View Full Version : EL Players Overseas

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Rocky77
06/12/2007, 11:59 AM
The guy's been playing and living in England for 13 years, went over from us to Millwall when he was 21. Could it be that he has family beyond and has no interest in moving home?

06/12/2007, 12:07 PM
I'd say thats it.

Plus he's from Dublin, not Longford

Rocky77
06/12/2007, 12:12 PM
Plus he's from Dublin, not Longford

I know, by 'home' I meant Ireland.

17/01/2008, 3:19 PM
Ex Cork City Defender Damien Delaney signs for QPR http://www.qpr.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10373~1216856,00.html.

17/01/2008, 3:39 PM
You've lost a few in that clean up, I think. The legendary Jimmy Aggrey is gone for a start. I think he was with Southport.

Also, Damien Dupuy (Galway, UCD), is with some club in Switzerland. PM him and he'll probably tell you which one! It was Etoile someone-or-other in Geneva last I heard.

Aggrey is playing for Harchester Utd (http://www.harchester.tv/history_players_dioupw.htm)

17/01/2008, 8:32 PM
no way how do you know it is jimmy aggrey???:confused:

17/01/2008, 8:35 PM
Wikipedia knows all... (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Aggrey)

19/01/2008, 7:25 PM
thats unreal about jimmy aggrey!!!

Rocky77
21/01/2008, 9:38 PM
No the only famous face in Dream Team. The goalkeeper was Alex O'Reilly, who won a European Under 16 title under Brian Kerr. A descendant of Ballinalee I think, once opened the Abbeyshrule Airshow!

Battery Rover
26/01/2008, 5:23 PM
No the only famous face in Dream Team. The goalkeeper was Alex O'Reilly, who won a European Under 16 title under Brian Kerr. A descendant of Ballinalee I think, once opened the Abbeyshrule Airshow!

He was on trial with Athlone Town last season was going to sign and then all went quiet for some reason

26/01/2008, 5:26 PM
He was on trial with Athlone Town last season was going to sign and then all went quiet for some reason

"Just sign there and we'll start paying you as soon as our debts are cleared"
"Ok, just on this lin.... wait, what?"

Hitman
18/02/2008, 12:58 PM
The not exactly shocking news that Brian O' Callaghan hasn't rocketed to superstardom cross-channel.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/halifax_town/7250784.stm

18/02/2008, 2:19 PM
But...but...he was playing with a Championship quality club, so how could he fail at a Conference club?!

18/02/2008, 3:24 PM
But...but...he was playing with a Championship quality club, so how could he fail at a Conference club?!

He was widely regarded as not good enough by anyone who saw him play for Cork City, and failed in that regard at both clubs; hence not being retained by either.

18/02/2008, 3:26 PM
Ex Cork City Defender Damien Delaney signs for QPR http://www.qpr.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10373~1216856,00.html.

didn't realise Damien had moved. He's been with Hull at least 5 years. Has made a good career for himself.

18/02/2008, 3:39 PM
didn't realise Damien had moved. He's been with Hull at least 5 years. Has made a good career for himself.

His new boss is Silvio Briatore! :D

Wangball
14/03/2008, 9:14 AM
Flavio Briatore......

villarover
27/03/2008, 11:15 PM
Would any one know what came of these players, they all played for Sligo Rovers at some stage.
Breadan Aspinall ex colarine......Andy Ramage ex Colarine..... Padraig Moran ex Athlone... Ian Gilzean ex St pats...... Eddie Annand ex Clyde..... Will Hastie....... David Reid..... Robert Brunton ex kilkenny City..... James Mullingan ex Finn harps and cork city..... Darren Grogan ex spurs youth.... Ryan Cross.... Chris twiddy ex Welsh u21 international.... Mark Kelly ex Irish international.... Lee thew ex Doncaster..... Alan o neill Ex Shams.... Dale Hawkins.....

TheBoss
28/03/2008, 11:47 AM
Would any one know what came of these players, they all played for Sligo Rovers at some stage.
Breadan Aspinall ex colarine......Andy Ramage ex Colarine..... Padraig Moran ex Athlone... Ian Gilzean ex St pats...... Eddie Annand ex Clyde..... Will Hastie....... David Reid..... Robert Brunton ex kilkenny City..... James Mullingan ex Finn harps and cork city..... Darren Grogan ex spurs youth.... Ryan Cross.... Chris twiddy ex Welsh u21 international.... Mark Kelly ex Irish international.... Lee thew ex Doncaster..... Alan o neill Ex Shams.... Dale Hawkins.....

Best I could find

Breadan Aspinall - Burton(ENG) (West Riding County Amateur League Division I 2007/08)
Padraig Moran - Athlone(IRL) (First Divsion 2008)
Ian Gilzean(Retired) - Montrose(SCO) (Division 3 2002-03)
Eddie Annand - Arturlie Town(SCO) (Junior West Premier Division 2007-2008)
Will Hastie(Retired) - Bentleigh Greens SC(AUS) (Victorian Premier League 2000)
Ryan Cross - Bodmin(ENG) - (South Western League 2005-2006)
Chris Twiddy - Hamur(NOR) - (Division 3 Group 6 2005)
Mark Kelly(Retired) - Finn Harps(IRL) (Premier Division 2000-2001)
Alan O'Neill(Retired) - Sligo Rovers(IRL) (Premier Division 1996-1997)

villarover
01/04/2008, 8:24 PM
Best I could find

Breadan Aspinall - Burton(ENG) (West Riding County Amateur League Division I 2007/08)
Padraig Moran - Athlone(IRL) (First Divsion 2008)
Ian Gilzean(Retired) - Montrose(SCO) (Division 3 2002-03)
Eddie Annand - Arturlie Town(SCO) (Junior West Premier Division 2007-2008)
Will Hastie(Retired) - Bentleigh Greens SC(AUS) (Victorian Premier League 2000)
Ryan Cross - Bodmin(ENG) - (South Western League 2005-2006)
Chris Twiddy - Hamur(NOR) - (Division 3 Group 6 2005)
Mark Kelly(Retired) - Finn Harps(IRL) (Premier Division 2000-2001)
Alan O'Neill(Retired) - Sligo Rovers(IRL) (Premier Division 1996-1997)
Thanks a million, do you mind me asking here you found out this information?
Here a few more if you get a chance.........Neil Odgen, Mike Small, Mark Mc lean, Marcus Hallows, Nicky Reid, Aled Rowlands, Matthew Hare... Thanks again

kdjaC
01/04/2008, 8:39 PM
Marcus Hallows

Is now an elvis impersonator.

seriously.

kdjac

villarover
01/04/2008, 8:46 PM
Is now an elvis impersonator.

seriously.

kdjac
Your Funny.........

kdjaC
01/04/2008, 8:59 PM
Your Funny.........

Lol seriously tho he is.

kdjac

villarover
01/04/2008, 9:04 PM
Lol seriously tho he is.

kdjac
Prove it......

01/04/2008, 9:09 PM
Google knows all (http://www.pr-inside.com/europe-s-number-1-elvis-event-r364404.htm).

Though it may be a different Marcus Hallows...

kdjaC
01/04/2008, 11:58 PM
Google knows all (http://www.pr-inside.com/europe-s-number-1-elvis-event-r364404.htm).

Though it may be a different Marcus Hallows...

No its him, was a pic in the herald a while back. Was posted on the old dead saintsforum. oh how we laughed at our record signing still in his prime being a model and elvis impersonator.

tbh he was more like a footballer impersonator :o

kdjac

ShelsNeil
07/04/2008, 3:48 AM
Well done to Stephen McPhail on captaining Cardiff to the FA Cup Final. He's had a very good season.

Tenderloins
08/04/2008, 1:24 PM
A fem more of those Sligo player

Matthew Hare... ex Weymouth now Bideford Town
Nicky Reid.. Physio at Maccelsfield
Mike Small... Scaked as manager of Waltham Forest F.C last year.
Aled Rowlands... player at Porthmadog FC in the Welsh Premier Division
Neil Ogden went to Portadown, the on to Larne where his contract was terminated because of a "serious breach of club discipline".

10/04/2008, 9:27 AM
A fem more of those Sligo player

Matthew Hare... ex Weymouth now Bideford Town
Nicky Reid.. Physio at Maccelsfield
Mike Small... Scaked as manager of Waltham Forest F.C last year.
Aled Rowlands... player at Porthmadog FC in the Welsh Premier Division
Neil Ogden went to Portadown, the on to Larne where his contract was terminated because of a "serious breach of club discipline".

ah michael beag! brings back memories of the 94/95 season when I went to a few rovers matches when I was living up there...

13/05/2008, 2:51 PM
Great to see Damien Delaney make the full squad. http://www.qpr.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10373~1308908,00.html and congrats to Wes Holohan another ex el player.

sligofan4ever
03/06/2008, 11:55 PM
What about John O Hara and Kupono Low2 former sligo rovers players

03/06/2008, 11:57 PM
What about John O Hara and Kupono Low2 former sligo rovers playersThey're on the list.

04/06/2008, 8:49 PM
speakin of devil the other nite when england played trinidad and tobago in friendly did avery john play???

Mr Maroon
23/06/2008, 6:11 PM
speakin of devil the other nite when england played trinidad and tobago in friendly did avery john play???
I know you posted that a couple of weeks ago but, no he didn't play.

24/06/2008, 8:35 PM
I know you posted that a couple of weeks ago but, no he didn't play.

grand interesting that..wonder whether is he still playin or retired???

RĂ©iteoir
09/07/2008, 8:54 PM
Avery is at FC Miami in the USL (the 2nd division in the USA) atm - he's one of the "Blacklisted" players from the T&T national team thanks to a row about outstanding money from the 2006 World Cup.

Couple more for the list:

Darren Mansaram is now at Leigh Genesis in Conference North (Blue Square North)
Fergal Harkin turns out for Dunston Federation Brewery in non-League football in Northeast England

Dave Morrison did his cruciate earlier last season for the Solihull Moors (the new name for Moor Green post merger with Solihull Borough) - hopefully he'll be back this season

charliesboots
10/07/2008, 11:20 AM
Prove it......

Hallows is definitely an Elvis impersonator btw

http://www.luso.u-net.com/squad045.htm

# Marcus HALLOWS (d.o.b. 7 July 1975, height 6ft 1in, weight 12st 9lb)

Bolton-born Marcus (left, with Jamie Almond) is a tall, mobile striker who signed on 21 Nov. 2003 on loan from Chorley before signing on non-contract terms on 17 Feb. 2004. After a spell at Leigh RMI, he was with Bolton Wanderers (1995/96 -their first season in the Premiership), then Stockport County, Sligo Rovers (98/99) and St Patrick's Athletic (Ireland, 99/00). He was at Leigh (2001-02) before going to Stalybridge Celtic (2002-03) from where he went on loan to Lancaster City in January 2003. In October 2002 Marcus was stretchered off against Alty, when playing for Celtic, with a dislocated shoulder and fractured arm. Marcus scored on his full league debut for Alty at Moss Lane, against Radcliffe. However, in early 04-05 he only started on the bench but after getting his chance he scored regularly once again. Nevertheless, he was again cast in a substitute's role in early 2005. Outside football, Marcus is an accomplished Elvis Presley impersonator! A badly broken leg against Ashton United sidelined Marcus on 19 March 2005. App's to June 2004: 28(+2), goals 11.

12/07/2008, 8:09 PM
Jamie McKenzie(Sligo Rovers) has signed for Apollon FC Limassol in Cyprus.

12/07/2008, 8:31 PM
Jamie McKenzie(Sligo Rovers) has signed for Apollon FC Limassol in Cyprus.

"those irish beat us! We must sign one of them."

90minutes
20/07/2008, 6:31 PM

"those irish beat us! We must sign one of them."

he's scottish ;)

20/07/2008, 6:53 PM
he's scottish ;)He's referring to Cork City beating Apollon.

Anyway, it turns out it's Aris Limassol he's signed for, not Apollon.

Tenderloins
06/08/2008, 12:29 PM
I see ex Bohs striker Andrey Pereplotkin has joined Derby on loan.

finnpark
07/08/2008, 9:26 PM
Alan Bennet released by Reading. Im sure Mattews will be sniffing around. :)

Good signing the above for Derby, I wish more LOI would look to Latvia, Estonia and Lituania etc and take their best players.

TheBoss
07/08/2008, 9:28 PM
That is the next step for improvement, to get players from those eastern european nations, those you mentioned, and maybe Belarus, Poland etc.

07/08/2008, 9:33 PM
Cork have some Latvian guy who played/plays for FK Riga on trial with them this week apparently. Ginst Freimanis.

finnpark
07/08/2008, 10:21 PM
That is the next step for improvement, to get players from those eastern european nations, those you mentioned, and maybe Belarus, Poland etc.

Yeah Belarus and Moldova. Can't be any dearer than many of the players here. If we get their best players we could rise very quickly

08/08/2008, 10:14 AM
And Bohs signed an FK Riga player after playing them in the InterToto (though curiously, there was no condemnation of the club as when Gent signed Dominic Foley two weeks after meeting in the same competition :) )

Pat's signed some Polish lad too. We've had a few Hungarians in the past, a Romanian last year and had a Slovakian on trial this year until it turned out he lied about his position.

09/08/2008, 10:46 PM
Mark Boyd(Ex-Rovers) is with Barrow AFC in England.

finnpark
09/08/2008, 10:54 PM
Roy O'Donovan has gone on loan to lowly Dundee Utd for the season.

Salmon playing full game for Kilmarnock in their victory.

10/08/2008, 7:27 PM
Roy O'Donovan has gone on loan to lowly Dundee Utd for the season.

They're former UEFA Cup runners up and European Cup semi finalists.