View Full Version : Czech Rep V Germany

20/03/2007, 12:34 PM
is live on RTE 2 at half seven sat evening. Well done RTE.

Ideally, a win for Germany i suppose?

20/03/2007, 1:40 PM
is live on RTE 2 at half seven sat evening. Well done RTE.

Ideally, a win for Germany i suppose?

Might as well show Spain vs. Denmark for all the impact that game has on Ireland's qualification "hopes" :(

20/03/2007, 2:10 PM
RTE wouldn't have to show our rival's games, if the fai didn't insist on our match having a 3.00 ko, way before the other matches in the group, so that the other sides have an advantage knowing our result. :mad: :rolleyes: :mad:

20/03/2007, 2:23 PM
the other sides have an advantage knowing our result. :rolleyes: :mad:

The biggest advantages for everyone else in the group are the guy who picks the team and the guy who picks the guy who picks the team.

RogerMilla
20/03/2007, 3:07 PM
the result of the above game is an irrelevance if we dont beat wales. if we do then i would like a draw , no need to let either team pull too far ahead of the pack

zenokelly
20/03/2007, 4:13 PM
We need the Germans to beat the Czechs twice.

Then if we somehow can get 6 points from the next 2 games, I'd be hoping we can get a draw in the Czech Republic and a draw at home to Gernmany for us to have any chance of getting there.

Wolfie
20/03/2007, 4:21 PM
We need the Germans to beat the Czechs twice.

Then if we somehow can get 6 points from the next 2 games, I'd be hoping we can get a draw in the Czech Republic and a draw at home to Gernmany for us to have any chance of getting there.

Above makes sense. The only wafer thin hope we have is if Germany take points off everyone (bar us in Croker) and we undergo a staggering upsurge in form.

Margin for error for us is now non existent.

20/03/2007, 5:53 PM
RTE wouldn't have to show our rival's games, if the fai didn't insist on our match having a 3.00 ko, way before the other matches in the group, so that the other sides have an advantage knowing our result. :mad: :rolleyes: :mad:

think it was the Gardai who insisted on a 3pm ko for security reasons. 4,500 welsh coming over and the last thing they need is a stadium full of fans who've been on the beer all day

carloz
20/03/2007, 6:51 PM
The Czechs are the catchable ones in the group IMO. I can see them dropping point such as away to Wales, i would expect Germany to win away to Wales. Im hpoing for a Germany home and Away win against the Czechs.

limerickblue
20/03/2007, 7:36 PM
ya why dont we get lights in croker saturday, i cant wait first time in croker

20/03/2007, 7:45 PM
it has draw written all over it.

highlight100
20/03/2007, 10:10 PM
think it was the Gardai who insisted on a 3pm ko for security reasons. 4,500 welsh coming over and the last thing they need is a stadium full of fans who've been on the beer all day

might be something more to do with sky sports schedule

20/03/2007, 10:26 PM
the result of the above game is an irrelevance.

No real need to complete the rest of the sentence.

We're pretty much playing for pride and hopefully keep our 4th seeding for the next time.

21/03/2007, 2:00 AM

:D :D

The failures insist we play all Saturday home internationals at 3pm, regardless of the opposition, be it Wales, Cyprus, or Holland. :rolleyes:

irishfan86
21/03/2007, 2:05 AM
Isn't the 3PM start due to the lack of lights in Croke Park?

Student Mullet
21/03/2007, 2:24 AM
Isn't the 3PM start due to the lack of lights in Croke Park?I think so, it's probably why we've all to bring a torch on the following Wednesday evening.

RogerMilla
21/03/2007, 8:27 AM
lol @ mullet , i wouldnt give it POTM but am giggling all the same !
vital we keep 4th seed , is there any chance we can get up to third int his campaign if we do not qualify? isnt there another thread on the seedings ?

youngirish
21/03/2007, 9:13 AM
It would be better for us if the Czechs beat the Germans twice considering the Germans have already dropped points against Cyprus and the Czech's won't and we still have to play the Germans at home where we could conceivably beat them if the tactical genius that's hiding deep inside Staunton crawls out of his arse in the next few games.

We've no chance of beating the Czech's away and they've already hammerred Slovakia away.

21/03/2007, 9:27 AM

Are you serious.

Paulie
21/03/2007, 10:28 AM
It would be better for us if the Czechs beat the Germans twice considering the Germans have already dropped points against Cyprus and the Czech's won't and we still have to play the Germans at home where we could conceivably beat them if the tactical genius that's hiding deep inside Staunton crawls out of his arse in the next few games.

We've no chance of beating the Czech's away and they've already hammerred Slovakia away.

I was thinking about this myself. I reckon the only reason people think that it would be better for Germany to win the two head to head games between them and the Czechs is because we assume Germany will qualify. As far as I know they have never failed to qualify for either a WC or EC so history certainly favours them. The fact though that Germany have dropped 2 points away to Cyprus suggests that it would be of greater benefit to us if the Czechs were to win but the fact that we have yet to play Germany at home probably counters that. I think really the most important thing with this game is that there's a winner either way as I don't think a draw is that much use to us. A good argument can be made as to the benefits to us of a win for either team as it's still pretty early on in the qualification process.

By the way I might be wrong here but I think Germany have also beaten Slovakia away.

21/03/2007, 11:50 AM

If that's the case, then the failures are going to struggle to have a 7.30 ko against Slovakia next week. :eek:

fergalr
21/03/2007, 12:55 PM
Why is this game of any interest to us? The battle we are in is the 4-way tussle for places 3-6 in this group. The result we should be looking out for is a draw in the Cyprus - Slovakia game.

21/03/2007, 1:27 PM
Why is this game of any interest to us? The battle we are in is the 4-way tussle for places 3-6 in this group. The result we should be looking out for is a draw in the Cyprus - Slovakia game.

People may be fooled by the table and talk of "we're in 3rd place, 6 points and we'll be right back in it".

Of course, if you re-draw the table and take out the 2 wins against San Marino you get a slightly more realistic picture of us being rock bottom with 1 point. :(

21/03/2007, 2:06 PM
Of course, if you re-draw the table and take out the 2 wins against San Marino you get a slightly more realistic picture of us being rock bottom with 1 point. :(

Of course, if you re-draw the table and take out the Germans and Czechs results against San Marino, you get a more realistic picture of them only having 7 points.

zenokelly
21/03/2007, 2:15 PM
Of course, if you re-draw the table and take out the Germans and Czechs results against San Marino, you get a more realistic picture of them only having 7 points.

Ya and then imagine that we get 6 points from the next 2 games and the Czechs lose to Germany and Cyprus next Wednesday we are on the exact same points. That is unbelievable!?!!!?!?!

21/03/2007, 2:29 PM

I know that, it doesn't mean we're not fecked though!

We have 6 points to make up on Germany and Czech Rep. and we have to travel to both of them as well as Slovakia and Wales :eek:

21/03/2007, 4:09 PM
We have 6 points to make up on Germany and Czech Rep. and we have to travel to both of them as well as Slovakia and Wales :eek:
We don't have to travel to Germany.

21/03/2007, 4:11 PM
Yes lads but ye're all forgetting how difficult a team San Marino are to break down, its no guarantee that everyone will do as well as we did and take six points off them :o :rolleyes:

21/03/2007, 4:31 PM
We don't have to travel to Germany.

Ooops. That trip to Stuttgart was the highlight of the campaign for me and I've already forgotten it. :o

Any chance that some of the other games might be abandoned? I'm thinking a few points deductions for our rivals could get us right back into contention.

Wolfie
21/03/2007, 4:35 PM

Will be interesting to see how that one pans out.

Would a draw suit us the best if you subscribe to the glass is half full mindset of our qualifying hopes?!!!!

21/03/2007, 5:03 PM
Why does the Cyprus - Slovakia match matter to us? If we don't qualify it's all about boosting our coefficient and results in other games won't change that at all.

stojkovic
21/03/2007, 6:09 PM
One or two guys on here need to take a few night classes judging by their posts about floodlights and having to play the Germans away.

Anyway, we need to get THIRD place in this group with a good haul of points to achieve third seeds for WC10. Hopefully we will get a favourable draw.

To qualify this time we really need to win EVERY remaining match and hope the Czechs drop points to Germany. We are down 8 points so far, Czechs down 5 if we beat them in Prague. Its not gonna happen and after losing 5.2 to Cyprus, we dont deserve to qualify.

Everybody is underestimating the Slovaks.

Third place is a realistic and (the only) achievable goal we can aim for.

21/03/2007, 6:22 PM
I don't think we need to win all our remaining games, I'm sure we could afford a draw in Czech Republic and one of Slovakia/Wales. Anyway, it still looks impossible with Stan in charge.

carloz
21/03/2007, 8:21 PM
As god damn awful as we are now i still feel we will have a chance come the final qualifying matches. Remember the McCarthy/Kerr campaign, losing to Russia and Switzerland and yet we were still i with a chance in the last match away to Switzerland. Wales will most certainly take points along the way, somewhat like Albania in the group i just mentioned. Slovakia are very strong and will be in with a shout come the end. I really dont feel the group is a fore gone conclusion. I still have a tiny bit of hope.......however the next time i hear a Staunton interview will probably destroy this tiny hope

21/03/2007, 8:59 PM
I don't think we need to win all our remaining games, I'm sure we could afford a draw in Czech Republic and one of Slovakia/Wales. Anyway, it still looks impossible with Stan in charge.
If we did draw in the Czech Republic, we would have to win against Germany, and hope the Czechs drop points elsewhere

DeNiro
21/03/2007, 9:07 PM
There's a lot of possible permutations, but the only one that will give us a chance to qualify is STAUNTON OUT.

21/03/2007, 9:19 PM
Yeah, we should really be winning all our home games anyway unless you match that result in the return match. A draw in Czech Republic would be no different to beating them here and losing over there, if it was between us 2 for 2nd place that is.

If we beat Wales I'll be up for Germany anyway as there's no way they'll fail to qualify imo.

DeNiro
21/03/2007, 9:28 PM
1 Germany 4 3 1 0 19 2 17 10
2 Czech Republic 4 3 1 0 13 2 11 10
3 Rep of Ireland 5 2 1 2 10 8 2 7

Here's the table as it stands. If both us and Germany win on Saturday it will roughly look as follows

Germany 5 played 13 points
Czech Rep 5 played 10 points
Ireland 6 played 10 points.

IF we beat czechs over there that would at least bring us to parity with them.

The Legend
21/03/2007, 9:37 PM

Wishful thinking.... Bring back Jim 'el Fix it... now then now then

22/03/2007, 2:20 AM

Sorry, I didn't quite read that right.

Beat the Czechs?? In Prague?? With Staunton in charge??

Next gag please. :D :D :D

Wolfie
22/03/2007, 8:29 AM
It may be the onset of madness on my part - but I'm still clinging to the hope they can turn it around.

The head doesn't think they'll do it but the heart still hopes they'll make it. What's the point in supporting the team if you can't even counsel that?

Its an old well-worn cliche - but they just need to take each game as it comes and try their damndest to notch up the results.

We're also relying on other results going our way to have an earthly to qualify. Hence, my previous post in relation Cyprus v Slovakia - a draw in that game could be considered favourable to us - IF you believe we have the faintest chance of being in the mixer at the end of the year. That said, we'll be relying on multiple sequences of results as the group progresses.

We're in a bad state - but the fervour of the support on Saturday could make a difference. I though it certainly did against the Czechs in Lansdowne.

I may well be completely deluded and should accept we're dead in the water - I'm sure I'll be put right!!

22/03/2007, 4:47 PM
Germany drew with Cyprus, the Czech only beat wales 2:1 at home.
The group is still wide open.

22/03/2007, 5:01 PM
Germany drew with Cyprus, the Czech only beat wales 2:1 at home.
The group is still wide open.

Heh-heh.:) That just means we're likely to finish behind Cyprus and Wales (our true rivals in this group) :(

stojkovic
22/03/2007, 9:46 PM
Don't forget, we have ALREADY played three of our four easiest games :(

22/03/2007, 9:54 PM
Don't forget, we have ALREADY played three of our four easiest games :(
Cyprus away is far from one of our easiest games.

22/03/2007, 11:37 PM
Cyprus away is far from one of our easiest games.
Before the qualifiers started, you would have thought so. Certainly the easiest of all the away games, apart from San Marino

22/03/2007, 11:58 PM
True but I'd have taken Wales and Slovakia, possible even Czechs, at home over Cyprus away. We're brutal away from home.

23/03/2007, 12:27 AM
Fair point, we've a long and undistinguished history away from home. Only 3 points from 3 away games in this series already, and still the Czechs, Wales, and Slovakia to come (in order of decreasing difficulty)

Rosco
23/03/2007, 12:32 AM
lets see what saturday brings !!
win = still in it...... lose = new coach / fai overhaul
hopefully playing at croker will bring a bit of much needed pride out in the players, bit late in the day but better late than never. Robson was right when he said the players owe a performance though not for Staunton for US, we who keep shelling out good money time and time again to travel countries and continents to support them.
Lets be having it !

lionelhutz
23/03/2007, 11:18 AM
Fair point, we've a long and undistinguished history away from home. Only 3 points from 3 away games in this series already, and still the Czechs, Wales, and Slovakia to come (in order of decreasing difficulty)

Because of the above point, our best chance of qualifying is finishing ahead of germany. And yes i know thats unlikely but theres a much better chance of this than overtaking the czechs. I dnt think we've a hope of beating the czechs away but i do believe we could surprise germany at croke park.

say we beat wales (which i think we will), we should be goin for the czechs against ger. If the czechs got 4 points off ger and we get our act 2gether and started winning, that germany home game could be make or break. I'd certainly take that