View Full Version : Fans Plan to save Shels?

23/02/2007, 2:21 PM
Is there anything happening?

Will Shels fold with a wimper?

23/02/2007, 2:22 PM
No its all hopeless. Nothing can be done. At least thats the gist of what I hear from Shels fans I know. :rolleyes:

23/02/2007, 2:32 PM
No its all hopeless. Nothing can be done. At least thats the gist of what I hear from Shels fans I know. :rolleyes:

Two words - TABLE QUIZ!!!

23/02/2007, 2:36 PM
they've got to start a fresh - a shels 37 if you will - they should completely break from the old regime and rent wots left of the tolka situation before attempting to set up elsewhere from scratch

the crucial thing is that they have no legal connection to Ollie or aNY OF HIS MYSTERIOUS BUSINESS ARRANGEMENTS

hoops1
23/02/2007, 2:43 PM
How much money do Shels need to raise to get them to the start of the season?

wexfordned
23/02/2007, 2:52 PM
Is there anything happening?

Will Shels fold with a wimper?

There is an online petition set up to send to the FAI. Link somewhere on shelsweb. Apparently abut 20 signatures in 2 weeks.

23/02/2007, 2:54 PM
There is an online petition set up to send to the FAI. Link somewhere on shelsweb. Apparently abut 20 signatures in 2 weeks.

Yeh, because online petitions sort out everything :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

23/02/2007, 2:55 PM
they've got to start a fresh - a shels 37 if you will - they should completely break from the old regime and rent wots left of the tolka situation before attempting to set up elsewhere from scratch

the crucial thing is that they have no legal connection to Ollie or aNY OF HIS MYSTERIOUS BUSINESS ARRANGEMENTS

That's what I was thinking - even if they get refused a D1 license they can drop out for a year or so and get their act together. This might be the easiest league in Europe to get in to - it seems all you have to do is ask nicely (Dublin City, L37, Wexford Young Fellas). A club with a new trading company (playing out of Tallaght:confused: ) with no direct connection to Ollie's shady practices would be looked on very favourably, I'm sure. Just need to come up with a name (Shelbourne 60?)

hoops1
23/02/2007, 2:58 PM
Just need to come up with a name (Shelbourne 60?)

Shelbourne P60.

Jamjar
23/02/2007, 2:59 PM
Just need to come up with a name

Shelbourne 10 million

23/02/2007, 3:01 PM
Just need to come up with a name

Shelbyrne

wexfordned
23/02/2007, 3:03 PM
Yeh, because online petitions sort out everything :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I'm sorry I forgot to post the required smiley for sarcasam. :rolleyes:

I had meant to point out that when it became apparent that shels where so deep in debt this seems to be the only public thing done by the fans to save the club

FFS on your own forum you have some of your own fans who don't even expect to pay E15 into your games next season IF you can put together a team for the 1st division.

23/02/2007, 3:09 PM
FFS on your own forum you have some of your own fans who don't even expect to pay E15 into your games next season IF you can put together a team for the 1st division.

Oh jaysis christ, I think one poster said that in order in get more fans through the turnstiles the club may to lower the prices into games :rolleyes:

23/02/2007, 3:16 PM
What clubs will Shels fans migrate to, if their own goes bang?

Seagull
23/02/2007, 3:19 PM
How much money do Shels need to raise to get them to the start of the season?

According to what I read in the paper, they must pay debts to the players of €147,000 and €104,000 to the Revenue by March 5th and also submit a new set of accounts at that stage...

wexfordned
23/02/2007, 3:21 PM
Oh jaysis christ, I think one poster said that in order in get more fans through the turnstiles the club may to lower the prices into games :rolleyes:

Whatever the symantics the princple remains the same.

Give us a rough idea then of what the Shels fans have planned then. Surely when you seen how much in debt the club was & how the club would struggle to gain any licence to remain in existence somone must have organised a fans meeting to discuss plans in the event of the worst case scenario coming to pass.

Personally if I was a shels fan the very least I would have done would have been to call a fans meeting to form a new club just in case. Its not that hard to incorporate a company. If you look in the yellow pages there are companies who specialise in this area. I have set up several companies through work only costs about E150.

hoops1
23/02/2007, 3:23 PM
According to what I read in the paper, they must pay debts to the players of €147,000 and €104,000 to the Revenue by March 5th and also submit a new set of accounts at that stage...

50 fans taking out loans of 5k each to save their club doesnt seem to far fetched.

23/02/2007, 3:27 PM
50 fans taking out loans of 5k each to save their club doesnt seem to far fetched.

Banks don't normally lend money to minors though...

HulaHoop
23/02/2007, 3:49 PM

In the end thats all it would take but have we seen even the rumblings of an idea like this from Shels fans???

wexfordned
23/02/2007, 3:58 PM
Indeed their silence is deafening.

It shows that without their great leader to believe in/follow blindly they just wander like lost sheep, waiting to be picked off by the hungry wolves.

They also probably can't give the time required with junior cert exams coming up in a few months time

23/02/2007, 4:47 PM
I was genuinely not trying to wind anyone up. Was hoping some Shels inform that something happening...

1 9 2 8
23/02/2007, 6:06 PM
It just goes to show BD say they are an Ultras group but when their club needs them...

24/02/2007, 9:34 AM
What clubs will Shels fans migrate to, if their own goes bang?

Why would you think we would migrate to any other club?

Also it's not like you can just show up in Dalyer and start cheering on Bohs. I'd support my local AUL club i suppose - Liffey Pearse.

24/02/2007, 9:36 AM
It just goes to show BD say they are an Ultras group but when their club needs them...

......What?

Have you any idea what BD have done for Shels during this time? Have you any idea how many members BD have? Have you any idea how many people give money out of their own pockets to fund BD?

BulmersKid
24/02/2007, 9:56 AM
......What?

Have you any idea what BD have done for Shels during this time? Have you any idea how many members BD have? Have you any idea how many people give money out of their own pockets to fund BD?

So they will give money to fund an ultras group but not money to save the club? is that what you are saying?

Gareth
24/02/2007, 9:59 AM
We have a system put in place via the SSDG where people pay money in monthly, which is a damn sight better organised than the idea of taking a 5 grand loan and handing it over to a club. So to answer your question, yes Shels fans went and formed a Development Group which other fans can join and contribute to. Now you can ignore the fact that this group exists and continue to say that Shels fans did nothing, or you can acknowledge that a bunch of fans are trying to get fans to pay monthly sums and raise money via a number of avenues, as well as taking over parts of the club like the programme and running it successfully.

But then you can continue to ignore this..

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=563

24/02/2007, 10:07 AM
So they will give money to fund an ultras group but not money to save the club? is that what you are saying?

No thats not what i'm saying. Check your PM's because i won't be drawn on this here.

wexfordned
24/02/2007, 10:22 AM
We have a system put in place via the SSDG where people pay money in monthly, which is a damn sight better organised than the idea of taking a 5 grand loan and handing it over to a club. So to answer your question, yes Shels fans went and formed a Development Group which other fans can join and contribute to. Now you can ignore the fact that this group exists and continue to say that Shels fans did nothing, or you can acknowledge that a bunch of fans are trying to get fans to pay monthly sums and raise money via a number of avenues, as well as taking over parts of the club like the programme and running it successfully.

But then you can continue to ignore this..

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=563

HOW CAN ANYONE IGNORE THIS!

Started laughing when I read it it. To quote one brilliant part :

As funds where re-directed to other areas, it is noticeable that Tolka Park, lacking its usuak sparkle, requires attention. A ground maintenance team will look into the possibiltity of refurbisihing certain areas, depending on how much longer th current Board of Management envisages us residing in Tolka Park :D

Gareth
24/02/2007, 10:27 AM
Yeah WexfordNed, a laugh a second. :rolleyes:

wexfordned
24/02/2007, 10:40 AM
In fairness I can see what you are trying to do & I say fair play. But perspnally as a non-shles fan when I read that statement after all the money Ollie squandered away, as a nuetral it sounded like something Bertie & his cronies would come out with in the dail to explain all his f**k ups

24/02/2007, 10:45 AM
Wexfordned are you suggesting we gather as much money as possible and just hand it over to the club and not ask where it's going and have no say because of it?

fauxhemian
24/02/2007, 10:52 AM
Wexfordned are you suggesting we gather as much money as possible and just hand it over to the club and not ask where it's going and have no say because of it?

I don't think anyone is suggesting that, so it's a pointless question.

The point is raising money would give you bargaining power, which could be used to change club structures and perhaps precipitate at least part ownership of the club by its fans. Decent idea no? You could discuss it with the board and say "if we raise X amount, we want X say in the club", they could take it or leave it.

Also Gareth & the other Shels fans volunteering to work/raise funds, you deserve serious respect for it and you're the only reason I hope Shels don't implode.

Gareth
24/02/2007, 10:52 AM
Wexfordned, make up your mind. On one hand you laugh at the fact no Shels fans are doing anything (which is incorrect), and on the other hand when you read that there are movements to help the club, you say do we really expect fans to help out after what Ollie did. I am confused now. :)

24/02/2007, 10:59 AM
The point is raising money would give you bargaining power, which could be used to change club structures and perhaps precipitate at least part ownership of the club by its fans. Decent idea no? You could discuss it with the board and say "if we raise X amount, we want X say in the club", they could take it or leave it.

Thats exactly what the SSDG are doing though and yet Wexfordned decided to laugh at their attempts,thats why i asked the question that you deemed "pointless"

wexfordned
24/02/2007, 11:01 AM

Where did I say that? You don't have to be a financial whizkid to know that you might as well gamble your money on a three legged horse at Cheltenham rather give any money to the shels board based on their financial management strategies.

Shels as a company are so deep in debt they are almost worthless. Also as Ollie apparently wants out surely he would accept any sort of reasonable offer from the fans for his shares. Surely the club can get enough fans to contribute to create some sort of members club based on the Bohs & more recently Rovers models.

What I was laughing at was the re-directing of funds line, being a slight understatement. I have no doubt Gareth that you & a few other fans give an awful lot of your free time voluntarily to help the club. It would seem to me & maybe a few others that you however seem to be in the minority. Time will tell I guess...............

fauxhemian
24/02/2007, 11:05 AM
Thats exactly what the SSDG are doing though and yet Wexfordned decided to laugh at their attempts,thats why i asked the question that you deemed "pointless"

No one with even a solitary functional brain cell would even suggest handing over a sum of money without wanting something in return, be it a simple guarantee or a say in the club.

But if someone was suggesting it, they are better ignored/locked up. Hence using the word "pointless" ;)

24/02/2007, 2:43 PM
The SSDG seems like too much of a club mouth piece. Have ye thought of trying to gain control of the club yourselfs?

24/02/2007, 3:01 PM
The SSDG seems like too much of a club mouth piece. Have ye thought of trying to gain control of the club yourselfs?

Have you read up on the SSDG Pete? If you have you would realise that "a club mouth piece" is exactly what they are not.

Every other league fan has been laughing at the fact that Shels fans are not doing anything to help the club,here is the visable proof that the fans actually are helping the club and it's being competely ignored and dismissed(the fact that a lot of fans are doing everything they can behind the scenes and it's not being publicised,is also lost).

24/02/2007, 4:05 PM
I personally hope Shels survive in some shape or form. It's better to be in the First Division than not to be in existence at all. If the worst comes to the worst Shels fans should support UCD for a number of reasons shown below .
1/ We play passing football the way it should be played......... just like Shelbourne .....
2/ Shels fans your team used our Home colours as your away strip this past few seasons. So you can turn up in Belfield wearing your Shels away shirts and you will fit right in
3/ Shels were founded in Dublin 4 ,...... UCD are in Dublin 4.
4/ Shels were founded in 1895 , just like UCD.
5/ There have been many players down through the years who played for both clubs e.g.
Brian Lenihan, Tony McCarthy, Dave Tilson,
6/ Shels Legend Theo Dunne is our honorary Vice President :)
7/ You can still be supporting the best team in Dublin :D

Gareth
24/02/2007, 4:08 PM
It really is a doomed if you do and doomed if you dont. We get the fans to create a body to invest time and effort into running the club etc and how its a mouthpiece. Its really very difficult to see exactly what you all are talking about us doing?

25/02/2007, 9:27 AM
Well the lottery wasn't won last night and it was worth 5 million Euros.
Maybe if a Shels fan win's Wednesday's lottery the club may survive..........

LeixlipRed
25/02/2007, 4:18 PM
The SSDG is not a club mouthpiece. You couldn't be further from the truth there. While I'm not a member for financial reasons I'm involved in the new fundraising setup. A setup which I wouldn't think twice of getting involved in if it was in anyway associated with the Board or Ollie. And there are Shels fans out there getting stuck in and attempting to do something to help the club and the SSDG. I think the SSDG is the future of the club but unfortunately a majority of Shels fans couldn't give a flying ****

26/02/2007, 2:52 PM
Indeed their silence is deafening.

It shows that without their great leader to believe in/follow blindly they just wander like lost sheep, waiting to be picked off by the hungry wolves.

POTM Classic

26/02/2007, 2:57 PM
we can just show up in Dalyer and start cheering on Bohs. .

That answers the Question so ;) ;) ;)

CuanaD
26/02/2007, 4:02 PM
Every other league fan has been laughing at the fact that Shels fans are not doing anything to help the club,here is the visable proof that the fans actually are helping the club and it's being competely ignored and dismissed(the fact that a lot of fans are doing everything they can behind the scenes and it's not being publicised,is also lost).
Great to see that the fans ARE activly working at moving the club forward through the SSDG - so, how can I support them? (as in donation)
& what are they doing to get supporters into the SSDG?

:ball: