View Full Version : An alternative view maybe...?

craig7042
25/03/2007, 10:55 PM
My view is that people have accepted hook line and sinker, what Dunphy says. He was never intended to be taken seriously. RTE, Newstalk, most of the papers......all simply abusing the manager and the team.

There is an alternative view. Its that abuse doesnt help. If you truly want the team to do well, then the way you criticise is important. Pure angry abuse is damaging.

They didnt play well yesterday, but it cant be easy with the pressure. Genuinely, its a young team. Staunton is bringing in a lot of young players and they are doing well. McShane, Ireland,Hunt, Doyle, and many others....

Give the boys a chance...
Give Staunton a chance.
The abuse is so over the top...

www.theboysingreen.blogspot.com

TheBoss
25/03/2007, 10:57 PM
I never take anything serious from Eamonn Dunphy, it seems who ever is in charge, should be sacked.

charliesboots
25/03/2007, 11:10 PM
My view is that people have accepted hook line and sinker, what Dunphy says. He was never intended to be taken seriously. RTE, Newstalk, most of the papers......all simply abusing the manager and the team.

There is an alternative view. Its that abuse doesnt help. If you truly want the team to do well, then the way you criticise is important. Pure angry abuse is damaging.

They didnt play well yesterday, but it cant be easy with the pressure. Genuinely, its a young team. Staunton is bringing in a lot of young players and they are doing well. McShane, Ireland,Hunt, Doyle, and many others....

Give Staunton a chance.

Just because you don't agree with the criticism doesn't mean its abuse or necessarily over the top. If you want to have a go at individual posts or posters go ahead but don't open a new thread for the purpose of having a go at everybody (the vast majority) who don't share your opinion.

craig7042
25/03/2007, 11:27 PM
Just because you don't agree with the criticism doesn't mean its abuse or necessarily over the top. If you want to have a go at individual posts or posters go ahead but don't open a new thread for the purpose of having a go at everybody (the vast majority) who don't share your opinion.

Tks. This is why I opened the thread. I know people dont agree, but I also believe that people like myself need to speak out. I dont believe I'm alone. How can you say this stuff isnt abusive? I dont understand that. Its highly personal abuse in here and in the media when people talk about players like Kilbane, O'Shea and Staunton...
Lets see if people respond to the thread - I know it seems like a minority view, but I dont believe it necessarily is...

Fergie's Son
26/03/2007, 12:19 AM
Firstly, this has nothing to do with Dunphy. He just happens to be a particularly loud critic in a chorus of critcisim.

Secondly, it isn't an isolated or even personal attack on Stauton. His overall preperation and performace bespeak a manager who is way over his head. He appears to have no grasp of tactics and has yet to suggest an ability to read the game from the sidelines. I'm sure he is a lovely person otherwise but that does not make him a football manager.

Lastly, O'Shea et al. have not played well for Ireland for a long time. Unless you consider losing to Cyprus playing well. Kilbane has been equally as poor for a very long time.

So no, it's not the minority view but the prevailing view based on a poor manager and a dreadful association.

ramondo
26/03/2007, 1:42 AM

Give Staunton a chance.

I, an I'm sure most people, agree that abuse of a personal nature towards the manager and players is out of order.

However, I feel any criticism that questions their ability to do the job is fair game.

The reason for your post seems to be more "please being so hard on poor Stan, he's a nice guy and he doesn't deserve it...", as in you're taking the amount of criticism he's receiving about his ability to do the job as personal, when it's more about how unhappy people are with his apparent lack of ability to do the job.

I think you'll find most people here and in the media are upset about the fact that the team is playing way below its potential, and if ever a manager made a difference to a team it's in this area.

Stan doesn't appear to have the ability or personality to inspire the players to want to win for him and the supporters.

Unfortunately.

Qwerty
26/03/2007, 2:53 AM
I don't think the criticism of the players and manager on this forum is personalized, we are criticising and praising their performances game by game. It is up to Stan and the players to turn it around not us. They are giving the media plenty of ammo with one insipid performance after another. It's pretty damn clear that Mick McCarthy or Roy Keane would get much beter performances from this squad than Stan has so far achieved and is likely to achieve.

Paddy Garcia
26/03/2007, 7:04 AM
Some people may be influenced. However most posters on here have their own minds. They are unlikely to accept much hook line and sinker. Indeed many beliefs are beyond influence of any kind, from Dunphy or others, or indeed rational or otherwise.;)

26/03/2007, 7:34 AM
I thought that individually our players did ok.. however collectively, as a team, we lacked purpose, direction and shape. There didn't seem to be any structure or understanding to what each individual player had for role - re: Carsley's alleged quote. This is Stan's responsibility. As a previous poster remarked, Stan doesn't have the personality to be a manager - and this is the biggest problem. I don't think he has the ability to effectively communicate his point (if he has one) to the players. He comes across very timid, shaky and uninspiring in everything he does - he simply isn't a leader of men.

Murpholini
26/03/2007, 7:47 AM
On the whole the post match analysis was quite fair and some had sympathy for staunton, saying obviously he was given the job too soon. The Irish manager's job is not there for someone just to gain experience from, it's there for the players to gain experience from the manager's knowledge which in this case is minimal. Regarding dunphy, he never turns down a chance to lambast the fai for any wrongdoings and they don't get much bigger than this.

26/03/2007, 8:17 AM
Sorry but this is total crap.

Even if you don't have quality players you still need organisation. i would ddispute the quality thing anyway as most of our squad are drawn from th epremiership. Lee Carsley gave the game away despite the later backtrack.

There is no organisation. There is no system. These players play different systems at their clubs. Staunton clearly just picks a team and sends them out. This is more obvious at a game than on tv.

Dunphy may be a loudmouth but that doesn't mean he is wrong. He actually doe shave an excellent understanding of the game and is often right. he does choose to court controversy.

26/03/2007, 9:19 AM
I think defensively bar Dunnes mistake we looked very solid, now I know Wales werent great but in giggs and bellamy they do have top level attacking players and they were overall kept quiet. Plus having Shay behind them makes such a difference.

I still think our biggest problem is midfield, we just do not have a good passer who is comfortable on the ball who can control things for us. Carsley does exactly what you expect from him no more. The likes of kilbane and douglas did ok but are never going to boss things and Ireland although showing potential is still a young player and needs time. I am slightly concerned about Carsleys post match comments as well, despite his subsequent back track.

Plus why so much long ball, we have tiny strikers!

With Keane out, Doyle with start up front, I think Hunt should also start on the left with Duff on the right. Finnan is wasted at left back in my opinion, he is continually cutting back on his right so id like to see him switched. But again the problem is CM, and with Slovakia having a decent midfielder in the lad from Porto, we could be in trouble.

26/03/2007, 9:27 AM
Slovakia having a decent midfielder in the lad from Porto, we could be in trouble.
Marek Cech is a defender. I'm more concerned about Mintal (4 goals, 3 assists so far) and Kozak (3 assists)
Stats from http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro/statistics/index.html
I'm too used to Football Manager - a few clicks and you can tell what left sided player under the age of 25 playing in Portugal has the highest pass completion!

26/03/2007, 9:45 AM
Lee Carsley gave the game away despite the later backtrack.Carsley's account is infinitly more believable than some very isolated quote flying around hack land. There was enough evidence in the game to see what was happening without having to resort to the time old hack tactic of selective quotes to suit an agenda in order to ridicule.
This has happened to every manager since Giles upped the level of expectations. It's the same old journalistic shíte and still people swallow it.

Nailer77
26/03/2007, 10:33 AM
Carsley's account is infinitly more believable than some very isolated quote flying around hack land. There was enough evidence in the game to see what was happening without having to resort to the time old hack tactic of selective quotes to suit an agenda in order to ridicule.
This has happened to every manager since Giles upped the level of expectations. It's the same old journalistic shíte and still people swallow it.

It wasn't a selective quote it was what he actually said. I know people that were there and they couldn't believe what they'd heard they actually had to consult each other to confirm it. I don't think Stan is being treated particularly harshly given his poor attitude towards the media. He's brought an awful lot of this on himself with some pretty ridiculous excuses, quote and selections. I hadn't heard the team till I got to my seat on Saturday and when I saw the squad flash up on the board I shook my head in disbelief. The man is clueless and he's destroying this team. I know we don't have players of the quality of years gone by but we've enough to be doing far better than this.

26/03/2007, 12:03 PM
I never take anything serious from Eamonn Dunphy, it seems who ever is in charge, should be sacked.

Maybe he wants the job himself :p :D :p

26/03/2007, 12:40 PM
That'd be a sight. He'd be calling for himself to be sacked before he caught himself.

anto1208
26/03/2007, 12:53 PM
A Dunphy is there for comic effect really ,to see him up in arms because an unfit kevin doyle wasnt starting the very same player a few months back dunphy was saying wasnt good enough :rolleyes:

It was apoor performance but with everyone on your back all the time , and the poor crowd support (ive never heard 80,000 people make less noise even when the players came onto the pitch you could barely hear them ) its hard to get motivated .

Torn-Ado
26/03/2007, 1:31 PM
I cannot agree with this. I think most of us can speak for ourselves and formulate our own opinions on the Irish team.

We are a poor footballing nation and we are going to stuggle in every single one of our remaining games in our group which is an extremely sad state of affairs. We have to right to speak out against the manager and players (the real culprits) when they let us down. Granted we won the match, but the fact remains that we are poor.

craig7042
26/03/2007, 11:30 PM
I cannot agree with this. I think most of us can speak for ourselves and formulate our own opinions on the Irish team.

We are a poor footballing nation and we are going to stuggle in every single one of our remaining games in our group which is an extremely sad state of affairs. We have to right to speak out against the manager and players (the real culprits) when they let us down. Granted we won the match, but the fact remains that we are poor.

I agree that we may struggle in all our games, but thats probably always been the case. Winning games will help though, not matter how you do it. Even with the criticism, I believe the win on Saturday will be helping the team in the build-up to Slovakia, and it gives us a better chance in that game than if we'd drawn or lost on Saturday.

I also feel that over the top abuse and using words like "Shocking", "Disgraceful", "humiliating", "Comical", "Muppets", and worse lets face it...... just doesnt help the team get a better result.

The media definately have an agenda to destroy though. It all started after the Chile game which was only his second game in charge. They did it to kerr and McCarthy. I liked McCarthy and I think he's proved himself again as a good manager. Probably the best of the three of them, although in my opinion Stan hasnt been given long enough to prove his ability or lack of it. I definately believe more time is needed to know for sure if he is out of depth or not. The abuse shouldnt have started till atleast these two sets of games were completed... Chile last June was far too early.

By the way i dont think Staunton is above criticism just cause hes nice..... please......! And I also seriously hope people arent judging him for his TV manner - thats bizarre... When did TV manner ever matter? I quite like his style - these journalists are eejits . They deserve to be treated with disdain sometimes. He tried very hard with them in the beginning by getting the players to do interviews as much as possible before and after games. Didnt he?

soccerc
27/03/2007, 12:11 AM

Based on his rather limited sojourn as an Ireland international manager I don't think he is up to it.

(No, I am not going to explain - find it yourselves!)

Fergie's Son
27/03/2007, 12:14 AM
I also feel that over the top abuse and using words like "Shocking", "Disgraceful", "humiliating", "Comical", "Muppets", and worse lets face it...... just doesnt help the team get a better result.

Why? The phrases accurately depict the state of the team. Staunton is being paid a lot of money to manage at the highest level. He knew what he was getting into. It's not a media conspiracy, he's just not good enough. End of story.

27/03/2007, 2:28 AM

Catch on to yourself son. The only word that you've quoted that is abusive is 'muppets'. And thats not even too common on this site. Criticism isn't abuse.

Rosco
27/03/2007, 3:35 AM
For €50 and upwards to watch that train wreck on Saturday I'm not surprised at some of the criticism thats floating about.

ramondo
27/03/2007, 4:51 AM
...in my opinion Stan hasnt been given long enough to prove his ability or lack of it. I definately believe more time is needed to know for sure if he is out of depth or not...

What?????

Now just imagine this: a freak set of results and we finish in second place in the group and are off to Euro '08 - with stan as our manager..:eek:

How would you feel then?

27/03/2007, 7:01 AM
For €50 and upwards to watch that train wreck on Saturday I'm not surprised at some of the criticism thats floating about.

:rolleyes: A 1-0 win over Wales with Bellamy and Giggs in their side and it's called a "train wreck". I didn't realise that not only do we have to win, but we have to win with style as well.

You poor man spending your €50.00 to watch Ireland. No doubt you enjoyed the wave and participated in it but still felt hard done by that you weren't entertained. I don't believe I have EVER gone to an Irish game thinking about being entertained. I go to support the team and to see them win. Anything else is a bonus.

It was a poor game no doubt but I came out of the game delighted with the 3 points, pleased with the defensive performance, confused by the selection, annoyed by the negativity around me and dreading the hour long walk to the Luas. Entertainment never once crossed my mind.

Spend your €50 on porno videos and stay away from the games if you feel that hard done by. At least you should get excited by them (or may be not).

craig7042
27/03/2007, 8:39 AM
What?????

Now just imagine this: a freak set of results and we finish in second place in the group and are off to Euro '08 - with stan as our manager..:eek:

How would you feel then?

If we get to the finals, I'll be absolutely OVER THE MOON.

Twenty years ago Jack Charlton scrapped through to Euro 88. Remember a game against Luxembourg at home that year???? We only won 2-1 and the fans booed the team.................... and it built up from there. We've always got past the group stages in finals (even without Roy!) and its good for the country. Stan will grow as a manager if the results start going his way. The team will grow with so many young players.

Imagine going to the finals with Doyle, McShane, hunt, Ireland, Elliot, Stokes, Douglas...etc etc

New era that! Just give them a chance and you never know. I've no personal issues against Stan like some seem to...

Emmet
27/03/2007, 9:50 AM
Some of the comments that have been posted on this board since Saturday have been abusive and it does not help the team in any way shape or form. Criticism is fine - noone is above criticism - but some of the comments on here have been embarrassing.

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 10:03 AM
Spend your €50 on porno videos and stay away from the games if you feel that hard done by. At least you should get excited by them (or may be not).

now surely noboby still buys porno videos!!!! surely DVD's or internet sites :D :D

27/03/2007, 10:31 AM
Some of the comments that have been posted on this board since Saturday have been abusive and it does not help the team in any way shape or form. Criticism is fine - noone is above criticism - but some of the comments on here have been embarrassing.
I'm starting to think a lot of the Irish support now prefer a good moan over celebrating a win. :) This forum is much busier after a defeat than it is after a win.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 10:34 AM

Twenty years ago Jack Charlton scrapped through to Euro 88. Remember a game against Luxembourg at home that year???? We only won 2-1 and the fans booed the team.................... and it built up from there. We've always got past the group stages in finals (even without Roy!) and its good for the country. Stan will grow as a manager if the results start going his way. The team will grow with so many young players.

Imagine going to the finals with Doyle, McShane, hunt, Ireland, Elliot, Stokes, Douglas...etc etc

New era that! Just give them a chance and you never know. I've no personal issues against Stan like some seem to...

Don't be going on with this personal issues business just because people RIGHTLY don't rate Stan as a manager. With Charlton and McCarthy you could see progress being made even if it was slow at times, but whats happening here is not progress. Mick had a real rebuilding job to do whereas Stan's inherited a squad with the likes of Given, Finnan, Dunne, Duff, Keane, O'Shea, Reid and Carsley who've all be around the squad for some time and he's also got the benefit of some promising youngsters. I wanted Stan to succeed and I thought I could see sense in his appointment but I was wrong. He's not up to it and this latest carry on with the media is pathetic, some of them are gutter but you know what papers they write for, most of them are genuine and fair in their assessments.

I mean you say 'imagine going to the finals' well thats all you can do...Imagine cos we won't be going if this keeps up. Its not progression we're seeing here at all, its a mess.

27/03/2007, 10:43 AM
Don't be going on with this personal issues business just because people RIGHTLY don't rate Stan as a manager. With Charlton and McCarthy you could see progress being made even if it was slow at times, but whats happening here is not progress. Mick had a real rebuilding job to do whereas Stan's inherited a squad with the likes of Given, Finnan, Dunne, Duff, Keane, O'Shea, Reid and Carsley who've all be around the squad for some time and he's also got the benefit of some promising youngsters. .

Yeah i agree
i remember Maccarthy starting and he couldnt win a match , even scotland were beating us then, but people still supported him cause they could see what he was trying to do
but with stan i have no idea what his great plan is

27/03/2007, 12:02 PM
Yeah i agree
i remember Maccarthy starting and he couldnt win a match , even scotland were beating us then, but people still supported him cause they could see what he was trying to do
but with stan i have no idea what his great plan is
He was trying to rebuild a side that had lost a good deal of the team under Jack through retirements, and brought through a lot of youngsters, and untried players. The basic spine of the team is still there from Kerr's, and even McCarthy's time (Given, Dunne, Finnan, Duff, Robbie, Kilbane, Harte all played under Mick), but there's a definite need for a change in organization and tactics on the pitch.

Docboy
27/03/2007, 12:27 PM
I agree that some of the personal criticism from the tabloids is uncalled for but let's be honest Stan is clearly not up to the job.

A limited panel of players is not being helped by baffling selections which is clearly puzzling the players. And now after impressing hugely on Saturday Hunt is left on the bench while McGeady starts? Not sure where that came from.

ramondo
27/03/2007, 1:31 PM
I don't believe I have EVER gone to an Irish game thinking about being entertained. I go to support the team and to see them win. Anything else is a bonus.

That's the spirit. You're obviously an old hand.

This is the problem. If by some freak we got there and then reverted back to the standard of the Cyprus and San Marino games I think I'd rather we never qualified. Don't be blinkered by the past. There's no guarantee of success when you get to the finals. The fact that on the whole we've been fortunate at the finals stage of that Euro Championship and those World Cups doesn't mean it would be the same again. It could turn out to be a disastrous embarrassment (remember England in Euro '88?). A couple of crap games and then back home. Two years' worth of /will we/won't we/despondency/elation/sack stan/no he's not so bad/we haven't a hope/we might have a chance/feck we were lucky/ - all for a couple of days in the sun and then nowt. Jesus, thinking about it, it hardly seems worth the effort even at the best of times?

Anyway, I can't believe on current form we're even contemplating the finals...

I've no personal issues against Stan like some seem to...

Going by your posts, you seem to have personal issues with Stan.

Ramondo.

Rosco
27/03/2007, 2:03 PM
:rolleyes: A 1-0 win over Wales with Bellamy and Giggs in their side and it's called a "train wreck". I didn't realise that not only do we have to win, but we have to win with style as well.

You poor man spending your €50.00 to watch Ireland. No doubt you enjoyed the wave and participated in it but still felt hard done by that you weren't entertained. I don't believe I have EVER gone to an Irish game thinking about being entertained. I go to support the team and to see them win. Anything else is a bonus.

It was meant as a general observation at the level of comments on here about the performance and no it wasn't a good match and no i didn't join the other saddos in the mexican wave. I've spent a lot more than €50 to watch ireland play and will always support them unlike others here who are out for a jolly with their prawn sandwiches or whatever it is they bring with them to Croker. 3 points is great but if there isn't an improvement we'll get hockeyed in the latter stages.
I'll give your suggestion on the porn a miss though thanks all the same !!

Torn-Ado
27/03/2007, 2:06 PM
:rolleyes: A 1-0 win over Wales with Bellamy and Giggs in their side and it's called a "train wreck".

Thats just a poor excuse for mediocrity. Bellamy and Giggs excluded, Wales had rubbish playing for them and they still dominated us for a large part of the game.

We don't expect Brazil, but some of us do actually like to see the team play well and with confidence after they score a goal.

craig7042
27/03/2007, 2:16 PM
Catch on to yourself son. The only word that you've quoted that is abusive is 'muppets'. And thats not even too common on this site. Criticism isn't abuse.

Criticism isnt necessarily abuse no. But criticism with no positives is not proper critique... and it can become abuse.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 2:17 PM
Criticism isnt necessarily abuse no. But criticism with no positives is not proper critique... and it can become abuse.

My God....if there are no positives at hand then how can you be positive and up to now there haven't been any besides the very slight glimmer of hope and false dawn that was the Czech game. Most of the stuff I've read has been fair and free from personal abuse but then I won't read the rags.

Dallasirish
27/03/2007, 2:33 PM
Lets say Keane was in charge for that game on Saturday and we win 1-0. Same performance. Would the media response and the postings on here be the same. I dont think so!
At this point i think people are hoping we get beat for no other reason than to get rid of Staunton. If we keep getting the results turn in better performances, is the critism going to stop or has it gone beyond that for most people?
England have "world class players" and have not scored in four or five games. Ireland have average players and are winning games and getting points. If we continue getting the results and the performances continue to get better, people need to give credit where credit is due and stop with the slating of our National team and manager. If we qualify will it stop? What is required to stop the Negativity?

craig7042
27/03/2007, 2:34 PM
My God....if there are no positives at hand then how can you be positive and up to now there haven't been any besides the very slight glimmer of hope and false dawn that was the Czech game. Most of the stuff I've read has been fair and free from personal abuse but then I won't read the rags.

I've been giving positives on here all day... You just dont want to see them...
Some of what I've read has been fair and free from personal abuse....not most of it. I thought the News of the world on Sunday was very fair. It was the only one I could find that didnt sensationalise in its headlines.

Torn-Ado
27/03/2007, 2:38 PM
Some people have to realise that journalists and fans in general don't go after a person/manager for no reason.

If we didn't get hammered by Cyprus and Holland and then struggle to beat San Marino, Staunton wouldn't get the criticism he's getting. Its up to him to turn that around and if Ireland are still playing ****e he will rightly be criticised.

Same went for Charlton, McCarthy and Kerr annd the same will go for future Irish managers, even Keane.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 3:15 PM
I've been giving positives on here all day... You just dont want to see them...
Some of what I've read has been fair and free from personal abuse....not most of it. I thought the News of the world on Sunday was very fair. It was the only one I could find that didnt sensationalise in its headlines.

What positives? That he picked Reading youngsters that were performing in the PL regardless? Yes, that takes genius alright.

The call up of McShane? He fell into that one through enforced injuries.

The recall of Carsley were he realised his mistake? Rubbish, Carsley was one of the few midfielders we had playing to a decent level in the PL and the only reason Stan recalled him was again because of injuries, he didn't want Carsley back.

The bad time of year to play Chile and Holland? Come of it, thats not even a postitive, I don't know what that is.

These are not positives they're basic feature of the job as in picking the best available players and playing games on the available and designated international dates.

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 3:28 PM
in fairness craig i can't see many positives either. any manager would have selected the players mentioned above. and thats not any good manager thats ANY manager. the fact he is not a total pumpkin (if per say he neglected to call up the nations top performers in the EPL) is not reason enough to celebrate the man.

as a football nation, who have qualified reasonable regularly for the finals of tournaments for 20 years or so, we deserve more than what we have been given as a national team boss.

blindly following a manager despite his obvious inadequacies does not make one fan better than another. by being a dedicated football supporter you are entitled, in my view, to question the decisions and selections of the manager of the team you support. yes a reporter in his parents back yard is wrong but people on here stating that he is not up to the job is fair game imo.

dr_peepee
27/03/2007, 3:48 PM
yes a reporter in his parents back yard is wrong but people on here stating that he is not up to the job is fair game imo.

Yeah! In fact it should be worked into every second post on this board along with a veiled insult and an obvious reference to a poor result...

I'm with Craig on this one... I question the mans abillity. I do. I resent the FAI for putting me in this situation more than antything else but it's a case of having the serenity to accept what I can't change, Focus on what little positives there are and get behind the team and manager.

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 3:51 PM
i will support the team fully for 90 minutes tomorrow in croke park as i have for the czech game, san marino game and wales game. absolutely.

but on here i will point out the managers and players inadequacies ad nausim. do some of ye think supporting a team means blindly following them regardless of how inept they are?

i won't boo and i won't heckel. i will groan at misplaxced passes though and i will cheer as loud as possible when/if we score. but what the fúck is wrong with me saying the manager is useless and some of the players don't seem to give a tóss?

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 3:52 PM
Yeah! In fact it should be worked into every second post on this board along with a veiled insult and an obvious reference to a poor result...

I'm with Craig on this one... I question the mans abillity. I do. I resent the FAI for putting me in this situation more than antything else but it's a case of having the serenity to accept what I can't change, Focus on what little positives there are and get behind the team and manager.

And I'll do that when I'm in Croke park tomorrow but I'd have thought the purpose of these boards is to discuss the football and not blindly support the irish team regardless of performance. And when the negatives outweigh the positives then you have to discuss them or you're not being honest.

dr_peepee
27/03/2007, 3:57 PM
Exactly.. But come on.. Has anyone learnt anything new about stan or formed a valued opinion on him in the last 48 hours.. The same posts regurgitated, some constructive, some abusive, some just ri-god-damn-diculous.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 4:09 PM
Exactly.. But come on.. Has anyone learnt anything new about stan or formed a valued opinion on him in the last 48 hours.. The same posts regurgitated, some constructive, some abusive, some just ri-god-damn-diculous.

So what should we just all stop posting? I learnt that he still has no idea how to cope with the media and that giving them 35 seconds when they have 2 whole days of print to fill prior to a game was not a smart thing to do. How does he think they'll portray him now? He's not learning from his mistakes. I've learnt that while I agree with the idea behind his selection that he himself has no sense of conviction or continuity in the players he picks. I'm not going to post something positive if I don't believe it.

dr_peepee
27/03/2007, 4:28 PM
Well I think he was right to walk away from them after thirty seconds.. What more did you want to know appart from Ireland and Given being fit.