View Full Version : Keane hits out at selection “disgrace”

Pages : 1 2 [3]

22/03/2007, 10:19 AM
Plenty of good top managers have their zany conspiracy theories even their wierd superstitions. Roy still hangs on to his opinion to the end but it's clear he talks more sense than nonsense.

22/03/2007, 10:48 AM
just get over it and move on

Agreed. It's water under the bridge - like not getting picked for an U-16 international at the Carlisle Grounds 20 years ago. :)

Billsthoughts
22/03/2007, 11:02 AM
Agreed. It's water under the bridge - like not getting picked for an U-16 international at the Carlisle Grounds 20 years ago. :)

Hes an ideas man......I think he proved that with "**** Mountain"....

galwayhoop
22/03/2007, 11:07 AM
i think there is merit to the comment that the FAI has a pro-Dublin slant, at underage anyway. i don't think Keane is right with his comments of an anti-cork (did he say this or is this just how it was interperated?) bias but there is definately, in my experience, a pro-dublin slant at underage. not at senior level though. connolly was born outside london AFAIK and his people are from co. Galway.

cheifo
22/03/2007, 11:31 AM
Are we not all over complicating this?He has a major axe to grind.Hes not stupid, he knows it going to make the headlines.Hes enjoying turning the heat up before a couple of important qualifiers.Its being well documented that he has been manipulative with media in past battles, as is his right.But as somebody mentioned before though its the timing.If you like RK fair enough
but why do people feel the need to defend him when hes acting with such little integrity.

cavan_fan
22/03/2007, 11:40 AM
The four or five senior players have to step up to the plate. But they've been asked before. Look at some of our players at the bigger clubs. Robbie Keane is doing OK at Tottenham, John O'Shea is in and out at [Manchester] United, Duffer's at Newcastle with Shay. But none of these players at this moment in time are setting the world alight. Also Steve Finnan at Liverpool."
[/I]

Firstly is anyone really saying that it is a disgrace that Liam Miller and David Connolly were nto picked. At best they are as good as what we have but they both have shown an inability to perform at a high level. It's not like Stan left out Shay Given or Robbie Keane.

Secondly, is Roy just trying to p*ss everyone off. Is he really saying Shay is not setting the world alight? What does "Also Steve Finnan at Liverpool" mean. It's nto even a sentence. Is it "Aslo Steve Finnan at Liverpool is playing badly" or " .. is my dream date". Roy it would be easier to take your promotion of Connolly if you dint rant at our good players

22/03/2007, 11:41 AM
Hes an ideas man......I think he proved that with "**** Mountain"....

Oh yeah, yeah, the guy in the $3,000 suit has to worry about upsetting the clown who picks the Ireland team. COME ON!:mad:

22/03/2007, 11:49 AM
Anyway we are really missing the whole point. The best comment was about dinner on Friday night. Keane was asked was he going and he said no as it was not his sort of thing but that it should be a good night.

Asked was his chairman going?

"bloody hell yes, he is probably organising it"

Niall is a busy man as he also does the phones for the FAI.

reder
22/03/2007, 12:30 PM
Yeah getting publicity for a good charitable cause!! what a bast**d ..Yeah very mature comment about his wife, really validates your argument. Reder id say your most deffo a dub also, dont be ashamed of it

How does mouthing of about an anti-Cork sentiment in the FAI (come on, you have to admit thats nonsense) and moaning about players not being included gain publicity for the guide dogs for the blind? I'd say the charity got one line in the whole piece. How many complete articles in the media were written about the charity v Keane's whinge?

The comment about his wife was below the belt, hands up there!

Im not a dub, citizenerased, I am from Liverpool originally and have lived in Kildare and Cork in my time in Ireland (16 years).

Fingal hoop
22/03/2007, 12:31 PM
keane is a media whore -

reder
22/03/2007, 12:32 PM
Anyway we are really missing the whole point. The best comment was about dinner on Friday night. Keane was asked was he going and he said no as it was not his sort of thing but that it should be a good night.

Asked was his chairman going?

"bloody hell yes, he is probably organising it"

Niall is a busy man as he also does the phones for the FAI.

Niall is a clever man, very clever, he got the appointment and pretty much everything spot on at Sunderland this season. Sacking himself was top of that list he admits.

citizenerased
22/03/2007, 12:49 PM
[QUOTE=reder;649971]How does mouthing of about an anti-Cork sentiment in the FAI (come on, you have to admit thats nonsense) and moaning about players not being included gain publicity for the guide dogs for the blind? I'd say the charity got one line in the whole piece. How many complete articles in the media were written about the charity v Keane's whinge?

The comment about his wife was below the belt, hands up there!

QUOTE]

In fairness, because of the rant there was pictures with keane all over the paper with a guidedog! Hardly doing the organisation any harm!!

lionelhutz
22/03/2007, 1:30 PM
Keane has always used the media for his own benefit. He knows he's more intelligent than the majority of hacks and can manipulate them whatever way he wants. He used this as an opportunity to show his loyalty to his own players aswel as gaining publicity for the charity.

I don't think any of the players should let his comments affect them any more than the slating they got after the cyprus and san marino away games

galwayhoop
22/03/2007, 1:49 PM
I don't think any of the players should let his comments affect them any more than the slating they got after the cyprus and san marino away games

from what i read at lunch (granted it was only the red tops :eek: ) his comments weren't too wide of the mark.

questioning the below par performances of our so-called star players: duffer, keane, o'shea.
questioning the overall attitude - of the FAI in particular - with regards accepting mediocrity,
questioning the wisdom of declaring 'we are building for 3 / 4 years time' and the obvious effect this has on the current qualification campaign,
comparing the lack of ambition of the FAI to that off the IRFU and even the Cricket Board :eek:
questioning the false idea that the fans just want to have the cráic and don't care about results.

i reckon his comments echo the views of many people on this forum and aren't as damning as people think.

PS - i am not one of the 'Everything Roy Keane says or does is right' brigade and felt he was wrong in Saipan. Just so people don't thing i am part of the RK PA machine!!!!

22/03/2007, 1:53 PM
Niall is a clever man, very clever, he got the appointment and pretty much everything spot on at Sunderland this season. Sacking himself was top of that list he admits.

Ring the FAi you will get a laugh with the guy who does the voice mail.

lionelhutz
22/03/2007, 1:57 PM
from what i read at lunch (granted it was only the red tops :eek: ) his comments weren't too wide of the mark.

questioning the below par performances of our so-called star players: duffer, keane, o'shea.
questioning the overall attitude - of the FAI in particular - with regards accepting mediocrity,
questioning the wisdom of declaring 'we are building for 3 / 4 years time' and the obvious effect this has on the current qualification campaign,
comparing the lack of ambition of the FAI to that off the IRFU and even the Cricket Board :eek:
questioning the false idea that the fans just want to have the cráic and don't care about results.

i reckon his comments echo the views of many people on this forum and aren't as damning as people think.

PS - i am not one of the 'Everything Roy Keane says or does is right' brigade and felt he was wrong in Saipan. Just so people don't thing i am part of the RK PA machine!!!!

I agree with what he said totally aswel. I meant that if the players need a tsunami of criticism to get them to perform at their peak, then there's no hope for Ireland in the long term

22/03/2007, 2:02 PM
Good response from Staunton.

Staunton deflects Keane criticism

Paul O'Hehir
Thursday, March 22, 2007

Steve Staunton refused to be drawn into a war of words with Roy Keane after the Sunderland manager indirectly criticised a number of senior Republic of Ireland players yesterday.

Keane suggested some members of the current squad are living off their reputations and not producing quality performances in the games that count.

Amongst other things, he said there was a "fine line between loyalty and stupidity" and that some were selected on "reputations they have built through the media or because they do a lot of interviews".

But Staunton refused to criticise his former team-mate when questioned by journalists after team-training in Malahide this morning.

"Roy has got his own opinions and they are his opinions. I'm here to deal with Ireland," he said.

"Roy has done a wonderful job at Sunderland, that's his job but I've got mine to do here. I'll pick my team and that's the end of it. It's not about Roy Keane now. It's about Ireland playing a European qualifier on Saturday."

Ahead of the Wales game at Croke Park, Staunton is in the unusual position of having a full complement of players to select from.

Paul McShane and Stephen Ireland were carrying ankle knocks when they arrived at the team base earlier in the week but both trained today. Still, medical staff will closely monitor their progress.

"McShane and Ireland both trained and there has been no reaction as yet," said Staunton. "We'll wait and see what happens later on but hopefully there is nothing to report.

"For a change we've a clean bill of health. We'll assess the two lads again tomorrow then we'll know better.

"Hopefully nobody goes down with any injury or illness between now and Saturday," he added. "We're taking nothing for granted but hopefully all is well."

Staunton, who concedes a draw will be of no use to his team in light of their group position, said he has selected his starting team but will not reveal its components until closer to match-time.

Torn-Ado
22/03/2007, 2:04 PM
Keane was right.

BaZmO*
22/03/2007, 2:24 PM
How does mouthing of about an anti-Cork sentiment in the FAI (come on, you have to admit thats nonsense) and moaning about players not being included gain publicity for the guide dogs for the blind? I'd say the charity got one line in the whole piece.
You obviously don't know how the media works. To get a charity (or any product or event for that matter) promoted in the media you always have to have an angle. Pick up any of today's papers and have a look at the amount of models/bimbos that are used for photo shoots in the middle of Grafton St. or on The Ha'Penny Bridge, etc. promoting anything from Daffodil Day to Cancer Awareness, etc. It's always the model that gets into the paper and as a result the cause is given some media attention. With Keane it's his comments that are his angle.

An awful lot of famous people do charity work but could you name many people and their associated charities? However, everybody knows what charity Keane is associated with.

As for Keane comments, I agree with everything he's said about the setup in the FAI, it'd be hard not to, but saying that Miller is not getting picked because he's from Cork? That's just nonsense.

It'll be interesting to see what Keane's attitude will be towards his squad players getting picked for internationals further into his managerial career especially when he has to deal with things like fixture congestion and injuries.

I have a sneaking suspicion that the reason for his latest rant is a little bit of ego massaging for Miller. I think he's trying to instill a little bit of victim complex to give him that bit of extra fight and "I'll show them them" attitude.

22/03/2007, 2:28 PM
You obviously don't know how the media works. To get a charity (or any product or event for that matter) promoted in the media you always have to have an angle. Pick up any of today's papers and have a look at the amount of models/bimbos that are used for photo shoots in the middle of Grafton St. or on The Ha'Penny Bridge, etc. promoting anything from Daffodil Day to Cancer Awareness, etc. It's always the model that gets into the paper and as a result the cause is given some media attention. With Keane it's his comments that are his angle.

An awful lot of famous people do charity work but could you name many people and their associated charities? However, everybody knows what charity Keane is associated with.

As for Keane comments, I agree with everything he's said about the setup in the FAI, it'd be hard not to, but saying that Miller is not getting picked because he's from Cork? That's just nonsense.

It'll be interesting to see what Keane's attitude will be towards his squad players getting picked for internationals further into his managerial career especially when he has to deal with things like fixture congestion and injuries.

I have a sneaking suspicion that the reason for his latest rant is a little bit of ego massaging for Miller. I think he's trying to instill a little bit of victim complex to give him that bit of extra fight and "I'll show them them" attitude.

Great post totally agree with you.

22/03/2007, 2:48 PM
Shall we call him Father Teresa then.

BaZmO*
22/03/2007, 2:56 PM
Shall we call him Father Teresa then.
You call him anything you want I suppose. I'm sure he's not bothered either way.

22/03/2007, 2:59 PM
Have to say fair play to Stan for the way he responded. Keane picks his team and he picks his own team thats the way it should be.

22/03/2007, 3:02 PM
I agree with Keane for the most part, except for the anti-Cork bias. Why does he look like he has a viagra stuck in his throat everytime he rants about Cork born players? I've heard people spewing before, but surely Keane is taking the mickey in this case.

citizenerased
22/03/2007, 3:08 PM
always a tactful response with Stan, so many sinister conotations in so few mundane words

22/03/2007, 3:53 PM
Why doesnt Roy pick Liam Miller all the time if he is such a brilliant player?????????:rolleyes:

galwayhoop
22/03/2007, 3:56 PM
Why doesnt Roy pick Liam Miller all the time if he is such a brilliant player?????????:rolleyes:

i think one of the main points he tried to make is that players shouldn't be picked on reputation and their form should have a big imput into whether they play or not. meaning, i suppose, that a manager shouldn't be afraid to drop a player who isn't performing. i reckon he is spot on in his sentiments although i'm not so sure connolly and miller should be in the squad as much as keane obviously does.

22/03/2007, 3:58 PM
He's romancing you
And chancing his arm
He'll be here
Smiling on time
He's romancing you
And chancing his arm
He'll be here
Smiling on time
Roy's keen oh Roy's keen
We've never seen a
Keener window-cleaner
Back up the ladder
Into each corner
Dunking the chamois
Just think of the goodwill
The ladder's a planet
Roy is a star, and
I am a satellite
(But that's alright)
He can hold a smile for as long
As you require (even longer)
He can hold a smile for as long
As you require (even longer)
Roy's keen oh Roy's keen
We've never seen a
Keener window-cleaner
Back up the ladder
Into each corner
Dunking the chamois
Just think of the goodwill
The ladder's a planet
Roy is a star, and
I am a satellite
I will be set alight
Don't say you'll hold it steady
Then you let it go
Don't say you'll hold it steady
Then you let it go
Oh ...

You're up the ladder
Into each corner
Foot in a bucket
We trust you to wreck it
Even when it's under your nose
Well, you just can't
See it, can you ?
Well, it's here
Right under your nose
And you just can't
See it, can you?
La la la la ...
Roy's keen, Roy's keen
La la la la ...
Roy's keen, Roy's keen
La la la la ...
Roy's keen, Roy's keen
La la la la ...
Roy's keen, Roy's keen
We've never seen a
Keener window-cleaner
Oh ...
La la la la ...

always a tactful response with Stan, so many sinister conotations in so few mundane words
Well what do you expect him to say ?
"OH that delightful Keane chap ,what a scamp , I like nothing better than somebody publicly telling me how i should do my job and what players I should pick , Oh Mercy How I laughed"
or
"Roy should shut the **** up the ignorant **** has nothing to do with the running of my team , I dont tell the ***** who to play so he shouldnt be telling me who to pick"

I personally would have preferred the latter but implying it in other more diplomatic words was probably the best course of action.

The Legend
Pity he went over the top with the anti-cork thing (im from Cork, i seriously doubt there's a conspiracy, and if there was it would be Keane's fault anyway). Apart from that, at the core he's right, the team currently acts like it couldn't give a flying f**k.

nui-harp
22/03/2007, 3:59 PM
Think this is a fantastic response from the "gaffa"......

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/6481115.stm

"I've said that all along. You have to win your home games - this is a home game and we have to win it." :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Over the post
22/03/2007, 4:28 PM
I agree with the posters who say that more than an anti-Cork bias Keane may have been referring to a pro-Dublin slant. But in general I think he's just lambasting the FAI's selection policies in general. He also said how he was ruled out because he was too small.
His words about Miller "Maybe they leave him out because he is from Cork - I wouldn't rule anything out with the FAI." do seem to be tongue-in-cheek, basically saying he wouldn't put anything past those muppets.
I do think he was unfair to Given and Finnan though.

cheifo
22/03/2007, 7:08 PM

For your information you have not got a clue how the media works.Ask somebody who works at PR for charities and they will tell you its a golden rule to stay away from unneccessary controversary.To suggest this is a cunning ploy to raise awareness for guide dogs is so laughable I can barely bring myself to respond.If you want the answer then take note of Roys own book where he explains how he holds resentments against people.He is beginning to look like our very own bunny boiler ,"I will not be ignored" type
syndrome.Thats two home truths we have to deal with:
Steve Staunton is not a good manager and RK is a selfish spiteful man.

LuckOfTheIrish
22/03/2007, 8:27 PM
Connolly not good enough for international....good decision not to have him in the side

22/03/2007, 8:42 PM
For your information you have not got a clue how the media works.Ask somebody who works at PR for charities and they will tell you its a golden rule to stay away from unneccessary controversary.
Well he's certainly all over the papers at this time every year. Didn't he basically declare his intention to come out of international retirement at this a couple of years ago?

limerickblue
22/03/2007, 8:48 PM
roy keane, cork love you
ireland love you
sunderland love you
half manchester love you
when is world domination

carloz
22/03/2007, 8:54 PM
He does it every year when he is over to promote the charity. All he has to say is i dont want to answer quastions on the irish international side. Instead he knows that by saying stuff like he did he will be getting an awful lot of publicity for the charity. Every person in Ireland now knows exactly why Roy was back over in Ireland. Its great publicity for the charity

22/03/2007, 9:39 PM
i think there is merit to the comment that the FAI has a pro-Dublin slant, at underage anyway. i don't think Keane is right with his comments of an anti-cork (did he say this or is this just how it was interperated?) bias but there is definately, in my experience, a pro-dublin slant at underage. not at senior level though. connolly was born outside london AFAIK and his people are from co. Galway.

Before making comments like this have a look at the recent squads that Vincent Butler and Sean McCaffrey have picked at underage level.

Vicent Butler's latest squad playing in France the week after next has players from Ballybofey, Ringmahon Rangers, Douglas Hall, Mervue United and Geraldines.

Sean McCaffrey squad is currently in Germany and includes players from Ringmahon Rangers, Kilreen Celtic and Wilton United. Very anti-Cork approach :confused:

Paddy Garcia
23/03/2007, 8:31 AM
Stephen Quinn is a much stronger candidate than Miller.

He has an eye for goal, is creative and has a fair bit of aggression. He has played very well this year, and would be a great option on the bench for these two games. The rationale for some of the selections and omissions is bewildering

Unfortunately, Stephen must be another Cork lad, I think Alan is from Dublin though.

BaZmO*
23/03/2007, 8:38 AM
For your information you have not got a clue how the media works.Ask somebody who works at PR for charities and they will tell you its a golden rule to stay away from unneccessary controversary.To suggest this is a cunning ploy to raise awareness for guide dogs is so laughable I can barely bring myself to respond.If you want the answer then take note of Roys own book where he explains how he holds resentments against people.He is beginning to look like our very own bunny boiler ,"I will not be ignored" type
syndrome.Thats two home truths we have to deal with:
Steve Staunton is not a good manager and RK is a selfish spiteful man.

Sorry, where exactly in my post did I say that PR companies ask people to controversial in the promotion of charities? Oh yes, that's right I didn't. I simply said that to gain publicity you need to have some type of angle and RK uses controversy as his. Now you can chose not to believe if you wish and that's fine, that's your opinion and you're entitled to it, but I happen to think you're wrong.

galwayhoop
23/03/2007, 10:53 AM
Before making comments like this have a look at the recent squads that Vincent Butler and Sean McCaffrey have picked at underage level.

Vicent Butler's latest squad playing in France the week after next has players from Ballybofey, Ringmahon Rangers, Douglas Hall, Mervue United and Geraldines.

Sean McCaffrey squad is currently in Germany and includes players from Ringmahon Rangers, Kilreen Celtic and Wilton United. Very anti-Cork approach :confused:

i never said there is an anti-cork approach.. but i do feel there is a pro-dublin feel. possibly not so much in recent years but definately in the past. i am fully aware that there are more people playing football in dublin but i have seen it myself when i was involved with underage teams in the past. it was also more of a laziness issue where managers/coaches/scouts wouldn't bother going to sligo to see a local team play a team from mayo in the FAI U15 cup for example. however they would go to the winner of that game if they played a dublin team in the next round.

i cant comment on the other non-dublin players you listed above but i happen to know that the Mervue Utd player listed played on the mervue team which defeated crumlin utd in last years u14 FAI cup final. the crumlin team had 6/7 players involved with the irish team at the time and mervue had none. just an example. also there are still countless young players nationwide who play for DDSL teams in order to achieve international recognition.

23/03/2007, 11:30 AM
I've deleted several posts in this thread because of a ridiculous assertion made by reder with zero evidence. I'll repeat my policy on this for the benefit of the thickos: if you make an assertion like that about someone without evidence, I'll delete it; if I think it was made maliciously, I'll hand your identifying data over to the person libelled with no argument whatsoever.

People that do this kind of thing on public forums deserved to be sued for everything they've got.

Keane is a tosser, we're all aware of it. Get over yourselves.

Scram
23/03/2007, 12:31 PM
Keane's a traitor and should just keep quiet about our team!

He slated Miller at Man Utd and now says he should be in the Ireland team, why? because he plays for him now?. Anti-Cork sentiment is apparently the reason MIller is not in the team eh. Stephen Ireland, eh YOU!! The lad Keane is a clown.

Of course he is right about the FAI and attitude, we all know that but who is he to disrupt the players or Stan? who after all cared much more about the Irish team than the traitor Keane.....feck off back to Sunderland!

Seeing as he let his childish pride get in the way of playing in the World Cup for his country, he has no right to make any comments about Ireland, players or manager.

Hypocrisy.

According to papers he mentioned senior players "you look at the likes of Keane, O'Shea, Duff and Given - at this moment in time none of these players are setting the world alight at their respective clubs"

Bitterness is all that is, Given is 1st or 2nd best keeper in England, Keane is playing very well for Spurs.

irishfan86
23/03/2007, 8:30 PM
Keane made some good points, but the Liam Miller comment is a bit off the mark.

P.S. Had to laugh at citizenerased getting his post deleted. :D

Dallasirish
23/03/2007, 10:58 PM
Keane is a muppet!! Anyone who walks away from there country has no business making comments on our players. I dont get this everybody is pickin on Cork syndrome! What a muppet!