View Full Version : Sligo weekender 27 Feb - Rovers event cancelled

d rovers
28/02/2007, 7:44 AM
From the Weekender:

O’Connell St. traders block carnival plan

A carnival planned by Sligo Rovers for this coming Saturday has been cancelled because of objections from O’Connell Street traders.
Jugglers, fire-eaters, and sumo wrestlers were due to perform at the event, which was organised to celebrate the start of the Eircom League season, and Tohers sponsorship of Rovers for the coming season.
“We are very disappointed,” said Sinead Fraher, Sligo Rovers promotions officer.
“The timing would have been good with the start of the league. We wanted to give something back to the community especially the children who support us.”
Traders objected to the plans at a meeting of the O’Connell Street Traders Association last Tuesday evening. They felt it was short notice to be informed about the carnival less than two weeks before it was to go ahead.
However, it was agreed at the meeting that the Rovers carnival should go ahead at a later date, said spokesman Tony Wehrly, of Wehrly Bros. Jewellers.
“There is no animosity towards Rovers,” he said.
Traders at the meeting were not aware that the carnival was fully organised and that it was planned to coincide with the start of the league, he said.
“Furthermore, there was no row about the carnival at the meeting. It was more a discussion about the whole plan for the street now that it has been pedestrianised”.
Ms Fraher said: “I can totally understand their concerns. It is in the past now though. We hope Sligo Rovers can work with the traders to agree on another date,” she added.
The traders plan to draw up a charter setting out what type of events can be held on the street.
“We need to get the right mix of events. Sometimes they are great for business and sometimes
they are awful for business,” said Mr Wehrly.
“Traders agree that where possible events should coincide with festivities like St. Patrick’s Day, the summer, or Easter,” he added.
They asked the Sligo Borough Council to draw up a charter for them after the street was pedestrianised.
But the council felt the traders should draw up a charter of what they wanted and liaise with them to finalise the document.
The council and the traders have had no contact on the issue of a charter since the street was pedestrianised, said Tom Brennan, senior of Sligo Borough Council.

Fair play to Rovers for organising the event, & it is typical of the O'Connell St traders to object. Sligo's anti everything that doesn't line their pockets mafia strikes again.....

red metal
28/02/2007, 8:25 AM
First of all fair play to sligo rovers for organising the event.But it is typical of the O'Connell St traders to object.I cant see the problem when most of the people from town now spend there hard earned cash in the new shopping center.you would have thought that the traders in o connell street.would have been happy to get a few extra hundered people in around o connell st.Well as d rover said the O Connell st mafia strike again!

Redzer
28/02/2007, 9:34 AM
I will on a point of principle avoid any shopping in that area from now on. Anyone else want to boycott these so called "business people"?

Bravo
28/02/2007, 10:15 AM
Ya agree that the traders are acting the ******, but yet again Rovers prove they couldn’t organise a ****ing thing properly!!

28/02/2007, 10:34 AM
What a bunch of *******.

Fivesilver
28/02/2007, 10:59 AM
Short notice? Two weeks? :confused:
It's not like it was going to be Mardi Gras, for god's sake.

It's one thing that it's hard enough for a place the size of Sligo to drum up financial support of the kind you can expect in Galway or Cork, but it would be nice if the local business community didn't actively hinder the club.

Some things never change. The Showgrounds should have had a clubhouse decades ago, but again there were objections.

The O'Connell St traders should be let know - in a civil and legal manner, of course, but in no uncertain terms - that they're out of order with this. Just a little bit of flexibility would have done. As Ms Fraher pointed out, they've spoiled a good day out for the kids who represent the future of the club's support.

And lads, there's no point in blaming the club for everything. If they had given them five years' notice, they still would have come up with some excuse.

Other towns have businesses that support their local club. We have a club with nearly 80 years' history and tradition, and a shower of greedy control freaks pulling the rug from under it.

28/02/2007, 11:08 AM
Its the same old small town attitudes , that have been holding Sligo back for so long.

d rovers
28/02/2007, 11:47 AM
spot on Fivesilver, totally agree. i'm disappointed but not surprised with the attitude of the O'Connell St traders. i don't think you can blame the club, no amount of foresight would lead you to work out that the local business owners would not like an event outside their doors that may bring more punters to that shopping area. fair play to Sinead Fraher and the club for organising the event, pity it won't be going ahead as planned this weekend.

Fivesilver
28/02/2007, 5:40 PM
Boycott the O'Connell St traders, I say . . . and don't forget to get all your johnnies in Tohers. :D

28/02/2007, 6:00 PM
****in always the way in sligo

28/02/2007, 9:05 PM
Wont ever shop in Wehrly's again.

28/02/2007, 9:06 PM
Boycott the O'Connell St traders, I say . . . and don't forget to get all your johnnies in Tohers. :D

why would tohers have been opposed to it?
loads of free advertising for them..

Fivesilver
28/02/2007, 9:08 PM
why would tohers have been opposed to it?

:confused: :confused: :confused:

28/02/2007, 9:27 PM
Tohers weren't opposed to it Brewer. fivesilver is saying to buy stuff there to give them more business, not boycott. Read what's said before you type!

28/02/2007, 9:32 PM
Tohers weren't opposed to it Brewer. fivesilver is saying to buy stuff there to give them more business, not boycott. Read what's said before you type!

ah rite!

sligoman, that means ull have to get ur viagra there as well:p ;)

red metal
01/03/2007, 8:29 AM
class!
:) :)