View Full Version : Worse Managers Than Staunton

Billsthoughts
21/03/2007, 11:13 AM
Can anyone think of any other managerial reigns that were as big a farce as Stauntons Ireland one? Christain(?) Gross at Spurs comes to mind......

Paddy Garcia
21/03/2007, 11:21 AM
No .

21/03/2007, 11:24 AM
No. Can't think of anyone so incompetent.

Monkfish
21/03/2007, 11:27 AM
Can anyone think of any other managerial reigns that were as big a farce as Stauntons Ireland one? Christain(?) Gross at Spurs comes to mind......

As big as? probably not, but Sven and Taylor with England, Dave Sexton at Man Utd, John Barnes at Celtic, Souness at Liverpool all come to mind.

21/03/2007, 11:31 AM
Very unfair to Gross who has won many trophies in Switzerland and has a good record in Europe. He had a disappointing time at Spurs but I believe his record wasn't significantly worse than other Tottenham managers around that time.

Quinn at Sunderland, possibly:confused: But he had the good sense to get out when he realised it wasn't the job for him so I'd say No.

greendeiseboy
21/03/2007, 11:33 AM
most leeds united managers since don revie with the exception of howard wilkinson and that yoke kerley (or was that crilly) at waterford utd

21/03/2007, 11:34 AM
Berti Vogts was almost as bad but Stan is setting new levels of incompetence and inconsistency every week.

21/03/2007, 11:35 AM
Sean O Connor at Bohs so far

theworm2345
21/03/2007, 11:36 AM
Its quite hard...Glenn Hoddle at Wolves was terrible last year, though Wolves were 7th in the Championship (we may be 7th in our group too!)

21/03/2007, 11:50 AM
John Barnes was a good call but hard to top David Platt at Nottm Forest. The club is still in turmoil because of that eadget. He buys in 3 of his Italian mates who then suffer long term injuries as soon as they step on the East Midlands Airport tarmac. To top it off they are then 'paid off' in compensation because they can never play football again. 2 relegations later and they get beat by teams like Yeovil. For Stan to surpass Platt we need to get beaten by the likes of Cyprus and scrape by teams like San Marino.......hang on a minute.

cavan_fan
21/03/2007, 11:59 AM
As big as? probably not, but Sven and Taylor with England, Dave Sexton at Man Utd, John Barnes at Celtic, Souness at Liverpool all come to mind.

Ignoring his salary Sven was fairly succesful with England. The qualified consistently (something that was not previously the case) and got to the last 8. I'd say he achieved par performances from his team. If only Stan could do that.

The question I'd ask is whether there is anyone involved in football who you would be disappoitned to hear was replacing Stan. As a starter I give you Paul Gascoigne and Stan Collymore!

Dublin12
21/03/2007, 12:06 PM
Les Reed at Charlton,soon found out how tough it was.Paul Le Guens another one,got lucky with Lyon,shambles at Rangers and will soon have PSG out of the first division,hopefully.

Sligo Hornet
21/03/2007, 12:22 PM

Serves you right!!:D

21/03/2007, 12:24 PM
I'd imagine a few of the recent Madrid managers only lasted a few losses.

Maybe Toshack, Camacho and Garcia Roman though the results there needn't have been too disastorous to get the sack.

Monkfish
21/03/2007, 12:27 PM
Ignoring his salary Sven was fairly succesful with England. The qualified consistently (something that was not previously the case) and got to the last 8. I'd say he achieved par performances from his team. If only Stan could do that.

The question I'd ask is whether there is anyone involved in football who you would be disappoitned to hear was replacing Stan. As a starter I give you Paul Gascoigne and Stan Collymore!

True but considering the talent pool at his disposal i thought they should be doing more than just qualifieing and scraping wins against trinidad and tobago and paraguay, with the exeption of Brazil i couldnt see a stronger squad at the start of the world cup.

Torn-Ado
21/03/2007, 1:15 PM
Liam Brady at Celtic was fairly muck

21/03/2007, 1:29 PM
None of the above have ever even come close to some of the bizarre decisions Stan has made. Just because someone had a bad spell does not automatically make them a bad manager.

There are very few who can hold a candle to our Stan. It's a shame because he should be revered for what he gave us as a player but instead I now find myself almost hating the guy for the embarressment he is causing and the shambles things have become.

21/03/2007, 1:51 PM
The question I'd ask is whether there is anyone involved in football who you would be disappoitned to hear was replacing Stan. As a starter I give you Paul Gascoigne and Stan Collymore!Ooh. That's a tough one.

21/03/2007, 2:00 PM

Here's one that'll be hard to top - John Delaney himself. When the pressure on the current management proves too much, Delaney takes over team affairs himself. Not for any personal glory, of course. No, he would take the job as a selfless act because he would fear for the health and safety of any mere mortal taking the job, such are the pressures of managing the Ireland team in this modern Celtic Tiger World.

21/03/2007, 2:11 PM
Lads Steve McLaren is making a right hash of the English job across the pond if ye haven't noticed

21/03/2007, 2:32 PM
I gravely doubt there's a worse one out there in international football anyway. I suspect you'd have to drop well outside the FIFA top 100 to find another country that would consider him for the job.

21/03/2007, 3:07 PM
There are a couple of characters that I wouldn't want as Irish manager rather than Stan.
I'd definately be gutted if he was replaced with David O'Leary in the morning.

citizenerased
21/03/2007, 3:24 PM
Worse manager has to be Paul Merson at walsall,,,oh wait wasnt that where Stan learned his tricks of the Trade!!!!!!!

21/03/2007, 3:25 PM
How can you say that Risteard!? As much as I think O'Leary has his faults I'd take him in a second over Stan who looks so far out of his depth he can't be saved.

galwayhoop
21/03/2007, 3:36 PM

i know they missed out on WC94 but can't think of any other major tournaments they missed out on.

sven was an unmitigated dissaster as their manager. think on an investment / return basis. he was one of the top paid managers in world football, the highest paid national team boss, and he never even got to a semi-final. he was supposed to be the tactical genius who brought england onto the next level. he failed miserably and became a caricature of a benny hill randy andy mr. burns style person, with the personality of a bowl of soup and the tactical nous of a lumberjack.

although england's main fault and our major strength for the last 20 years or so was our ability to play better as a team than our individual strenghts, in recent times, unfortunately, our over paid nancy boys who parade as a national team have nestled into the underperforming levels of our supposid illustrious neighbours

21/03/2007, 3:50 PM
How can you say that Risteard!? As much as I think O'Leary has his faults I'd take him in a second over Stan who looks so far out of his depth he can't be saved.

Neither know how to manage.
He'd be as bad as Staunton but the fact that he'd be new would mean the pain would last longer as we would have a 'new era'

Wolfie
21/03/2007, 4:01 PM
He'd be as bad as Staunton but the fact that he'd be new would mean the pain would last longer as we would have a 'new era'

I can already hear O'Leary spelling out that we're building for the future and that the team are "only babies".

That nipper Carsely has loads of potential for the future.

youngirish
21/03/2007, 4:12 PM
Graeme Souness at Liverpool.
Graeme Souness at Newcastle.

Brady at Celtic.
Brady at Brighton.

The Legend
21/03/2007, 4:16 PM

I'd say Collymore might do a better job but i'll give you Gazza alright..

... so we've established the only person worse that Stan to manage Ireland would be Gazza. At least they have the same verbal abilities.

21/03/2007, 4:56 PM

... so we've established the only person worse that Stan to manage Ireland would be Gazza. At least they have the same verbal abilities.

I'd still prefer Gazza because he'd be a lot more entertaining.

21/03/2007, 5:00 PM
There are a couple of characters that I wouldn't want as Irish manager rather than Stan.
I'd definately be gutted if he was replaced with David O'Leary in the morning.

Martin O Neills Villa are heading for Villas worst Prem finish ever FACT!

21/03/2007, 5:07 PM
Really?
Explain that.
Heres some tools that might help ya.
No.1 (http://www.arseweb.com/footy/9495prem.html)
No.2 (http://www.toffeeweb.com/season/05-06/premtable.asp)
No.3 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fact)
and lastly
this (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/table/default.stm).

Ps what has this got to do with anything?

21/03/2007, 5:11 PM
Martin O Neills Villa are heading for Villas worst Prem finish ever FACT!
You reckon they're going to go down (http://www.astonvilla-mad.co.uk/footydb/loadlghs.asp) with a seven point start (http://www.rsssf.com/tablese/eng07.html) on Charlton with eight games to go?

Also, why is their worst Premiership position of any importance? That's just an arbitrary time which in this case is 15 years. Really bugs me that all stats now start from 1992...

21/03/2007, 5:18 PM
bigoted fckers

Murpholini
21/03/2007, 6:18 PM
Sammy McIlroy at Northern Ireland. Felt so sorry for him near the end of the record breaking goal drought, "it's gotta come" in a desperate please say a goal will come kinda voice.

stojkovic
21/03/2007, 6:21 PM
We had a manager at our club last year. Under 10s. Shocking he was. Stood on the sideline and did nothing. Hadnt got a scooby. The parents wanted the Chairman sacked. So the Chairman sacked the manager. Kids are doing great this season.

So I'd say he was worse than Stan the Bamboozler.

cavan_fan
21/03/2007, 7:15 PM

We had a manager at our club last year. Under 10s. Shocking he was. Stood on the sideline and did nothing. Hadnt got a scooby. The parents wanted the Chairman sacked. So the Chairman sacked the manager. Kids are doing great this season.

So I'd say he was worse than Stan the Bamboozler.

So far Gazza and stojkovic's u-10 manager

Billsthoughts
21/03/2007, 7:29 PM
why was this moved to world football? will have to listen to Poor Student *******ise his dictionary if it gets anyway interesting now.....:(

Billsthoughts
21/03/2007, 7:39 PM

sure you didnt konw who he was this time last year....;)

21/03/2007, 7:51 PM
why was this moved to world football?
I didn't move it but I think the way thread went it's better suited to world football. It's basically a thread on bad managers, not really anything to do with the Irish national team.

21/03/2007, 8:01 PM

I'm quite used to reading absolute and utter toss on here from time to time but your cocksure scoffing in the face of fact has just raised the bar.

Billsthoughts
21/03/2007, 8:01 PM
it was more a vehicle for people to slate the current Ireland set up....the closer it gets to the game the angrier I get that these shams manage my country...

Neish
21/03/2007, 8:33 PM
No but Gavin Dykes comes close

21/03/2007, 10:07 PM
Roddy Collins.

Clifford
21/03/2007, 10:53 PM
Steve Coppell at Man City lasted about 30 days or something

22/03/2007, 12:17 AM
I'm quite used to reading absolute and utter toss on here from time to time but your cocksure scoffing in the face of fact has just raised the bar.

Why don't you just tell me where you disagree rather than telling me how upset you are?
What fact am i scoffing at?

22/03/2007, 12:21 AM
Roddy Collins.

Yep. I'm disappointed he's allowed to be a pundit.

cavan_fan
22/03/2007, 11:33 AM
Steve Coppell at Man City lasted about 30 days or something

If only Stan had decided after 30 days that he didnt fancy the pressure. he'd have left a hero having won 1 from 1 in some style

22/03/2007, 12:24 PM
Why don't you just tell me where you disagree rather than telling me how upset you are?
What fact am i scoffing at?

Well I couldn't be arsed repeating myself when this isn't the first time or first thread on which O'Leary has been discussed as a replacment for Stan or as a future Ireland manager. So I'll quote myself in response to a Paul O'Shea comment on another thread instead. Highlighted is a fact your scoffing at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_oshea
he has SFA footballing knowledge Neil, he was bankrolled to the cup champs league semis, and then they got well beaten in the end.

he cant do anything with average to decent players, isnt a good cup run manager, makes excuses for himself by always blaming others or putting things into the future, this does not make for a good international manager, where results needs to be pretty instant, and blame needs to be apportioned.

Sorry Paul but that's nonsensical.

Much of the now relatively minor successes (seen as huge strides at the time) that Leeds team had were on the back of young players brought on in Leeds Thorpe Arch academy. The worst O'Leary can be accused of in that regard is that he stood on the shoulders of Howard Wilkinsons vision.

That they spent money they didn't have isn't an issue. DOL didn't sign cheques or negotiate wages.

What he did do was steer a team to the last 4 of the CL despite a media circus and a police incident room being set up at the training ground.
I'd have him back at Leeds in a shot if he'd take the job. I'd like to see him amnage Ireland someday too.

23/03/2007, 12:25 AM
Fair enough Lionel.
Couldn't you have said that?
Was at that quarter-final in Elland Road and was some great talent on display.
Although I think Leeds had Europes second best team at that stage it was still an achievement.