PDA

View Full Version : Starting to follow Sligo Rovers now -- am I picking a bad time? :)

Kivlehan
01/02/2007, 12:50 AM
My paternal grandparents came from County Sligo (near Tubbercurry) and I'm just getting into soccer now thanks to enjoying the World Cup, the FIFA 07 PS2 game and Football Manager 07. This combination of factors leads me to pick Sligo Rovers as the team I'm going to root for.

I'm getting the sense from reading your posts and reading some of the articles on eleven-a-side.com about the new manager that I'm picking a bad time to jump on the bandwagon. I don't particularly care as I'm not looking for a frontrunner, just the natural choice for me (Roscommon doesn't have a team, that's where the maternal grandparents hail from, so it's Sligo or bust).

My question is how much worse do you think Sligo Rovers will be this year as opposed to last year? Fifth place in the top division seems like a pretty decent result. It appears from the postings here that the new manager isn't doing a great job replacing players pilfered by ex-manager Sean Connor.

Is the team going to be in danger of relegation?

Or will the fully professional status and what we can assume to be better training and focus going to help the squad rise above what appears from all of your comments to be a dip in talent? After all, the top 4 teams in the league last year were all fully professional right?

I'll be following the team either way, just wondered what the folks here think these changes will amount to at the end of the day.

SRFC Head
01/02/2007, 7:55 AM
Relax, there is still a month before we kick a ball, plenty of time to get a few players in. Its too early to say whats going to happen yet. Chill out enjoy the begining of a new era for Rovers.

Bravo
01/02/2007, 10:29 AM