View Full Version : Who would you like to play first game?

12/02/2007, 10:29 PM
Who would you like to play first game? Obviously at home but what team would you like to vist first?

Aaron
12/02/2007, 10:32 PM
I'd like Drogheda U to visit us first.....to give Stuart Byrne a serious bollicking:D :D :D

12/02/2007, 10:34 PM
Shels :cool:

12/02/2007, 10:38 PM
galway at home 1st game..
bohs away 2nd :D

CharlesThompson
12/02/2007, 11:12 PM
Yeh. It'd have to be Shels at home for me too.

12/02/2007, 11:26 PM
yea id like shels too ;)

TheBoss
12/02/2007, 11:38 PM
Dundalk, when they may replace Shelbourne ;)

12/02/2007, 11:43 PM
Bohs at home, followed by Shels away, just in case they don't survive the whole season:D.

I think we'll get Longford at home first game though.

Soper
12/02/2007, 11:44 PM
I want a Dublin team away in the first few weeks so I can go to it

12/02/2007, 11:44 PM
Waterford United

Dr.Nightdub
12/02/2007, 11:45 PM
Sligo away:
1. It's a great overnighter
2. We can slag them about the Setanta

13/02/2007, 2:29 AM
Shels, Waterford, Dundalk or at home first would be fine, or Wexford away.

noby
13/02/2007, 7:30 AM
Waterford United
I like the cut of your jib.

oriel
13/02/2007, 7:45 AM
Dundalk, when they may replace Shelbourne ;)

Zero chance of that, Waterford are ranked one place higher than us even though we won the play off. If Shels do get relegated it will be a straight swap with Waterford.

13/02/2007, 8:18 AM
Cork City

13/02/2007, 8:22 AM
Longford at home, sligo then away

13/02/2007, 8:46 AM
Shels at home 1st game....wan't to wait a few weeks before we play Sligo!:)

We'll be playing Cork at home 1st game though if Trends Continue as they have done in recent years.

GuisaSaigon
13/02/2007, 8:47 AM
Cork, Derry, Shels* or Sligo at home

*If in Premier Division (sorry about the first asterix of the season)

13/02/2007, 9:09 AM
Bohs at home for me would be interesting.

13/02/2007, 9:41 AM
Limerick 37 in the first Limerick derby for many a year.

13/02/2007, 9:43 AM
First: Sligo (h)
Last: Bray (a)

ForzaWexford
13/02/2007, 9:57 AM
Waterford at home.

13/02/2007, 9:58 AM
Waterford at home please. No Games outside of Dublin until April please...

noby
13/02/2007, 10:07 AM
Wow. Waterford is a popular choice. Are we that soft? (Don't answer that)

13/02/2007, 10:08 AM
Limerick 37 in the first Limerick derby for many a year.

you do know that theres only one Limerick team in the league right? Its Limerick 37 from here on in

ndrog
13/02/2007, 10:11 AM
I'd like Drogheda U to visit us first.....to give Stuart Byrne a serious bollicking:D :D

Derry at home so our strikers can get some target practice :D

Ebmania
13/02/2007, 11:21 AM
Id love Shels been years since we hammered them. But new look Bohs would be interesting.

13/02/2007, 12:04 PM
Bohs at home for me would be interesting.

interesting! that game certainly will be!
:D :D :D

13/02/2007, 12:07 PM
even though we won the play off.

The play off had no bearing on the decision. It was all about the points.

harpskid
13/02/2007, 12:20 PM
Derry City at home :)

13/02/2007, 12:23 PM
Shels away. We'd probably still be 4/1 to win in the bookies, so there'd be a few bob to make on it before they cop on.

Follow that up with Galway at home, Sligo away, Bray at home and Longford away, and we'd be in the European spaces for a week or two. :)

BrayUnknowns
13/02/2007, 12:25 PM
Shamrock Rovers at home would be great for atmosphere and crowd wise, other than that i'd like Galway or Longford at home...

Fester
13/02/2007, 12:44 PM
The Saints at home to Derry

13/02/2007, 4:02 PM
you do know that theres only one Limerick team in the league right? Its Limerick 37 from here on in

I guess i needed a smiley to indicate the joke.

Kildare Lad
13/02/2007, 4:42 PM
Wexford At Home

bigmac
13/02/2007, 5:00 PM
Cork City *

*First asterisk of the season to indicate Waterford invited into Premier in place of Shelbourne.

Otherwise Wexford Kids

For those who are so inclined, here's the first Asterix of the season

RĂ©iteoir
13/02/2007, 5:28 PM
Shels first - so the bookies can be fleeced and the lording can be done

Then our feeder club Sligo second game

1 9 2 8
13/02/2007, 6:18 PM
Bohs home or away purely for the football of course;)

dcfc1985
13/02/2007, 6:34 PM
Derry City at home :)

I thought they done away with the Ulster Tyre Cup? :D :D

13/02/2007, 6:52 PM

It, or something like it should be brought back any season when the clubs will not face each other in league competition. Get a business to sponsor a trophy and play it in the pre-season and hype it a bit to attract a crowd, and rotate home advantage. I know that the friendly alway takes place anyway, but with the right bit of marketing could earn the clubs a lot more, and be a bit more craic too with the semi-competitve edge to it.

harpskid
13/02/2007, 7:12 PM

You mean Tuesday's game isn't an Ulster Tyre Cup game?

Jesus it must be The Irish News Cup then so!! :ball:

Paddyfield
13/02/2007, 7:32 PM
Drogs.

Last time we played them they won 3-0 (3-2 on agg) to stay in Premier and confine GUFC to First Div...eventhough we had two goals dissallowed [ yes, I am still dwelling on that - Offside me ar$e ] Our manager (Cousins) left them to join us which will add an extra spark.

Bring it on.

swano
14/02/2007, 4:15 AM
Was told by an EL journo that its Shels vs Rovers in our 1st game so I'm happy with that.
Get them a few quid, easy 3 points for us and money to be made from english bookies(although that'll be the case no matter who they play). Keep an eye out for corals prices as they are so on top of things they still have Shels listed for the setanta:eek:

damien
14/02/2007, 10:48 AM
would like it to be shels and if not then shamrock rovers

14/02/2007, 11:17 AM
Well if it aint Shels or Rovers I'd fancy Drogs away. We played them last year at home in the first game so Its likely this will be the fixture anyway.

dublin15bohs
14/02/2007, 4:24 PM
Id like Shels in Tolka first game or Rovers in Dalymount

14/02/2007, 6:36 PM
Was told by an EL journo that its Shels vs Rovers in our 1st game so I'm happy with that.

:o

How the hell can we, or other sides play Shels, when they can't field a player, never mind a team?? :confused:

Last year in the PD, games 8-11 of each series were the direct reverse of the year before. The previous seven weeks' games were also reversed, but were not a carbon copy of the year before. They were shuffled around the series instead, e.g. Shels v UCD was on Week 1 in 2005, but was played later on in 2006.

14/02/2007, 6:46 PM
:o

How the hell can we, or other sides play Shels, when they can't field a player, never mind a team?? :confused: With considerable success!

14/02/2007, 10:40 PM
Sligo away:
1. It's a great overnighter
2. We can slag them about the Setanta

and we can beat ye.....again