View Full Version : Ireland v Wales - Post Match Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

see's it
26/03/2007, 11:52 AM
Great he passed the ball a few yards to Ireland who still had it all to do. Through ball me bo**ox. Kilbane could have made that pass. Ireland made that goal himself.

He was on the floor everytime he went for the ball. What about his chance where Kilbane played it through to him 6 yards from an open goal? On his ar*e. Also he could have cost us the game at the end by his silly idiotic play outside the box when he gave away possesion whicc resulted in Giggs crap freekick. Would you be singing his praises then? I expect more responsible play from the captain than giving away a needless freekick at the edge of our box in the last few minutes of the game.

Watch it on telly next time man you must have been singing Ole Ole Ole and moaning about the atmosphere for most of the match instead of watching the game.

Also as for all those complaining about the atmosphere it's hard to get excited watching sh*te, frustrating football. Maybe the atmosphere would have been better if the game had even been half decent. Most of the crowd tried their best. The Welsh didn't help either.

that half a cross that kilbane played into the box wasnt even for keane but he made up the ground and i think should of had a peno.i think he did well i dont think he should be the captain though

Rams Mc 7
26/03/2007, 11:59 AM
cobhman saves the day again..how about it..hunt to start wed...

26/03/2007, 12:19 PM
Is there a difference between Cobh and Cork? Does it mean that the Cork conspiracy theory still holds water in the light of Ireland's selection?

The-Beer-Baron
26/03/2007, 12:22 PM
I agree, but will he be able to do it for 90 minutes? Would McGeady not be a better option to start? Hunt could be a better option when we need to take pressure off the defence late in the game.[/QUOTE]

I think it should be the other way around. hunt to start and mcgeady to come in late in the game. mcgeady while technically very sound lacks hunts agressiveness and hunger and i have yet to see him play well for 90minutes. with hunts premiership experience i think he is the better option

26/03/2007, 12:27 PM
Great he passed the ball a few yards to Ireland who still had it all to do. Through ball me bo**ox. Kilbane could have made that pass. Ireland made that goal himself.
That's nonsense. He spotted Ireland's run, played a flick pass behind him through two Welsh players and perfectly into Ireland's path. Credit where it's due like.

Did anyone else think that Stephen Hunt didn't do that great really? Sure he was all enthusiastic but he had 4 or 5 runs and ended up on his arse at the end of each run.
Think you're going to be on your own there! Hunt drew two or three yellows in the time he was on because he ended up on his arse at the end of each run. If he'd have done that from the start, the Welsh defence would have been on edge for most of the game and we could have attacked them a lot more.

26/03/2007, 12:35 PM
I can't believe I'm reading this tbh. That is bias in the extreme. It was fabulous work by Ireland but I don't know how anyone could play down Keane's part in it. It was a top class pass, something Totti would be proud of. He also set Duff up a few minutes earlier after intercepting a pass by the Welsh right back. I thought he had a good game overall but he played a supporting striker role when we needed him in the box. He's not an out and out striker though.

26/03/2007, 12:43 PM
whats everyones problem or have we all forgot the past??.... most here seem to think we'r one of the big boys!!... we'r not!... we usually dont qualify for tournaments.... we made it to 4 in total, 3 world cups and 1 euro and we basically had the same team btw..... we've drawn before with liecheinstein(who are about as bad as san marino and with a stadium like a eircom 1st division team) and also with macedonia...So fúcking what? We were shít years ago...that means nothing now.:rolleyes: With the players we have we should be qualifying for every major tournament.
i dont really mind the lads having a go at the players but its not stauntons fault, the players there are all we have, they train with there clubs all year, all an international manager does is picks the team basically
And that's what he has been doing wrong since he started his job. With a decent manager we would have drawn with Germany, beaten Cyprus and the Czechs and hammered San Marino and Wales.

citizenerased
26/03/2007, 12:55 PM

He was on the floor everytime he went for the ball. What about his chance where Kilbane played it through to him 6 yards from an open goal? On his ar*e. Also he could have cost us the game at the end by his silly idiotic play outside the box when he gave away possesion whicc resulted in Giggs crap freekick. Would you be singing his praises then? I expect more responsible play from the captain than giving away a needless freekick at the edge of our box in the last few minutes of the game.

Watch it on telly next time man you must have been singing Ole Ole Ole and moaning about the atmosphere for most of the match instead of watching the game.

Also as for all those complaining about the atmosphere it's hard to get excited watching sh*te, frustrating football. Maybe the atmosphere would have been better if the game had even been half decent. Most of the crowd tried their best. The Welsh didn't help either.

Granted Keane was far from im pressive, but he worked ridiculously hard for the team, he chased after every ball and did alot of closing down...I cant fault him for effort...And as for you, the point of cheering is to spur the team on, not only sing when your winning..if your not prepared to cheer the team on why dont you watch it on the telly..Cos ill be cheering them on at the next match as well watching it, its possible to do both ya know!!

Also Stevie Hunt was superb, he showed the verve ambition and urgency that this team have been missing for some time...hence the immense reaction from the fans..Soon to be a cult hero..

26/03/2007, 1:04 PM
As much as Hunt did well today, he still sucks!

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

26/03/2007, 1:06 PM
I dont know what world you're all living in. The level of arrogance in these comments is shocking. I sat there today and saw a team win a game of international football. (what about Scotland? What about England? Everyone struggles to find form. Its normal. The win is the win is the win.) They didnt play as well as they can, but in moments there were clear positives. McShane was immense. Hunt and Doyle changed things with great determination when he came on. Given obviously saved us again. Dunne did well. Duff was far more creative especially in the first half. Kilbane, Carsley and douglas did okay. Ireland didnt do well, but you'll struggle to get a better international goal. Keane ran himself into the ground, but struggled. He's honest...lay off him ya gits. O'Shea was okay...frustrating...but ok. The fans cheered everything positive and where I was sitting there was almost no abuse thrown at the players from start to finish. Moments of frustration...no abuse though. The atmosphere at the start was good..there was a lull in the first half until the goal. (As a Liverpool fan having a lull in a game is not unusual. Liverpool regularly have lulls that last 80 minutes. ditto Chelsea)
After everything...a win is a win is a win.

They did well as a team and it sets things up for Wednesday to start to build again.

I just dont understand you people with your comments..............It wasnt a good game??? Really??
Since then did that ever matter????

come off it, what gamne were you looking at
Ireland were pish poor, if we play like that against the germans we will be murdered
a win is a win:rolleyes:

26/03/2007, 1:11 PM
I thought the second half was really poor and we could not keep the ball at any time. I think we paid too much respect by playing Douglas and Carsley in the centre and it was madness to play Ireland on the right wing. I have no problem going with an attacking 4 5 1 on Wednesday night with Hunt on instead of Kilbane Doyle on instead of Keane and Alan Quinn on instead of Douglas. Dont think this will happen but I think Quinn and Ireland would keep the ball far better than Douglas and Carsley would.

Keane had a decent game but again he is not a striker his is a support stirker and it would be like playing Brian O Driscoll on the wing for Ireland in rugby. He should not be played out of position. But him Duff and Ireland provided the only piece of quality and imagination in the game for Ireland. Dunne and Mc Shane were solid. But Finnan and O Shea were very poor with the ball and not bad without it.

This thing about players not trying, I dont buy at all. It did not seem like that to me on Saturday but it was a game without any midfield creators. Simon Davies and Stephen Ireland were the only midfield players who played with their heads up. Ireland is becoming and important player for us and we need to play him just behind Doyle with Hunt and Duff on the wings. I think we can win on Wed but we need to keep th eball a whole lot better.

Torn-Ado
26/03/2007, 1:12 PM
Poor match. I thought we were the better team but only because Wales were ****e. No one stood out as brilliant except Hunt.

Keane is out for wednesday which is refreshing as he is more frustrating by the day. Give one of the other lads a shot up front and keep Duff away from the striker position. Staunton is clueless and I expect to be beaten on wednesday.

Poor show again.

:(

26/03/2007, 1:13 PM
One final point:
Ireland have 10 points from 6 games.
England have 8 points from 5 games.

I here very few people in the English media calling for Steven MacClaren's head...

not true, if ye read the tabloids here

ireland aslo played san marino twice, 6 points, jeez where do ye guys come from, a hole in the ground:rolleyes:

26/03/2007, 1:15 PM
The abuse of the team on here is way over the top.Anyone would think its only since stan came in that we have had ****e performances by Irish Team.I remember many unbelievably poor games in our golden era where not alone did we play ****e but we didnt win.

The media driven hate campaign is nothing short of disgraceful and yesterdays sindo made me ashamed to be Irish from its front page rabid headline to its over the top attack by a journalist who is only in the job because his ponce of a father is the editor.

I will be at the game on wednesday and cheering Ireland from First to final whistle and anyone thats just going there to abuse the team and Manager id say stay at home if thats all your interested in.

We have had the last 2 managers chased out by a rabid media why dont the silent majority stand up to the bully boys enough is enough or have we even sunk lower tahn the scum across the pond.

Torn-Ado
26/03/2007, 1:23 PM
The abuse of the team on here is way over the top.Anyone would think its only since stan came in that we have had ****e performances by Irish Team.I remember many unbelievably poor games in our golden era where not alone did we play ****e but we didnt win.

The media driven hate campaign is nothing short of disgraceful and yesterdays sindo made me ashamed to be Irish from its front page rabid headline to its over the top attack by a journalist who is only in the job because his ponce of a father is the editor.

I will be at the game on wednesday and cheering Ireland from First to final whistle and anyone thats just going there to abuse the team and Manager id say stay at home if thats all your interested in.

We have had the last 2 managers chased out by a rabid media why dont the silent majority stand up to the bully boys enough is enough or have we even sunk lower tahn the scum across the pond.

Where have you been the last six months?

We have been hammered by Holland and Cyprus, couldn't muster an attack against Germany, struggled to beat the worst team in Europe and stopped playing at half time against a brutal Welsh team.

We are sh!t. Extremely sh!t. And every fan who goes to Croke park are there to cheer on the team. Its not their fault that the players can't even string three or four decent passes together against shoddy footballing nations.

26/03/2007, 1:29 PM
I was actually at all the games bar San Marino away. But im a pure thick Irish Supporter not well informed like Dion Fanning and Roy Curtis.

26/03/2007, 1:34 PM
I think whether you abuse the team or support the team has got nothilng to do with how many games you go to. There are guys that go to every game that support the team and cheer them no matter what and there are guys that go to every game that were hurling loads of abuse at the team at the end in San Marino. None of these are Ole Ole supports. Football is about opinions and I think too often on this forum, if someone does not agree with another persons opinion they accuse the other person of being an Ole Ole fan. There are people on here who spend loads of money going to games all around Europe and to games all around Ireland and they are all entitled to either cheer their team on or to hurl abuse in frusrtation also.

Having said that and Kerr said it today there were quite a number of "out for the day!" people at the game on Saturday but that is always going to happen in a larger ground.

Torn-Ado
26/03/2007, 1:34 PM
I was actually at all the games bar San Marino away. But im a pure thick Irish Supporter not well informed like Dion Fanning and Roy Curtis.

Fair enough. But the players and the manager deserve the criticism they are getting. They have brought us into a black hole and it is upto them to get us out.

p.s. Roy Curtis is a grade A ****.

Nailer77
26/03/2007, 1:48 PM

This has nothing to do with a media driven campaign. Stan is a ****e manager, its unfortunate but true. Given the guys playing record with Ireland and in England I'd have thought he might do ok but how wrong I was. We were beateb 5-2 by Cyprus and almost held by San Marino. This has nothing to do with a media campaign and everything to do with Sans failure as a manager.

26/03/2007, 1:57 PM
Fair enough. But the players and the manager deserve the criticism they are getting. They have brought us into a black hole and it is upto them to get us out.

p.s. Roy Curtis is a grade A ****.

But knocking them all the time is not going to do much for their confidence.If you were a player how would you like to face the Personalised abuse that Stan and Robbie Keane have got on here in the last 9 months.

IF and its a big IF we win on Wednesday we have every chance of finishing second in the group and I for one would be more than happy with that but will certain sections of our media (Dunphy,Fanning & Curtis ) be happy with that.

26/03/2007, 2:00 PM
Great he passed the ball a few yards to Ireland who still had it all to do. Through ball me bo**ox. Kilbane could have made that pass. Ireland made that goal himself..

See what I mean about not giving credit where credit is due. It was a nice through ball to Ireland. If it was so easy who else provided such a ball for the rest of the game?

He was on the floor everytime he went for the ball. What about his chance where Kilbane played it through to him 6 yards from an open goal? On his ar*e. Also he could have cost us the game at the end by his silly idiotic play outside the box when he gave away possesion whicc resulted in Giggs crap freekick. Would you be singing his praises then? I expect more responsible play from the captain than giving away a needless freekick at the edge of our box in the last few minutes of the game...

Exaggeration "on the floor everytime". He also made a good run to get in on goal but his finishing was poor and yes he gave the ball away carelessly in the last minute. I am not "singing his praises". I am defending him against the snide attacks of you and others who seem to think he's not doing his best. He worked very hard as the sole striker and had the assist in the goal.

Watch it on telly next time man you must have been singing Ole Ole Ole and moaning about the atmosphere for most of the match instead of watching the game....

Sonny boy, I have been following Ireland since you were in nappies and am not a member of the Ole Ole brigade. I don't need to watch it on tv. I was at the game supporting the team, not jeering or mocking our players. Defensively we did well and Bellamy and Giggs were kept quiet by both full backs (even O'Shea). We have a medicore midfield and alas that is at the core of our problems.

I think I'd prefer to go back to the days when real supporters went to the games instead of the large batch of moaning minnies we now get who think we should be playing like Brazil despite having some pretty average players in the side. I think all the players do their best. Some like Kilbane and O'Shea are not international class but I won't jeer and mock them. Strangely enough I think supporters should support, although this will come as a shock to some.

Torn-Ado
26/03/2007, 2:00 PM
But knocking them all the time is not going to do much for their confidence.If you were a player how would you like to face the Personalised abuse that Stan and Robbie Keane have got on here in the last 9 months.

IF and its a big IF we win on Wednesday we have every chance of finishing second in the group and I for one would be more than happy with that but will certain sections of our media (Dunphy,Fanning & Curtis ) be happy with that.

You play bad, you get criticised. Its simple as that and ithappens in every sport in every country in the world.

I'd rather they got criticised than the players believing that they are still as good as they think. Players like Keane and Duff were beginning to believe their own hype. They were brought down to earth with a bang.

Play bad:Expect criticism.

Simple logic.

Nailer77
26/03/2007, 2:06 PM

Well thats the business these guys are in. This is the biggest sport in the world and as such comes under the most scrutiny and they haven't been performing so they have to accept the criticism, their massive pay packets should help to soften the blow somewhat.

After the Cyprus debacle we played the Czechs and the team got far more support and backing than they deserved given the circumstances and how did they repay us, with more dross against San Marino and we needed a last minute goal from one of our youngsters to rescue the situation. So then we rightly expect something more against Wales who aren't any better than Cyprus and we don't get it, instead we get more disjointed football and negative selection and tactics. People can blame the crowd for a lack of atmosphere but the crowd need to be entertained, they need to see something to get excited about. Stans lucky it was such a nice day on Saturday cos had it been 2 degrees, ****ing rain and blowing a gale the mood would probably have taken a turn for the worse.

You say yourself its a big IF, well I'd say its a massive IF and if the Slovaks are anyway decent they should stroll out of Croker with the 3 points, they'll have seen the Czechs stupidly settle for a draw and they'll know they can make ground here.

Marked Man
26/03/2007, 2:47 PM

POTM.

26/03/2007, 3:06 PM
I still think there's nothing wrong with the team that 2 good midfielders wouldn't sort out.

You can blame O'Shea all night long but any time he had the ball I looked to see who was showing for it. Nobody was, and if anyone did he didn't have the touch to control it anyway. He had no option but to hoof it up the wing most of the time.

Wales passed the ball well, why couldn't we?

Nailer77
26/03/2007, 3:09 PM
I still think there's nothing wrong with the team that 2 good midfielders wouldn't sort out.

You can blame O'Shea all night long but any time he had the ball I looked to see who was showing for it. Nobody was, and if anyone did he didn't have the touch to control it anyway. He had no option but to hoof it up the wing most of the time.

Thats very true, Carsley and Douglas had to take some responsibility and didn't. I'd be happy to see Carsley alongside Stephen Ireland because with Carsley being purely defensive and offering little or nothing on the ball surely can afford to accomodate a ball player beside him. Hopefully we can scrape a win on Wednesday (unlikely) and come September we should have the Reids back who are at least options there, Steven Reid in particular.

26/03/2007, 3:11 PM
Yeah I think in this country we have a fear of ball players. Do arsenal think that Fabregas is too lightweight. Football is nearly a non contact sport at this stage and I think you can get away with players like Ireland in your midfield whereas before players were not as protected as they are now. Get passers in midfield and we wiill get the best out of Duff and Keane and Doyle.

26/03/2007, 3:24 PM
Yeah I agree, we've very little strength in depth in that area. The 2 Reid's are huge misses for us. With everyone fit I'd try...

--------------Given---------------
Finnan---Dunne---McShane---O'Shea
-------------Carsley---------------
---------Reid-------Reid-----------
--Keane-------------------Duff----
--------------Doyle---------------

26/03/2007, 3:28 PM
Yeah I like that team with the exception of O Shea. A bit harsh on Ireland too. I said from the start that he will score goals for us.

Noelys Guitar
26/03/2007, 3:33 PM
Stan's tactics now are a result (literally) of the Cyprus game. Think back to the team we had out that night. It looked like a very attacking team. But McGeady and Ireland in midfield was a disaster. We got hammered. I don't blame either player for the 5-2 but now we have Stan doing the complete opposite in playing Carsley and Douglas in midfield with Ireland on the wing. If we win again on Wednesday (which I firmly believe we will do) then this is the way we are going to play for awhile. It is awful to watch but this is what happens when you have a manager under siege.

26/03/2007, 3:44 PM
Yeah I like that team with the exception of O Shea. A bit harsh on Ireland too. I said from the start that he will score goals for us.
Who else is there instead of O'Shea though? I have to say, other than his goals, I haven't been too impressed with Ireland. He misplaced almost every pass before his goal. If his goalscoring ratio keeps up it'd be impossible to drop him though.

If the 2 Reid's stay injury free for a while it might be possible to fit the 2 of them in the same midfield as Ireland with Carsley dropping out but it'd be a bit risky since they've hardly had a chance to get at understanding together.

26/03/2007, 3:48 PM
I did not have time to go to the bookies on Saturday before the game but I was saying to my brothers we must get money on him to be first goal scorer. I am going to put money on Ireland again to be first Scorer on Wednesday. He has a coolness and confidence that are beyond his years.

26/03/2007, 3:52 PM
With the injury record of both Reids, S.Ireland will win enough caps. I'd prefer Andy Reid though, I like the way he gets on the ball and makes space for himself, overall more versatile and a tougher nut.

FarBeag
26/03/2007, 4:26 PM
I think that Andy Reid is a far better player than Steven Ireland.Its a shame he is so injury prone.We could really do with his intelligence on Wednesday.

26/03/2007, 4:26 PM
6 March 2007

Out of the frying pan, into the fire

By Liam Mackey
LAST WEEK, Bobby Robson raised a few eyebrows when, citing Ireland’s run of seven points from three games, he suggested that the team were now “on a roll”.

Bearing in mind six of those points had come against San Marino — and three of those by the narrowest of margins imaginable — it’s understandable that few were convinced by the great man’s attempt at positive spin.

After Saturday’s welcome but uninspiring win against Wales at Croke Park, the growing points tally looks even more respectable, but no-one is making bold statements to suggest that Ireland must now be on a jumbo roll — not with a much more severe test against Slovakia just two days away.

In truth, Ireland’s progress is less a matter of confident strides forward and more like that of someone negotiating a minefield. Relief that one hazard is out of the way is quickly replaced by a sharp intake of breath as the next step approaches.

Against that backdrop, the best that can be said about the 1-0 win against Wales is that it saw Steve Staunton and Ireland come out on the right side of a win or bust scenario. And considering the stakes — the pressure on the team and the man as well as the historic nature of the occasion itself — victory in itself was something to be prized.

But not the performance which, a couple of eye-catching cameos aside, failed to inspire any great confidence that Ireland can raise their game to the level required to beat a Slovakian side who came back from a goal down to put three past Cyprus.

For a while on Saturday, the home side at Croke Park seemed to be in the same boat, so isolated and uninvolved was the slight figure of Stephen Ireland out on the right. Staunton must take the criticism for so ill-advised an opening gambit but he also deserves the credit for putting it right — and to positive effect.

Stephen Ireland’s cooly taken goal, coming at the end of a quick and incisive move involving John O’ Shea and Robbie Keane, was the one moment when the game matched the occasion. But for most of the 90 minutes, it was a match to be endured rather than enjoyed, as Ireland dominated but, through a combination of sloppiness and inhibition, never threatened to destroy a shockingly bad Welsh side.

A midfield of Lee Carsley and Jonathan Douglas is never going to open up the opposition with lancing passes, so once more the burden of creativity was largely shouldered by the tireless Damien Duff. It’s become almost a cliche to knock the so-called marquee players but it’s sobering to think of what Ireland would be like without the Newcastle man’s thrilling ability to beat a player or two.

Other positives? Paul McShane was commanding at the back and, but for the blooper which almost opened the door to Craig Bellamy, Richard Dunne had a good game. Not for the first time, Ireland’s failure to exploit a one-goal advantage was spared the ultimate punishment thanks to the quick reactions of an otherwise under-worked Shay Given.

And then there was Stephen Hunt, whose arrival off the bench was such an immediate tonic for back-pedalling Ireland that not only did it panic the Welsh into three desperate fouls and two yellow cards, it also seemed to inspire Kevin Kilbane into finally having a go himself at running at the opposition.

All-action Hunt’s ability to inject forward momentum might seem to define the concept of an “impact sub” but Saturday’s cameo, on top of his proven record with Reading, should be enough to secure him a place in the starting eleven for Wednesday’s game against Slovakia. Better by far that the visitors be fearful of Ireland rather than the other way around.

Stephen Staunton certainly seems to be in no doubt that Slovakia will be coming to Croker anxious for much more than a share of the spoils. Asked after training in Malahide yesterday if the look of the Group D table after the weekend represents a boost for the Irish, the manager was not entirely taken in by appearances.

“I think it does,” he replied, “but we’ve played a game more than Slovakia and they’re only a point behind us, so from that perspective they’ll be thinking if they can beat us in Dublin we’re out of it. So that’s what we have to guard against us. They’re a big, strong athletic side. And we know what system they play since their new coach has come in.”

Staunton will know even more later today, after he studies the DVD and match report which his scout John Deehan was bringing back from Cyprus. And with one eye on the still distance vista of qualification, the Irish manager welcomed Germany’s significant 2-1 away win against the Czech Republic in the group’s other game at the weekend.

“Hopefully now, Germany go on and win every game — bar one,” said Staunton. “The only away game they’ve got is ourselves and you would fancy them in their own backyard to go and beat the rest. But it’s really down to ourselves what we do. The Slovaks are going to be a big test for us and there are other tough games in the group.”

And with a touch of the defiance that the team needs to show on the pitch, the manager added: “This young squad is growing stronger, day by day, week by week, month by month. And the more criticism they get, it’s making them stronger.”

While the setting was stupendous, the pitch was considerably less so? “It’ll be a lot better Wednesday night,” reckoned Staunton. “I’ve been assured by the groundsmen in Croke Park that they’ll get it to the best of their ability. A wee bit of rain, but not too much would be nice.”

And Staunton had one other comment to make on the weather.

“I don’t think anyone realised the strength of that wind on Saturday. There was a hell of a wind blowing straight down towards the Canal End.”

A quote worth recording; who among us thought we’d see the day when a soccer manager would include the phrase “the Canal End” in his comments about conditions at an Irish game.

Off the field then, all is changed, changed utterly. But on it? Staunton and this Irish team will need to produce much more on Wednesday under lights at the same venue if they are not to be consigned to a footnote in history.

26/03/2007, 4:35 PM
I think that Andy Reid is a far better player than Steven Ireland.Its a shame he is so injury prone.We could really do with his intelligence on Wednesday.
Agreed. He has to be one of the first names on the teamsheet when he returns.

Ceirtlis
26/03/2007, 4:35 PM
I thought Robbie Keane played well and some of the criticism of him has been very harsh. He normally goes deep for the ball so to play him up front on his own is ridiculous. There were loads of times in the first half when he was laying the ball off to one of the wingers on the edge of the box and there was no one in the box to actually cross it too. He moans a bit but he should have had a penalty and he set up our winner as well as being involved in most of any other good moves that we have had.
As for Damien Duff i dont think that he lacks effort, he just might not be as good as we all thought he was going to be. He hasnt played well since the first year he was with Chelsea. Thats a long time to be out of sorts. I feel abit sorry for him especially when he is playing the likes of Cyprus and San Marino who double mark him and he doesnt seem to have the skill to get round them.
Steve Stauntons tenure has been nothing short of a disaster.What is wrong with playing players in their proper positions? He doesnt seem to have any system that he trying to implement, the whole thing is so all over the place you would nearly think that he is trying to sabotage the team. From no defensive midfielders against Cyprus away to an ultra cautious system at home to Wales. We have no chance of qualifying because we probably have to get 4 points from 2 games against Germany and Czech Republic. Can anyone see us getting that considering the team were over the moon to draw with the Czechs at home.
We have a good chance of winning against Slovakia on Wednesday if the team is set up right. I think some people are overestimating this crowd they got hammered at home by the Czechs and Germany 0-3 and 1-4. Here is their squad, i dont want to be ignorant and say i dont know any of them so il just say most are not playing with big clubs. They are missing their main man up front Mintal.

Goalkeepers: Kamil Contofalsky (Zenit St. Petersburg), Lubos Hajduch (Ruzomberok).

Defenders: Martin Skrtel (Zenit St. Petersburg), Jan Durica (Saturn), Peter Singlar (Liberec), Marek Cech (Porto), Maros Klimpl (Banik Ostrava).

Midfielders: Marek Sarapa (Rosenborg), Dusan Svento (Slavia Prague), Matej Krajcik (Slavia Prague), Zdeno Strba (Zilina), Balazs Borbely (Kaiserslautern), Igor Zofcak (Ruzomberok), Marek Hamsik (Brescia), Vratislav Gresko (Nuremberg), Jan Kozak (Artmedia Bratislava).

Forwards: Filip Holosko (Manisaspor), Robert Vittek (Nuremberg), Martin Jakubko (Saturn), Stanislav Sestak (Zilina).

Dr. Ogba
26/03/2007, 4:42 PM

Spot on. I thought O'Shea was very solid and it was a credit to him that Giggs barely influenced the game at all (ffs even youngirish admitted that O'Shea played ok!!) . He can't be blamed for poor distribution as there was absolutely nobody in midfield showing for the ball.

To be honest (and I'm sure plenty will disagree with me) I think we're desperately missing Andy Reid's creativity and willingness to show for the ball. A 4-5-1 in a similar vein to the Czech match except with Doyle as the lone striker with a McGeady/Reid/Hunt creative axis would cause most teams problems along with a good solid base of 2 holding midfielders (Carsley and Douglas).

With this in mind I'd go for the following starting XI against the Slovaks in an attacking 4-5-1:
Given
Finnan
McShane
Dunne
O'Shea
Carsley
Douglas
Duff
Ireland (play just behind Doyle if available)
Hunt (McGeady on the bench as an impact player)
Doyle

Also, just to echo the sentiments of a few of the previous posters, I cringed in utter embarrasment when Keane was booed off...what an absolute disgrace, I'm not Keane's biggest fan but no way should anyone wearing the Irish shirt be booed off the park...I thought we were above all that...:(

citizenerased
26/03/2007, 5:00 PM
who booed him??where i was sitting everyone was clapping him!!

26/03/2007, 5:02 PM
John and Tommy

Dr. Ogba
26/03/2007, 5:59 PM
who booed him??where i was sitting everyone was clapping him!!

Apologies don't know any of them by name...:p

I was in the Hogan/Canal upper and could deffo hear boos going around the place when he was substituted...

SUB of the day
26/03/2007, 6:24 PM
upper cusack, thought I was hearing things, but definite boos, something is rotten etc etc:(

Rosco
27/03/2007, 3:24 AM
upper cusack, thought I was hearing things, but definite boos, something is rotten etc etc:(

yep was there also and definite booing, while i dont think his performance was great on saturday, the day we start booing our players off the pitch is the beginning of the end as far as i'm concerned. To many people there for a jolly rather than support the team, hopefully a chill weds nite will put paid to that and they all stay in their nice comfy armchairs and let the real fans get on with it.

Nailer77
27/03/2007, 11:20 AM
I thought I heard that as well and was in the upper hogan. Said it to one my mates but heard nothing, was sure I heard it though.

27/03/2007, 3:35 PM
I was reading yesterday's Star earlier today and saw an interesting quote from Carl Robinson of Wales:

"I spoke to a couple of Irish boys and they had nothing but good words to say about us. They said we dominated possession, kept the ball well and that they would like to be in a team that does that."

So is it...
A. A spin on the quotes.
B. Robinson lying.
C. A bit of both.
D. The Irish players actually said this.

? :)

zenokelly
27/03/2007, 3:38 PM
Definitely a complete spin