View Full Version : Delaney Out t-shirt protest
11/02/2007, 7:50 PM
As posted by IrishPraha on a different thread -
http://buzznet-63.vo.llnwd.net/assets/users15/pauly77/default/large-msg-117113823812.jpg
I've posted a few suggestions on this as well elsewhere, which I'll put here too.
Front says "Delaney Out" as in the picture above and underneath "Not a Dundalk protest"
On the back, in list format, a list of Delaney's sins to date -
Communistic suppression of fans' opinions
Shamrock Rovers' licence fiasco
Appointing Stan
Dublin City's licence fiasco
The Genesis Report to the league and its white lies
Shelbourne's licence fiasco
Fines for criticising the FAI
Screwing up the fans' section for Croker
Awarding himself a 6-year contract.
If we get a load of these bought for the Wales and Slovakia games, it'll add a bit of public pressure to Delaney. It's not going to solve things, but it's nice to see the fecker squirm. Obviously if people wear them under the Ireland shirts, the stewards will never manage to get all of them. Maybe leak it to the press too and try and get some publicity.
Game's on on the 24th. It'd take maybe a week for shipping? So if we can get a design finalised by the 17th at the very latest, we can stick it up on some t-shirt website and get a few done up.
onenilgameover
11/02/2007, 8:09 PM
this lark again...god... does it never end... :)
Do ye think the t-shirt thing is a good idea? I'm not sure it would take off. I'm not knocking it or anything I just think there could be a more effective way of doing things. Also people are scabby when it comes to these kinda stuff. It would be a good way to get a protest inside I suppose but visually I cant see it being effective. Also its not a friendly its an important game. I would have thought a protest earlier in the week would have been better or perhaps in the build up. The protest at the czech game a couple of years ago was easy to do as there was nothing riding on it.
11/02/2007, 8:12 PM
The flag is the best way I think, but they've cottoned on to that and they're a lot harder to smuggle in. I know they're important matches, but I don't think that should stop us trying to put some more pressure on Delaney.
Also, 11 t-shirts saying D E L A N E Y O U T is a possibility. Greats more of a visual impression. We can put them on a t-shirt website or just make them ourselves - buy 11 blank t-shirts for a couple of quid each and bring them down to one of those t-shirt printing companies. Or just use some paint.
onenilgameover
11/02/2007, 8:23 PM
11 shirts would be better I reckon but crokers a big place and would be hard to stand out and get in pictures without a good postion and the prior knowlege of the media. if ye need numbers/contacts in that regard let me know. I'm gonna stay out of this one if the protest is at the ground. I think something should be organised for the friday evening before the game at merrion square. i'd be well up for that. we could use the red card thing again or something like it. 20/30 people in a line all going up to the door and sticking their individual cards on there. green door red and all that. get all the papers down and yer laughin. that would be much more effective and easier to do.
11 shirts would be better I reckon but crokers a big place and would be hard to stand
Use flares?
onenilgameover
11/02/2007, 9:40 PM
Use flares?
anti-delaney/stan flares? :rolleyes:
To get attention for the tshirts:rolleyes:
onenilgameover
11/02/2007, 10:10 PM
To get attention for the tshirts:rolleyes:
Right so gotcha...However I'd imagine flares at a serious protest with a serious point etc would look bad to the overall public along the same lines of poor ol' Maxi McAllister.
Dazzy
11/02/2007, 10:16 PM
Right so gotcha...However I'd imagine flares at a serious protest with a serious point etc would look bad to the overall public along the same lines of poor ol' maxi Maxi McAllister.
Only if you do what Inter did and threw them en masse onto the pitch, maybe continued uefa fines will shift delaney:eek: :p
clearskies
11/02/2007, 11:25 PM
The flag is the best way I think, but they've cottoned on to that and they're a lot harder to smuggle in.
I'd love to see it happen, expecially on the Hill, but security is very very tight in Croker.
Noelys Guitar
12/02/2007, 12:37 AM
I would suggest contacting the Newstalk106 football crew. They will give this story legs. Delaney has to go. How about balloons with Delaney out. Tons of them released. Or a group of us here online getting a fund togehter to rent a small plane with an advertising trailer DELANEY OUT flying above Croker? Get it in the press whatever the idea is.
onenilgameover
12/02/2007, 2:29 AM
I would suggest contacting the Newstalk106 football crew. They will give this story legs. Delaney has to go. How about balloons with Delaney out. Tons of them released. Or a group of us here online getting a fund togehter to rent a small plane with an advertising trailer DELANEY OUT flying above Croker? Get it in the press whatever the idea is.
a plane!!!! now your thinking....that would be class. I wonder how much that stuff costs....
I remember a group of fans protesting one year that brought out lots of black balloons. They really worked and looked rather spooky....
wow a plane....
12/02/2007, 10:01 AM
I reckon if the lads on the unofficial merchendice stalls sold delaney out tshirts they'd make a mint!!!
Would be handy if someone knew one of them :D
livehead1
12/02/2007, 11:53 AM
Maybe you could get Fran Rooney to organise it for you :D
12/02/2007, 9:57 PM
Hah ha :p
Sign me up ... where can i buy them !! :eek:
12/02/2007, 9:59 PM
a plane!!!! now your thinking....that would be class. I wonder how much that stuff costs....
I remember a group of fans protesting one year that brought out lots of black balloons. They really worked and looked rather spooky....
wow a plane....
€520 two years ago .... i am good for a few quid for it anyway, say €50
Jamjar
12/02/2007, 10:05 PM
Can we get a bouncy castle aswell......
Dotsy
13/02/2007, 11:14 AM
I'd contribute to the cost of the plane. Best idea I have heard so far.
srfc-1901
14/02/2007, 1:08 PM
i reckon the t-shirt protest would be far more effective if organised properly,an aeroploplane banner would allow delaney to use the "it was only the work of 1 or 2 bitter dundalk fans-the rest of irelnad is behind me",a t-shirt protest photographed in the papers with"john from cork " and"liam from dublin"etc will show everbody that it is not just a few dundalk fans
14/02/2007, 2:18 PM
possibly the best would be a delaney banner out at every game on the opening day....2 per ground..im sure if you alerted the media it would get some attention
14/02/2007, 9:52 PM
We'll give it until Monday, the 19th, for any final alterations to the slogan. Then I'll sort getting the t-shirts up on the internet for purchase. I'll try and get as much publicity for it as possible too.
I'd have no idea how to go about organising a plane, but if anyone wants to take the running on that, I'll contribute a few bob anyway.
SuperDave
15/02/2007, 5:50 PM
You criticise delaney, but like the hacks at the star demanding Kerr's replacement after the world cup qualifying campaign, what replacement have you got? Delaney isn't bad at his job, he's just made one mistake in appointing staunton, albeit a major mistake. Don't forget the dutch appointed van basten from just a little youth team experience (admittedly at ajax, but still relatively unproven) and the German's did fantastically under the completely untested Klinsmann, despite the media hounding he got up until the world cup started.
Any gripes you have with Delaney should be kept from the players, who need complete support.
Delaney isn't bad at his job, he's just made one mistake in appointing staunton, albeit a major mistake.
:eek: He does more than just appoint a National manager
15/02/2007, 6:40 PM
Delaney isn't bad at his job, he's just made one mistake in appointing staunton, albeit a major mistake.
Eh?
Read my first post, where I list all his faults to date. And they're just the ones we know about.
On the thread I linked in in m first post, I suggested Brian Kerr as an ideal canidiate for head of the FAI.
The whole point of this method of protesting is to criticise Delaney while still supporting the team. I'll still be at the game, I'll still cheer the team, and I'll probably make the t-shirts green to help too.
19/02/2007, 2:08 PM
Don't Make the T-shirts green whatever you do the'll blend into insignificance. White with Black lettering is a must. also has anyone thought of handing out leaflets to make joe soap Ireland soccer bandwagon jumper aware of just what the protest is about as I'd imagine that 70-80% of the attendance at croker porobably wont know who john delaney is never mind what his crimes are
19/02/2007, 6:20 PM
Good point.
zenokelly
22/02/2007, 3:10 PM
we need to do as much as possible.
Plane seems the best idea I will dig into my pocket but the t-shirts are a great idea.
Any way of getting big banners into Croker security will be tight!!
22/02/2007, 6:48 PM
Hope to have these ready in the next couple of days.
Have changed design to white t-shirt with black text.
I honestly wouldn't have the vaguest notion how to organise a plane, but if anyone wats to take up the running, I'll donate a few bob.
Schlooooomp
26/02/2007, 1:26 PM
A plane would be an amazing gesture, does anybody here have a pilot license and access to a small plane :D
I'm definitely up for a Delaney out t-shirt, make sure you post when we can order one :cool:
26/02/2007, 5:15 PM
Posted now in a separate thread.
27/02/2007, 2:25 PM
Aerial Advertising here
It says on the site that they spicalise in major sporting event's and even mention all soccer games at croker sounds like these are our lads
http://www.medialive.ie/Othermedia/banners.html
27/02/2007, 3:01 PM
Aerial Advertising here
It says on the site that they spicalise in major sporting event's and even mention all soccer games at croker sounds like these are our lads
http://www.medialive.ie/Othermedia/banners.html
Too expensive.
28/02/2007, 10:58 PM
Article in today's star on this!
28/02/2007, 11:03 PM
New thread here btw:
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=53976
01/03/2007, 9:19 AM
I'd contribute to the cost of the plane. Best idea I have heard so far.
Dotsy, you were also quoted in yday Star :eek: :D :rolleyes:
Dotsy
01/03/2007, 12:42 PM
Dotsy, you were also quoted in yday Star :eek: :D :rolleyes:
I know I saw it last night. The cat's out of the bag now. Wait for the FAI to arrange a no fly zone around Croker for the Wales match.
01/03/2007, 12:46 PM
I know I saw it last night. The cat's out of the bag now. Wait for the FAI to arrange a no fly zone around Croker for the Wales match.
And strip searches to remove the t-shirts:confused: :eek:
I say we get in touch with these people (http://www.assetsmodels.com/) and ask them to lead the protest. :)
ForzaWexford
01/03/2007, 12:58 PM
I say we get in touch with these people (http://www.assetsmodels.com/) and ask them to lead the protest. :)
She's (http://www.assetsmodels.com/female_models.php?model=57&i=4) in my class in college. I'll see if she's up for it! ;)
bigball
01/03/2007, 4:58 PM
delaney has made mistakes so did brian kerr. we gt rid of him and look what we got. u dn't throw out ur old shoes no matter how bad they are until u get a new better pair!!
he defo has made boboos but i think in the hysteeria he'll be gettin blamed for shergars robbery soon. he's not long in the job and he seems to be able to make a decision & get things done. not always correct decisions but we don't want to go back to the way things were.......its definitely getting better.
we need stability & reality.
Delaneys job should not be linked to the national team performance god or bad. If we had max points in the group at this stage i don't think it would reflect on JD & i don't believe the current situ reflects on him either.
He should be implementing developement structures around the country running the league etc if he ****s up there get him out.
01/03/2007, 5:10 PM
Delaneys job should not be linked to the national team performance god or bad.
If you'd bother reading the rest of the thread, you'd know this isn't the only issue behind the protest.
01/03/2007, 5:38 PM
She's (http://www.assetsmodels.com/female_models.php?model=57&i=4) in my class in college. I'll see if she's up for it! ;)
Don't flatter yourself, she's in a class of her own.:D
01/03/2007, 5:58 PM
he'll be gettin blamed for shergars robbery soon.
Nah, that was Ollie Byrne. :D
01/03/2007, 6:06 PM
Nah, that was Ollie Byrne. :D
No, it's the other way around - Shergar's robbery got the blame for Ollie.
as_i_say
01/03/2007, 6:41 PM
ive bought new shoes that havent been a patch on my old ones.
zinedineontour
01/03/2007, 8:03 PM
would people better not putting there efforts and money into supporting our country rather than creating a nasty atmosphere with this kind of thing. We need to create a cauldron at croker and hopefully the fans will respond like the rugby fans did on sat ..
01/03/2007, 8:05 PM
Nobody's talking about making a nasty atmosphere. That should be quite clear from the thread. We just want to get a point across.
In any case, all you're talking about is short term gain for long term pain. Let's ignore everything that's going on and sure it'll all turn out grand then.