View Full Version : Arkins in Pats' Squad
dcfc_1928
21/02/2007, 9:46 PM
When did Vinny Arkins sign for St Pats?
He is listed in the Setanta Sports Cup offical squad registration information, as being a St Pats player - squad number 22.
BohsFans
21/02/2007, 9:48 PM
you'd think Pat's would have learnt from our mistake last season?
HE CANNOT RUN ANYMORE!
21/02/2007, 9:57 PM
He is listed in the Setanta Sports Cup offical squad registration information.
Where's that?
dcfc_1928
21/02/2007, 10:02 PM
Its not online - I received it in a press release from the FAI press office.
neutrino
21/02/2007, 10:05 PM
He is listed in the Setanta Sports Cup offical squad registration information, as being a St Pats player - squad number 22.
jays. i thought he retired after giving -100 % during his season at bohs
http://elitrix.net/saints/index.php
yeah signed a few days ago, its just a squad addition and a reflection of whats available out there - ie NOBODY when it comes to strikers!
Paddyfield
21/02/2007, 10:16 PM
How old is he? He played for Shamrock Rovers in the 1991 FAI Cup Final against Galway United and I thought he looked knackered then.
21/02/2007, 10:27 PM
How old is he? He played for Shamrock Rovers in the 1991 FAI Cup Final against Galway United and I thought he looked knackered then.
Signed a short term deal. Basically cover up front for the setanta campaign. Still rubbish IMo
Paddyfield
21/02/2007, 10:33 PM
Actually, Pat Dolan was on the bench for Rovers that day. He didn't get a game.
Rovers lost!
21/02/2007, 11:10 PM
Vinny Arkins was only signed so Shels couldn't sign a striker for the start of the season. It was an up yours towards Shels. :o :o :D
kdjaC
21/02/2007, 11:12 PM
On a pay as you play deal, hes there to hold the ball up ala Keego.
OFFICIAL SQUAD REGISTRATION FORM
Club Name: St Patricks Athletic FC
Squad No. First Name Surname Position Date of Birth
1 Barry Ryan Goalkeeper 29.08.78
2 Stephen Brennan Defender 20.03.83
3 John Frost Defender 20.05.80
4 David Mulcahy Midfielder 28.01.78
5 Darragh Maguire Defender 06.02.76
6 Colm Foley Defender 30.05.79
7 Alan Kirby Midfielder 08.09.77
8 Keith Fahey Midfielder 15.10.83
9 Gary O’Neill Forward 30.01.82
10 Mark Rooney Forward 13.12.82
11 Mark Quigley Forward 27.10.85
12 Eamonn Lynch Forward
14 Michael Foley Midfielder 09.03.83
15 Anthony Murphy Midfielder 01.08.72
16 Stephen Quigley Defender 13.01.85
17 Luke Fitzpatrick Midfielder 23.01.86
18 Joseph Ndo Midfielder 28.04.76
20 Brendan Clarke Goalkeeper 17.09.85
21 Sean O’Connor Midfielder 21.10.83
22 Vincent Arkins Forward 18.09.70
23 Ryan Guy Forward 05.09.85
Club Colours First Choice Second Choice
Jersey: Red/White Wine/Blue
Shorts: White Navy
Socks White Navy
Manager: John McDonnell
Coaches: Liam O’Brien/Mick Byrne/Robbie Horgan
Physio: Christy O’Neill/Karen White
Doctor: Matt Corcoran
Kit Manager: Philip O’Neill
kdjac
21/02/2007, 11:53 PM
Vinny Arkins was only signed so Shels couldn't sign a striker for the start of the season. It was an up yours towards Shels. :o :o :D
In which case, I take it back. Best. Signing. Ever
22/02/2007, 1:37 AM
On a pay as you play deal, hes there to hold the ball up.
Does he lie on the ground with his finger on the ball like in rugby:D
22/02/2007, 1:41 AM
yeah signed a few days ago, its just a squad addition and a reflection of whats available out there - ie NOBODY when it comes to strikers!
Don't we know it up in Derry....! :(
22/02/2007, 8:32 AM
Club Colours First Choice Second Choice
Jersey: Red/White Wine/Blue
White Wine is a colour? Could it not simply be called Chardonnay?
Oh, nearly forgot.;)
22/02/2007, 8:38 AM
Ha ha, this is hilarious! Dodge was slagging us off for our signings! We can play a 2-4-4 against you, if you're going with Arkins up front!
charliesboots
22/02/2007, 8:55 AM
Ha ha, this is hilarious! Dodge was slagging us off for our signings! We can play a 2-4-4 against you, if you're going with Arkins up front!
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
We've added Ndo, O'Neill, Kirby and Guy to the squad as well as Arkins. Paisely possibly on his way too.
You would have loved any of those five aside from Arkins.
Of your signings I'd only take Healy, but not on a four year contract. Chances of Healy getting in ahead of Mulcahy, Ndo, Fahey and Mick Foley would be slim too.
22/02/2007, 9:08 AM
We've added Ndo, O'Neill, Kirby and Guy to the squad as well as Arkins. Paisely possibly on his way too.
You would have loved any of those five aside from Arkins.
Of your signings I'd only take Healy, but not on a four year contract. Chances of Healy getting in ahead of Mulcahy, Ndo, Fahey and Mick Foley would be slim too.
Ndo is as bad as McCourt! He's good for a percentage of a few games a season and rubbish for the rest.
Kirby is only able to raise his game for the odd cup tie.
O'Neill, I'd take as cover.
Guy, Arkins, Paisley, you're welcome to them!
By the way, who gave Colin Healy a 4 year contract?
The players we've brought in are secondary to the players we've managed to keep. Namely, Devine, Murray, Gamble, O'Donovan, O'Flynn, Woods, O'Brien, Softic and hopefully Hoggy.
garyderry
22/02/2007, 9:28 AM
Don't we know it up in Derry....! :(
last i looked we have 5 strikers on the books after signing two news ones :rolleyes:
I wasn't slagging the signing. I was slagging YOU Peadar for being happy with/defending the signing. As you can see above I think the signing of Arkins is stoopid.
Pats sign old man Arkins eh...
To think Shels fans criticised us for signing Healy & Farrelly...
charliesboots
22/02/2007, 10:56 AM
Ndo is as bad as McCourt! He's good for a percentage of a few games a season and rubbish for the rest.
Kirby is only able to raise his game for the odd cup tie.
O'Neill, I'd take as cover.
Guy, Arkins, Paisley, you're welcome to them!
By the way, who gave Colin Healy a 4 year contract?
The players we've brought in are secondary to the players we've managed to keep. Namely, Devine, Murray, Gamble, O'Donovan, O'Flynn, Woods, O'Brien, Softic and hopefully Hoggy.
Apologies about the four year contract, meant 2 obviously - still way too long.
Can't believe that you can emphasise the importance of Softic and O'Brien in the same post you dismiss Ndo in the manner you did.
22/02/2007, 11:16 AM
Players who've come through our youth team and featured regularly for our senior team will always rank higher than a flowery player like Ndo.
charliesboots
22/02/2007, 11:37 AM
Players who've come through our youth team and featured regularly for our senior team will always rank higher than a flowery player like Ndo.
Your right, never look to improve your squad from the outside, that's the way forward.
How many underage/youth teams do Cork City FC have as a matter of interest?
22/02/2007, 11:42 AM
Have to say like Farrelly I enjoyed Arkins last game for the minnows:D
22/02/2007, 11:59 AM
Your right, never look to improve your squad from the outside, that's the way forward.
We know what we've got with those lads. You're hoping that Ndo will manage to make more than the odd contribution.
How many underage/youth teams do Cork City FC have as a matter of interest?
Officially, we've got an U21 and an U18 squad.
22/02/2007, 12:11 PM
We know what we've got with those lads. You're hoping that Ndo will manage to make more than the odd contribution.
Officially, we've got an U21 and an U18 squad.
and an Under 17 team dont forget
charliesboots
22/02/2007, 12:59 PM
You're hoping that Ndo will manage to make more than the odd contribution.
In case you forgot we actually know what to expect given that he has played for us previously. Oh yeah...he's also the current player of the year.
yeah ....PFAI player of the year:rolleyes:
22/02/2007, 1:30 PM
I'd take Ollie Cahill over him anyday. The Real Player of the Year!
22/02/2007, 1:31 PM
Chr!st - Shels are hardly gone three days and Pats have slipped into their place on the Cork "jibe list".:eek:
22/02/2007, 1:36 PM
Chr!st - Shels are hardly gone three days and Pats have slipped into their place on the Cork "jibe list".:eek:
Newbies like you wouldn't remember the the good old days, when Internet forums weren't moderated and Pats v City was on a par with Rovers v Bohs. The slagging was top drawer!
Shels didn't even feature, except for one unnamed guy, who appeared in a photo at an Ireland game in Amsterdam, 7 years ago.
22/02/2007, 1:38 PM
I'd take Ollie Cahill over him anyday. The Real Player of the Year!
Ndo is a God!
22/02/2007, 1:41 PM
Newbies like you wouldn't remember the the good old days, when Internet forums weren't moderated and Pats v City was on a par with Rovers v Bohs. The slagging was top drawer!
Shels didn't even feature, except for one unnamed guy, who appeared in a photo at an Ireland game in Amsterdam, 7 years ago.Back when you were a Bohs fan?
Shels didn't even feature, except for one unnamed guy, who appeared in a photo at an Ireland game in Amsterdam, 7 years ago.
too fckn right
the setanta angle will re -open old wounds
22/02/2007, 1:48 PM
Back when you were a Bohs fan?
I lived in D8 before I lived in D7 so I used to go to Pats, whenever I couldn't get to see City.
too fckn right
the setanta angle will re -open old wounds
Can't wait! We haven't had much banter with your lot since you became so rubbish, after you won the Pat Dolan Imaginary League.
Will be good to get the old rivalry going again.
Ndo is a God!
Thanatos is a God too but not of anything good!
BTW agree with the Cahill comment.
He left you didn't he? Like all the good ones...
Peadar, Pats fans have been quiet recently as we've been ****. But now that the HUMONGOUS club is back and abuot to win all five trophies this year, the fans are back piping up.
I'd have thought Vinny Arkins would've been finished but there you are.
Strikers seem thin on the ground but Monaghan have a bloke (pic taken from a recent friendly against us) who's something other than that and probably available for the right money:
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/CIMG0667.jpg
admit it
#
thats chris armstrong!
Pats are only potential back on top in Dublin by default. Roveres coming back up from the wilderness & Shels lost entire squad. Giuve Bohs a could of years to get a proper team and manager & Pats will be back down as dublin minnows.
Last 10 games has 7 wins, 1 draw & 2 defeats against Supersaints means we fairly confident.
:cool:
what??!?
you sold your team to the uk for magic beanz last time I checked
we will hammer you. Dublin people are naturally superior to Cork people in football
what??!?
we will hammer you. Dublin people are naturally superior to Cork people in football
:D :D
Can't wait for Monday week.......ye're going down :p
22/02/2007, 2:56 PM
what??!?
In football and in life:D
What the record for the last 4 games pete?
Pats are only potential back on top in Dublin by default.
Cork are only the best Premier team in Cork by default also :)
kdjac
What the record for the last 4 games pete?
There can be occasional blips over shorter periods.
Ye have lost your top 2 scorers from last season & replaced with senior citizen.
Feckin close season been longest in my memory. Can't wait for Monday. :cool:
BohsFans
22/02/2007, 5:29 PM
On a pay as you play deal, hes there to hold the ball up ala Keego.
lol :D
You obviously didn't see much of him last season!
lol :D
You obviously didn't see much of him last season!
Doubt i will this season, O neill and Rooney be 1st choice.
kdjac
BohsFans
22/02/2007, 6:32 PM
Doubt i will this season, O neill and Rooney be 1st choice.
kdjac
I'm just saying, he's not gonna hold up the ball for you.
He also can't run, you might get a jog out of the old man yet! :D