View Full Version : Half hour gone

backstothewall
24/03/2007, 2:41 PM
Uninspiring so far.

Finnan and O Shea are both trying to come inside onto their natural feet far to often, but it is to be expected given they are playing on the oppisate flanks to where they are used to.

Keane is pulling out left, right, deep, everywhere but where he should be really if he is to play up front as the lead striker (which he has to be if Duff is his partner). result of this is no real presence up front, demonstrated perfectly by when their keeper got in trouble and there was no one in the middle to exploit it

Distinct lack of width which would surely have been something to exploit on the big pitch.

Poor fare so far. At least Given got up

24/03/2007, 2:46 PM
1 up. How ironic that a lad from Cork scores!:D

backstothewall
24/03/2007, 2:46 PM
Well shut my mouth...

Good finish by the lad:ball:

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 2:47 PM
Great goal from Steven Ireland after a superb pass from Robbie Keane!

PS: The game is live on German free tv

Qwerty
24/03/2007, 2:47 PM
Ireland has class. Quality finish.

24/03/2007, 2:49 PM
Listening to it on the Radio. Crowd seems into it. Hard to gauge how we are playing from the commentary.

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 2:50 PM
The atmosphere isn't that good in my eyes...

Unfortunately no comparison with Celtic Park.

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 2:52 PM
Half time

1:0 Eire

backstothewall
24/03/2007, 2:52 PM
No comparison to the rugby fixtures either

plasticpitch
24/03/2007, 2:53 PM
The atmosphere isn't that good in my eyes...

Unfortunately no comparison with Celtic Park.
german tv ...what channel??

24/03/2007, 2:56 PM
Listening to it on the Radio. Crowd seems into it. Hard to gauge how we are playing from the commentary.

Have you got the right frequency? :D - the atmosphere is shocking :rolleyes:

24/03/2007, 2:57 PM
Have you got the right frequency? :D - the atmosphere is shocking :rolleyes:
They must be playing a background track from the rugby game.:D

Qwerty
24/03/2007, 2:58 PM
The game is pretty flat really. Wales will have to change things at half time, we'll see how we cope with their changes.

laurent
24/03/2007, 3:01 PM
german tv ...what channel??

it's on ARD.

Emmet
24/03/2007, 3:03 PM
The build-up play and finish for the goal apart there has not been too much for the crowd to cheer about! It has been fairly flat but the game has been pretty dull and mistake-ridden so far. Hoping for a better second half!

24/03/2007, 3:03 PM
:D John Aldridge "It looks like a subbuteo pitch from up here" in his thick scouse accent.

Qwerty
24/03/2007, 3:06 PM
The 'quality' of pitch should hinder the Slovaks :)

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:31 PM
The atmosphere is getting much better now.

"Laola" in Dublin :)

24/03/2007, 3:31 PM
Keane out for next game.:mad:

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:34 PM
The next game is against Slovakia?

24/03/2007, 3:35 PM
The next game is against Slovakia?
Yes it is.

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:38 PM
Then it's a huge loss for Ireland.

Btw: Your team is only doing what's necessary against this weak Welsh team...

24/03/2007, 3:41 PM
Then it's a huge loss for Ireland.

Btw: Your team is only doing what's necessary against this weak Welsh team...
Sounds like we are struggling alright. Lost our way in the second half.

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:42 PM
Wow, Kevin Doyle hits the bar

24/03/2007, 3:42 PM
Damn..Doyle hits the post!

Volcán Masaya
24/03/2007, 3:45 PM
Jaysus, you can see why the GAA didn't want soccer in Croker. This is woeful stuff.
I've seen Junior B Camogie matches that were better.

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:46 PM
What an opportunity for Keane! Was that a penalty?

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:49 PM
Dangerous free-kick situation for the Welsh...

Edit: No problem for Given

24/03/2007, 3:49 PM
Sounds like Keane is having a 'mare.

tippex
24/03/2007, 3:52 PM
Duff is a disgrace I've only seen the second half and he should really take a look at the effort hunt has made since he came on.

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:52 PM
Beattie just saved the Scots

24/03/2007, 3:56 PM
Wow. Oh well, we'll take the three points. Have to play a lot better on Wednesday to have a chance.

German_Tim
24/03/2007, 3:57 PM
Finito at Croke Park. Boring game ... but who cares in the end? ;)

Congrats on this important win!

Qwerty
24/03/2007, 3:58 PM
Poor performance against a very poor Welsh side. Slovakia will be a much stiffer challenge. No leadership as usual. Giving the ball away far too easily. Keane another undisciplined performance. Poor shape.

stojkovic
25/03/2007, 6:43 PM
Uninspiring so far.

Finnan and O Shea are both trying to come inside onto their natural feet

Since when was John O'Sh*te left-footed.

Then again he probably doesnt know himself.

25/03/2007, 7:50 PM
Since when was John O'Sh1te left-footed.

He's got two left feet, don't ye know.

zinedineontour
25/03/2007, 8:14 PM
Sounds like Keane is having a 'mare.

One of keanes best games for a while imo .. got on the ball a lot and tried to set up chances .. unlike the ****e he was supplied with ..

zinedineontour
25/03/2007, 8:15 PM
Duff is a disgrace I've only seen the second half and he should really take a look at the effort hunt has made since he came on.

duff was decent yday looked our only attacking threat coming from midfield ..