View Full Version : Bohs V Rovers to be postponed because of Welsh hooligans?

Paulie
28/02/2007, 10:24 AM
This was on Unison..........

Dublin derby fears over Welsh clash
Wednesday February 28th 2007
ADVERTISEMENT

GARDAI advice could lead to the postponement of the March 23 clash of Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers due to concerns about Welsh football hooligans arriving for the following day's international with Ireland at Croke Park.

Bohs and Rovers officials will meet with the FAI and Gardai today to discuss a possible re-arrangement of the first meeting between the Dublin rivals after the Hoops return to the top flight.

The Gardai are believed to want to channel their energies into the Welsh match that weekend after discussions with their counterparts in Cardiff provided evidence that known trouble makers are planning to make the journey to Dublin.

Football in Wales has traditionally suffered problems with hooligan elements. Supporters of Cardiff City were recently banned from attending Championship games away to Wolves after the Midlands' club cited trouble with Bluebirds supporters in previous fixtures at Molineux.

The Dublin derby is likely to be moved back by three days until Monday 26th March. There is normally a large police presence for the fixture and there were disturbances prior to an FAI Cup match between the sides last year

Sumac
28/02/2007, 12:04 PM
Worrying on the back of such a great occassion for the English rugby game - The sort of press we would hope to avoid

28/02/2007, 12:08 PM
All due to the cops incompetence. Absolutely clueless. This derby has been completely ruined. Used to look forward to it but now.........

28/02/2007, 1:16 PM
As long as they move it to Monday and not to Good Friday as rumoured as I am away in Scotland on Good Friday.

28/02/2007, 1:31 PM
I don't think you can blame the Garda , more like the foocking idiots that call themselves fans. I hate going to these games now and actualy might not bother!!!

I'm sure there must be a hockey game on you could go to instead. :rolleyes:

hoops1
28/02/2007, 3:48 PM
Its on the Tuesday April 3 Official!

28/02/2007, 4:15 PM
Is it really that bad at it lads??

I really hope there wont be any trouble at the international, particularly after how well the two rugby weekends went.

28/02/2007, 4:17 PM
All due to the cops incompetence. Absolutely clueless. This derby has been completely ruined. Used to look forward to it but now.........

If there wasn't trouble at Bohs-Rovers games...

28/02/2007, 4:29 PM
As long as they move it to Monday and not to Good Friday as rumoured as I am away in Scotland on Good Friday.

Snap!!! Are you stalking me?

This game had the potential to have a huge crowd and a cracking atmosphere, to be a real advertisement for real football. Playing it midweek is a disaster.

If there wasn't trouble at Bohs-Rovers games...

True but the policing at these games is totally inadequate. They need to divert traffic from Doyles corner for 20 minutes after the game, physically block the St and make fans leave the area in different directions. The same can easilly be done at Tolka.

reder
28/02/2007, 10:27 PM
Believe it or not, a mate of mine who is coming down from the north for the international and 2 or my LFC welsh mates who are coming over were planning on going to this. We had just agreed yesterday that we would all be able to meet up in time for it.

Its probably for the best though. The welsh have a right good bunch of lads. The police here wouldnt have a clue how to handle them being honest. They would wipe the floor with the teeny hoolies you see around Dublin. It would carry on into the next day as well.

The last thing football in Ireland needs is violence at an international and I personally fear that this is very possible with the welsh. The welsh have it in their heads that we (well the FAI) are taking the p1ss out of them with the price we are charging them for a temporary seat on the northern terrace and I strongly suspect they will let us know about it come match day.

28/02/2007, 10:54 PM
They would wipe the floor with the teeny hoolies you see around Dublin.

Not necessarily a bad thing. ;)

galwayhoop
28/02/2007, 11:00 PM
The welsh have it in their heads that we (well the FAI) are taking the p1ss out of them with the price we are charging them for a temporary seat on the northern terrace and I strongly suspect they will let us know about it come match day.

i think you'll find it's called Hill 16!

if the welsh are entitled to bring hooligans to an international game because they think the FAI are taking the p1ss out of them with one off ticket prices then are we entitled to cause a wholescale riot, plunder merrion square and murder the entire FAI senior exectutive because of the p1ss taking in relation to Stan, Saipan, Croker package prices....etc,etc
ans: NO

the welsh might be a good old bunch according to you reder but if they are bringing hooligans over here to cause havoc because of ticket prices (flimsy excuse BTW) then they are no better than common run of the mill scum bags.

football fans welcome, góbshítes píss off

Dublin12
01/03/2007, 8:33 AM
Believe it or not, a mate of mine who is coming down from the north for the international and 2 or my LFC welsh mates who are coming over were planning on going to this

Same as that,I have 2 Welsh mates coming over from London and we were gonna go to the Bohs /Rovers game on the Friday.Was looking forward to that as I was at the cup game s last season and they were good matches and atmosphere,apart from the result like.

01/03/2007, 8:35 AM
You do realise Bohs are playing that day too! Or is just ROvers you want to see ;)

01/03/2007, 9:09 AM
I know they are they are playing Sligo Rovers but if I had a choice to miss either game it would be the Sligo Rovers match. But obviously I should be stoned to death outside Dalymount for missing a match.

01/03/2007, 9:44 AM
Agreed ;)

Sligo Hornet
01/03/2007, 10:34 AM
I know they are they are playing Sligo Rovers but if I had a choice to miss either game it would be the Sligo Rovers match. But obviously I should be stoned to death outside Dalymount for missing a match.

Too frightened to witness the inevitable defeat eh?:D

01/03/2007, 10:41 AM
Nah the lack of drink available on Good Friday

01/03/2007, 10:47 AM
You do realise Bohs are playing that day too! Or is just ROvers you want to see ;)

Did you not read the post, Dodge - he won't get to see Rovers, he'll be in Scotland.

01/03/2007, 10:52 AM
True but the policing at these games is totally inadequate. They need to divert traffic from Doyles corner for 20 minutes after the game, physically block the St and make fans leave the area in different directions. The same can easilly be done at Tolka.

Its easy to do at Tolka as feck all traffic on the road outside it.

Where exactly would you divert traffic from Doyles Corner to? :eek:

It might make sense if ye got decent crowds but can't be justified for 2000-3000 people.

01/03/2007, 10:58 AM
Too frightened to witness the inevitable defeat eh?:D

No he's probably just doubtful whether Sligo will have enough players to field a team! :p

Its easy to do at Tolka as feck all traffic on the road outside it.

Where exactly would you divert traffic from Doyles Corner to? :eek:

I meant traffic heading towards Glasnevin and to block off the road as you head up to the SC. Traffic could easily be diverted down some of the other streets.
On games at Tolka, last year in the cup Bohs fans had to exit from the Ballybough end even though the majority were heading north while the Rovers fans were let out the Drumcondra end even though the majority of them would have been heading south.

Sligo Hornet
01/03/2007, 12:42 PM
[QUOTE=BohsPartisan;633420]No he's probably just doubtful whether Sligo will have enough players to field a team! :p

Even with our full squad ( so far 6 or 7! ) surely we would have nothing to fear?;)

01/03/2007, 2:32 PM
Even with our full squad ( so far 6 or 7! ) surely we would have nothing to fear?;)

If you say so.

youngirish
01/03/2007, 3:24 PM
Its probably for the best though. The welsh have a right good bunch of lads. The police here wouldnt have a clue how to handle them being honest. They would wipe the floor with the teeny hoolies you see around Dublin. It would carry on into the next day as well.

What about the retired (still active) terrorists, the recently released armed robbers, the heroin taking psychos who would knife you for a fiver? Try crawling out of your ar*e. The Welsh ffs. Have you ever been to Dublin? It's either totally changed or you've never been to Coolock, Summerhill, Tallaght etc. Any pr*ck can go anywhere and cause trouble. If they do they'll injure a few innocent bystanders out with their kids. The majority of people at Croker will walk away and then they'll be hammerred by the guards like the scum in 95. They really took over the city back then didn't they?

I've lived in Cardiff and the Welsh are as a whole far less aggressive and violent and more easy natured than people from the rougher areas in Dublin. There are of course some exceptions but then there are also those in Dublin. The police in Foxrock (probably where your from) probably wouldn't be able to handle them I'd say the guards in Fitzgibbon and Store Street are well used to dealing with dirt like them.

01/03/2007, 3:27 PM
I find Dublin a safe place to live in and I am not in a safe surburb like Foxrock.

Torn-Ado
01/03/2007, 3:47 PM
I'm pretty sure that when the Welsh come over, it will be a rather pleasant affair. And the same applys to when we go over to Cardiff.

youngirish
01/03/2007, 3:49 PM
I find Dublin a safe place to live in and I am not in a safe surburb like Foxrock.
Nice for you. Long may it continue.

lopez
02/03/2007, 10:22 AM
What about the retired (still active) terrorists, the recently released armed robbers, the heroin taking psychos who would knife you for a fiver? Try crawling out of your ar*e. The Welsh ffs. Have you ever been to Dublin? It's either totally changed or you've never been to Coolock, Summerhill, Tallaght etc. Any pr*ck can go anywhere and cause trouble. If they do they'll injure a few innocent bystanders out with their kids. The majority of people at Croker will walk away and then they'll be hammerred by the guards like the scum in 95. They really took over the city back then didn't they? Well said. Football hooligans. 99% a bunch of w*nkers. Great for smashing up bars in foreign countries, knowing that it will be easier to get a free trip home than serve the time the locals get.

As for the Welsh kicking ar*es all over Dublin? People reading too much hooly porn for their own good. Even the scum couldn't manage any of that, not that most of them could 'fight' their way out of a crisp bag. Breaking up wooden chairs and chucking them from afar or taking three of them to beat up a geriatric steward. Yeah they're f*cking hard. Grow up some of you, for f*ck's sake!:rolleyes:

Dunno if the Gards can prevent trouble (which is another worrying problem), but I remember when the Scum were last here, they certainly had no trouble dealing with them with, let's say, a hands on (more like batons on) approach. Personally, I think this is a huge overreaction. Probably more usefull in protecting innocent ordinary Welsh fans from Rovers/Bohs hoolies who are fed up with fighting themselves.

Beavis
02/03/2007, 10:34 AM
I remember when the Scum were last here, they certainly had no trouble dealing with them with, let's say, a hands on (more like batons on) approach.

One of the few times I've been proud of our Gardai:D

lopez
02/03/2007, 11:13 AM
One of the few times I've been proud of our Gardai:DOne of the few times that I would have paid to do a job which didn't involve adult movies or testing alcoholic beverages. :D

02/03/2007, 12:57 PM
Snap!!! Are you stalking me?

money talks?
time is money?

i dont know but 20 mins seem nothing really

reder
04/03/2007, 9:03 PM
What about the retired (still active) terrorists, the recently released armed robbers, the heroin taking psychos who would knife you for a fiver? Try crawling out of your ar*e. The Welsh ffs. Have you ever been to Dublin? It's either totally changed or you've never been to Coolock, Summerhill, Tallaght etc. Any pr*ck can go anywhere and cause trouble. If they do they'll injure a few innocent bystanders out with their kids. The majority of people at Croker will walk away and then they'll be hammerred by the guards like the scum in 95. They really took over the city back then didn't they?

I've lived in Cardiff and the Welsh are as a whole far less aggressive and violent and more easy natured than people from the rougher areas in Dublin. There are of course some exceptions but then there are also those in Dublin. The police in Foxrock (probably where your from) probably wouldn't be able to handle them I'd say the guards in Fitzgibbon and Store Street are well used to dealing with dirt like them.

Well youngirish, im from the leafy suburb of liverpool know as Speke which had 80% un-employment when I was growing up and I now live in a west Dublin. Hooliganism has nothing to do with where your from or how well off you are. The Chelsea headhunters are probably the most active PL firm and they are from west london.

Well I was at the game in 1995 and i remember walking through a deserted O' Connell street after the game.

I agree with NeilMD also, I find Dublin a very safe place to live. I dont feel threatened by pimply little teens and junkies.

PS: I have never been involved or encouranged hooliganism in anyway. I think it is moronic beyond belief.