View Full Version : PS3
anto1208
09/03/2007, 8:46 AM
Well its going to be here today 2 weeks , who is getting one ?
As i allready have a xbox 360 which blew me away ( bar pro evo :mad: ) im really looking foward to getting my PS3 mainly for pro evo but since thats not out till oct the next attraction is the blue ray player for 630 euro its one of the cheapest players on the market and is also ment to be one of the best .
Sony are launching a second life style world for all PS3 owners , hopefully it will have internet access and the ability to store video files on the hard drive that the 360 lacks .
09/03/2007, 8:48 AM
I'm waiting until 2012 until they bring out Elite 4!
Don't see the PS3 being a huge success until the price drops, I'm gonna stick with my SNES for the time being I think!
Neish
10/03/2007, 10:42 AM
I know some one who works in one of the game stores and they had a prototype/ demo version of the PS3. The Xbox is far superior in their opinions.
anto1208
11/03/2007, 2:04 PM
I know some one who works in one of the game stores and they had a prototype/ demo version of the PS3. The Xbox is far superior in their opinions.
Well thats bull anyway the xbox isnt as powerfull the graphics arent as good ,it isnt a blue ray player ,it cant playback video or music from the hard drive ,cant access the internet , you cant play pro evo on the xbox !!!!! and the games are coming out at 75 euro on xbox they start at 60 on PS3 .
I have the 360 aswell id recomend it for shooter games like ghost recon etc but its no way near the PS3 ,
Well thats bull anyway the xbox isnt as powerfull the graphics arent as good ,it isnt a blue ray player ,it cant playback video or music from the hard drive ,cant access the internet , you cant play pro evo on the xbox !!!!! and the games are coming out at 75 euro on xbox they start at 60 on PS3 .
I have the 360 aswell id recomend it for shooter games like ghost recon etc but its no way near the PS3 ,
Well its just what I've been told. Maybe it because they had a prototype/unfinished version. I don't even know the guy that well more a friend of a friend and he was saying he wouldn't buy it not really what you would say if your were ment to ne selling the things.
ali2005
11/03/2007, 5:20 PM
I have a xbox 360 nd From what ive seen of the ps3 screenshots and previews the graphics look pretty much the same! so in my opinion your better of buying the 360!
11/03/2007, 5:31 PM
I have a xbox 360 nd From what ive seen of the ps3 screenshots and previews the graphics look pretty much the same! so in my opinion your better of buying the 360!You're only saying that cos you know yer not allowed get a PS3:p.
anto1208
12/03/2007, 8:27 AM
I have a xbox 360 nd From what ive seen of the ps3 screenshots and previews the graphics look pretty much the same! so in my opinion your better of buying the 360!
The only reason i wouldnt tell some one get a 360 is because they are dropping like flies out of the 3 of us that bought one 3 have had problems and one has died !!! even watchdog done a piece on them because of the numbers of xbox's breaking .
But your right they are pretty similar the only thing that i hate about the xbox is i cant watch videos on it i have every family guy on my laptop and want to put them onto the xbox but i cant .
That and the lack of pro evo :mad: i played it again last night they ruined that game for me .
Well its just what I've been told. Maybe it because they had a prototype/unfinished version. I don't even know the guy that well more a friend of a friend and he was saying he wouldn't buy it not really what you would say if your were ment to ne selling the things.true the games out arent great either but hey ill have both in 2 weeks ill give a review :D
18/03/2007, 8:07 PM
Any body know of a link for the ad?
kingdom hoop
19/03/2007, 1:27 PM
But your right they are pretty similar the only thing that i hate about the xbox is i cant watch videos on it i have every family guy on my laptop and want to put them onto the xbox but i cant .
you could get an s-video cable, allowing you to watch on your tv what is playing on your laptop, very handy indeed. get a wireless mouse and keyboard and all of a sudden, bam, you have the net etc on your 42' plasma:)
20/03/2007, 8:57 AM
If you download a program called "Orb" from the net (it's free) you'll be able to stream video content and all other multimedia stuff from your laptop onto your xbox.
anto1208
20/03/2007, 9:07 AM
If you download a program called "Orb" from the net (it's free) you'll be able to stream video content and all other multimedia stuff from your laptop onto your xbox.
Sweet , but about 3 weeks ago my house got broken into and my laptop stolen :mad: plus i was trying to avoid going upstairs turning on the laptop waiting for it to load etc etc , if i had them stored on the xbox i could just watch away .
PS3 will allow me to do that and since its also able to get on the internet im hoping i can download direct to it it will mean i wont have to get a new laptop unless i get serious Football manager withdrawl :D
ill know friday :D
20/03/2007, 9:41 AM
I'm feeling lazy so hears apost of mine from another site.
I told him he'd be better off buying a wii and an xbox for the price of the ps3.
Nah Wii seems designed for the pre-pubescent market :? not quite sure what you mean by that. some of the games nintendo make are "kid-friendly" (not every game has to involve shooting people) but i wouldnt say it applies to wii sport or zelda. my friends love the wii, its just so much fun to pick up and play. great with a few drinks too!
and XBox whilst okay didn't have as great a range of games as PS2 so I'd be of the opinion that XBox360 will be the same eventually against the PS3.
xbox had 90% of the games PS2 had, aswell as some excellent ones the PS2 didn't have, including online play. the reason for that missing 10% was exclusivity agreements sony made - paying for games to be exclusive, eg Grand Theft Auto. that won't happen this time as the PS3 isnt selling enough for developers to justify staying on one console. for example, Grand Theft Auto 4 will be on xbox, pc and wii before ps3 because RockStar are concerned that the PS3 is so far behind - they've shipped 4 million consoles, and only sold 1.8 million.
http://ps3.ign.com/articles/771/771737p1.html
by comparison, xbox 360 has sold 10 million and nintendo wii has sold 6 million (and are still struggling to cope with demand).
in fact, the Super Nintendo (SNES) - from 1991 - is outselling the PS3 on amazon.com
http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/nintendo/wtf-alert-snes-outselling-ps3-on-amazoncom-237633.php
more annoyingly still from Sony's point of view the Playstation2 is actually still outselling the PS3!
http://gaming.monstersandcritics.com/news/article_1255002.php/Playstation_2_surpasses_Playstation_3_in_weekly_sa les
in terms of the sales of games, PS3 is also bombing.
http://www.vgcharts.org/amonthly.php?date=39114
Thats right, the top PS3 game is 19th in teh chart, behind a game for the out-of-date Nintendo Gamecube! the only other PS3 games are Madden 07 and Baseball 07 - enjoy those ;)
in america/japan, you can walk into a store and buy a PS3 off the shelf, whereas 5 months after its release, you still need to camp out to get a wii.
http://www.vgcharts.org/news/news.php?id=111
Plus I have about 60+ PS2 games and about 20+ PS1 games which are backwards compatible with the PS3.
No they're not.
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=38191
Sony have panicked about their poor sales and removed a vital piece of hardware from the european version in an attempt to lower the price. this hardware was neccessary to run the older games. unless you import an american/japanese console, the majority of your games wont run.
Oh and there's also that Blueray yoke which sounds quite good.Blu-ray sounds good, but it'll be worthless if nobody supports it.
http://www.cepro.com/news/editorial/14139.html
Previous sony formats include: Betamax, Mini-Disc, Multi-Media Compact Disc, Music Clip, HiFD, Sony Memory Stick and SACD - all failures because other companies prefer to use things like VHS, CD, SD Memory, and DVD. one of the reasons is that Sony try to control their media formats - BetaMax video tapes and Multi-Media Compact Disc failed because Sony wanted to veto what kind of videos would be on the discs.
The alternative to Bluray is HD-DVD, but with data streaming becoming a reality in a few years, discs are going the way of dinosaurs.
don't think im slagging or anything, im just a technology geek and i'd hate to see you spend 600 euros without making an informed decision!
20/03/2007, 9:54 AM
No need for the PS3.
They have the internet on computers now.
Go in to Cash Converters and pick up a megadrive.
You'll be grand.
anto1208
20/03/2007, 10:38 AM
I'm feeling lazy so hears apost of mine from another site.
I told him he'd be better off buying a wii and an xbox for the price of the ps3.
!
Cheers gav but i think the Wii is terrible its allready outdated , the games look no better than ps2 or xbox . I have a 360 and love it and since the ps3 is more powerfull it can only be better . plus playstation have pro evo ( which is the main reason to buy it )xbox claim to have it but i cant stress enough how bad it is .
streaming in high dev( or at least a watchable quality) is a long way off and will require a new very fast PC which will be more expensive than 600 euro .
im not worried about the sales the ps3 is designed to last 10 years . And on the xbox sales 10 mill is impressive but they rushed it to beat the ps3 how many will trade in there xbox for a ps3 since the xbox's are dropping like flies .
3 of us bought an xbox and 2 have died !!! thats really bad .
backwards compat doesnt worry me if i want to play ps2 games ill use my ps2 :D , this was also on the ps2 but i never once played a ps1 game on it .but sony will release a software update to fix this .
I think your right about the blueray but in fairness ask anyone with a mini disk if they prefere cds they tell you its mini disk , same with betamax it was far better than VHS . but looking at blue ray films in HMV at the weekend they are 35 - 40 euro !!! i dont think ill be buying many :D ( mabye just one to give my new 42" HDTV a run out )
as i say cheers for the advice but my mind is allready made up and as i say i have the 360 which blew me away and im keeping that ,fingers crossed it doesnt breakdown . From what ive seen the ps3 is better .
kdjaC
26/03/2007, 10:56 AM
Cheers gav but i think the Wii is terrible its allready outdated , the games look no better than ps2 or xbox . I have a 360 and love it and since the ps3 is more powerfull it can only be better . plus playstation have pro evo ( which is the main reason to buy it )xbox claim to have it but i cant stress enough how bad it is .
A machine is only as good as its games, my pc is better than 360 and ps3 and wii combined does that mean its better? 2x8800GTX fx-62 4gb OCZ ???
The 360 would be the better choice as it has more games but a lot of **** GOW being the best, the wii is fun and has nintendo games Zelda Mario, the ps3 is stupidly overpriced and has no good games for at least a year.
Also Pro evo doesnt work properly on it yet.
I have all 3 but sit here typing this on a pc with pro evo running the background :confused:
kdjac
anto1208
26/03/2007, 12:39 PM
A machine is only as good as its games, my pc is better than 360 and ps3 and wii combined does that mean its better? 2x8800GTX fx-62 4gb OCZ ???
The 360 would be the better choice as it has more games but a lot of **** GOW being the best, the wii is fun and has nintendo games Zelda Mario, the ps3 is stupidly overpriced and has no good games for at least a year.
Also Pro evo doesnt work properly on it yet.
I have all 3 but sit here typing this on a pc with pro evo running the background :confused:
kdjac
I dont think its over priced ( sony are loosing 2 or 300 euro per console ) my xbox was 400 + 100 for a wireless adaptor so its 500 euro it only has a 20 GB hard drive and you cant store any video or mp3's on it .
Where as for an extra 130 euro you get an extra 40 GB space on the hard drive plus you can save all your mp3's video's etc to the hard drive making it a multi media centre . the wireless feature is built in , plus you can surf the internet worth the extra 130 euro . plus you get Gran turismo as a free down load .
The games are rubbish though i got fall of man and its terrible , call of duty i played is just as bad .
While i like the machine it will be at least 6 months before the games come out for it ( may 25 ghost recon 2 probibly the best game ive ever played on 360 way better the GOW ) untill then id say hold off on buying one but in the long run the it will be far better than the xbox .
I dont have a PC anymore as it got stolen so i thought why spend a grand on a pc when the playstation is only 600 !!
If i was to recomend a console to anyone id say get a xbox for Gears of war and ghost recon 2 alone pray it doesnt break down then trade up in 6 months time to a PS3 .
kdjaC
26/03/2007, 12:59 PM
If i was to recomend a console to anyone id say get a xbox for Gears of war and ghost recon 2 alone pray it doesnt break down then trade up in 6 months time to a PS3 .
Get them all tbh if you can, now for a tv with 4 HDMI ports.........
kdjac
anto1208
26/03/2007, 1:48 PM
Get them all tbh if you can, now for a tv with 4 HDMI ports.........
kdjac
Do you know of any Free to download software to convert avi's to a playstation friendly format , i have loads of stuff on an external harddrive but it all comes up as unsupported or corrupted data .
http://www.redkawa.com/
That works.
kdjac
26/03/2007, 2:35 PM
Try this: http://www.redkawa.com/mediacenters/ps3mediacenterx/
Haven't used it myself, but it looks to be what you're looking for
Failing that, you could try installing Linux on the PS3 to get it to play AVI's
anto1208
26/03/2007, 2:47 PM
Try this: http://www.redkawa.com/mediacenters/ps3mediacenterx/
Haven't used it myself, but it looks to be what you're looking for
Failing that, you could try installing Linux on the PS3 to get it to play AVI's
i was reading a little about linux , is it basically a windows type program for it , any idea how to install to a ps3 ? does it require a lot of arsing about
ill try the redkawa nice one .
26/03/2007, 3:15 PM
i was reading a little about linux , is it basically a windows type program for it, any idea how to install to a ps3 ? does it require a lot of arsing about
ill try the redkawa nice one .
Good lord, don't say things like that, Adam will have a heart failure ;)
Linux is an alternative operating system to windows, completely different. It can be tricky enough to install on to a PC or laptop. With the Ps3 though, Sony have (supposedly) made it simple enough to install and use.
If you're not technically minded though, then I wouldn't do it, could be a lot of hassle for something you're only going to use for playing media.
There's some threads on installing Linux on the PS3 on boards.ie, check them out and see if you think it'll be worth it
26/03/2007, 3:49 PM
Cheers gav but i think the Wii is terrible its allready outdated , the games look no better than ps2 or xbox .
i wouldnt agree with you to that extent that its out dated, if anything as the CEO of sony has admitted, the ps3 is ambitious even at this stage, but if graphics are your thing yeah you're better off with an xbox 360 or pc. i've a fairly good graphics card and will be getting another one shortly to handle the directx10 generation of games for windows vista. pro evo + wireless PS2 controller on a 60 inch projector with PC graphics is some experience!
anto1208
26/03/2007, 4:04 PM
i wouldnt agree with you to that extent that its out dated, if anything as the CEO of sony has admitted, the ps3 is ambitious even at this stage, but if graphics are your thing yeah you're better off with an xbox 360 or pc. i've a fairly good graphics card and will be getting another one shortly to handle the directx10 generation of games for windows vista. pro evo + wireless PS2 controller on a 60 inch projector with PC graphics is some experience!
60" mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
I reckon a good pc would be better but im not going to get a top end pc for 600 euro !! plus all that swaping graphics cards etc goes over my head .
While i can justify spending 600 on a ps3 i cant justify spending over agrand on a pc just to play football manager :D
anto1208
26/03/2007, 4:07 PM
Good lord, don't say things like that, Adam will have a heart failure ;)
Linux is an alternative operating system to windows, completely different. It can be tricky enough to install on to a PC or laptop. With the Ps3 though, Sony have (supposedly) made it simple enough to install and use.
If you're not technically minded though, then I wouldn't do it, could be a lot of hassle for something you're only going to use for playing media.
There's some threads on installing Linux on the PS3 on boards.ie, check them out and see if you think it'll be worth it
so its the same only different :D
ill have alook it sounds like it will be worth it cheers for that , by the way that ps3 video 9 ye mentioned is working away fine converting my reno 911 as i speak .
anto1208
27/03/2007, 10:30 AM
Cheers lads that ps3 video 9 works a charm now to get converting my back catalogue of south park 11th season now !!!its going to be time consuming
anto1208
30/03/2007, 4:49 PM
Well i've had it for a week now so i said id do a little comparison between it and the xbox since i have both.
On the machines themselves , the PS3 is miles better some of the plus points
You can store your mp3's , video etc unlike the xbox .
you have a decent controller for sports sims but the xbox controller is much better for shooters
60 gb hard drive V 20 on xbox
You can hook up your external USB hard drive to PS3( so mine now has a 310gb harddrive !!) and you can play all your video's etc directly from there .
you can get on the internet on the PS3 not available on xbox .
You can play blue ray disks much better than dvd on xbox
wireless internet access on PS3 you have to buy a wireless adaptor for the xbox which is 100 euro
you can download most PS2 and PS1 games ( it also plays lots of the old games ) You can also do this on xbox
on PS3 to play online is free its 7 euro a month on xbox .
The PS3 controller is movment sensitive like the Wii with out having to put a sensor on the front of your tv like the wii , xbox has nothing like this .
But most importantly the games on PS3 there is F*** all the Godfather is ok and tiger woods is good but thats it a kick in the stones to fork over 700 euro rush home then have nothing to play on it .But they are coming pro evo 7 , grand teft auto , metal gear solid , assasins creed , resident evil 5 , army of 2 etc and the graphics are better than xbox .
On the xbox ( it has been out for 1 1/2 years though ) you have classics like Gears of war , Ghost recon 2 which is the best game ive ever played ( and 1), Splinter cell double agent ,rainbow 6 etc etc .
Price wise the PS3 appears more expensive at 630(650 when you buy the HDMI cable as well) but looking at the xbox
xbox 400
wireless adaptor 100
HD DVD drive 200
controller charge kit 25
and a 85 euro for xbox live for a year
you are talking 810 euro for xbox verses the 650 for PS3 (for similar machines [blue ray v HD DVD]although the ps3 has 40 gb more on the hard drive), add in your xbox has a major chance of breaking down ( 2 out of my mates 3 died ) and the PS3 will last for 10 years (tech wise ) the PS3 is starting to look the better.