View Full Version : Love your local team

Sniffer
18/02/2007, 9:55 AM
Came acoss this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vzqGB4WLkY)on Irish League forum, worth a look.

Kildare Lad
18/02/2007, 10:46 AM
Brings a tear to my eye.

Briliant video.

Neish
18/02/2007, 11:45 AM
Says it all really. And it gets me even more excited about the return of proper footie in a few weeks.:D

18/02/2007, 11:46 AM
That's class. If barstoolers had any cop on, it would give them something to think about.

don ramo
18/02/2007, 11:51 AM
tis true alright, let the ignorant prawns support there foreign clubs, they should have mentioned the fact that for the cost af a trip to see "there" club play they could buy a season ticket to see there local side play.

football fans i dont think so

it a sad world :(

18/02/2007, 12:48 PM
tis true alright, let the ignorant prawns support there foreign clubs, they should have mentioned the fact that for the cost af a trip to see "there" club play they could buy a season ticket to see there local side play.

football fans i dont think so

it a sad world :(

Spare me. If this preseason has thought us anything its that people won't show support for an inferior product shoddily run by people who couldn't give a toss about the game in this country. I fully understand why people look at the Eircom League and start laughing, I really do, and all the 'barstool' jibes in the world won't change that

Neish
18/02/2007, 1:52 PM
Spare me. If this preseason has thought us anything its that people won't show support for an inferior product shoddily run by people who couldn't give a toss about the game in this country. I fully understand why people look at the Eircom League and start laughing, I really do, and all the 'barstool' jibes in the world won't change that

Yeah I agree with ya in principal but if these people got off their asses and starting supporting their local sides, then there would be more money in the game.More money and more people attending games would give a lot more power to the clubs, then they can demand the the FAI start to do things proberly. The only time the FAI is criticised by Joe public is when the f*ck up with the Irish National Team.
The FAI gey away with the 2nd hand running and all the c*ap they throw at the LOI because because 90% of football fans in Ireland don't give a flying f*ck about their local team. .

18/02/2007, 3:01 PM
Yeah I agree with ya in principal but if these people got off their asses and starting supporting their local sides, then there would be more money in the game.

Aye but now we're back to the age old argument involving the chicken and the egg ;) :ball:

Neish
18/02/2007, 4:24 PM
Aye but now we're back to the age old argument involving the chicken and the egg ;) :ball:

A chicken or an egg could proberly do a better job than Delaney

18/02/2007, 5:10 PM

Yeah, tell you what, let's all just give up, shall we.? I think I'll pick up a Man U shirt tomorrow :rolleyes: I mean, our own teams, own league, who needs it when we can subscribe to SKY sports ?

"people won't show support for an inferior product shoddily run by people who couldn't give a toss about the game in this country."

You're so right - that's why I'm finished with the National team ;)

don ramo
18/02/2007, 5:17 PM
notin wrong in following froeign teams, people are doin it for years but if you really are a fan a football you will support your local team it really is that simple what kind of fan are ya if you dont, i watch football on tv england spain germany holland italy, some good football but notin beats goin to a ground and wathcin it live, it not illegal you not betrayin anyone your just a football fan

the best is when you have no support, but when you get a run our a big team visiting you gate triples, and you see people you havent seen for years and ask them where they were, and the reply is always the same "sure im always here boy":D

18/02/2007, 5:24 PM
I fully understand why people look at the Eircom League and start laughing, I really do, and all the 'barstool' jibes in the world won't change that
Actually, I don't. I think they do it mostly as a defensive strategy. It gives them the excuse to be 'customers' of the EPL etc.
That said, agree that it's not much use calling EPL fans barstoolers. If we're honest about it, most of us have an English or Scottish club, by TV adoption. It would be a bit odd not to. The part that we should object to is where loyalty to a foreign club displaces support for one at home.

18/02/2007, 8:20 PM
bring on the new season i cannie wait :D

18/02/2007, 10:42 PM
Do you need a special programme to make a video like that? Would like to make one with EL pics etc.

don ramo
18/02/2007, 11:33 PM
window movie maker should do the job comes with xp package im unsure of how to use but my friends are always messin with it

19/02/2007, 1:11 PM
POTM...........

19/02/2007, 2:09 PM
Yeah, you're right. At least two out of the three could hatch a plan!

19/02/2007, 2:28 PM
Yeah, tell you what, let's all just give up, shall we.? I think I'll pick up a Man U shirt tomorrow :rolleyes: I mean, our own teams, own league, who needs it when we can subscribe to SKY sports ?

"people won't show support for an inferior product shoddily run by people who couldn't give a toss about the game in this country."

You're so right - that's why I'm finished with the National team ;)

When did I ever say give up? All I'm saying is there is no point you lot coming on here (and it's always the same people) moaning about how people won't support their local clubs when in reality you should be looking at why they don't support their local clubs and trying to change that. Various things in preseason has been looked over here, rightly or wrongly, as being par for course for an Eircom League fan.

Answer me this, how do you think the Galway getting promoted farce looked to a barstooler? Or the Eircom League Champions onrunning debacle? Or Limerick FC getting denied entry into the league whilst Shels get their Premier League ticket? Or the Maxi incident? Or the lack of any fixture list at this stage of the preseason? Or Wexford and Limerick37 being introduced to the 1st Division at such a late stage? Or the fact we don't know if Shels will be in the 1st Division or the Premier yet? Or whether Waterford will be in the reinstated to the Premier?

The list is endless of calamities this preseason,and from the outside looking in how could you not view this league as anything other than the joke that it is? until the FAI and most Eircom Lrague clubs start looking at themselves as something other than a small potatoes league than thats all we'll be considered by the barstoolers.

19/02/2007, 5:26 PM
Excellent video.

19/02/2007, 6:24 PM
Answer me this, how do you think the Galway getting promoted farce looked to a barstooler? Or the Eircom League Champions onrunning debacle? Or Limerick FC getting denied entry into the league whilst Shels get their Premier League ticket? Or the Maxi incident? Or the lack of any fixture list at this stage of the preseason? Or Wexford and Limerick37 being introduced to the 1st Division at such a late stage? Or the fact we don't know if Shels will be in the 1st Division or the Premier yet? Or whether Waterford will be in the reinstated to the Premier?

The list is endless of calamities this preseason,and from the outside looking in how could you not view this league as anything other than the joke that it is? until the FAI and most Eircom Lrague clubs start looking at themselves as something other than a small potatoes league than thats all we'll be considered by the barstoolers.
Compared to what? Outside where?

19/02/2007, 6:35 PM
Compared to what?

The English Premiership, The Scottish Premiership, The Hungarian Third Division, you name it it's better run than this league

Outside where?

Outside this cosy little bubble called the Eircom League. Is there always a need to spell everything out to people in this forum?

19/02/2007, 6:52 PM
The English Premiership, The Scottish Premiership, The Hungarian Third Division, you name it it's better run than this league

Outside this cosy little bubble called the Eircom League. Is there always a need to spell everything out to people in this forum?
I'm not going to defend the running of the eL, but if you are putting forward the EPL as a model league, then it is you who is living in a bubble. Just keep paying your Sky sub and things'll be fine.

20/02/2007, 9:18 AM
Which league has climbed up the rankings as quicky in recent years as much as the Eircom League.

20/02/2007, 1:29 PM
I'm not going to defend the running of the eL, but if you are putting forward the EPL as a model league, then it is you who is living in a bubble. Just keep paying your Sky sub and things'll be fine.

Never said it was a model league, but it is run far better than the Eircom League, and it is probably the best marketed league in the world, which is what counts in this day and age.

Just keep throwing out your petty Sky insults, makes up for a lack of any proper discussion :rolleyes:

20/02/2007, 2:59 PM
Never said it was a model league, but it is run far better than the Eircom League, and it is probably the best marketed league in the world, which is what counts in this day and age.

Just keep throwing out your petty Sky insults, makes up for a lack of any proper discussion :rolleyes:
I didn't mean it personally, so apologies if you took it that way.
What I mean is that it is easy to watch EPL etc. from a distance and take the airbrushed Sky view that everything is wonderful. The EPL is riven with corruption, they have their own ineligible player ****-ups (http://www.askoxford.com/concise_oed/cockup?view=uk) (why on earth is that banned?), and, apart from those issues it's a farce, with ludicrously big squads and domination by the Big Four that makes it akin to watching Formula One.
It's also easy to kick the eL by comparing it with the richest league in the world, and one that is now a global media/merchandising business with competing multinationals. If you think the eL will ever match that, in any department, you will be sorely disappointed.
I don't mean this a barstool-baiting rant, I follow Leeds for God's sake :rolleyes: , but the eL-is-a-shambles line is trotted out much too easily.

BrayUnknowns
20/02/2007, 3:11 PM

Jesus if Sky was to give the eL a 1/4 the amount they spend on the EPL then the game in Ireland would change for ever ! Sunderland finished last in the EPL in2005/06 and got £484,961 in prize money, thats a lot more than what the FAI are spending on our whole league which will cover all teams.

From next season onwards each EPL club will be guaranteed more than £13m a season before prize money and appearance fees are taken into account ! If our clubs got 5% of that amount we would be competing in the champions league season group stages in season out IMO

20/02/2007, 6:54 PM

yeah but football isnt business, and if i wanted happiness all the time then i wouldnt support ireland, or my local team...i would go for brazil or barcelona as "my team"
why settle for a british team to follow when you can follow an irish team?

Sniffer
20/02/2007, 7:08 PM
You're preaching to the converted bennocelt. Problem is, most Irish kids grow up without ever seeing the inside of an Irish soccer ground, unless it's to watch the International side. I was football mad as a kid, as everyone here was/is I'm sure, and never saw an eL game until I brought my own son to one. Kids are more likely to be brought to the Shrine and such places rather than Tolka Park or DC Park for that matter. I know that clubs are trying to address this now; but we have the misfortune of being pitted against the glamour and spin and sexy sound effects of the Sky Sports package.

20/02/2007, 7:44 PM
The video is fantastic and the words are by a Ballymena United fan that I met many moons ago. Not your glory hunter, but your genuine football fan like many of the contributors here ..... on the other issue regarding what happened to the Reds....There was if I am not mistaken, an Article in a recent edition of the Irish Mail in which a business reporter forecast that the collapse financially of an English Premiershi* club is a lot closer than some of you might think. Apparently some other clubs Cross Channel are currently attempting a Shelbourne only on a much larger scale...!

20/02/2007, 7:59 PM
I don't mean this a barstool-baiting rant, I follow Leeds for God's sake :rolleyes: , but the eL-is-a-shambles line is trotted out much too easily.

I knew I took a dislike to your comments for a reason, you support that dirt team called Leeds United!:) (I'm a Wednesday supporter)

fabio
20/02/2007, 8:23 PM
That is a class video and really just sums it all up for me

20/02/2007, 8:27 PM
Lads, we're run by a bunch of morons but we're not the only league to have problems. Marseille were relegated for financial reasons. Torino had to refound under a new name. Fiorentina were relegated a few divisions a few years back. Then you had the Serie A match fixing scanda etc etc
I'm sure there are many more examples from around the world.

20/02/2007, 9:14 PM
There was if I am not mistaken, an Article in a recent edition of the Irish Mail in which a business reporter forecast that the collapse financially of an English Premiershi* club is a lot closer than some of you might think. Apparently some other clubs Cross Channel are currently attempting a Shelbourne only on a much larger scale...!

The Irish Mail??

I shant hold my breath :rolleyes:

And even if it is true what relevance does it have??

It's alright for the LoI to be crap cos look loads of other leagues are crap too??

I dunno who a lot of you socialise with but if you can't see what a shambles the ordinary man in the street thinks the current set up is...........

20/02/2007, 9:15 PM
Socialise??? :confused:

:o

20/02/2007, 9:17 PM
Socialise??? :confused:

:o

Oh don't get me wrong BP, I piece together most of the "normies" opinions from snatches of conversations I hear on the bus :)

20/02/2007, 9:33 PM
The Irish Mail??

It's alright for the LoI to be crap cos look loads of other leagues are crap too??

I shant hold my breath :rolleyes:

And even if it is true what relevance does it have??

I dunno who a lot of you socialise with but if you can't see what a shambles the ordinary man in the street thinks the current set up is...........

Lim Till I Die

The Relevance is , that it's not only Irish clubs that are incompetently run, despite what SKY SPORTS tell you the EPL is NOT the best League in the World. The FAI are in charge of the EL now and if it is a shambles, John Delaney has no get out clause.... HE IS responsible fully for it now.:D

Delaney OUT!!!!

20/02/2007, 9:38 PM
The Relevance is , that it's not only Irish clubs that are incompetently run, despite what SKY SPORTS tell you the EPL is NOT the best League in the World.
SKY SPORTS tells me nothing

More nonsense along the lines of "oh he's bad-mouthing the league he must be a sky watching barstool monkey" :rolleyes:

The FAI are in charge of the EL now and if it is a shambles

Would you actually say that it isn't :confused:

20/02/2007, 9:57 PM
SKY SPORTS tells me nothing

More nonsense along the lines of "oh he's bad-mouthing the league he must be a sky watching barstool monkey" :rolleyes:

Would you actually say that it isn't :confused:Not saying that at all merely that some people go on as if the EL is the only League with badly run clubs etc.

Not every club is in a heap!:D

20/02/2007, 10:03 PM
Not every club is in a heap!:D

The league champions were relegated and the play-off winners stayed down though

It's all very Eastern European :p :o

GalwayFrancis
20/02/2007, 11:28 PM
great video

21/02/2007, 12:09 PM
The league champions were relegated and the play-off winners stayed down though

It's all very Eastern European :p :o
I think the point is that, even if the administration of eL is a shambles, and most agree that it is, or certainly has been until recently, that isn't a good enough reason to stop supporting football. And certainly not good enough to justify exclusively following non-Irish football.

Jamjar
21/02/2007, 12:25 PM
Jaysus, Am I the only one with taste. If that was a video to encourage me to support my local undertaker I could understand. It was horrible, except for the bit where it said about buying a brick....that reminds me, who are we playing on 23rd March ?

21/02/2007, 1:10 PM
I think the point is that, even if the administration of eL is a shambles, and most agree that it is, or certainly has been until recently, that isn't a good enough reason to stop supporting football. And certainly not good enough to justify exclusively following non-Irish football.

Indeed it is not and I've supported the league for 14 of my 21 years and will continue to do so

However the other side of that coin is just because the footballs local it's no excuse to bury our heads in the sand when it comes to how the league is percieved (with some justification) by the "barstoolers", a breed of people who let's not forget will eventually have to be won over if you hope for the league to grow :ball:

21/02/2007, 1:23 PM
Indeed it is not and I've supported the league for 14 of my 21 years and will continue to do so

However the other side of that coin is just because the footballs local it's no excuse to bury our heads in the sand when it comes to how the league is percieved (with some justification) by the "barstoolers", a breed of people who let's not forget will eventually have to be won over if you hope for the league to grow :ball:

Instead of trying to convert the barstoolers I think we should decree that every eL fan reproduce like mad and in 25 years we will have more fans than the GAA.

21/02/2007, 1:25 PM
Instead of trying to convert the barstoolers I think we should decree that every eL fan reproduce like mad and in 25 years we will have more fans than the GAA.

The GAA has maybe 750,000 fans come chmpionship time........

Nah, I definitely couldn't manage :p :D

The Man Himself
21/02/2007, 1:34 PM
i think the fai should grab hold of that video and show it at half time during the champions league matchs on both rte and tv3..
very powerful indeed.

21/02/2007, 1:36 PM
i think the fai should grab hold of that video and show it at half time during the champions league matchs on both rte and tv3..
very powerful indeed.

Now if only the FAI were in charge of rte, tv3 and the Champions League. Then they could show all that Irish League football :rolleyes: