View Full Version : UCD Player Of the Season

12/01/2003, 5:05 PM
I know that we don't have a vote in the official club award and some of us have the right to vote in the UCD Soccer Supporters Society poll. But who do the UCD fans on Foot.ie believe to be the clubs Player of the Season. For me there are three options:-
Bazza, Tony Mc , and Robbie Doyle
Of the three I'd vote for Tony Mc Donnell He has protected the back four all season which has only conceded 25 goals in 25 games and he has scored 3 himself. As definite future manager of the team when he hangs up his boots in about 10 years or so .
What do the rest of you think? Should we open a poll ?

Aberdonian Stu
12/01/2003, 7:59 PM
I know Tony played well but when it comes down to it Bazza wins at a canter.

SSS player of the season award presentations next Friday against Bré, bí ann nó bí cearnógach.

@ndy
13/01/2003, 1:13 PM
Bazza...by a street.

It was interesting yesterday looking at Ashley Bayes...leggin it round tolka yesterday....he was delighted. Slapping Kenny on the back during his interview and saying 'well done Gaffa'. The best of all tho was when he turned his jersey back wards during the presentation and when he got to hold the cup he held it on his head in crown like fashion...and pointed repeatedly to the no 1 on his jersey!!! He seems like a right tosser.

Yeah, he made a good save, apparantly one of the best saves in el history accoring to welch and king...but bazzas been producing a few of those a game! And what about that near hash he made in th 1st half?

The ironic thing is...much to our loss, Bazza will probably be wearing that Bohs no 1 jersey next season...and fair play...but i'd love him to stay.

Andy

13/01/2003, 4:53 PM
Originally posted by CollegeTillIDie
For me there are three options:-
Bazza, Tony Mc , and Robbie Doyle
That's two options more than I would have said! It has to be Bazza.

I'll put up a poll in a minute.

**edit** Poll now added.

13/01/2003, 5:33 PM
Originally posted by CollegeTillIDie
some of us have the right to vote in the UCD Soccer Supporters Society poll. Incidentally, anyone can vote in the Supporters' Society / fanzine poll but we were a bit lazy in publicising it.

13/01/2003, 5:34 PM
well i voted for bazza :D

UCD_4_Life
13/01/2003, 7:12 PM
Robbie Doyle for me.

He's been my favourite player all season, even if he does wear those hats!;)

Bazza has also been excellent as has Clive Delaney, Tony Mac and Alan Cawley.

Although Cawley went way down in my estimation after his actions against Pat's.

@ndy
14/01/2003, 11:14 AM
Well would you look at that! ;)

@ndy
14/01/2003, 11:16 AM
Clive is so tall that even when he has no votes you can still see his head pokin out there!

Aberdonian Stu
05/02/2003, 10:20 AM
Where did the other 100 odd votes Bazza got go to?

I know there's a good question about where they came from but for the sake of this argument lets make them irrelevant...for fear of reprisals.

05/02/2003, 1:56 PM
Originally posted by Aberdonian Stu
Where did the other 100 odd votes Bazza got go to? Quiet you!!

lefty
06/02/2003, 5:37 PM
For his outstanding penalty saves and numerous brilliant performances he has to get the gong.

Well done Baz pity your going to play for the scum next season and well have to give you some stick over that

Aberdonian Stu
14/02/2003, 1:42 PM
I feel that as sulking gits we should have a new poll deciding whether or not to allow Bazza to keep his award after committing the ultimate act of Judasism (and yes I know it's not a word but the logical way of ism-ing it would be racialist and we can't have people thinking that).

UCD_4_Life
14/02/2003, 6:40 PM
We've got two Judas' now, with Doyler gone to Bohs.

He probably made the right decision but that doesn't mean it doesn't hurt any less.:(

16/02/2003, 3:43 PM
I don't consider Doyle to be a Judas. Bohs have a stadium an full time wages I don't blame asnyone for taking a step forward. But joining Rovers! Apart from getting to pllay in the Inter 2 bob Cup again I can't see that as a progressive step. They still have no home ground , are allegedly strapped for cash , cannot finish the stadium and will probably use 2-3 "home"grounds next season. Unless a mysterious backer has joined their board they cannot possibly be going full-time. Had Bazza joined either Shels or Bohs it could be thought of as a step up. Rovers are about our level but as they have no stadium of their own or even decent training facilities it is in reality a step backwards, akin to joning Leinster Senior League side Glenmore/Dundrum who up to recently were sharing a pitch too .

17/02/2003, 3:16 PM
Lads

When I first proposed Tony McDonnell for Player of the Year his loyalty to the cause was one of the factors. Tony joined the club in 1993. Even when he finished the season as top scorer a couple of years back he wasn't picked as player of the year. He has played right-back, centre-back and centre-midfield for the team and has never let us down. Going into his 11th season, in the early years he had to fight for a place in the team. He played right-back for the team ( and was better than Eamo) he played centre-back for the team and was totally dependable and consistent and moved into centre-midfield a few years back and topped the Goalscorers charts for the club that season. The team looks leaderless when he isn't playing. And when he is playing we are always in with a chance. In light of the recent departures I would argue that my original choice was a prudent one.

Here's a prediction for you Tony will be with the club for many years to come and some day when he has hung up his boots he will be the first team manager in say 2014 or so

17/02/2003, 6:03 PM
That's all true, it's very rare to see Tony have a bad game. he would a possible replacement for Clive at centre back although losing his influence in midfield could be a problem.

UCD_4_Life
17/02/2003, 6:17 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
That's all true, it's very rare to see Tony have a bad game. he would a possible replacement for Clive at centre back although losing his influence in midfield could be a problem.

Yeah, he's the only one in midfield over the age of like 24, John Martin is 24 isn't he?

Then McNally and Cawley are both early 20's too.