/04/2007, 3:50 PM
Most countries do it, I don't see why there's so much fuss. England's best player at the world cup was Canadian. Germany's top strikers are of Polish, Brazilian and Spanish origin. Spain capped Catanha, Mazinho and Senna, all Brazilians. They recently tried to convince Alves to play for them, I think he's still laughing.

The only time I'd have a problem with it would be when bigger footballing powers poach players from smaller nations like what happens in rugby where any decent Pacific islanders ending up playing for one of the big southern hemisphere sides.

But anyway, we're getting off topic. The main point is that whereas it may have looked a bit ridiculous for Stan to pull these lads out of the hat, it seems he's not the only one who rates them.

03/04/2007, 9:42 PM
The only reports I've read from Claridge have been on Irish players (Frecklington, St Ledger, Stokes). He was positive about them all. Is he usually that positive in his reports? He seems to know his stuff anyway.

05/04/2007, 11:42 AM
Is Frecklington a name or a skin condition........? :confused:

Krstic
05/04/2007, 12:56 PM
Is Frecklington a name or a skin condition........? :confused:

Och Steve come on, surely you knew the O'Frecklingtons from Pennyburn?

Torn-Ado
05/04/2007, 1:00 PM
Most countries do it, I don't see why there's so much fuss. England's best player at the world cup was Canadian. Germany's top strikers are of Polish, Brazilian and Spanish origin. Spain capped Catanha, Mazinho and Senna, all Brazilians. They recently tried to convince Alves to play for them, I think he's still laughing.

The only time I'd have a problem with it would be when bigger footballing powers poach players from smaller nations like what happens in rugby where any decent Pacific islanders ending up playing for one of the big southern hemisphere sides.

But anyway, we're getting off topic. The main point is that whereas it may have looked a bit ridiculous for Stan to pull these lads out of the hat, it seems he's not the only one who rates them.

Yes but all of those actually stepped foot in the country they are playing for before they were brought into the squad.

Ceirtlis
05/04/2007, 6:23 PM
The only reports I've read from Claridge have been on Irish players (Frecklington, St Ledger, Stokes). He was positive about them all. Is he usually that positive in his reports? He seems to know his stuff anyway.

He also gave a positive scouting report on Wes Hoolahan.

06/04/2007, 1:54 AM
Och Steve come on, surely you knew the O'Frecklingtons from Pennyburn?

Ahhh - that O'Frecklingtons.

Mother's called Fanny isn't she....?

TheOneWhoKnocks
10/07/2014, 12:19 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/transfer/news/11747/9377825/transfer-news-rotherhams-lee-frecklington-tracked-by-several-sides

Championship interest in Frecklington.

11/07/2014, 2:26 AM
Looks promising, successive promotions and at least a couple of Championship clubs interested.

Also won player of the year award.

http://www.themillers.co.uk/news/article/frecklington-scoops-player-of-the-year-award-1513091.aspx

Be interesting to see how he gets on in the Championship, Rotherham were promoted so he would
be in the Championship whatever happens. ( assuming he does not move to another division)

Yard of Pace
11/07/2014, 12:56 PM
He was good in that B international years ago. Looked able to "do a job" at any rate.

12/07/2014, 1:04 AM
He was good in that B international years ago. Looked able to "do a job" at any rate.

It looks to me as if he may be one of those 'late developers' type players, although
I don't really know enough about him, he was in the league II team of the season in 2006–07
also he played in the Championship in 2011/12, so maybe Championship is his 'ceiling' level.

Olé Olé
12/07/2014, 6:45 PM
There are a few Championship midfielders in the queue ahead of him (Arter, O'Kane) so he has a lot of work to do to get involved at senior level for us.

13/07/2014, 12:25 AM
There are a few Championship midfielders in the queue ahead of him (Arter, O'Kane) so he has a lot of work to do to get involved at senior level for us.

Maybe, I though he was 'on the up' but as he has played at that level before that may not be the case,
however as he got player of the season in a promoted team he must be doing something right.

I have not seen him play before but as he should be in the championship now I should be able to get
a look at him.

07/04/2016, 1:44 PM
Nominated for Championship Player of the Month for March: http://www.football-league.co.uk/news/article/2016/sky-bet-championship-player-of-the-month-nominations-march-3044147.aspx

Fixer82
07/04/2016, 3:21 PM
nominated for championship player of the month for march: http://www.football-league.co.uk/news/article/2016/sky-bet-championship-player-of-the-month-nominations-march-3044147.aspx

call him up! Call him up!!!!

08/04/2016, 1:15 AM
I notice it says "barely training between games", I wonder if players tend to over train?

08/04/2016, 9:51 AM
With a name like that, he's got to be Irish, but is he frecklie?

DeLorean
08/04/2016, 10:55 AM
I notice it says "barely training between games", I wonder if players tend to over train?

Jonny Walters syndrome some might call it.

08/04/2016, 9:30 PM
With a name like that, he's got to be Irish, but is he frecklie?

Legit thought Crosby was back.

DeLorean
08/04/2016, 10:20 PM
I came across a post from Crosby recently, it says banned under his username. He's not actually banned though, right?

08/04/2016, 10:22 PM
That's a bit crude Deloresean.

But I noticed I couldn't thank his post recently and i could everyone else's so I imagine he must be. :(

08/04/2016, 10:23 PM
Justice for Crosby.

08/04/2016, 10:40 PM
Poor fecker.