View Full Version : Mancheaters united
Such a shame; i've never seen in twenty years a match of that kind.
Disgusted for life; I've seen it with my own eyes yesterday, i'm a Lille fan ok, but this is just a joke a disgrace! Beware Lille in Old trafford in two weeks, that will be a match not to be missed.
21/02/2007, 9:49 PM
What about the way the Lille players reacted? Very sporting alright:rolleyes:.
What about the way United fans were treated? Lille should be severely fined.
Giuly
21/02/2007, 10:10 PM
You were at the stadium last night to see how United Fans were threated? or just read the "sun" (what a great paper! all the truth is in it:rolleyes: ) Lille players didn't walk of the pitch; they only went to tell the assistant about their complaint; thats the way we do it in our own league!
Wether you're a Mancheater fan, and u don't give a f*ck; which i can understand, but please if sligo was in champions league (maybe one day, who knows) and that happened to them, i'm definitly sure you would feel how i feel.
lopez
21/02/2007, 10:26 PM
...the "sun" (what a great paper! all the truth is in it:rolleyes: ).It's a great British institution! :cool:
21/02/2007, 10:47 PM
Giggs asked could he take the free kick quickly, the referee allowed him to, he scored. Lille juts have sour grapes.
Gaillimh Al
21/02/2007, 10:55 PM
Sour grapes of the highest order. I've never seen anything like it. If this is what Lille are used to doing then they are a disgrace.
Deliberately kicking the ball out of play to their bench from the kick -off. Their coach waving them off the pitch and inciting missiles to be thrown. God knows what might have happened if the poor linesman had dissallowed a goal wrongly for offside. Even non-United fans I spoke to agreed their goal was rightly disallowed. Shocking.
Giuly
21/02/2007, 10:58 PM
Giggs asked could he take the free kick quickly, the referee allowed him to, he scored. Lille juts have sour grapes.
Then the referee could have been more specific, not just whispering in the ears of Giggs and Rooney.
Anyone knows that even in rugby: The brits are known for fair play.....only when they're winning.
Anyway, we'll create something on the return game.
BTW, Great game in croke park from us, against Ireland, the best Rugby side in Europe for the moment.
21/02/2007, 11:01 PM
Sour grapes of the highest order. I've never seen anything like it. If this is what Lille are used to doing then they are a disgrace.
Deliberately kicking the ball out of play to their bench from the kick -off. Their coach waving them off the pitch and inciting missiles to be thrown. God knows what might have happened if the poor linesman had dissallowed a goal wrongly for offside.
Inciting missiles to be thrown :rolleyes:
The linesman did disallow a Lille goal wrongly, that poor flower Vidic went over like he'd been shot because he wasn't going to reach the header :rolleyes:
Having said that Lilles walk-off was pure stereotypical French - Passionate but ultimately cowardly
21/02/2007, 11:03 PM
What about the way United fans were treated? Lille should be severely fined.
Lille should be fined for how the French police deal with United fans?? :rolleyes:
Quite frankly English fans can expected to be treated like filth on their travels. Maybe unfair on the decent portion but totally understandable
Giuly
21/02/2007, 11:04 PM
Deliberately kicking the ball out of play to their bench from the kick -off. Their coach waving them off the pitch and inciting missiles to be thrown. God knows what might have happened if the poor linesman had dissallowed a goal wrongly for offside. Even non-United fans I spoke to agreed their goal was rightly disallowed. Shocking.
Whyam i losing my time posting here?... U're all obviously ManUtd fans . Funny, doing a little research back in history, to see your dependance to British clubs . would be like iraqies kissing the boots of GI's...
You guys are hopeless
Gaillimh Al
21/02/2007, 11:06 PM
If a free kick is awarded anywhere else on the pitch and the team awarded want to take it quickly then the ref just lets them get on with it. No whistle, no asking the players on the other team if they are ready, nothing. Play on. So why should it be any different when it's within shooting range. The only purpose of the referee is to make sure a wall of defenders(if there is one) is 10 yeards away. If the attacking team isn't bothered about the wall, then play away......
Where is the joke and disgrace from the game last night?
And if all you are interested in is throwing insults then away with you. But an argument with some foundation would be nice.
21/02/2007, 11:07 PM
Whyam i losing my time posting here?... U're all obviously ManUtd fans . Funny, doing a little research back in history, to see your dependance to British clubs . would be like iraqies kissing the boots of GI's...
You guys are hopeless
They all have there massive English clubs
They'll jump down your throat if you suggest it tho
Armando
21/02/2007, 11:19 PM
You were at the stadium last night to see how United Fans were threated? or just read the "sun" (what a great paper! all the truth is in it:rolleyes: ) Lille players didn't walk of the pitch; they only went to tell the assistant about their complaint; thats the way we do it in our own league!
Wether you're a Mancheater fan, and u don't give a f*ck; which i can understand, but please if sligo was in champions league (maybe one day, who knows) and that happened to them, i'm definitly sure you would feel how i feel.
Coincidently, that quote is also the utter tripe that the Lille coach who was calling the players off came out with this morning. Talk about making a fool of yourself!
Gaillimh Al
21/02/2007, 11:20 PM
Ah, dont worry about him, he'll side with anything that might get a rise out of a Galway Utd fan.
21/02/2007, 11:26 PM
ludovic....cop on!
21/02/2007, 11:48 PM
Then the referee could have been more specific, not just whispering in the ears of Giggs and Rooney.
Anyone knows that even in rugby: The brits are known for fair play.....only when they're winning.
Anyway, we'll create something on the return game.
That's the way its done now with free kicks. The law is very clear, Lille should have had one man standing in front of the ball until the free taker tells the ref he wants the wall back 10m. Henry has scored at least one like that for Arsenal, surely the great man is not a cheat :)
It was astonishing that an entire team and coach playing in the last 16 of the CL did not know this basic rule.
The Brits and fair play myth. Feck that shíte, some of us know better.
Wherever their fans go around Europe somehow police have uncontrollable urges to beat them up. The scum element just attract trouble. Probably the only time I enjoy watching police beating up anybody is then.
Lille to win it at Old Trafford? go ahead, make my day.
YankExile
22/02/2007, 2:01 AM
Having said that Lilles walk-off was pure stereotypical French - Passionate but ultimately cowardly
Maybe they'd been watching the US/Mexico match?
22/02/2007, 6:48 AM
I would be no fan of Man U but why should they wait until the opposition wall is nicely in place and is encroaching before they take their free? As someone else said, a free kick any place else on the field does not need the referee's whistle. I have seen this numerous times before. The ref asks do you want the wall back and wait for the whistle and Giggs said he is ready to go. The Lille players were not alive to the danger. they were asleep. Their fault and no one else to blame.
22/02/2007, 7:59 AM
Ah, dont worry about him, he'll side with anything that might get a rise out of a Galway Utd fan.
Or indeed a ManU fan ;) :p
Fairplay tho, you didn't bite :)
22/02/2007, 8:22 AM
Lille players didn't walk of the pitch; they only went to tell the assistant about their complaint; thats the way we do it in our own league!
Your coach was waving to the players to get them to leave the pitch. That's a disgrace and you should be heavily fined for it. It's quite simple really.
Also "we only went to tell our lineman our complaint"?? That's intimidation and also unsporting. You should get fined for that also.
The sour grapes are coming from yourself by the sounds of it and no, I'm not a Man Utd supporter.
Jamjar
22/02/2007, 8:28 AM
Lille juts have sour grapes.
Thanks for the tip....I'll stick to the New World wines so.
22/02/2007, 10:25 AM
Ref was right on the free kick, Lille should have had a player standing right in front of the ball to stop them taking it quickly. Lille's disallowed goal should have been given though.
lopez
22/02/2007, 10:31 AM
You guys are hopelessOn the subject of 'British' clubs - more like English, I'd pesonally escuse anyone supporting an club founded by the Irish anywhere in the world, although supporting your local team would be more constructive - your absolutely right. It makes my blood boil, not just the Scum U and Drivelpool supporters - at least you can say they're gloryhunters - but the Notts Forest and Ipswich Town supporters. That is kissing the ar*es of the Tans (to use your allusion to soldiers). However, to be fair, there isn't normally that much sympathy on this forum for that aspect of OUR game.
Regarding the match, honestly I'd love to see Lille beat Scum U in the return byt 2 goals, but I'd have to agree with the interpretation of the free kick, :mad: although I'd doubt Lille would have got away with that in Old Trafford.
Giuly
22/02/2007, 12:12 PM
By Jean-Yves Guerin
22/02/2007
A few hours before Tuesday's match between Lille and Manchester United, I was strolling through the centre of Lille. I therefore saw the start of the chain of events beforehand: a few hundred English fans had gathered in the central square; they were all singing, which is nice. But they had drunk too much, which is less nice.
I went to get a coffee in the cafe Paul, which is well known in Lille, and the waitress told me with some concern that the English had been in the bar from 10am until 2pm and had spent more than 240 euros (£161) on drinks.
Afterwards, I took a train to Lens' Stade Bollaert and there were already plenty of drunk Englishmen in the carriages who were upsetting the passengers. In fact, some of the drivers refused to do their work and some trains were delayed.
All of this does nothing for the image of Manchester United fans. Nor do they need any help in this regard. In France, English fans are considered the most dangerous in the world.
Arriving at the Stade Bollaert, I saw the stand where the English were packed: everything was calm. The situation only escalated after about a quarter of an hour. Some supporters tried to climb the fence which separates them from the pitch. There was a great scuffle. I saw the stewards dressed in yellow then the police arrive with tear gas, which they fired at the public in that stand. The referee even stopped the match for a few seconds.
I think the French police were very nervous after the afternoon's incidents on the trains, and seeing drunk fans trying to scale the fencing must have scared them. It gave off the impression that they were going to try to invade the pitch.
The policemen and the supporters could have spoken with each other but the English don't speak French and I'm not sure that French policemen speak very good English.
The French police claim that English fans had bought tickets on the black market and that there were 5,000 people in a stand that can only hold 3,500.
We have had some problems with violence in French football before.
In November, after a Uefa Cup tie between Paris St Germain and Hapoel Tel-Aviv, a hooligan was killed by a policeman.
However, the problem is very much restricted to Paris St Germain, who have a notoriously racist fan base who support the leader of the extreme right-winger, Jean-Marie Le Pen.
Jean-Yves Guerin is a football correspondent for Le Figaro
Source :: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?view=DETAILS&grid=A1YourView&xml=/sport/2007/02/22/sfnfre22.xml
TheBoss
22/02/2007, 2:37 PM
Have a look at this Giuly :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVXN5eg_UXQ
22/02/2007, 2:49 PM
I would be no fan of Man U but why should they wait until the opposition wall is nicely in place and is encroaching before they take their free? As someone else said, a free kick any place else on the field does not need the referee's whistle. I have seen this numerous times before. The ref asks do you want the wall back and wait for the whistle and Giggs said he is ready to go. The Lille players were not alive to the danger. they were asleep. Their fault and no one else to blame.
Absolutely right. Teams do it all the time, the only ones to blame are the defensive team for not being awake to all possibilities.
Fair Play to youTheBoss.
But what we've been accused of is our reaction after the Free Kick;
Now watch this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxl1LwO2in0.
It seems that, strangely, the players of the opposite side (Chelsea) aren't really happy about the way the FK was quickly taken and are complaining to the referee.
However, this video and yours are taking place in the premiership. Not in champions league. And Btw, Goals like Odemwingie's one are accorded every week end in the Premiership; Vidic is already diving before Odem touches him.
22/02/2007, 3:47 PM
Giuly, that freekick is from years ago, (2004?) one of the first high profile ones of its type.
Jamjar
22/02/2007, 3:50 PM
Have a look at this Giuly :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVXN5eg_UXQ
Did Man Ure walk off the pitch....I don't think so. Just get over it, lack of concentration and united took advantage.
Please can you read?? They did not walk off the pitch FFS, They went complaining to the Assistant referee, Ok?
22/02/2007, 4:07 PM
Wow fans singing and having a drink before the game. They must be hooligans The facts are that fans from this part of the world drink and sing and travel in large numbers. Pity the French away supporters dont do the same. Lille are bitter about this game but they can have not complaints. The ref made 2 correct decision. I have no love for man utd but the rules are the rules. Lilles reaction to decisions they felt were harsh was that of a child. Grow up and act like a club that should be in the champions league.
22/02/2007, 4:09 PM
Please can you read?? They did not walk off the pitch FFS, They went complaining to the Assistant referee, Ok?
Either way its not right. You take your decision and the minute the ball is back in play you forget about it and get on with it. YOu dont kick the ball out of play and walk towards the sideline.
Grow up and act like a club that should be in the champions league.
You mean like Bohemians?
Only big clubs are now allowed to complain? Ok then, make a G14 Championship, that'll be so interessing with every year Barcelona, AC Milan, Chelsea, Lyon, Liverpool...etc
Either way its not right. You take your decision and the minute the ball is back in play you forget about it and get on with it. YOu dont kick the ball out of play and walk towards the sideline.
Thats the way we do make complain to a referee in our own championship; Rules are different following the countries; that's not clear enough.
22/02/2007, 5:19 PM
Kicking the ball out and having a moan to the ref is not a rule, that's local custom. When you play in the CL it's different, you have to play by the rules as they are, not what you think the rules should be.
The quick Free Kick routine has been on for years, there is no excuse for Lille players and Coach at all.
Closed Account 2
22/02/2007, 11:48 PM
Did Neville get hit by a coin.... couldn't happen to a nicer bloke!
23/02/2007, 9:38 AM
Thats the way we do make complain to a referee in our own championship; Rules are different following the countries; that's not clear enough.
That is no excuse. If you choose to do that in France and get away with it fair enough but you cant then bring a local custom to the Champions League. Bohs are not in the Champions league cause they are not good enough at the moment but if they did make it they would not act in the way that Lille have the other night. I hate the G14 and all it stands for but it does not mean that Man Utd were wrong the other night. If a decision goes against you, you take it on the chin like a man and not throw the toys out of the pram like a baby.
23/02/2007, 10:16 AM
You guys are hopeless
Why are you here?
23/02/2007, 10:54 AM
didnt see the match or what went on but was reading some of the reports. I see the chairman/president of the club said that the away section was overcrowded because of fake tickets ! The head of security there is saying there was no issues with fake tickets and the area was only half full ?? UEFA are taking all reports into consideration and it is obvious that lille are talking some amount of bull**** and will be severely punished for all that happened that night.
If ye were complaining to the assistant ref guily, and not walking off then ye will be severely punished for doing that too. It might be custom in france, but is frowned apon by the UEFA and I expect ye to get punished for that too then.
Why are you here?
Do you actualy own this forum?
lopez
23/02/2007, 10:49 PM
...its a ****ing dirt ball rag thats not fit to wipe your arse with...As a toilet roll it's useless. More sh*t comes off the paper than goes on. I don't even believe the date on it.
My last purchase of the rag - I wasn't a regular buyer - was to see their reaction on the day after the Guildford Four were released in 1989. Unrepetent of course and the four were still guilty. The day after the Portugal game last year, and I spotted the Irish edition crowing about Blair's apology - about time etc.
The fact that there is an 'Irish' edition is what you should be really fuming at.
Incidentally I thought the ref in the Fulham-United game today was a disgrace. Typically all the decisions went United's way, as they tend to in England (well not just for United, you can throw Liverpool, Chelsea and Arsenal in there too)
24/02/2007, 6:45 PM
Incidentally I thought the ref in the Fulham-United game today was a disgrace. Typically all the decisions went United's way, as they tend to in England (well not just for United, you can throw Liverpool, Chelsea and Arsenal in there too)
Have to disagree with that from todays game, the ref wasn't biased at all!
26/02/2007, 3:55 PM
Do you actualy own this forum?
And will Angie ever get back together with Gavin?
Why are you evading my question? Why did you chose to come to an Irish football site to complain about a match between a English and French clubs? Your post count says you're not a regular here, so you were looking for something? Were you disappointed with the reaction of some neutrals? Is that why you accused everyone here of being a Manchester United fan?
For the answers to these and more exciting questions, tune in next week... same bat time... same batty thread.
Clifford
26/02/2007, 4:09 PM
Trust me I hate them as much as anyone and I agree entirely with your sentiments (how it wasn't a pen at the end I'll never know), but how the wardrobe didn't get sent off was indeed ridiculously bad refereeing against them for a change.
27/02/2007, 10:23 AM
Why did you chose to come to an Irish football site to complain about a match between a English and French clubs? Your post count says you're not a regular here, so you were looking for something? Were you disappointed with the reaction of some neutrals? Is that why you accused everyone here of being a Manchester United fan?
I suppose he expected more sympathy than he received.
Since when is there anything unusual in a member coming on here, subjectivly tired and emotional, after their team get beaten in contraversial circumstances.
Giuly started posting here during the last Qual campaign.
Afair,respectful without the usual gloating over beating Ireland.
lopez
27/02/2007, 10:28 AM
...respectful without the usual gloating over beating Ireland.You mean, not like Ealing Green? :D
27/02/2007, 12:39 PM
They're going to appeal again - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2007/02/27/sfnlil27.xml!:eek:
Lille claim Braamhaar made a technical mistake in allowing Giggs to take the free kick without having blown his whistle beforehand and asked for the game to be replayed.
Clearly Ollie Byrne made a huge impression on them when they played Shels. Will they threaten to take it to court next? Somehow I can't see UEFA being quite as spineless to this type of tactic as our own breed of football administrators.
But we weren't ready. WE WEREN'T READY!!! IT'S NOT FAIR!!! WAAAAAAH! :mad: :D
Giuly
27/02/2007, 12:46 PM
And will Angie ever get back together with Gavin?
Why are you evading my question? Why did you chose to come to an Irish football site to complain about a match between a English and French clubs? Your post count says you're not a regular here, so you were looking for something? Were you disappointed with the reaction of some neutrals? Is that why you accused everyone here of being a Manchester United fan?
For the answers to these and more exciting questions, tune in next week... same bat time... same batty thread.
John, i wasn't expecting a neutral reaction from members of this forum as i spent three years in Dublin (99-2002) and met a lot of ManUtd fans there.
If i had been posting the same thread on a board like redcafe.net, i 'd have
been insulted (that's their only way to express themselves=>c*nt, frog son,of a b....); so here at least, some of you have interesting views about football.
Anyway the whole story went way too far, it's hard for people here to learn about true facts as you, logically, only get the british point of you, through media and television (i'm talking about the manutd fans supposed to have been mistreated by police and staff blabla...).
Now about the free kick incident, I still think there was a strange behaviour from the referee (not the manutd players, who have just been malicious). Having watched again the match recorded on TV this week end, i don't think you can blame them and i'm sorry i have judged them meanwhile i was angry and very disappointed.
But know we should stop talking and think of the great challenge going ahead of us: Old Trafford , and give away everything on the pitch (even break some ankles:D jocking..)
ps: merci geysir
27/02/2007, 1:46 PM
You mean, not like Ealing Green? :D
Certainly the wee man's pen is mightier than the team.
I think we are safe here in this corner of the forum from another 20 page essay on the team from the annexe.