View Full Version : Who will win the Setanta Cup?
Shelsman
26/02/2007, 12:56 PM
Who will win the Setanta Cup?
Cork will breeze their group. It's a toss up between Derry / Drogheda and Linfield as to who will come out of that group.
26/02/2007, 12:59 PM
He hee he.
Shels fans talking about the Setanta
charliesboots
26/02/2007, 1:00 PM
Cork will breeze their group.
Without a doubt!! :rolleyes: :confused:
Ebmania
How can you not look at the saints. Added stenght to a cup final team. I really believe we can go on and win it. Derry have new team and the Drogs have the names but do they have the heart. Cork dont have a chance they just sell and pick up Crocked Journeymen.
Shelsman
Picked Cork myself -their confidence will be very high after winning their group and also having signed Colin Healy etc.
charliesboots
26/02/2007, 1:02 PM
Picked Cork myself -their confidence will be very high after winning their group and also having signed Colin Healy etc.
Proof that Shels fans are demented - must be the shock!!
Went for Dungannon Swifts myself - great chance of getting out of the group!!!
Went for City cos need some optimism.
Tonights game is dodgy though. Poor squad travelling and hardly no match practice
Hibs4Ever
26/02/2007, 1:06 PM
Who will win the Setanta Cup?
Cork will breeze their group. It's a toss up between Derry / Drogheda and Linfield as to who will come out of that group.
How you coming to that conclusion?
lofty9
26/02/2007, 1:10 PM
Linfield have been very consistent in the competition and they can't be taken lightly. I reckon Derry and Drogs will draw too many games in the group and it will be one of those two to get out of the group with Linfield. I'll go for Cork to win it though.
26/02/2007, 1:15 PM
Linfield or Drogheda. Voted Linfield. I'd put Pats ahead of Cork, unless there is something I don't know. Cork fans seem to be saying their squad is not ready/final in other threads. Fancy Dungannon to beat them tonight.
Good bet though, Swifts H/T, Cork F/T 25-1 (PP)
Red&White
26/02/2007, 1:18 PM
Linfield or Drogheda. Voted Linfield. I'd put Pats ahead of Cork, unless there is something I don't know. Cork fans seem to be saying their squad is not ready/final in other threads. Fancy Dungannon to beat them tonight.
Good bet though, Swift H/T, Cork F/T 25-1 (PP)
I went Derry, Cork and St. Pats wins, Drog-Linfield draw. EUR5 at PP pays 145.20.
26/02/2007, 1:25 PM
Derry have [a] new team No.
We.
Don't.
26/02/2007, 1:34 PM
It's the most important competition of the season for Pats - all the favourites North and South have bigger fish to fry and will be going for League titles/European success.
26/02/2007, 1:34 PM
Cork City FC.
I'd definately be predicting a Drogs- City final again anyway.
Whats with all this Pats bitterness towards City.
Get over yourselves. Its not 98/99
charliesboots
26/02/2007, 1:41 PM
Cork City FC.
I'd definately be predicting a Drogs- City final again anyway.
Get over yourselves. Its not 98/99
No it's not - I think back then you were bitter towards us as we romped to a second successive title.
No bitterness towards Cork, just think they'll be sh!te this season!!
26/02/2007, 1:47 PM
I think back then YOU were bitter towards us
Oh definately.
But what goes around . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
charliesboots
26/02/2007, 2:10 PM
Oh definately.
But what goes around . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
You should acknowledge when emphasis is added, it's standard practise!!! :D
26/02/2007, 2:16 PM
Green with envy? :p
26/02/2007, 4:07 PM
Linfield-Drogheda final, with Linfield being the winners.
Kildare Lad
26/02/2007, 4:32 PM
I have a feeling Pats could sneek it...
26/02/2007, 4:42 PM
Derry to hold three Cups at once.
26/02/2007, 4:47 PM
Fancy Dungannon to beat them tonight.
Good bet though, Swifts H/T, Cork F/T 25-1 (PP)
I seen that on the Bohs forum so I want with it :cool: ;) - also, Gary O'Neill to be top scorer!
CuanaD
26/02/2007, 4:51 PM
I think the cup could go back north again - possibly to Linfield
Shelsman
26/02/2007, 4:56 PM
Not to mention Shels! Why? Oh, I forgot, we robbed all your best players every time you did well :D .
Then we also made sure ye didn't win the league simply coz Big Pat :rolleyes: said ye should ( regardless of the rules ).
BTW Pat is looking very slim these days judging on the last photo I saw of him.
All I'll say to ye Pat's is good luck in the competition and I hope ye play well and do the league proud. Ye were magnificent representatives for a while when ye were playing in Europe -until FC Zimbru of course :eek: ( Oh well, I suppose every club has a few bad days in Europe ). I'm quite happy ( delighted in fact ) to see ANY eL team do well in non-domestic competitions.
charliesboots
26/02/2007, 5:20 PM
Not to mention Shels! Why? Oh, I forgot, we robbed all your best players every time you did well :D .
Then we also made sure ye didn't win the league simply coz Big Pat :rolleyes: said ye should ( regardless of the rules ).
BTW Pat is looking very slim these days judging on the last photo I saw of him.
All I'll say to ye Pat's is good luck in the competition and I hope ye play well and do the league proud. Ye were magnificent representatives for a while when ye were playing in Europe -until FC Zimbru of course :eek: ( Oh well, I suppose every club has a few bad days in Europe ). I'm quite happy ( delighted in fact ) to see ANY eL team do well in non-domestic competitions.
Finding it very difficult not to burst out laughing reading this. Actually finding it very difficult to take anybody seriously who defended Ollie (and actually believed it) when everybody was warning what was to come!!
Can't wait for the Setanta tonight - real football again.
jmurphyc
26/02/2007, 5:23 PM
where's the final being held this year? up north?
26/02/2007, 5:28 PM
I voted for Drogs but i want Linfield to win it.
CuanaD
26/02/2007, 5:32 PM
I think the cup could go back north again - possibly to Linfield
where's the final being held this year? up north?
Depends who's in it. If there's a Northern team involved it'l be up north alright I'd say
26/02/2007, 10:05 PM
Shels fans talking about the SetantaWhat I find funnier is 21% of people think Pat's will win it:D.
26/02/2007, 10:10 PM
What I find funnier is 21% of people think Pat's will win it:D.
Speaking of bitterness :D
27/02/2007, 9:34 AM
Speaking of bitterness :D
How many people voted for Sligo:confused: :)
With 6 games in the group allows Cork City & Pats to start slowly, win your home games & you qualfy for the semi finals.
Drogs are screwed now after losing at home & Derry & Linfield are in firm pole position in that group.
Didn't see much of last nights game but i fancy Linfield although they may need to get a home semi final draw.
27/02/2007, 10:28 AM
Drogs lost two group matches last year although this year they're in a tougher group.
27/02/2007, 11:26 AM
With 6 games in the group allows Cork City & Pats to start slowly, win your home games & you qualfy for the semi finals.
Drogs are screwed now after losing at home & Derry & Linfield are in firm pole position in that group.
Didn't see much of last nights game but i fancy Linfield although they may need to get a home semi final draw.
How could Pats winning 3-0 be described as starting slowly?
ndrog
27/02/2007, 12:21 PM
How are we screwed ? we went to the brandywell and windsor and beat them both last season .We are well capable of getting positive results up north .We deserved a draw last night .Only for that cork langer of a ref robbed us again :mad: Great result for you against the mighty dungannon :D
27/02/2007, 12:30 PM
Well, it did take us 41 minutes to score the first goal.:D
Shelsman
27/02/2007, 12:36 PM
Drogs are screwed now after losing at home
Eh....5 out of 6 games left to play ?
Shelsman
27/02/2007, 12:38 PM
Fair enough, but it WAS Portadown you were playing ( ****e last year and obviously ****e this year too ). Fair play though and congratulations. I've always wanted to see Alan Kirby playing for one of the big clubs as he's a class act. :)
How are we screwed ?
Maybe screwed is strong term but definitely up againts it. Linfield & Derry are strong at home so while you might win there the odds are against you. The Setanta Cup is all about winning your home games. While Glens might potentially be the weakest in the group a win in the Oval won't be easy so Derry have had good start.
In any group competition a loss especially at home in the first round puts a lot of pressure on teams. If Drogs lose to Derry City away they will be more or less eliminated.
Fair enough, but it WAS Portadown you were playing
I agree. I was just making the point it wasn't a slow start for us, as Pete posted. Looking at the standard last night, ourselves and Cork should pick up maximum points home and away v the Northern teams
daniel
27/02/2007, 1:08 PM
Derry have new team and the Drogs have the names but do they have the heart.
what makes you think this:eek: we have signed rodgers, bermingham, ohalloran and moran!
Cork should pick up maximum points home and away v the Northern teams
From now on :D
Great start for Pats alright.....good for the confidence.
Our group will come down to the Pats City matches to see who wins it.
Drogs are up against it alright but from the coverage Derry were shaky enough last night so its far from over.
Ebmania
27/02/2007, 2:40 PM
Yes but new management. Total new way the club is being coached.
lofty9
27/02/2007, 2:45 PM
from the coverage Derry were shky enough last night so its far from over.
We weren't great but were never shakey. The only problem I had with last night's performance and had all last season too is the anonymity of Martyn in the midfield away from the Brandywell. Aside from that, we will only get better with more competitive games. I was unaware Cork had played so few preseaon matches, but I still see them as a threat. As I said previously Linfield will be a match for any team. As far as the Drogs are concerned I can't see them getting a draw or win at the Brandywell. We will be up for it big time, especially with the added spice of Stuart Byrne's welcome to look forward to.
Shelsman
27/02/2007, 5:24 PM
Yes but new management. Total new way the club is being coached.
On that point, I hate to say it but ye had better get used to playing 4-5-1 in anything but the first round when ye are in Europe. Fenlon has a "thou art the mightier, o European opponent!" mentality as soon as he's clear of the first round. It will be a far cry from the positive attacking football that Stephen Kenny had you playing.
Don't say I didn't warn ye :( .
27/02/2007, 5:26 PM
Kenny played 4-5-1 in Europe too.
Shelsman
27/02/2007, 5:28 PM
Kenny played 4-5-1 in Europe too.
Yes BUT he didn't play 4-5-1 LONGBALL !!!!!!!!
ndrog
27/02/2007, 11:33 PM
We weren't great but were never shakey. The only problem I had with last night's performance and had all last season too is the anonymity of Martyn in the midfield away from the Brandywell. Aside from that, we will only get better with more competitive games. I was unaware Cork had played so few preseaon matches, but I still see them as a threat. As I said previously Linfield will be a match for any team. As far as the Drogs are concerned I can't see them getting a draw or win at the Brandywell. We will be up for it big time, especially with the added spice of Stuart Byrne's welcome to look forward to.
well you didnt anticipate us beating and drawing with you in the brandeywell last season , never mind thrashing you in utd park .Keep writing us off though its great :)
28/02/2007, 4:47 AM
well you didnt anticipate us beating and drawing with you in the brandeywell last season , never mind thrashing you in utd park
Can you supply a quote? :confused: