View Full Version : Who said eircom League football is boring?

don ramo
18/02/2007, 11:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Es4sYkK5i1Y

is this all eircom leauge

soccerc
19/02/2007, 12:02 AM

nice to see some of my photos used in that compilation

19/02/2007, 12:04 AM

And mine !! ;)

Dyl10
19/02/2007, 12:05 AM
Yeh very good clip. This ones is good too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-0XytWWd1I

19/02/2007, 12:09 AM

and mine as well

19/02/2007, 12:15 AM
Nice compilation. Obviously compiled by a Shelsfan, as way too much relaince on their fans though.

Do Bohs still have the big flags, and do Rovers still have the shamrock two-sticks ? Both looked great.

Without getting parochial - You Tube is crawling in excellent footage of thousands of Derry fans from our Euro travels last season. The PSG footage from Paris is great, the Motherwell footage is awesome, and there's some really colourful footage form ouir home Euro games. So disappointing we only got 2 fairly average stills in this compilation.... :( Guess we'll just have to get Vinny the Cameraman to do our own version to address the balance.... :D

The Irish League compilation that was posted up earlier was great. Would be nice to have a few EL versions of that.

19/02/2007, 12:20 AM
Yeh very good clip. This ones is good too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-0XytWWd1I

Quality. Could watch those McCourt goals for Rovers all day - outrageous stuff....

don ramo
19/02/2007, 12:35 AM

and thats only what the cameras saw, ah some class goals i remember some through the season good compilation

19/02/2007, 2:48 AM
Quality. Could watch those McCourt goals for Rovers all day - outrageous stuff....

IMO one of the best parts of the McCourt goals is the Rovers' player's reaction to the second goal. Think it was Molloy.

He just puts his hands on his head and turns to the bench, he cant believe whats he's just seen!

19/02/2007, 3:10 AM
Nice compilation. Obviously compiled by a Shelsfan, as way too much relaince on their fans though.

Do Bohs still have the big flags, and do Rovers still have the shamrock two-sticks ? Both looked great.

We have the flags - the poles were deliberately broken by the Gardaí prior to the last game against Shamrock Rovers iirc

There is a fundraising drive within the club to purchase some new poles

19/02/2007, 9:49 AM

The lad who put that video together also set up this website -> http://irishtifo.bestbulletinboard.com/ it ain't bad with plenty of displays from Ireland and the rest of the world! :cool:

The Man Himself
19/02/2007, 11:07 AM
heres the best fans ever
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yiWB2XgLIzA

floatinghoop
19/02/2007, 12:01 PM
IMO one of the best parts of the McCourt goals is the Rovers' player's reaction to the second goal. Think it was Molloy.

He just puts his hands on his head and turns to the bench, he cant believe whats he's just seen!

Being able to see McCourt play against us is one of the reasons I'm so pleased we're back in the top division.

19/02/2007, 12:12 PM
some quality goals in the one posted above - surely any ad campaign would select the best of the action crowd scenes??????

might as well a pats youtube clip to the LoI collection here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yu8YGqT8OCU

19/02/2007, 12:20 PM
heres the best fans ever

You're in dreamland!

This is us, after we'd lost the FAI Cup Final.

YyZJekN6JGI

This is us before the Derry game.

QhDSiQlDhd0

This is us away to Bohs.

xdsYREFEjPU

19/02/2007, 12:26 PM
Being able to see McCourt play against us is one of the reasons I'm so pleased we're back in the top division.

Definitely the most exciting player in the league at the momet. Kevin Doyle, Shane Long and Jason Byrne were never as entertaining !

Let's hope Paddy can keep himself injury free this season, as he needs a good straight run of games to keep his fitness at a good level.

don ramo
19/02/2007, 12:30 PM
would be great to see fans like that week in, week out, i like games like that there fun it what its all about.:ball:

they should get ad campaigns goin on TG4 and RTE advertiseing the league a bit like sky do, but not explosions and judgements days were not americans :D

19/02/2007, 12:38 PM
Definitely the most exciting player in the league at the momet.

Not everyone finds headless chickens entertaining!

19/02/2007, 1:10 PM
Not everyone finds headless chickens entertaining!

agreed.

any youtubes of similar goals by him last season? just wondering

19/02/2007, 1:18 PM

The only ones who'd be bothered putting videos of him on the net are Derry fans and they're likely to cut out his aimless runs, before losing possession.

19/02/2007, 1:24 PM
The only ones who'd be bothered putting videos of him on the net are Derry fans and they're likely to cut out his aimless runs, before losing possession.

I agree with you twice in the same thread......I must be goin crazeee

spot on of course

lofty9
19/02/2007, 1:48 PM
agreed.

He was injured in Sligo in June, missed a chunk of the season and only came back to fitness in the latter stages of the season. He was a creator of many Derry goals, and he famously scored a header last season! I seem to remember him running like a headless chicken through your team to set up Farren at both Inchicore and Lansdowne.

I'm sure you'll be of the same opinion of your recent signing Ndo too. Imagine, it'll be terrible for you having to watch someone with a bit of talent playing at Inchicore next season. :rolleyes:

19/02/2007, 1:54 PM
He was injured in Sligo in June, missed a chunk of the season and only came back to fitness in the latter stages of the season. He was a creator of many Derry goals, and he famously scored a header last season! I seem to remember him running like a headless chicken through your team to set up Farren at both Inchicore and Lansdowne.

I'm sure you'll be of the same opinion of your recent signing Ndo too. Imagine, it'll be terrible for you having to watch someone with a bit of talent playing at Inchicore next season. :rolleyes:

Ndo is an equally infuriating player. A player missing as many games as he did should never get a player of the year awars - ludicrous sheep like voting by the PFAI. At least Shels fans and the FAI had the intelligence to set the record straight by awarding it to Cahill.

I dont rate McCourt end of. If he had a footballing brain to match the slalolm skills he'd be the best player in the world. But he doesn't. So he's not. So you can rejoice in 4/5 runs a year - the rest of us will scratch our heads when he needlessly wastes possession - good god man take it from an neutral his performance v PSG killed Derry - time and time again failing to make the simplest of passes to a team mate. You're welcome to celebrate that - but a headless chicken winger with a few flashes of good play does not a great player make. Especially when the rest of his game is so patently flawed!

im in full rant mode today:D

19/02/2007, 1:55 PM
2 of the best from our lads last season
jOtUb8KXRsI

19/02/2007, 1:55 PM
He was injured in Sligo in June,

trying to outrun the mighty keith foy...:D

Eoingull
19/02/2007, 1:59 PM
I've never heard anyone say the Eircom League is boring...

19/02/2007, 2:02 PM
the best free kick of last season....of any season....ever....in the universe
VCOwHCX7Z1U

19/02/2007, 2:02 PM
ApCPAjE1IOY

lofty9
19/02/2007, 2:04 PM
Ndo is an equally infuriating player. A player missing as many games as he did should never get a player of the year awars - ludicrous sheep like voting by the PFAI. At least Shels fans and the FAI had the intelligence to set the record straight by awarding it to Cahill.

I dont rate McCourt end of. If he had a footballing brain to match the slalolm skills he'd be the best player in the world. But he doesn't. So he's not. So you can rejoice in 4/5 runs a year - the rest of us will scratch our heads when he needlessly wastes possession - good god man take it from an neutral his performance v PSG killed Derry - time and time again failing to make the simplest of passes to a team mate. You're welcome to celebrate that - but a headless chicken winger with a few flashes of good play does not a great player make. Especially when the rest of his game is so patently flawed!

im in full rant mode today:D

I agree he is infuriating, if he wasn't do you think he'd be playing here? On the PSG games he shouldn't have been playing as he wasn't match fit. However, I enjoy watching him play. in May before he was injured he was outstanding for each game. I think he won player of the month then. His injury hampered his season.

19/02/2007, 2:24 PM
the best free kick of last season....of any season....ever....in the universeI see why you call it the stadium of light now!:eek:

The Man Himself
19/02/2007, 2:46 PM
this is us in 1968 (just look at the crowd in the backround)
http://trueblues.zoomshare.com/album/BLUES%20PICS/images/857c70c46d5fe411c755513cf04d6014_11255702270/image.jpg

and in 1973
http://trueblues.zoomshare.com/album/BLUES%20PICS/images/3bd11865cb9c7c0f91ea74472cf115c8_11327640940/image.jpg

Tis-smeee
19/02/2007, 5:21 PM
the FAI had the intelligence

First time I ever seen that in a sentence

The Man Himself
19/02/2007, 6:41 PM
pretty fond of this myself ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OS2QWc2Vws

and then he went along and got him self booked for taking off his jersey, silly boy:rolleyes: