View Full Version : Pats tonight - Setanta Cup

12/03/2007, 12:24 AM
I reckon we'd be lucky with a point if the same team as the RSC starts.

Assuming Healy and Farrelly won't be cleared, a fit JOF would do the job.
Even for the 12 minutes the other night he ignited our attacking play.
Kelly should start again.
Should be a good match anyway and am v. excited about heading out to the Cross.
Season starts here.

12/03/2007, 12:32 AM
Season starts here.

Dead right, cant wait for it now.

12/03/2007, 2:22 AM
See yis down there :D

12/03/2007, 9:32 AM
I don't think O'Flynn will start as I predict he will be eased back into full games. Billy Woods could start on right side of midfield.

Pats are poor travellers outside the pale & City have strong home record to get us through.

12/03/2007, 10:20 AM
Pats are poor travellers outside the pale & City have strong home record to get us through.

last two Cork Pats games in Turners Cross. Cork 0 Pats 1. Cork 0 Pats 0.

And we were **** then...

12/03/2007, 10:26 AM
Can't see us winning this.
0-0 or 0-1 :(

Paddy Power will give you 15/2 on it being a draw in the first half and Pats winning the game.

12/03/2007, 10:29 AM
0-0 or 0-1 :(

Feck off with your reverse psychology. Where's the real Peadar?

12/03/2007, 10:45 AM
0-0 or 1-0 to Cork :(

agreed

12/03/2007, 10:49 AM
Apparently Kearney is very doubtful.....suspected broken ankle :(

We could be in trouble tonight

12/03/2007, 11:52 AM
So Kearney is doubtful?
As Osam would say, Pats have the Indian Sign over us now.

balls
12/03/2007, 8:48 PM
two nil tonight disaster of a result .i knew pats were stronger this year but didnt think they would do us at the cross tonight. disaster of a result

balls
12/03/2007, 8:50 PM
2-1 now jof just scored i posted too soon

ccfcgirl
12/03/2007, 9:49 PM
Finished 1-3

12/03/2007, 10:38 PM
Very poor result for us. Fair play to Pats though, they had a good team two years ago, even if they were fighting with each other on the pitch. They have picked up handy players and look to be a force this year.

Bohs came down i think second home game of the season last year and looked good aswell but the difference is Pats were putting them away.

12/03/2007, 11:03 PM
2 super strikes from Pats, City wasted some awful chances, Roy and Kearney were the main culprits, Joffy came on and showed them how its done.
Just saw the "penalty" incident again on telly and Joe took Ndo outside the box, harsh but thats football.

13/03/2007, 10:42 AM
The advantage of the Setanta Cup is you afford to lose games. I would be much more disappointed if it was the league.

13/03/2007, 10:54 AM
Yeah, 1 loss in a 6 game group is less damaging than one in a 33 game season :rolleyes:

After last nights performance you can forget about any notion of winning league

13/03/2007, 10:57 AM
Being new to the Setanta Sports Cup and only there by default, I'll excuse the ignorance of that post.
When you're playing the two weakest teams from NI, you can afford to lose to your eLoI counterpart and still progress to the next phase. You'll learn that, if someone else gets kicked out of the Cup next season.

13/03/2007, 11:00 AM
Yeah, 1 loss in a 6 game group is less damaging than one in a 33 game season

Because finishing in the top half of the league can land you the title.:rolleyes: :mad:

The Patzelona flag yours?

13/03/2007, 12:25 PM
Yeah, 1 loss in a 6 game group is less damaging than one in a 33 game season :rolleyes:
[QUOTE]

Yes. Examples:
- Last season 1 extra win in the league would have got you into top half of the Premier division table.
- Drogs lost twice in the Setanta Cup group stage to us last season but still won the final.

We will probably still qualify from group but home tie possibly beyond us.

After last nights performance you can forget about any notion of winning league

While I was disappointed by the loss I also expected Pats to be better. Of your new signings Gary O'Neill can get ye 15+ goals & Kirby is ok but Ndo was anonymous for 90% of the game. IMO City will definitely finish in the top 4, Pats will do well to improve from 7th to 4th place in 1 season.

13/03/2007, 12:49 PM
Being new to the Setanta Sports Cup and only there by default, I'll excuse the ignorance of that post.
When you're playing the two weakest teams from NI, you can afford to lose to your eLoI counterpart and still progress to the next phase.
Aye, remind how many you beat Dungannon by again? Fail to win your next two games and you're in real trouble. Suppose its onlya pre season kick about so doesn't really matter

Ndo occupied your defensive midfielders leaving Fahey and Kirby to control the game. Just like you, it seems your team were too focussed on him.

13/03/2007, 1:00 PM
Yawn! Pats could fail to win their remaining games.
Not since drogs over the last two seasons, have I heard such delusional rubbish from a bunch of fans!

13/03/2007, 1:13 PM
the same drogs that won setanta last season?

13/03/2007, 1:15 PM
Where can i find this video everyones on about?
Eircom . net?

13/03/2007, 1:20 PM
the same drogs that won setanta last season?

You'll get the hang of this eventually!
Setanta Sports Cup is forgotten by June.

13/03/2007, 1:24 PM
and so are any teams who cant score goals and who dont get out of the traps quickly....

13/03/2007, 1:37 PM
and so are any teams who cant score goals and who dont get out of the traps quickly....

Which is what happened to drogs last season.
But peaking too soon, leaves some people very unsatisfied...

13/03/2007, 2:41 PM
Is this the Drogheda that finished ahead of Cork. The Drogheda that won a trophy, progressed in Eruope and easily qualified for the UEFA cup again?

I'll take that...