View Full Version : Attracting families to el games

Pages : 1 [2] 3

19/03/2007, 11:03 AM
where has any Pats fan tried to justify the €20? You read our MB,. you know the outrage it caused.

Jaime
19/03/2007, 11:18 AM
I read the gambling section. I'm glad it caused outrage but the outrage won't get the punter any change from his 20 bob, will it?

Stato
19/03/2007, 11:20 AM
Not trying to justify it but if you're like me and buy a programme at all matches the most expensive club is still Drogheda. They were first with €20 a seat and given that most clubs haven't put their prices up in a few years (Pats last did it at the start of 2002 I think), I'd guess a few more will follow suit soon enough.

Just like Drogheda you still have the choice of paying €15 to stand on the terrace.

And if €2 extra a match is the price to pay for the start we've had this season then I'm more than happy to pay it! :D

19/03/2007, 11:29 AM
Yeah! Well we can't all be located in Dublin 4 though.

And what would be your defining factors of a knacker?? Lack of daddys mirk, no cavier for lunch, glasses instead of a monacle, or just wearing a tracksuit instead of a bowler hat??
Oh dear God almighty...

Bray have knacker "fans" who are always ready to throw stuff at away fans, mess with away fans' flags, and stuff like that. I can't remember a single trip to Bray when I haven't come across at least one of these irritating sh!tes. You can choose to ignore the fact if you want to; doesn't make it not true. And ridiculous comparisons such as the two above don't prove anything either.

Tazskool
19/03/2007, 11:36 AM
Ideas to get families into grounds and secure a bigger following in years to come...

Free for under 12's <- already suggested i know!
Prematch or HT kick about with some of the non selected team for that match..
A Club mascot always makes for good PR with kids
A kids supporters club whereby they get free newsletters emailed out to them .. something simple.. 1 or 2 pages..
A "kids" day where by anyone under 12 can see and meet the players and have a little kick about. (Twice a season)
Kids food at grounds...

more to follow..

19/03/2007, 11:41 AM
All club mascos must die!

The Open Day idea you mentioned is already there. UCD also run summer soccer camps (I'm sure we're not alone)

Not sure about kids' food though. (a) We already have chipper vans and the likes anyway and (b) I don't agree with pandering to kids' tastes for fatty foods - they should be encouraged to eat properly.

Tazskool
19/03/2007, 12:09 PM
I am not saying fatty foods and such as a whole on the menu.. make the food more "inviting" to kids..

Its an old saying..but the kids are the clubs future fans and players... look after them or lose them..

Also as a parent I am happy to see a club give that bit extra to the kids to ensure they enjoy the day.. keeps them quiet and makes me able to enjoy the match that bit more..

Philly
19/03/2007, 12:22 PM
Oh dear God almighty...

Bray have knacker "fans" who are always ready to throw stuff at away fans, mess with away fans' flags, and stuff like that. I can't remember a single trip to Bray when I haven't come across at least one of these irritating sh!tes. You can choose to ignore the fact if you want to; doesn't make it not true. And ridiculous comparisons such as the two above don't prove anything either.

Ditto...

I remember a few years back we had to run two or three little *****s away. One was actually just about to take a leak on our flag. The steward laughed.

Shels also have an element, though they are far outnumbered by sound fans. It mostly seems to be a Dublin club thing.

19/03/2007, 12:37 PM
It mostly seems to be a Dublin club thing.
It certainly is not. Waterford or Drogheda by far the worst, Sligo and Cork have them too.

19/03/2007, 1:09 PM
It certainly is not. Waterford or Drogheda by far the worst, Sligo and Cork have them too.

sligo?

ah now.. come on.

19/03/2007, 2:33 PM
It certainly is not. Waterford or Drogheda by far the worst, Sligo and Cork have them too.Haven't found anywhere worse than Bray although Pats were a clear second up to a couple of years ago. Never noticed anything in Drogheda or Sligo.

19/03/2007, 2:38 PM
I can't remember a single trip to Bray when I haven't come across at least one of these irritating sh!tes.

Exactly. Out of all the grounds I've visited the most unpleasant experience with the opposing team's fans always stands out as Bray on every occasion. Skangers, knackers, cretins, call them as you will but there's a distinctly larger crowd of irritating little creatures at the Carlisle.

19/03/2007, 3:17 PM
Worst for me is Athlone Town, by a mile. Then probably Bray, then Galway.

19/03/2007, 3:26 PM
Can't remember how many times our coach has been bricked up in Drogheda :rolleyes:

Student Mullet
19/03/2007, 3:44 PM
I remember a few years back we had to run two or three little *****s away. One was actually just about to take a leak on our flag. The steward laughed.For any Bray officials reading, I have highlighted the cause of the problem.

Aaron
19/03/2007, 4:13 PM
At the Brandywell we used to allow under 14's in for free when accompanied with an adult. We cant know due to season ticket holders. Our problem is our ground. When its re-developed, we should have a family stand where a family and children should be allocated with a shope there for refreshments.

fbtn
19/03/2007, 4:44 PM
As a parent, I have to agree that bringing your kid to eLeague games can be on the expensive side. Especially if they are young as you have to take them into the seated areas as they get tired quite quickly if they have to stand.

On the topic of Bray and Bohs, I normally bring my young lad but made a point not to on Friday night as I had a good idea what it would be like.

Shels fans at their usual antics before, during and after the game in Ballybofey on Friday night. Hope they enjoyed their 'ruck' when they finally got one.

The locals don't usually show the same restraint as Harps fans so hopefully they will have learned their lesson.

Normally who we would be playing is what my decision to bring my son is based on. Any other parents like that or are you happy enough with the security arrangements at grounds? Our own, incidently is a joke at present.

kdjaC
19/03/2007, 4:50 PM
Was charged 10 euro to bring my 6 year old to the Waterford v Pats match last night. Now before anyone complains I tight , I'm not but how in the name of God is a club like pats going to attractive someone with more than 1 child to a game? Surely a token few quid, atttract the parents and put bums on seats would be a more appropriate approach to expand the support base in this area?

Lol i bring 3 , its cheaper to go on the beer for the night :confused:

kdjac

19/03/2007, 6:05 PM
Ideas to get families into grounds and secure a bigger following in years to come...

Free for under 12's <- already suggested i know!
Prematch or HT kick about with some of the non selected team for that match..
A kids supporters club whereby they get free newsletters emailed out to them .. something simple.. 1 or 2 pages..
A "kids" day where by anyone under 12 can see and meet the players and have a little kick about. (Twice a season)
Kids food at grounds...

more to follow..

bar the mascot all of those things are almost in place at Mons.

stann
19/03/2007, 7:29 PM

What are you on about?

Da Real Rover
19/03/2007, 7:46 PM
Oh dear God almighty...

You see you dont have to call them 'knackers' as this word has many conotations which arent really suitable. It can be perceived as upper class snobbery, all you hve to do is call them cheeky little ****s that need a proper slap to cop the fuk on. Believe me i know, bray is full of them, the pre puberty green army.

Tazskool
19/03/2007, 8:55 PM
At the end of the day the KIDS are the main people you need to please...

I'll explain why...

Pleasing the adults you get 1 lot of gate money.. and if the parent takes a child in you are not certain of the parent being happy with a nagging kid or unhappy child...

Provide good entertainment and get the child wrapped up by the club you get the child FORCING the parent to take them to the game.. Yes do you not get the gate money from letting the U-12 into the game BUT you do get the extra sales based on food, souvies and so forth..

ALSO you get them as a fan for many years... and then you get them as hooked when they have a family..

The parents are happy with seeing good football.. yes the kids are the same but the attension span is never as long as the adults...

Its simple maths which some clubs do not understand.. not just in Ireland.. but the world...

19/03/2007, 9:32 PM
You see you dont have to call them 'knackers' as this word has many conotations which arent really suitable. It can be perceived as upper class snobbery, all you hve to do is call them cheeky little ****s that need a proper slap to cop the fuk on. Believe me i know, bray is full of them, the pre puberty green army.
What are you on about?! How is it "upper class snobbery" to expect to go somewhere and not have your flag ****ed on/spat on?!

I'm aware of what the term "knackers" means, and I find it quite suitable, thank you. If you want to start adding in extra "connotation", that's your own look out.

Anyways, back on topic - Tazskool is right, obviously.

19/03/2007, 10:15 PM
Knackers is to good a term for them.

19/03/2007, 10:24 PM
Knackers is to good a term for them.
now now now... thats offending the travelling community..

lets be more specific and call them urban scumbags

Bald Student
19/03/2007, 10:31 PM
now now now... thats offending the travelling community..

lets be more specific and call them urban scumbagsYou mean suburban scumbags?

But I think we're being a bit harsh here. Kids left unsupervised will act the maggot like that. The problem is that the Wanderers are being used as a babysitting service on Friday nights and the stewards aren't interested in keeping the kids under control.

LeixlipRed
19/03/2007, 10:53 PM
Shels fans at their usual antics before, during and after the game in Ballybofey on Friday night. Hope they enjoyed their 'ruck' when they finally got one.

The locals don't usually show the same restraint as Harps fans so hopefully they will have learned their lesson.

Didn't make it myself Friday night. Any details as to what went on? PM me if you wish. Anyhting that can be used as a stick to beat these lads into not following our club anymore would be appreciated

20/03/2007, 7:22 AM
What are you on about?

Waterford have a hugh proportion of little knackers trying to **** off away fans. As do Drogheda. Other clubs have an element but its most obvious in those two venues. Clear enough for you?

bigmac
20/03/2007, 11:04 AM
Waterford have a hugh proportion of little knackers trying to **** off away fans. As do Drogheda. Other clubs have an element but its most obvious in those two venues. Clear enough for you?

Never noticed it in Waterford to be honest and I sit over near the away fans block in the stand.

On a separate note, thought there was a good crowd in Inchicore on Friday night - 20 yoyo very steep considering we still had to stand to see anything though. How much of the crowd was down to the Kerr effect and how long will it last?

20/03/2007, 11:26 AM
I'd say a fair bit was down to all the Kerr/Kelleher publicity plus the club were promoting it all week. Loads of flyers sent out to surrounding areas (Clondalkin, Tallaght, Palmerstown, Crumlin etc) offering a deal for that game and the next two @ €45 (and the aforementioned family deals). I'd say it doesn't hurt to have beaten Cork 3-1 live on TV the monday beforehand either. As ever with these things, the marketing/PR can only get people to go to one or two games but a winning side (playing attractive football it has to be said) may get them coming back regularly. I have to say I thought the crowd was a good deal north of the 1,800+ official figure

BrayUnknowns
20/03/2007, 12:19 PM
And why would anyone want to go to games when you have the likes of the Bray schooligans?

You have your own group (not as big as ours but still there is one) who wanted a fight. So don't go pointing fingers when you are guilty of the same problem.

Grow up and stop trying to pass the buck, ****ing typical bohs fans attitude towards to their ever growing problem.

Da Real Rover
20/03/2007, 1:32 PM
What are you on about?! How is it "upper class snobbery" to expect to go somewhere and not have your flag ****ed on/spat on?!

I'm aware of what the term "knackers" means, and I find it quite suitable, thank you. If you want to start adding in extra "connotation", that's your own look out.

Knacker is a derogatory term used for members of the travelling community, so dont fukn insinuate dat i am pulling conotations for a derogatory word out of my ass. Check a dictionary or something, the word in ireland is interpreted as such, not me adding on connotations. Im not excuseing thier actions, just objecting to that word being labelled on kids no older than 12.

Thats what im on about spanner, savy??

20/03/2007, 1:50 PM
Knacker would be interchangable with the likes of skanger in many parts of the country (particularly in and around Dublin), and it's clear that's whats meant here, so don't get your PC knickers in a twist.

Da Real Rover
20/03/2007, 2:04 PM
Knacker would be interchangable with the likes of skanger in many parts of the country (particularly in and around Dublin), and it's clear that's whats meant here, so don't get your PC knickers in a twist.

I am aware of that.
But dont lose sight that these are kids, just cheeky little ****s, no need to be brandishing them as anything.

20/03/2007, 2:37 PM
I am aware of that.
But dont lose sight that these are kids, just cheeky little ****s, no need to be brandishing them as anything.Maybe if we started brandishing them that would stop the issue. In the manner of a golf club perhaps.

I hate this PC crap. The fact that they are under 18 doesn't give them free rein to spoil my enjoyment of a football game. They should be ejected and kept out if they continue to cause trouble.

Also glad to hear the Shels schooligans got a hammering in Ballybofey (as I'm sure many of the decent Shels fans are). Its the only way they'll learn.

CavanBohs
20/03/2007, 3:03 PM
Grow up and stop trying to pass the buck, ****ing typical bohs fans attitude towards to their ever growing problem.
Read what it says in brackets in my post and get back to me.

Green&whitearmy
20/03/2007, 3:40 PM
I no there might be kids in bray that ack the b****x but it happens in ever ground in the country, I've been to places where we've had our flags burned and even robbed on us so i would not call bray the worst, other kids in grounds our bad, I dont want to mention any clubs but it does have to be stamped out now, have the stewards control the kids(or the parents if their there).

20/03/2007, 4:48 PM
Arrangements for Friday Night (http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=599)

20/03/2007, 4:52 PM
Arrangements for Friday Night (http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=599)

5. Any person found to have brought the club into disrepute will be banned from the club.

fantabulous.

should be taken up by all clubs.

Kildare Lad
20/03/2007, 4:58 PM
Thats Brilliant, its good to see theyr doing something about it.

20/03/2007, 8:10 PM
Where's Bray's arrangements then?

20/03/2007, 8:13 PM
Where's Bray's arrangements then?

Drop kids off at the Carlisle

Take the wife for a Chinese

Head into Dublin and go to a club/pub

Stumble off DART and collect kids from outside local chipper

stann
20/03/2007, 9:07 PM

You can lose the arsey tone of voice for a start, Dodge.
You make a claim with no examples (twice) of a phenomenon that I (and Bigmac) have never seen in all our time going to the RSC, nor at any of the (admittedly few) away games I've been at, and that entitles me to query what you are going on about I think.
If you are complaining about verbal winding-up of away fans, that's not even an issue, grow up! How much winding-up have we to put up with from the Dub teams, sheepshaggers and other such verbose gems. If you're on about starting fights, p!ssing on flags and the other stuff mentioned on here then you'd want to back cheap claims like that up with evidence.

kdjaC
20/03/2007, 9:24 PM
fantabulous.

should be taken up by all clubs.

What about the line after it ?

kdjac

20/03/2007, 9:25 PM
What about the line after it ?

kdjac

what about it?

sure we all know its true..

Leejo
20/03/2007, 9:57 PM
Some prices are gone silly but why would anyone, never mind a family, want to go to a game when they have the likes of the bohs fans who caused murder last night after the game..... outside the carlisle was a seriously dangerous place to be last night, as proved for 1 young lad who ended up in hospital.

I know this is going a bit off topic but bare with me..

Not trying to stand up for any of our or your young lads but was talking to the main steward is Bray just before the end of the match on friday and asked him what went on at half time and he said some lads from Bray (not even fans just randomers outside) started having a go at our ''hard lads'' and called them out so there was words and whatever and then the final whistle blew and he ran off mid sentence to escort the ref off:( (seems to happen to me alot:rolleyes: )

anyone know what exactly happened?

Tazskool
20/03/2007, 10:07 PM
I know this is going a bit off topic but bare with me..

just snip that bit out but hasnt all this been off topic?? :P loll....

How many clubs have a form they give to the kids (under 16's) to fill in and gather useful info such as what they want to see at the gound, keep them up to date on news and so forth.. by having a box marked "email addy here". Even if they dont have one the parents usually get nagged into giving theirs!

Marketing tool assured.. also cheap and simple to keep going...

20/03/2007, 10:24 PM
We have a similar thing for all those who go to the summer camps; got about 200 e-mails of people who have had contact with UCD but who mightn't be regulars necesarily; they all get e-mailed a monthly-ish newsletter.

21/03/2007, 8:00 AM
just snip that bit out but hasnt all this been off topic?? :P loll....

Well it's probably not of topic assome people probably stay away from certain grounds because of some fans in their club:confused:

GalwayFrancis
21/03/2007, 9:01 AM
Worst for me is Athlone Town, by a mile. Then probably Bray, then Galway.

ya i agree with athlone probably being the worst in the country for schooligans, especially when they play us. Apart from the two big games last year, schooligans has never been a problem in terryland.