View Full Version : Top 10 Sitcoms?

01/03/2007, 8:34 AM
Following on from the thread on Ed Byrne I was wondering what sitcoms people rate. Heres my list:

1. Curb your enthusiasm
2. Seinfeld
3. Frasier
4. Only Fools and Horses (The Grandad Years especially)
5. Citizen Smith
6. Cheers (Particularly the first three seasons)
7. Friends (Again the early ones are the best. Particularly season 2-5, all goes pearsheaped when Chandler annd Monica break up one of the best double acts ever.)
8. Blackadder (2, 3 and goes fourth)
9. My name is Earl
10. That 70's show.

RogerMilla
01/03/2007, 8:40 AM
Father ted has to make it into any top ten , you can just watch them over and over , likewise Red Dwarf and Blackadder 2 3 and goes forth.

01/03/2007, 8:44 AM
Another excellent current one is EVERYONE LOVES RAYMOND and of course how did you forget FAWLTY TOWERS?

01/03/2007, 8:48 AM
D'oh I new I'd forget some. Ted and Fawlty Towers are quality. ELR is good but not good enough to be considered for the top 10 IMO.

01/03/2007, 9:00 AM
Arrested Development, one of the best comedies ever and also one of the most underrated.

01/03/2007, 9:01 AM
Scrubs and The Green Wing would get into my list too

Roadend
01/03/2007, 9:01 AM
The Royle Family, great stuff while it lasted.

endabob1
01/03/2007, 9:05 AM
Everyone Loves Raymond is bland canned crap churnned out by the US Networks. Friends is simply not funny, as a sit-com it needs to be comedic, I have never laughed during an episode of friends, ever.
Off the top of my head the comedy's I have most enjoyed in recent(ish) years
Blackadder, Fawlty Towers, Cheers, Fraiser, Only Fools, The Office, Father Ted, Black Books, Ab Fab, Kath & Kim, Bottom & oops I almost forgot the Royale Family

01/03/2007, 9:12 AM
Cant believe I forgot about Kath & Kim, Bottom and The Royal Family.

(adding them to my list quick smart!)

01/03/2007, 9:13 AM
In no particular order
Scrubs
Cheers
Fraiser
Father Ted
Simpsons (does it count?)
Blackadder, esp The Second and Goes Forth, didn't care much for the 1st series
Only Fools And Horses
Shameless (well it makes me laugh!!)
Fawlty Towers
3rd Rock From The Sun

01/03/2007, 9:25 AM
Friends is simply not funny, as a sit-com it needs to be comedic, I have never laughed during an episode of friends, ever.
... Ab Fab,

Ab Fab is simply awful IMO. Thats taste for ye. Different strokes for... Whatchyou talkin about willis?

Third Rock was pretty funny in a goofy sort of way.

I've never seen Arrested Developement, Kath and Kim or Black Books.

Neish
01/03/2007, 9:44 AM
In no priticular order

Alan Partridge
Curb your enthusiasm
Arrested Devlopment
The Simpsons(If it doesn't count Peter Kay's Phoenix Nights)
Farther Ted
Only Fools & Horses
Spaced
Black Books
Blackadder
The Office

Neish
01/03/2007, 9:46 AM
Arrested Development, one of the best comedies ever and also one of the most underrated.
Agree 100% But thats why I like it you can show it to people and get them hooked too

01/03/2007, 9:48 AM
In no order apart from Arrested Development being No 1

Arrested Development
The Office
Fawlty Towers
Father Ted
Seinfeld

Curb Your Enthusiasm
Extras
The US Office
Larry Sanders Show
Scrubs

If the Simpsons is allowed thats in and Scrubs is out

Newryrep
01/03/2007, 9:49 AM
Following on from the thread on Ed Byrne I was wondering what sitcoms people rate. Heres my list:

1. Curb your enthusiasm
2. Seinfeld

Bohs

after your first 2 i cnt believe there is no Larry Sanders ?

01/03/2007, 10:23 AM
Bohs

after your first 2 i cnt believe there is no Larry Sanders ?

Again have never seen that one. Must check it and a few of these others out.

First
01/03/2007, 10:33 AM
Ideal and a new one on BBC3 called Thieves Like Us.

ollie
01/03/2007, 10:49 AM
Top 6
Father Ted
Men Behaving Badly
Fawlty Towers
The Office
Bottom
Blackadder

01/03/2007, 10:58 AM
In some form of order

1. Seinfeld
2. Curb Your Enthusiasm
3. Arrested Devolpment
4. Spaced
5. Peep Show
6. Blackadder (2, 3 and Goes Fourth)
7. Father Ted
8. Black Books
9. Frasier
10. The Office

although I'd like to have put Only Fools, Men Behaving Badly, Fawlty Towers, Phoenix Nights and Larry Saunders in there too

01/03/2007, 11:00 AM
In no particular order.

Curb
Cheers
Frasier
Seinfeld
The Office
Fawlty Towers
Only Fools & Horses
Father Ted
Larry Sanders Show

Cartoons are not sit-coms so don't count.

Everyone Loves Raymond must be the best example of hit US show that could never attract a UK-Irish audience.

01/03/2007, 11:03 AM
Father Ted, Only Fools and Horses, Red Dwarf. Another one that I didn't watch at the time but enjoy it when I see it now is The Vicar of Dibley. It's on Living TV lately and I've found it enjoyable when I watch it.

01/03/2007, 11:04 AM
Father Ted, Only Fools and Horses, Red Dwarf. Another one that I didn't watch at the time but enjoy it when I see it now is The Vicar of Dibley. It's on Living TV lately and I've found it enjoyable when I watch it.

Forgot about the many teenage years spent watching Red Dwarf in the graveyard shift on RTE2, quality show

01/03/2007, 11:05 AM
Father Ted
I'm Alan Partridge
The Office
Blackadder
Frasier
Friends
Scrubs
My Name is Earl
Simpsons
South Park

01/03/2007, 11:07 AM
1) Seinfeld
2) Seinfeld
3) Seinfeld
4) Seinfeld
5) Seinfeld
6) Seinfeld
7) Seinfeld
8) Seinfeld
9) Seinfeld
10) Porridge

01/03/2007, 11:17 AM
Don't like putting order on these things so

- Simpsons (Of course it counts!)
- Seinfeld
- Arrested Development
- Phoenix Nights
- Curb Your Enthusiasm
- The Office (UK + US = 1 show for these purposes) :p
- Father Ted
- Larry Sanders Show
- Only Fools + Horses
- South Park (again IT COUNTS :D )/I'm Alan Partridge - couldn't decide...

Other notable mentions - Futurama, Cheers, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers, Black Books, One Foot in the Grave, Bottom.

Man, we're all very unoriginal aren't we - goes to show that some shows are just universally loved.

Here's a few great ones that haven't been mentioned

Going back a bit - Dad's Army, Steptoe & Son, Porridge, Police Squad!, that Andy Richter one

Here's the BBC :rolleyes: list from a few years back:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sitcom/winner.shtml

THE TOP 10 SITCOMS

Only Fools and Horses (22.2%)
Blackadder (18.3%)
Vicar of Dibley (13.8%)
Dad's Army (11.3%)
Fawlty Towers (11.2%)
Yes Minister (8%)
Porridge (pictured) (6.1%)
Open All Hours (4.4%)
The Good Life (2.6%)
One Foot in the Grave (2%)

Vicar of Dibley (13.8%) - Seriously, what the f is going on there?

01/03/2007, 11:19 AM
In no particular order.

Curb
Cheers
Frasier
Seinfeld
The Office
Fawlty Towers
Only Fools & Horses
Father Ted

In one half of a Christmas Tree order, you mean. :)

01/03/2007, 11:20 AM
Those crazy BBC people only putting in BBC comedies.

endabob1
01/03/2007, 11:37 AM
Ab Fab is simply awful IMO. Thats taste for ye. Different strokes for... Whatchyou talkin about willis?

Third Rock was pretty funny in a goofy sort of way.

I've never seen Arrested Developement, Kath and Kim or Black Books.

Indeed t'wood be a bit dull if we all agreed on everything, this place would be a morgue. I accept my hatred of Friends borders on the irational, moving the box set from the Comedy section to drama in HMV was the all time low.....

Check out Kath & Kim it's Australian but the bbc have picked it up, I find it very amusing, Black Books is Dylan Moran if you like his stand up stuff you'll like it otherwise I'd skip it personally I love it.

01/03/2007, 11:37 AM
Think he was pointing out Vicar of Dibley being ahead of the likes of Porridge and Fawlty Towers

01/03/2007, 12:42 PM
Think he was pointing out Vicar of Dibley being ahead of the likes of Porridge and Fawlty Towers

Fr. Ted was No. 11 in the voting - how convenient...:D

The Beeb's pride and joy, The Office, was a long way down the list surprisingly enough. People forget that it got far, far less viewers than BBC1 rubbish like that Ardal O'Hanlon superhero thing or My Family (as alluded to on Extras)

01/03/2007, 12:54 PM
The Royle Family, great stuff while it lasted.
God, that was one of the biggest loads of drivel I've ever spent about two minutes watching! Load of knackers sitting around the telly farting. Didn't watch much more than that, to be honest...

No order again (although most have been mentioned by now) -

Blackadder
Father Ted
Red Dwarf (hugely underrated show)
Fawlty Towers
Mr Bean?
Up Pompeii is good craic
Don't see why The Simpsons and Family Guy aren't sit coms. The Simpsons is mentioned as an example numerous times in the Wikipedia article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sitcom) on sitcomes, for instance.

Not a big fan of American comedies as a general rule though.

01/03/2007, 1:00 PM
Everyone Loves Raymond must be the best example of hit US show that could never attract a UK-Irish audience.

Each to their own but I find it funny, especially the quips of the hen-pecked father (the actor died recently).

What about Rab C Nesbitt? I used to enjoy that as well when I could understand what he was saying.

Cheers I could watch without finding it hilarious.

Spudd
01/03/2007, 1:10 PM
Any of ye watching 'heroes' at the moment? Ive watched the series online and its a cracking show. Tipped to be the next big thing over here...

01/03/2007, 1:29 PM
Anyone ever used to watch Sgt.Bilko/The Phil Silvers show on BBC? Still quality comedy despite it being 50 years old

01/03/2007, 1:34 PM
Anyone ever used to watch Sgt.Bilko/The Phil Silvers show on BBC? Still quality comedy despite it being 50 years old

Brilliant stuff. One of the greats and still hilarious 50 years later.

01/03/2007, 1:36 PM
I generally like non-mainstream comedy & eventhough I have Arrested Development a chance I could not stick with it.

With a few exceptions the US still produces the best sit-coms probably due to vast quality of shows the produce rather than anything else as theres a massive amount of rubbish out there too.

01/03/2007, 1:53 PM
Only fools and horses
Fawlty Towers
Cheers
Frasier
The Office
Fox News

01/03/2007, 2:53 PM

Gah! Knew I was forgetting something - take one of my top 10 out and stick the Phil Silvers show in instead. :)

01/03/2007, 3:00 PM
Happy days watching Bilko with my Grandad as a little pup. Timeless indeed.

01/03/2007, 3:15 PM
Scrubs (easily my number one)

others in no particular order:
Arrested Development
Everybody Loves Raymond
Oliver Beene
Frasier
Open All Hours
Fawlty Towers
Shameless
I'm Alan Partridge/Knowing Me, Knowing You
Father Ted

Calcio Jack
01/03/2007, 3:17 PM
1. Green Acres
2. bilko
3.F Troop
4.Curb y e
5.Blackadder
6.Frasier
7.Wanderly Wagon
8.Fr.Ted
9.Cheers
10.Any televised FAI press conference

01/03/2007, 3:28 PM
Watch the lads behind Bilko trying to not bust their ass laughing. Silvers ad-libbing was always brilliant and this is no different. Classic!

aS2EvmZVTyc

01/03/2007, 3:34 PM
Ridiculously few mentions for Peep Show here

Everybody, Go Watch!!!

Dotsy
01/03/2007, 3:35 PM
In no particular order

Blackadder
Porridge
Only Fools
Fawlty Towers
Bottom
Frasier
The Young Ones
Bilko
Fr Ted
Yes Minister/PM

Newryrep
01/03/2007, 3:47 PM
Rising damp must be in there although it is ITV which is a barren wasteland for comedies - actually ITV is an barren wasteland for anything remotely funny/interesting

01/03/2007, 3:48 PM
Ridiculously few mentions for Peep Show here

Everybody, Go Watch!!!
I can't stand that show at all. I have a big problem with Mithcell & Webb. Their sketchshow on Channel 4 was absolutely terrible.

01/03/2007, 4:06 PM
Watch the lads behind Bilko trying to not bust their ass laughing. Silvers ad-libbing was always brilliant and this is no different. Classic!

:D Was just about to post that up myself - "Just a minute, sir. I think he's calling for another lawyer!"

01/03/2007, 4:15 PM
Curb - The Grand Opening (don't watch or rather listen to if easily offended) :cool:

LTmHS-T5dLA

If you are allowing cartoons i'd have to add South Park. :)

Possibly my favourite tv moment of recent years. The Mommy mommy line never fails to bring a smile. :D

Curb - The Doll

-B3oC6yWY0A

01/03/2007, 4:33 PM
I can't stand that show at all. I have a big problem with Mithcell & Webb. Their sketchshow on Channel 4 was absolutely terrible.

:eek: :eek:

No accounting for taste I suppose :)

01/03/2007, 4:43 PM
Not really a big Webb and Mitchell fan , but thisalways cracked me up:D
qjOZtWZ56lc