View Full Version : GUFC 2 Drogs 3

Paddyfield
23/03/2007, 10:18 PM
What a game! We were 1 - 0 down in the first minute and 2 - 0 down a few minutes later. But we bounced back with a goal at the nick of half time.

United dominated the second half and Murphy equalised. The visitors were reduced to ten men when Byrne was red carded but still managed a winner on 95 minutes. Drogs had 3 chances and scored from all three.

There were 2045 at the game and the atmosphere was electric. The standard in the Premier has improved a lot since we were last in it. The Drogs manager and players got out of jail and celebrated like they had just won the Champions League.

At the final whistle, some of the home fans were caling the ref a w@nk€R but in truth, he had a good game and didn't desrve the abuse.

If we have more games like this, then it will ba an enjoyable season. Drogheda aren't worthy of their Favourites tag based on this performance.

GalwayFrancis
23/03/2007, 10:41 PM
in all fairness to the drogs they missing a fair few players.

eamo1
24/03/2007, 2:11 AM
just in the door from a few post match drinks.i jokingly said to my friend just before they took the free kick that it would be just like galway utd to concede here and sure as F**k we went and did.
the lads showed great heart though.even though we lost if we play like that in most games then we will be ok because not all teams will have 3 shots and score all 3 against us.but all 3 goals were from poor marking though so if we defend like that then we may have problems.
did anyone see derek o.brien actually go around the outside of his man and beat him before pulling it back for the equaliser???????i blinked when i seen this.but it was back to normal a few minutes later when hemanaged to send a cross out the gate and onto the dyke road.thats why hes so infruiating to watch.
great game though.we will be ok i think,no need to panic.

eamo1
24/03/2007, 2:21 AM
just wanted to quickly add well done to gufct and co tonight for the new system in place,it was far easier and less hassle and the stewards were great as usual.good job.
right its off to bed as i have work in 5 hours:( .

24/03/2007, 2:23 AM
Did Rogers play? According to www.finnharps.com FIFA cleared him to play today....

Paddyfield
24/03/2007, 6:20 AM
Yeah but you lost and still only have one point in three games. Enjoy the Premier while you can.

Thanks for the kind words Fried_Chicken. And who do you support? I notice that you are not proud enough to put your Club crest on your post.

On a hunch, I reckon you've got are from the midlands... do you support Athlone Town?

GUISAUltra
24/03/2007, 6:35 AM
Yeah but you lost and still only have one point in three games. Enjoy the Premier while you can.

If we play with passion and commitment as we did last night when 2 down we will be in the premier for many years to come

tribesman78
24/03/2007, 12:04 PM
Gutted after last nights game. Great game and we dominated the second half. Tony made a brave decision to go with 3 in the back at 2 down and it worked v.well. Two bad points though would have to be the stupid free kick we gave away, there was no need for it, and his subs. O flynn was out MOM and looked like he was still going strong when taken off and murphy was playing the best out of all of our midfielders. Unlucky result but if we can play with 2 up front with that kind of commitment then then i think we will definatly hold our own this season.

galway-united5
24/03/2007, 2:51 PM
Robbed!!!!!!!!

Tir Oilean
24/03/2007, 7:01 PM
What a night! I was happy the way we were playing even though we were 2 down after 30mins. We showed fight passed the ball and didnt panic after conceding. Cousins and the lads were visibly disappointed with the loss. If we can replicate this week in week out we'll have little to worry about. Roll on Rovers.

Well done to the stewards they had a good system in place tonight for the season ticket holders.

Paddyfield
24/03/2007, 7:28 PM
Match report from OFFICIAL Drogheda website.

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Result.asp?FixtureID=658

Eamon Zayed swooped in the 94th minute to head a fantastic winning goal at Terryland after the Drogs lost a two-goal lead and had Stuart Byrne sent off on 57. This was an eventful match for a number of reasons. the most important one being that the mighty Drogs strike force of Fitz, Fabio and Eamo scored for the second consecutive match with three brilliant goals. It was also eventful for Stewart Byrne's sending of and for referee Buttimer's performance. Loath as I am to take quill in hand and criticise a fellow human being, I feel I must scratch the vellum to say that his performance was below par to put it kindly.

Annyway, it was a lovely day as we sailed forth, missing the slow bicycle race through Kilbeggan through our own unerring sense of direction and were soon ensconced in the Merlow Hotel with the amber nectar in hand and Ireland v. the Windies on the box and we made it to the ground in time to hear that Garto was ruled out. In came Shellyer to partner Jason Gavin and we fielded Richie, Robbo,Stewie and Ollie in the middle with Fabio and Fitzy up front and we were no sooner sittin' down (1.44 to be precise) when from and Ollie cahill free on the right Fitzy headed us into the lead. And we ruled the game for the first fifteen minutes and looked to be capable of unlocking the Galway defence. Robbo got carded on 15 , galkway had their first attack of not on 23 when a cross shaved the top of the bar, but thne on 26 we had a moment of pure magic when Richie Baker collected a great crossfield ball on the right wing, swung over a fabulous curling cross and Fabio headed expertly to the net for a two goal lead. The half went on, Jason Gavin got carded on 34 and just before the half time whistle Stuart Byrne was carded for a clumsy challenge. And just on the half time whistle, after some pressure Galway netted a soft goal from a corner.

In at half time and looking forward to the second, no changes after half time and almost immediately on the restart Charles flattens Richie with a very clumsy challenge and gets no card. This is the first of a number of challenges which went unpunished and then 12 minutes in Stuart Byrne comes in with another challenge and out come the red ! Jaysus !!! what are we going to go now ? . As Paul was getting Gavin Whelan ready to come on for Fitzy to fill the midfield gap, Dan collides with Jason Gavin and hasta limp off !. On comes Miko to our cheers, and over comes the corner and up he rises in the air like Kerry's own Micko to claim th ball !!. Galway pressed us and on 77 Murphy scored with a low shot after good work on the left. And we were soaking up the pressure well and Miko took charge of his penalty box. Ten to go , on comes Zayed for Fabio - our last throw for the points, and Zayed soon ships a heavy challenge from Lester (for it is he) which goes unpunished. Gavin Whelan looks very sharp with Zayed , time ticks on , up goes the yoke ---FIVE MINUTES additional time !!!. We almost make the breakthrough a few times and THEN - Charelkes fouls Richie on the right. Richie bends it over and Zayed heads a fabulous goal from 2 yards out on the Right. Were we delighted ???? We were delighted !!!!. Whistle blew. Justice was done, an unfortunate sending off but an early-season glimpse of some True Grit form the Drogs in this fabulous season of Oh Seven. Off we went, paid the two seventy and made Fusion before it was half full - wasn't that good goin ?

What's the story for tomorra ? Well, we're goin' over to Skinner for the rashers and Stella will be there with us all afternoon as we cheer on the Boys in Green and after that watch Ophir's Boys see off the brits !! - probably see yiz above in the Widda's later !!!

inthestand99
24/03/2007, 9:22 PM
The lads showed real character in getting back into this game. Granted the two goals were pretty awful but like was said earlier if they perform like this for the rest of the season we will be O.K.

25/03/2007, 12:03 AM
It was also eventful for Stewart Byrne's sending of and for referee Buttimer's performance. Loath as I am to take quill in hand and criticise a fellow human being, I feel I must scratch the vellum to say that his performance was below par to put it kindly.

That has to be worth an FAI fine surely?

ndrog
25/03/2007, 2:25 PM
By all means report those ****y match reports ,there are a fcukin embarresment .Enjoyed the trip to galway ,nice place ,good supporters and a tidy ground .Strange game with some diabolical decisions by the ref and linesman .you were robbed but then again we had a player sent off for nothing so thats the way it goes .All the best for the season .

padraicoc
25/03/2007, 3:34 PM
I didn't want to share this with you all, but I feel that my disgust should be shared with you all, the free kick for the third goal should have been a throw, reggie made a great tackle, put his foot in between [drogs player]'s legs kicked the ball out straight at me before drog's player even knew he was there... dunno where the ref got the idea this was a free kick, maybe because he was behind reggie he just assumed, tho watching some of his decisions I think he assumed alot, [drogs player] was very surprised to get the free and [linesman] didn't make a comment but then again the ref had decided before he could say anything and I don't think he's allowed to change his mind so I won't fault him for this one, but he was fairly crap...

Onto how the players did, reggie is a real hero, thank god he'll be around for a while, I think the 3-5-2 was a great plan and we played a lot better when that change was made, i didn't really notice that there was one man less in our defense, wes played well, tho when he got booked for trying to mince baker, he was being provoked and if he was going to let it annoy him that much he shoulda made sure baker didn't get up(not advocating that kinda thing but if your gonna do somethin do it properly). thought our three man centre midfield was great, (as they were against cork).

All and all if they play like they did from the time the switched to 3-5-2, I think we'll be watching premier football next season, maybe even a few setanta cup games, can't wait for the short trip to Tolka Park...

Celdrog
25/03/2007, 9:17 PM
That has to be worth an FAI fine surely?
Hopefully - read the preview for the Setanta match on Monday and we will definitely get one.

Eire06
26/03/2007, 8:31 AM
We were robbed can anyone tell me where 5 mins injury time came out of.
there was 3 at most :mad:

Up side it was good to see the team play so well esp in the 2nd half,
Keep it up lads there could be hope for us this season after all.

26/03/2007, 8:31 AM
It was Derek who gave away the vital free when he pushed over the drogs player when the ball was going out for a throw it was stupid and cost us big time.

Tribesman
26/03/2007, 10:54 AM
We have to defend set pieces & crosses better, first goal last Friday was a gift.
All goals we have conceded this season have come from either frees from the right or crosses from the right.

:(

ndrog
26/03/2007, 11:32 AM
any opinions on the sending off lads ?

Sumac
26/03/2007, 11:36 AM
Thought the 2nd yellow was harsh. Can't remember what the original booking was for

galwayhoop
26/03/2007, 11:38 AM
We were robbed can anyone tell me where 5 mins injury time came out of.
there was 3 at most :mad:

Up side it was good to see the team play so well esp in the 2nd half,
Keep it up lads there could be hope for us this season after all.

6 substitutions (30 secs for each) is 3 minutes. although they brought on 2 at once so maybe 2 and a half mins. when their keeper and defender collided there was a stop for at least a minute and a half. and then other stoppages account for the other minute.

i know everyone on here is saying it was good but we only started playing when we were 2 down and switched to a 3-5-2. we cannot, under any circumstances, start with a 4-5-1 formation again at home. it was a joke. it is okay away from home but if we want to get decent crowds regulary we need to have 2 up front and at least have a go at the opposition.

also Drogs were on the ropes and for the last 20 mins we just kept firing the ball up front at every opportunity. that was the only area of the pitch that they had more men than us! we sould have been more patient as we were creating loads of room when we spread the ball wide. they were delighted when we went down the middle. why were we panicking. i thought we would have won the game for definate if we were just a bit more patient.

MyTown
26/03/2007, 11:42 AM
About the sending off: Thought it was a bit harsh myself - if only because I couldn't get a shout in SByrne's direction about his "loyalty" to Shelbourne & his post league "win" rant etc.:)

Drogs were clinical & we were a bit naieve. It was still our best outing of the three so far & I hope the lads don't get too downhearted. We played some good stuff and had the winning of it when we equalised.

Harsh lessons - it's the Premier.

(BTW - I thought our booing of the ref was completely out of order. We've done very, very well out of the refs in Cork and last Friday night. Supporters would do well to remember, we'll probably have that ref on a good few occasions throughout the season. And if his abiding memory of last Friday night was the abuse he got as he came off the park (which I hope it is not) we can't complain if we lose out on our share of the 50/50 decisions later in the season). Like it or not, they're only human, and the guy on Friday night had a very good game IMO.

galwayhoop
26/03/2007, 11:44 AM
any opinions on the sending off lads ?

any man with a pony tail deserves to get sent off in my opinion :D

MyTown
26/03/2007, 11:48 AM

I thouhgt it was Gavin who had the pony tail:confused:

ndrog
26/03/2007, 1:03 PM

what pony tail ? I had a couple in foxs before the game, but not that many ;)

galwayhoop
26/03/2007, 2:01 PM
what pony tail ? I had a couple in foxs before the game, but not that many ;)

my mistake so. he got the second yellow for jumping with his hands raised, was right in front of me and no-one - players or supporters thought much of it. felt ref was harsh. he must have thought he used an elbow but united were just looking to take quick free. i reckon the ref didn't realise he had booked him earlier. personally i wouldn't be happy to get sent off like that but in fairness to him he ddn't make a big deal out of it.

KoemansCC
26/03/2007, 4:03 PM
Great match, good atmosphere and we showed great spirit to fight back from two down. What annoyed me most was the tactics that we started the game with, a 4-5-1 formation was totally negative to start with and every time the drogs got the ball we retreated to our own half way line and invited them on. This is all well and good if the marking is tight when the ball comes in to our half but the defending was terrible. It was only when we went two down and we were forced to change formation that the team looked comfortable and got in to the flow, maybe we showed the drogs too much respect...no offence

All in all, its still early in the season and we have been notoriously bad starters and at least we have found the net so thats a plus...

Murphy looks up for it this season and has been one of the most consistent along with Reggie....bring on the Rovers...

corbyeire
26/03/2007, 7:15 PM
have to say i didnt think the second yellow was a booking at all

again i think wesley should have been stuck to his man for the second goal - he is very hot cold in defence

missed the first goal

galway should have played it on the ground more - the hoof ball was defendable after we got the equaliser

next home game - lets take it to the opposition

mind you - 1-0 down after 2 mins - puts the game plan out the window

eamo1
26/03/2007, 10:48 PM
is against st.pats who are the in form team in the league.its a case of out of the frying pan and into the fire i think.we should give them more respect then drogheda and if we get a draw ill be very happy.

corbyeire
27/03/2007, 1:36 PM
any point will do the way things are going!

27/03/2007, 1:41 PM
weve only played 3 games 2 against teams who are tipped for the title.The games we have to be looking to are the ones against Rovers,Longford,UCD,Bray and Waterford first.

corbyeire
27/03/2007, 2:03 PM
that is true gufc - the thing that worries me is in the first game there was very little gel in the team - the second game - fine defensive tactics worked - that wont happen for the season - last day had to go 2 down to start playing - and still lost (a last minuet goal , but only their 3rd attack of the game)

surely this squad gelling should have occured in the preseason

fare enough it was 2 top teams - but we are underdogs in this league - and we will always be playing a team perceived to be ahead of us

anyway a comprehensive performance is what is required and some consistency in the play etc.

we need points - the longer it takes to get going the more the confidence will be battered

Tir Oilean
27/03/2007, 3:08 PM
Corby I thought we were doin ok even though we were 2 down considering we were playing one of the strongest teams in the league and most people i talked to agreed with this. Have to agree with what your sayin tho regaring points. I think once we get a few on the board it'll give the lads the boost. Maybe more of a Roy Keane attitude is needed i.e. we are going to stay up this season rather than its our hope. Positive thinking goes a long way ask Dr Bill!!!:-)

Gaillimh Al
27/03/2007, 4:59 PM
Can't agree that we were doing well when 2 down.

We were poor until he changed the formation. Spent the first half hour gifting them possession, only pressurising the man on the ball when it came into our own half. Only attacking threat came from O'Brien. For the 2nd goal Jason Gavin had so much time to pick out a 40 yard pass. We can't be letting teams do this to us at home. We're not in Division 1 now where defenders are just liable to knock a hopeful ball. And Stuart Byrne kept picking up the ball in the centre circle and no-one within 5 yards. Even though we had an extra centre midfielder.

BUT, after the change of tactics we were very good, two targets up front, extra effort by the midfield and solid at the back. Stephen O'Flynn was very impressive, Murphy was good and Reggie was comfortable. Rogers kickouts will have to improve though. He was a GAA keeper so thought it would be one of his strong points.

All in all, defensive concentration has to improve(5 goals from 5 chances at home) but we have enough attacking quality to win games.Confident we can get something at Tolka.

geezer
27/03/2007, 7:09 PM
is we will garner more points away from terryland thi season . we could do with a nippy fast striker to break fast in away ties. All the front lads are stroppy big fellas with not great pace. Damien Dupuy come back

eamo1
27/03/2007, 7:32 PM
is a fast nippy striker who can be used in away games i feel.the team needs more time to gel,i heard tony say it himself that he believes they will eventually put a run together but they need time first to get use to tactics,formation etc.
no need for panic,the points will come and we will stay up,keep the faith.

gilberto_eire
27/03/2007, 10:07 PM
people keep talking about time to gel like we'e the only team to buy a couple of players..... we'r not wexford... they need time to gel as there a complete new team with new players etc..... ya know bray had a massive clear out too and have more points on the board although i know an easier 3 games..... thats an excuse if you ask me by TC, i think that showed after he made a sub after 30mins against drogs and went 2 up front which should have been anyway. sloppy play/defending has nothing to do with ''geling'' and personally i think its an excuse word made up by managers to describe a team who arent playing well!!.....

geezer
27/03/2007, 10:37 PM
cousins. He had to pick the young left back after the cork performance he was hardly gonna pick the full back from the sligo game. He took him off swiftly and changed it around bravely. I think tc is very good and sees things quickly and is not afraid to change things and has a plan a and b for every game

gilberto_eire
27/03/2007, 11:37 PM
cousins. He had to pick the young left back after the cork performance he was hardly gonna pick the full back from the sligo game. He took him off swiftly and changed it around bravely. I think tc is very good and sees things quickly and is not afraid to change things and has a plan a and b for every game

playing league games isnt where you should have a ''plan b''..... ''plan a'' should work every time this isnt the time to be finding your feet!. im a fan dont get me wrong but its an excuse given by managers when your losing the ''time to gel'' crap!.

Tir Oilean
28/03/2007, 8:41 AM
I believe the change came around because Tracy wasnt fully fit and he couldnt risk reilly. I only heard this after the game from a source who usually has his facts right. Havin said that I agree with Gilberto we should have come out with a more positive formation.

GUISAUltra
28/03/2007, 11:25 AM
i agree with ya gilberto about the needing time to gel crap is just an excuse but as regards to not having a plan b for a league game i see that as just stupid. if you're playing a team that completely stifles your formation and dont let you play then you need to have a change of tactics. Otherwise its like repeatedly bouncing your head of a brick wall, if things aren't working then they need to be changed

galwayhoop
28/03/2007, 11:46 AM
u couldn't fault cousins. He had to pick the young left back after the cork performance he was hardly gonna pick the full back from the sligo game.

sorry now geezer but TC was the person who brought in both players and has to take responsibility for them. and for the dodgy keeper against sligo. last season he inherited a squad but this season he has to stand up and if there is a problem with a player not being good enough then it falls on TC's doorstep. fact is that the squad are all full time players and there should be no weak links at all in the squad at this stage of the season. maybe later on if we are ravaged by injuries & suspensions and relying on under 21s then there may be room for excuses but not at this early stage.

not having a go at him as i like him and think he is a good manager but he is culpable for mistakes and not a knight in shining armour who does no wrong.

the tactics were totally wrong to start with on friday but in fairness he did change them early enough and went for it. personally i would rather if we went for it from the start but maybe he will learn from it and be more positive from the start against pats in a weeks time.

ShamTalk
28/03/2007, 12:47 PM
In respect of match V Drogheda, no one could foresee that the left full could have been so poor in comparison to his excellent display against Cork. For second goal, ball travelled 40/50 yards to Baker and still he failed to get close to hime and prevent, or at least make it difficult, the cross for the second goal.

Positives on the season so far include the form of Reggi. He has proven a great signing, Murphy looks like he is enjoying his football again and O'Flynn will be a crowd favourite with his great work rate up front.

As it stands, I am not convinced that two from Foley, Lester and Murphy could govern centre midfield and hence the need for 5 in midfield.

It is a brave decision to play three at the back hence 4-5-1 formation.

If we are to deply 3-5-2 then there are extra defensive duties on Derek and David as wide midfielders.

As for playing one up front, not a big fan of this as its just too hard for a lone striker. If he wins flick ons or gets the ball to his feet he id depending on attacking midfielders and / or wingers to "get there" to support him.

Really enjoyed Friday night and was proud of the effort put in by the lads. It will be a difficult season but would be optimistic of survival.

Was in Croker on Saturday and no comparison in terms of effort and atmosphere.

Come on United!

eamo1
28/03/2007, 1:02 PM
he only past a fitness test just before the game.i think the reason he didnt want to get tight to his man was because he knew if he was turned then there was no chance of him catching him while carrying an injury.but he did go a bit too far to the other extreme and stayed too far from him.baker was quality though and any left back in the league will be made look foolish by him.
lads surely you dont expect an almost entirely new squad to be able to play well together after only a few games.he chopped and changed a lot during the preseason games so that team that played last friday has not played much and does need time to gel.also a manager does need a plan B.mannion and lally never had a plan B and it use to drive me insane.there were many games i felt we could have got something from if we had had a plan B.tony had one last friday and we almost got something.

MyTown
28/03/2007, 1:24 PM
Totally Agree Eamo

Tir Oilean
28/03/2007, 3:08 PM
Eamo has it spot on we never changed format or even made subs under TMannion, maybe a sub with 5mins to go. In fairness we had 5/6 pre season i think and these were never all the same team so the gel element is there IMO. hopefully we'll have gelled like Brylcream soon!

scotsbeer
28/03/2007, 4:28 PM
have to say i didnt think the second yellow was a booking at all

again i think wesley should have been stuck to his man for the second goal - he is very hot cold in defence

missed the first goal

galway should have played it on the ground more - the hoof ball was defendable after we got the equaliser

next home game - lets take it to the opposition

mind you - 1-0 down after 2 mins - puts the game plan out the window
goal that early shouldnt really change a game plan. was clear from the first few minutes that tracey was struggling for fitness and surprised this hasnt been picked up by anyone yet. he was struggling all week and cousins rightly stuck with him after he passed late fitness test and after a great performance form him in cork. he will be missed if out for long though there should be a place in the team for him as cousins will be switching form 4-5-1 to 3-5-2 throughout the season and during games.
it was a stupid free to give away so late on although i didnt see it properly and im not blaming anyone in particular. was just tough lcuk on the night.
derek set up murphs brilliantly for the 2nd goal and murphs deserved his goal as he played very well. armstrong did well when coming on and we will get both a change of luck and a deserved win pretty soon. gutted at losing so late on but the team showed they have the ability to play at that level and once they settled theyplayed some good stuff.
wouldnt surprise me if we win on friday

corbyeire
28/03/2007, 5:12 PM
i think we should win on friday - i think we have better players - just the start we have had makes me settle for a draw

the tracey thing was take as given - if it wasnt mentioned on this thread then it was on the other

Demoshield
28/03/2007, 10:24 PM
Rogers was poor for all 3 goals.
5 conceded, all scored by unmarked players in the box.
Tracy was never tested by Cork. Baker went for him from first whistle with elbow in the throat. Pat Scully was in the stand and I'm sure his instructions will be get at left back every time & put a half decent ball in the box & there will be goals. Played great football at times but if we continue to defend like that we have no hope. We need a left back. O'Flynn should be captain!