Billsthoughts
09/02/2007, 9:52 AM
Fair play to whoever did that.
Legends.

09/02/2007, 9:54 AM
as i said on another thread here

hats off to the bohs fans - that banner undid a few hundred thousand euro worth of PR work by The Laney and his henchmen

a bed sheet and a lick o' black paint is mightier than the PR guru
picked up by both broadsheets the times and indo

Pats are the undisputed kings of irish football banners and even we doff our collective caps to such a direct hit on the forces of darkness.....THE LANEY AND THE FAI! :D

if what im reading here is true....that he blamed it on Dundalk fans (thus trying to create a link in the public's eyes to any dissent to his regime with the Maxi Lunatic fringe - its even better - it rattled him enough to spin some BS against it)

RogerMilla
09/02/2007, 10:26 AM
got my photo taken with it , fair play to them

Billsthoughts
09/02/2007, 10:34 AM
The photo of it is being used in all the papers as a response to the FAI PR bull...a picture speaks a thousand words and all that...when you have have seen the heavy handedness of the FAI mob at lansdowne road to suppress any form of protest its great to see them with egg on their face. so it was great to see the banner in all its glory in every paper imaginable. btw the papers have gone to town on the stan/delaney love affair today . they might not survive the weekend....

09/02/2007, 10:37 AM
Takes up most of a page in the Star today (Accompanying an article on how Delaney was a coward for sending Bobby Robson on to liveline)

09/02/2007, 10:46 AM
Believe there's a Rovers fan involved with the banner!

Two things Dolan has come out over the years I've always agreed with:

1. You cant support 2 clubs.

2. In order to get change at Merrion Square everybody must be chucked from top to bottom.

On the second one it is now time for this. Think there is some sort of incompetent virus raging through everybody there. Everybody out from receptionist to the CEO. Their incapacity for self criticism is astonishing.

Appoint football people. No more jobs for the boys e.g. a PFAI employee suddenly getting a job in the FAI.

Soper
09/02/2007, 10:47 AM
How do you go about getting 'in' the FAI.Be friends with Delaney?

09/02/2007, 10:51 AM

No, its all Bohs. Fair play to them. I know most in that pic.

09/02/2007, 11:12 AM
Is this the one you're talking about?

http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/4614/398085hf2.jpg

09/02/2007, 11:34 AM
Aye...

sonofstan
09/02/2007, 12:04 PM

Believe all you like...

lopez
09/02/2007, 1:03 PM
How did they know things were going to go soooooooo wrong? :confused: :confused:

Billsthoughts
09/02/2007, 1:09 PM
How did they know things were going to go soooooooo wrong? :confused: :confused:

0-1 v chile
0-4 v holland
0-1 v Germany
2-5 v cyprus

09/02/2007, 1:24 PM
Believe all you like...

There was one pictured with it apparently. At least you didnt put BSC or BHS on it..............

srfc-1901
09/02/2007, 1:25 PM
[QUOTE=NY Hoop;620308]Believe there's a Rovers fan involved with the banner!

i was helping hold it up-didnt have a clue what club they were who organised it,anything just to give abuse to delaney

09/02/2007, 1:29 PM

i was helping hold it up-didnt have a clue what club they were who organised it,anything just to give abuse to delaney

Nice one. Fair play.

09/02/2007, 1:43 PM
You know Delaney's bad when you get Bohs and ROvers fans helping with banners...

09/02/2007, 1:44 PM

Bitter rivals unite for the greater good!:)

onenilgameover
09/02/2007, 2:31 PM
did I hear he tried to say that the banner was errected by memebers of the dundalk fan club thus tar those holding the sign as lunatics a la maxi. very clever if he did I have to say. by all accounts the flag was on the opposite side to where he was and abuse was coming from all over the stands as irish fans surrounded him. fair play to the flag barers I only wish we could get more sh!t togehter now....

09/02/2007, 2:33 PM
I heard that apparently Delaney was on Newstalk blaming the banner on Dundalk fans who are bitter for not being allowed to play in his super duper premiership...

Saint Tom
09/02/2007, 3:20 PM
there was several involved from different clubs. a bohs fan brought it. pats and rovers too

09/02/2007, 3:23 PM

Two things Dolan has come out over the years I've always agreed with:

1. You cant support 2 clubs.

2. In order to get change at Merrion Square everybody must be chucked from top to bottom.

On the second one it is now time for this. Think there is some sort of incompetent virus raging through everybody there. Everybody out from receptionist to the CEO. Their incapacity for self criticism is astonishing.

Appoint football people. No more jobs for the boys e.g. a PFAI employee suddenly getting a job in the FAI.

Do you know who works in the FAI? Have a look at the structure and you will see it is run mostly by "football people". Mind you, "football people" run most of the LoI clubs and we've seen what a mess they've made of that.

09/02/2007, 3:25 PM
I heard someone stole it!:D

Billsthoughts
09/02/2007, 3:30 PM
Do you know who works in the FAI? Have a look at the structure and you will see it is run mostly by "football people". Mind you, "football people" run most of the LoI clubs and we've seen what a mess they've made of that.

can you explain to me what "football People" credentials john delaney has?

09/02/2007, 3:36 PM

True but read between the lines of my earlier post.

09/02/2007, 4:18 PM
can you explain to me what "football People" credentials john delaney has?

I suppose one has to ask what does "football people" mean and I did say "mostly" ? I wouldn't be a fan of Delaney's but he has implimented large scale change in an organisation which was crying out for it as we all know. How this change will work out remains to be seen but at least something is being done or tried. However, as I said before, I cannot understand why a 4 year contract was awarded to Stan and Father Time when, if it was a disaster, the FAI would have to fork out a million plus to get rid of them both before their time. What does that leave for a new decent manager ?

Wolfie
09/02/2007, 4:26 PM
I suppose one has to ask what does "football people" mean and I did say "mostly" ? I wouldn't be a fan of Delaney's but he has implimented large scale change in an organisation which was crying out for it as we all know. How this change will work out remains to be seen but at least something is being done or tried. However, as I said before, I cannot understand why a 4 year contract was awarded to Stan and Father Time when, if it was a disaster, the FAI would have to fork out a million plus to get rid of them both before their time. What does that leave for a new decent manager ?

Good point, Owls fan. They've compounded a dodgy appointment with a contract that has an overly generous time frame.

Nothing wrong with one campaign at a time re contracts. If they're doing the business its an amicable sign up. Everybody's happy.

CavanBohs
09/02/2007, 5:23 PM
How did they know things were going to go soooooooo wrong? :confused: :confused: It was made (by Bohs fans, NBB to be precise) towards the end of last year and has made a few apperances at different games, including the FAI cup final and is not just about Delaneys handling of national team but also his treatment of and bull****ting about the eircom league.

JC_GUFC
09/02/2007, 6:31 PM
Monkeys Delaney

09/02/2007, 7:45 PM
does it matter what club they support?

Saint Tom
09/02/2007, 8:01 PM
good job im behind the flag in the picture :)

09/02/2007, 8:16 PM
It is not just about Delaneys handling of national team but also his treatment of and bull****ting about the eircom league.

And you think the previous handling of the League of Ireland was working well? What's your solution then if you think his proposals are so faulty?

09/02/2007, 9:28 PM
What a joke tha Delaney has tried to say it was Dundalk fans bitter about their treatment by the FAI. I think the Flag held by the lads said what a lot of genuine fans think about the running of the FAI. Fair play lads. Glad the picture was not bigger or my ugly mug would have been on it.

CavanBohs
09/02/2007, 10:45 PM
And you think the previous handling of the League of Ireland was working well? What's your solution then if you think his proposals are so faulty?

No the old way did not work well but many believe (fear) the new way will be worse. Clubs have not been run well, the league has not been run well, it was not great package overall but with **** All Interest incharge, that is not going to change and may well in fact get worse.

Delaney hasn't a clue about football let alone running a whole league. His incompetence and stupidity is abysmal. He goes against FIFA reccomendations and should not have the power he does have as a chief executive of a fa but since these minor issues get in his way, why not just ignore them?:rolleyes:

He gave himself a new 6 year six figure a year salary. Money well spent? I don't ****ing think so. He is a good man for 'jobs for the boys' aswell, people who are not up to the job but as long as Delaney keeps his friends happy I can't complain really.

Look at the league at the moment, it's in a mess but the FAI aren't doing much to help the situation or even instill a bit of confidence in the fans that they will sort it out. Fran Gavin and John Delaney have not once given a straight answer about Shels and their affairs but pull out the old "it's a new league which is moving forward and improving and we are part of it and driving it forward".:rolleyes: But I can't really blame Delaney, I wouldn't want him to hurt his good friend, Ollie's feelings.

All I can see the FAI doing is throwing a bit at money at us and hoping it will shut us up. Yes, money is badly needed in the league but it is by no means the only thing. What about the promotion of the league? Yes they have given each club an allowance for a promotions officier but what about the simple things as getting the name of the eircom league out on TV, radio, in Ireland match programmes. The FAI need to promote the league as a whole and clubs can promote their individual clubs.

What about stopping kids going over to England at 15 and 16 for a tiny percentage to make it and the rest to fade away and out of football. How about a bit of initiative in this area of Irish football which would definately improve the eircom league and would more than likely improve the national team but sure there's always a down side to everthing.:D

Also Delaney is one of the barstoolers who populate this country and so as a Man United fan has a conflicting interest. He supports team from a different country, a team as a fan he would want to see do as well as they can so any threat to his side doing as well as possible would go against his best interests in his team. I wouldn't like to see another league improve if it was going to negatively effect my team and this is a very real potential with the eircom league and Man United. Of course you are going to come back and say, he is a professional and would not do this but even if it happens subconciously, it is going to effect the eircom league with the chief executive of the fa incharge of our league not giving it his all to improve our league.

As we well know (hopefully) Delaney is not one to handle critisism very well and I can see him dishing out fines here, there and everywhere.

Delaney is a fond admirer of the English approach to football, prawn crackers and so on. This is something I would hate to see this way of doing things introced into the eircom league. It rips the soul and passion out of the game, makes football a business more than a sport, makes atmosphere a distant memory and caters for those who give the least **** about the game, the corporates.

The national team will always take priority for Delaney, while the league will be like a little side project, something that he can have a little fun with maybe. Most time, money and effort into the national team as Delaney has more interest in that. Ireland going of to America for a nice holiday and a bit of a kick around one or two of the days while Delaney and the lads will no doubt have a good time for themselves over there aswell.

I think I've given you enough to show you why Delaney and the FAI are not the people to bring our DOMESTIC league forward.

LukeO
10/02/2007, 12:24 AM
There was one pictured with it apparently. At least you didnt put BSC or BHS on it..............

We put NBB on it. Bottom right-hand corner... ;)

How did they know things were going to go soooooooo wrong?

Oh dear... the innocence... :rolleyes:

Check out this thread for starters... and this is only the tip of the iceburg.

http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=51764

lopez
10/02/2007, 9:55 AM
...Oh dear... the innocence... :rolleyes: ...I was taking the p*ss. :rolleyes:

10/02/2007, 11:22 AM
I was taking the p*ss. :rolleyes:
Poor Luke is a bit like dcfcsteve, he gets caught up in things and doesn't always get sarcasm...

lopez
10/02/2007, 11:35 AM
Poor Luke is a bit like dcfcsteve, he gets caught up in things and doesn't always get sarcasm...To be fair, if you asked anyone during the day, they would never have admitted to 8 seconds from a draw. 2 -nil possibly was the most pessimistic result I heard predicted. However, I was at away games long before many people in San Marino were born and this is the worst I've seen. Staunton and the person who put evrything on the Staunton-Snowflake partnership need to go...NOW!!!!

Bomb Landsdowne
10/02/2007, 12:50 PM
Why is there only one Delaney out banner? They should be all over Croker next Month.

sonofstan
10/02/2007, 12:58 PM
Why is there only one Delaney out banner? They should be all over Croker next Month.

They'd be confiscated going in, no question

10/02/2007, 1:00 PM

Unless everyone makes 'We dont want Delaney out' banners and rips off half inside :D

Bomb Landsdowne
10/02/2007, 1:10 PM
Have a protest outside Croker or Fai HQ before the Welsh game with the banners and invite the Press(maybe invite Welsh/British press would really show the muppet up).

Pressure has to be put on him to resign.

LukeO
10/02/2007, 3:44 PM
Poor Luke is a bit like dcfcsteve, he gets caught up in things and doesn't always get sarcasm...

My bad, I hold my hands up! :o

Though the point still remains for others who don't seem to understand the Delaney is a cancer on Irish football.

LukeO
10/02/2007, 3:53 PM

Fold it in two, rap it around your waste and tuck your t-shirt into your trousers so it doesn't fall out. You may look a bit fat, but you'll get them in! :D

And if the FAI stewards at the game try to take it off you, just REFUSE to give it to them. They have no RIGHT to take it off you, there is nothing libelous or otherwise about "Delaney OUT", it is merely expressing an opinion. A Garda at the Ireland B game in Dalymount a few months ago pointed this out to the FAI head of security on the night after another "Delaney Out" banner was confiscated from a Bohs fan.

10/02/2007, 5:11 PM
To be fair, if you asked anyone during the day, they would never have admitted to 8 seconds from a draw. 2 -nil possibly was the most pessimistic result I heard predicted.

In DIT Kevin St, at approximately 1806h on Wednesday 7th February 2007, I said to the person next me ahead of some match...that "they'll be lucky to win 0-2".

This is from the person who also predicted Liechtenstein 0-0 Republic of Ireland. Go me.:cool: :D

steno
10/02/2007, 5:19 PM
psychic intuition, thats called

lopez
10/02/2007, 5:43 PM
Fold it in two, rap it around your waste and tuck your t-shirt into your trousers so it doesn't fall out. You may look a bit fat, but you'll get them in! :D

And if the FAI stewards at the game try to take it off you, just REFUSE to give it to them. They have no RIGHT to take it off you, there is nothing libelous or otherwise about "Delaney OUT", it is merely expressing an opinion. A Garda at the Ireland B game in Dalymount a few months ago pointed this out to the FAI head of security on the night after another "Delaney Out" banner was confiscated from a Bohs fan.Completely different, but the same thing happened with a mate in the works canteen after he complained his burger was inedible. The canteen staff stole it back. He wanted to take it to the local Food Hygene department of the council and called the police claiming his burger had been stolen. They came and got his burger for him.

No excuses!. Shove it down your b*locks. They won't go and look down there, and you might increase your chances of pulling.

4tothefloor
10/02/2007, 6:21 PM
Also Delaney is one of the barstoolers who populate this country and so as a Man United fan has a conflicting interest. He supports team from a different country, a team as a fan he would want to see do as well as they can so any threat to his side doing as well as possible would go against his best interests in his team. I wouldn't like to see another league improve if it was going to negatively effect my team and this is a very real potential with the eircom league and Man United. Of course you are going to come back and say, he is a professional and would not do this but even if it happens subconciously, it is going to effect the eircom league with the chief executive of the fa incharge of our league not giving it his all to improve our league.

Delaney is a fond admirer of the English approach to football, prawn crackers and so on. This is something I would hate to see this way of doing things introced into the eircom league. It rips the soul and passion out of the game, makes football a business more than a sport, makes atmosphere a distant memory and caters for those who give the least **** about the game, the corporates.
Getting a bit ahead of yourself there I'd say :D Prawn SANDWICHES and corporate boxes at EL grounds - can't wait to see that day!

No excuses!. Shove it down your b*locks. They won't go and look down there, and you might increase your chances of pulling.
Well how about we start a campaign for everyone who is unhappy with the current CEO and team manager to bring their own banner to the Welsh and Slovakian games? Hide the banners going in, and refuse to hand them over in the ground. Know your rights and call the nearest Garda over if there is a problem. Staunton and Delaney both have to go. The only way of getting them out is through fan and media pressure.

By the way, my uncle is a referee assessor for the GAA. He got a call yesterday from Croke Park asking him would he work crowd control for the soccer international v Wales. This suggests to me that the GAA are hiring their own for stewarding etc. Which would in turn suggest that Delaney might not have as much power in asking for banners to be removed in Croke Park. Interesting........

10/02/2007, 6:33 PM
Staunton and Delaney both have to go. The only way of getting them out is through fan and media pressure........

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of both (and I see a few League of Ireland managers in today's Indo saying it is too early to dump Stan), it just won't happen because whatever about paying one off, no way is there the money to pay both of them off.

LukeO
10/02/2007, 6:48 PM
Whatever about the rights and wrongs of both (and I see a few League of Ireland managers in today's Indo saying it is too early to dump Stan), it just won't happen because whatever about paying one off, no way is there the money to pay both of them off.

So, because it will be difficult to oust Delaney we should just bend over and accept this ass raping from the FAI? That's a great idea...

Well how about we start a campaign for everyone who is unhappy with the current CEO and team manager to bring their own banner to the Welsh and Slovakian games? Hide the banners going in, and refuse to hand them over in the ground. Know your rights and call the nearest Garda over if there is a problem. Staunton and Delaney both have to go. The only way of getting them out is through fan and media pressure.

Agree, though the emphasis should be on the "Delaney Out" campaign. There's bound to be enough Oirish band-wagoners there with their "Staunton Out" banners, totally missing the point that Delaney is the main source of the problem. While Delaney remains in charge of the FAI, sacking Staunton will be akin to rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic.

Scores of "Delaney Out" banners in Croker might change the tosser's assertion that its simply the work of disgruntled Dundalk fans. :rolleyes: