View Full Version : Sunderland Game and 2 more signings

13/02/2007, 2:54 PM
Roy Keane to bring Sunderland to Galway while Tony Cousins strengthens his squad Tuesday, 13 February 2007
Roy Keane's Sunderland will be coming to Galway this summer to take on Galway United in a glamour friendly at Terryland Park.
The game which takes place on Wednesday of Race Week is sure to be a sell out as Sunderland, who could be a Premiership side by then, take to the field at Terryland. Kick off is at 7.45pm on the 1st of August and more information will become available on the club website as the date approaches.

Meanwhile Sunderland, headed up by CEO Niall Quinn, are to host a group of Galway United fans at the Stadium of Light in the next few months.

It was intended for the Galway United group to travel over for this weekend's clash with Southend, but that has now been put back to April when Sunderland will host Mick McCarthy's Wolves.

On the transfer front, Derek Glynn has put pen to paper as manager Tony Cousins puts the finishing touches to his squad for United's return to the Premier Division.

The striker, who turns 24 in May, caught the attention of Cousins with impressive performances with the Mayo League along with scoring with ease for his hometown Claremorris FC.

Midfielder Shane Tracy will also be a Galway United player from the 19th of February. A skilful left-footed winger, Tracy played reserve team football at Arsenal last season, making eight appearances for the Gunners.

Tracy has been with Arsenal since he was 15 and impressed Liam Brady when playing for Wembley Rovers in Limerick. The 18 year old also featured in Galway United's 2-0 win against the Kildare Oscar Traynor team.

GuisaSaigon
13/02/2007, 3:14 PM
Good stuff should be a great day in Terryland. signings look promising too.

damoGUFC
13/02/2007, 3:26 PM
Great news for them!:D Two young lads as well so its promising!

MyTown
13/02/2007, 3:32 PM
Are these two lads the end of the transfer business for us now?

Will Goughie be registered as back up to the new 'keeper?

13/02/2007, 3:41 PM
Goughie is one of 2 keepers Dimitris would have to be **** hot to replace him.

MyTown
13/02/2007, 3:47 PM
Goughie is one of 2 keepers Dimitris would have to be **** hot to replace him.

:confused: I thought Goughie had hung up his boots.

Are you also indicating our transfer activity is at an end?

13/02/2007, 3:49 PM
A squad of 20 is what is budgeted for and thats what we have now. 12 from Last year and "Eight New Signings"!!!!!!

pixiehead
13/02/2007, 4:06 PM
A squad of 20 is what is budgeted for and thats what we have now. 12 from Last year and "Eight New Signings"!!!!!!

Derek Gylnn is a serious Striker here in the mayo league so things are looking up. HOwever he has never been in the spotlight before so its hard to say how he will handle the lime light :confused:

13/02/2007, 4:18 PM
Id say the Castlebar bus will be going through Claremorris.

Claret Murph
14/02/2007, 6:19 AM
After last night I am sure we will be seeing Goughie again back between the posts , I did feel sorry for Brinias as he got nothing right for most of the night .

exiled_gufc_fan
14/02/2007, 1:26 PM
Here's a link to Shane Tracy's profile (http://www.arsenal.com/player.asp?thisNav=reserves+and+youth&plid=60264&clid=4436&cpid=825) on the Arsenal website.

There's a feature article (http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?thisNav=reserves+and+youth&article=358952&lid=&Title=Young+Guns+-+Shane+Tracy) on him too.

Here's some stats from an unofficial site (http://www.arseweb.com/05-06/youth_stats.html).

He was playing in the same team as Anthony Stokes in a lot of games last season!

MyTown
14/02/2007, 1:38 PM
Here's a link to Shane Tracy's profile (http://www.arsenal.com/player.asp?thisNav=reserves+and+youth&plid=60264&clid=4436&cpid=825) on the Arsenal website.

There's a feature article (http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?thisNav=reserves+and+youth&article=358952&lid=&Title=Young+Guns+-+Shane+Tracy) on him too.

Here's some stats from an unofficial site (http://www.arseweb.com/05-06/youth_stats.html).

He was playing in the same team as Anthony Stokes in a lot of games last season!

exiled_gufc_fan:
Thanks for these links. As a life long Gooner, they make fascinating reading. Shane did a fine job in a most inauspicious display last night. Check out Cian O' Connell's match report on the official website. I hope shane settles in Galway and will have a happy and successful time with us.

damoGUFC
15/02/2007, 3:04 PM
Ya, hope he settle's in alright, he looked good at times against the mons and also Gylnn showed some good touches so its looking bright for the two of them.

limerickblue
18/02/2007, 9:37 PM
I must say boys,you should all be delighted with year galway managment now, to have spotted such a young talent and sign him on a two year deal,fair play.he is an unbeliavable,iv played aainst him twice and really some of the things he did even had ur goalie clapping fair play. i will be traveling to as many of yer home games as i can get to. fair play boys, also just let all ye know send someone down to sign traceys teammate johnatan grant,in limerick he is same age and is even higher rated down hear. unbeliavable talent

JW.
19/02/2007, 11:25 AM
Cheers limerickblue