View Full Version : Shelbourne tribute suggestions
wexfordned
23/02/2007, 4:35 PM
As Shelbourne's chairman has resigned & they are releasing a statment this eveing it would it appear the club will be no more. I think it only appropriate that all remaing clubs acknowledge this event for the first game of the season. (Obviously Kildare wont be able )
I feel a minutes silence or perhaps like in Italy one minutes clapping to mark their demise ?
23/02/2007, 4:37 PM
How about at 7:45 on March 9th, every supporter at a LOI game shouts "Told you so!"
TheSaint2002
23/02/2007, 4:41 PM
or perhaps more appropriately Champagne and party poppers for all !!!!
The old saying reap what you sow never rang more true.
McGinty
23/02/2007, 5:57 PM
the amount of people sucking on lemons here is disgraceful, like it couldnt happen to any other club in the country
23/02/2007, 6:01 PM
the amount of people sucking on lemons here is disgraceful, like it couldnt happen to any other club in the country
at least the lemons will go well with the bottles of Fosters Twist - seeing as that seems to be the only discussion that Shels fans are concerned with this evening on their forum.
"Lads - our club is just about to go to the wall - let's talk about niche beers instead!"
Drumcondra Red
23/02/2007, 6:01 PM
I wouldn't get too far ahead of myself if I were you...
23/02/2007, 6:44 PM
I wouldn't get too far ahead of myself if I were you...
I was just going to say the same thing aswell.
Student Mullet
23/02/2007, 7:31 PM
the amount of people sucking on lemons here is disgraceful, like it couldnt happen to any other club in the countryAnd no shels fan has ever called for UCD to be put out of the league.
May I propose a minute's sustained laughter before kick off in the first round of games?
Paddyfield
23/02/2007, 7:36 PM
This is a great League. The Champons are relegated. The promotion play-off winners are not promoted. The losers are. And of course, another club, who didn't make the play-off's, are duly promoted.:D
What next? Soccer on Croker?
The Sheliban
23/02/2007, 7:38 PM
I thought we were amalgamating all the "lets all laugh at Shels" threads?
I'll merge them all if you spare us another poem
Dermot Keely to be announced as manager;)
stickyjoe
23/02/2007, 8:56 PM
This is a great League. The Champons are relegated. The promotion play-off winners are not promoted. The losers are. And of course, another club, who didn't make the play-off's, are duly promoted.:D
What next? Soccer on Croker?
Thats a great post. I was explaining exactly this to a german that was over on business the other day and I think he thought I was after been on the sauce all morning :)
sonofstan
23/02/2007, 9:11 PM
Well, the biggest chant tonight in Dalyer was 'Let's all laugh at Shelbourne' ; must have been odd for Owen Heary and, to a lesser extent, Crowe
Buile Shuibhne
23/02/2007, 9:15 PM
Mark Twain
24/02/2007, 12:12 AM
Mark TwainA good walk spoiled?
Lads lay off Shels. They have paid the debt. I been thinking about this for the last few weeks and I for one don't want to see Shels go out of existance. The vast majority of Shels fans are exactly the same as every other LOI fan. They love their club and I'm sure they are disgraced with the way Ollie etc ran it and the state they have left it in.It is not their fault some g*b****e ran their club into the ground in a effort to make a name for himself.
In the late 90's the Finn Harps board of the time almost ran the club I love out of existance amounting huge debts of several hundred thousand in the process and most of the fans knew little or nothing about this at the time. It only the hard work of dedicated fans working in their free time that saved the club and has seen up climb back up the ladder to a brigher future.
Blame Ollie and his Cronies.
Blame the FAI.
But leave Shels and their fans alone.
it couldnt happen to any other club in the country
Correct. Why do Shels fans - instead of actually doing something about their club - just sit around moaning and maintaining that it could have happened to any other club??? Why do they think that everyone is as THICK as Ollie Byrne? Rovers is one of the best-run clubs in the country. Shels was/is a joke. Notice the difference???
Lads lay off Shels. They have paid the debt.
No, they haven't
But leave Shels and their fans alone.
The inaction of Shels fan over the last number of years, nevermiond the last few months means they are at fault too.
Also Ollie had a full board behind him (including Flood and Browne) for the majority of their overspending days.
In no way can they claim to be innocent victims
24/02/2007, 9:40 AM
Shels situation isn't as simple as Rovers. There is a football ground to the value of millions of euros involved but sure we'll raise enough money in the next few days,Give OK back what he's owed and a bit more for his trouble and tell him to be on his way :rolleyes:
Gareth
24/02/2007, 10:25 AM
I question the inaction. A number of fans at any one time has always been involved in the club on a voluntary basis. I do think that we have started putting important fan structures in place very late, but they are being put in place and you can either continue to go on about our historic inaction as you would put it, or you can recognise that there are fans out there trying to do as much as they can, but are blindly ignored so foot.ie posters can have a few rants about how crap we all are. An insult to those fans who eat, sleep and breathe the club without a pennies reward.
HulaHoop
24/02/2007, 12:24 PM
Shels situation isn't as simple as Rovers.
So thats an excuse to do nothing then is it?
Bottom line is you need 250k by March 5th to stay alive. Not a huge amount amount really. 250 fans give a grand each and get a 5 year season ticket........
24/02/2007, 12:28 PM
Best Chant I heard a dalier last night
Boom Boom the revenue are knocking on your door
Boom Boom the revenue are knocking on Your Door
CAB have your number
Shels are going under
24/02/2007, 12:51 PM
i just hope Shels will be ok... I think we might just end up spending just 1 season in the 1st division all going well.
monkey magic
24/02/2007, 2:55 PM
i just hope Shels will be ok... I think we might just end up spending just 1 season in the 1st division all going well.
i believe theres plenty of good people at shels, who realise the precariousness of the situation and try to do something about it. but its stuf like this above which make people wonder. i mean really. one season in the first?? most people dont believe shels will spend any season in the first, the club may not exist long enough to compete in the first. the fact remains that many shels fans need to seriously wake up.
LeixlipRed
24/02/2007, 8:12 PM
Ah sure we'll be back in Europe in two years, CL group stages the year after then we'll declare Tolka Park an independent nation and take our squad of world beaters to the World Cup where we'll triumph at a canter. Then Ollie will be named King of the World and we'll all get very very drunk
24/02/2007, 8:43 PM
Ah sure we'll be back in Europe in two years, CL group stages the year after then we'll declare Tolka Park an independent nation and take our squad of world beaters to the World Cup where we'll triumph at a canter. Then Ollie will be named King of the World and we'll all get very very drunk
naw..
25/02/2007, 4:28 PM
Its feasible, if you start at the last one and work backwards.
Gareth
25/02/2007, 4:41 PM
We just re-signed Jim Crawford.
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=578
Keely was on newstalk earlier. Signed Crawford and James Chambers. Said he's working hard to get any kind of squad together.
Looking for promotion within 2 years (He's signed a 2 year contract)