View Full Version : The Players are getting off scot free

08/02/2007, 9:58 AM
First of all im not standing up for anyone over last night performance which was disgraceful but I think the players are getting a very easy ride.

Mick McCarthy , Brian Keer and now Steve Staunton have been the subject of personal and private campaigns against them in the media in Kerrs case seemingly driven by some of his Squad and John Delaney and his henchmen.

The players have shown no pride in the last 5 years and have constantly let down the fans on numerous occasions but it is always somebody elses fault either the FAI or the incumbant manager.I wish for once they spoke as honestly as Kevin Kilbane did last night and came out from behind their over inflated egos.

Sadly I thinl we are in for a long time in the wilderness as the young players coming through are not up to scratch and players like Robbie Keane and Duffer seem burnt out.

dr_peepee
08/02/2007, 10:12 AM
It's like some of us were saying yesterday though... A game like that there's always a danger of complacency given the opposition. Some new blood in more areas of the park would have increased the hunger and maybe, in fact I'm as sure as I can be, that we'd have seen the hunger from the dying minutes much earlier in the game for a sustained period. There was nothing to be gained by playing the like O'Shea and Kilbane last night, although Kilbane ran himself into the ground as usual. Carsley should have made way earlier too as there really was no need for a limited but specialist anchor man when SM sat 10 players in there own half. Hunt or either of the Quinns should have started and Stokes should have been introduced much earlier.

Why didn't McShane start too. I liked what he brought to the team when he came on, urgency, aggression etc. I don't think he was at fault for the goal. Looks like Henderson gave him a call when he came running out.

as_i_say
08/02/2007, 10:15 AM
Was just about to post a similar thread. That shower of over paid over hyped soul-less tossers is indicative of what is going on in the English premier league now where most of our players play. They are more concerned with rifling as much cash as possible out of their clubs and what car to buy next week or jewelry to buy for their tarted up girlfriends/wives.

Staunton is a MORON. Everyone knows that. Before he did his interview last night I was more angry at the players than him, but then he comes on and says what he says-I mean all he had to say was-we were appaling and to give some measure of shame.

Instead he comes out with nuggets like “we took a gamble playing this game in February” and other tripe-its actually hilarious.

The players have proved that playing for your country no longer holds the importance it once did. I’m not even sure how we can go about fixing this either when they obviously couldn’t care less.

I officially don’t care anymore. I don’t care about checking out championship clubs for the latest irish talent, I don’t care about watching match of the day for the odd irish players goals and I certainly don’t care whether we qualify or not.

I am now a rugby fan. At least that lot give a sh!t and show some pride. The irish players and management can fcuk off back to their mansions in the burbs. Not another penny of my money or minute of my time will be spent wasted on them unless action is taken.

Roadend
08/02/2007, 10:33 AM
players like Robbie Keane and Duffer seem burnt out.

How on earth could these two overated lads be burnt out?

DotTV
08/02/2007, 10:34 AM
I wholeheartedly agree with the first post of this thread.I didn't even bother reading through the other thread because I'm sure it's full of anti-Staunton/Delaney stuff.
Don't get me wrong Staunton is way out of his league but to be honest my mother could have managed a team to beat San Marino.Pick a keeper, 4 defenders, 4 midfielders and 2 strikers, put them on the pitch and the job should be done.
It's down to the players on the pitch to show some ingenuity on these type of games.
Carsley constantly played deep when O'Shea could have taken up that position(they only had one striker).
I counted about 5 times Stephen Ireland passed the ball to no-one in the first half, ditto for Ian Harte.
Long and Keane spent more time outside the box than in.
Missed chances:Duff from the edge of the box, Kilbane inside the box, Keane from Ireland's pass, Kilbane header second half, Hunt from 2 yards, Stokes from 5 yards.
Henderson,McShan,Dunne comedy show for their goal.
The one time Finnan got to the by-line we scored.
The times Duff,Keane and Kilbane ran at them, they skinned them and most sickingly of all we created 5 chances in three minutes after they scored, why didn't we do that all game?

We have talent but the lads need to show it.
Only positive is we have three more points and miraclessly we are still in with a shout.

as_i_say
08/02/2007, 10:52 AM
exactly. playing for your country is a priviledge not a right. there is no honour being shown by either management or players. staunton cannot string 2 words together but players of that supposedly quality should at least act like they care for people who pay vast amounts to travel the world to support those over paid wastrels.

liaml
08/02/2007, 10:58 AM
The players are getting off scot-free - by the Management. The problem is there is no accountability.

Keane's attitude on the pitch is shocking. He is not a captain and is not scoring goals. If he were dropped it would be a clear message to the players that _all_ their places are on the line. Stan (or whoever) needs to stamp his authority on the players and get them looking over their shoulders.

-Liam

08/02/2007, 11:01 AM
The players have shown no pride in the last 5 years and have constantly let down the fans on numerous occasions but it is always somebody elses fault either the FAI or the incumbant manager.I wish for once they spoke as honestly as Kevin Kilbane did last night and came out from behind their over inflated egos.

what did he say, i never saw that?

First
08/02/2007, 11:07 AM
He basically said they were ****e

Irish_Praha
08/02/2007, 11:13 AM
I generally agree with the first post aswell. I haven't had time to go through all the threads and posts that have appeared on here since the game so maybe I'm just repeating what has already been said. However, this game really shows up the managemant and the players for what they really are.
Losses to Germany and Cyprus were excused in some quaters due to the fact that "we dont have the player we used to have" "the Irish public expect too much from our limited players". It's true we expect a lot and it's not the best squad we ever had but this was San Marino FFS!!
We had 11 so-called professional players on the pitch playing against offically the worst team in Europe. I don't care how bad our squad is supposed to be the only reason for struggling has to be down to bad management and uncommited players. The whole set-up stinks.

As the first post says the players are also largely to blaim but it doesn't help when you play week-in week-out for a professional unit and then when you turn up to play for Ireland it's obvious that the manager doesn't have a clue what he's doing. Yes the players should need no motivation to play their hearts out for their country but it also helps when you have respect for your off-field leader. Going by his interview yesterday Stan probably gave the lads a pat on the back and thanked them for winning a difficult 3 points.
We need a manager that will give them a good bollickling after such a performance. So that they will never play like that again.

gnasher
08/02/2007, 11:14 AM
The players are getting off scot-free - by the Management. The problem is there is no accountability.

Keane's attitude on the pitch is shocking. He is not a captain and is not scoring goals. If he were dropped it would be a clear message to the players that _all_ their places are on the line. Stan (or whoever) needs to stamp his authority on the players and get them looking over their shoulders.

-Liam

Totally agree - I didn't see the game but i've watched hime for Spurs and Ireland for ages - all he does is moan and annoy the ref - like it's teh ref's fault your unable to take the ball out of a tackle - you useless ****.

Drop him now

Irish_Praha
08/02/2007, 11:22 AM
I've just been thinking about it. If Stan is going to stay on it obvious that he's never going to grow a pair of balls and tell the players how crap they were. Instead of sacking him and and having to pay out his contract the FAI should employ someone from the military to shout abuse at them after a crap performance. They should start with a 30 minute drill before the next game and tell them if they dont perform they will be subjected to even worse abuse for 2 hours after the game. Corporal punishment shouldn't be ruled out either.

08/02/2007, 11:33 AM
first is there a source to it?

08/02/2007, 11:42 AM
"The facts are we should be beating the likes of France and Israel and the Swiss.....we have far better players......"

Foot.ie Oirlent fans under Kerr

"we should be beating the likes of Cyprus and San Marino comfortably.......we have far better players.....

Foot.ie Oirlent fans under Our New World Class Manager.

bholg
08/02/2007, 11:45 AM

-Liam

agree.. keane in particular (as captain) was woeful. stokes should replace him and start alongside doyle as soon as possible. had more effect in his 10 mins than keane did 4 the match. All that i think of keane (for Ireland) these days is a stupid bewildered face, hands in the air, whinging 4 penos that dont come very often.

Irish_Praha
08/02/2007, 11:47 AM
first is there a source to it?

???:confused:

08/02/2007, 12:08 PM
I think Stokes impressed more in the 10 minutes on the park because his attitude was shoot first, whereas Long and Keane spent too much time trying to beat players before shooting.

KopKiller
08/02/2007, 12:34 PM
Im in total agreement. The buck stops with the manager who obviously hasnt got a clue what he is doing and has much personality as a dead scabby horse but the players really dont seem to be interested these days

We have some real talent in our squad, miles better than the scots or welsh but there is no direction, ambition and even worse passion.

We need to get rid of the fat cats at the top, i.e. Delany and appoint a managaer with passion ... and a little bit of managerial experience would help! Aldo is the man in waiting.

Keane must be replaced by Given as captain. Hes too complacent, arragont and whingy. He should still play but he is not a leader.

Duff needs to be given a role where he can influence the game more, instead of being stuck either wing, let him free to go where the ball is, he is our most creative player but the shackles are on him.

08/02/2007, 2:20 PM
Duff needs to be given a role where he can influence the game more, instead of being stuck either wing, let him free to go where the ball is, he is our most creative player but the shackles are on him.

He's stuck on the wing because he's a winger, he would be far less effective in the middle of the park or up front

08/02/2007, 2:32 PM
Duff's best games for Ireland were up front under McCarthy.

Kilbane is the only player who came out of last night witha little bid of pride in tact. The others were disgusting. Kilbane tried (in his limited way)

08/02/2007, 2:35 PM
Hunt was very good in my opinion (in his limited game time)
text book no nonsense rory gallagher look a like