View Full Version : Irish Football Songs

theworm2345
29/01/2007, 4:02 AM
I'm not talking about songs like Jack is the Daddy-O or The Game (We Didn't Start the Fire). Though those are great, I was wondering what songs are sung at Irish Football Matches (as I have never had the chance to go to one). I know You'll Never Walk Alone was sung at Stade de France. I figure Que Sera Sera and maybe The Battle Hymn of the Republic (the same tune as We're not Brazil we're Northern Ireland) are because they are general football songs, any others (lyrics would be great)?

SuperDave
29/01/2007, 12:34 PM
"All you need is Duff" which is a pretty crap one

Que Sera was doing the rounds a while back, though it had the line "whatever will be will be, we're going to Germany" so it died a quick death.

hp123
29/01/2007, 12:48 PM
We've got a right back called Steve Finnan,
When he plays we're always winnin,
Passes the ball, out and in again,
We've got a right back called Steve Finnan.

Never got going at the match but a great one in the pub before hand.

29/01/2007, 2:56 PM
ole ole ole ole.....

Molly Malone and clap your hands and chant Ireland instead of singing the chorus but that has died out now.

Come on ye boys in green

You'll never walk alone (maybe not as difficult for manyoo fans now given that they sang it before Liverpool did)

Who put the ball in the English net? Rayo Rayo Houghton

and especially for Wales

You're Brits and you know you are

You're just a small part of England

billybunter
29/01/2007, 11:06 PM
personally i love the old style stuff. spent 8-9 years on the terraces in landsdowne late 80's , early 90's , and you'd always get the 'on the one road" "molly malone" - we seem to take our lead form the brits lately ' stand up for the boys in green etc ****e, next it will be 'who are ya" !!!...have to say the irish fans are still magnificient - regardless of what they sing, so i dont want to be to critical!!!

30/01/2007, 9:10 AM
'on the one road"

i think that would be a great song to get going. great ring to it and good fast rythym. agreed about copying the english league songs.

joe_barry80
30/01/2007, 9:14 AM
Oh Ah Paul Mc Grath I know it`s old but I was screaming it in the Irish Pub in Stuttgart and everyone joined in. :D

Bomb Landsdowne
31/01/2007, 12:27 PM
Would be easy enough to get were on the one road going in San Marino next week as there will only be a few hundred of us. Something different from the usual come on you boys in green and Ireland Ireland.

Was nice hearing Oro Se Do Bheatha Abhaile being sung in Stuttgart but dont see it catching on.

Collyontour
31/01/2007, 12:49 PM
[QUOTE=Bomb Landsdowne;614285]Would be easy enough to get were on the one road going in San Marino next week as there will only be a few hundred of us. Something different from the usual come on you boys in green and Ireland Ireland.
QUOTE]

I agree. Let's bring it back

SuperDave
31/01/2007, 1:31 PM
We need a dedicated SongSheets thread on here, with lyrics to songs, and possibly links to the sings.

I'll start:

1) "On the One Road"

(Chorus)
We're on the one road
Sharing the one load
We're on the road to God knows where
We're on the one road
It may be the wrong road
But we're together now who cares
North men, South men, comrades all
Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
We're on the one road swinging along
Singing a soldier's song

Though we've had our troubles now and then
Now is the time to make them up again
Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
Now is the time to step together now

(Chorus repeat)

Tinker, tailor, every mother's son
Butcher, baker shouldering his gun
Rich man, poor man, every man in line
All together just like Old Land Syne

(Chorus repeat)

Night is darkest just before the dawn
From dissention Ireland is reborn
Soon we'll all be United Irishmen
Make our land a Nation Once Again

(Chorus repeat)

2) "Molly Malone"

1. In Dublin's fair city,
Where girls are so pretty,
I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone,
As she pushed her wheelbarrow
Through streets broad and narrow,
Crying, "Cockles and mussels, alive, alive oh"!
Chorus:
Alive, alive oh! alive, alive oh!

2. Now she was a fishmonger,
And sure twas no wonder,
For so were her mother and father before,
And they each wheeled their barrow,
Chorus:

3. She died of a fever,
And no one could save her,
And that was the end of sweet Molly Malone.
Now her ghost wheels her barrow,
Chorus:

3) Oró, sé do bheatha abhaile

(Chorus)-
Oró, sé do bheatha abhaile,
Oró, sé do bheatha abhaile
Anois ar theacht an tsamhraidh.

'Sé do bheatha, a bhean ba léanmhar,
do ba é ár gcreach tú bheith i ngéibheann,
do dhúiche bhreá i seilbh méirleach,
is tú díolta leis na Gallaibh.

(Chorus):-

Tá Gráinne Mhaol ag teacht thar sáile,
óglaigh armtha léi mar gharda,
Gaeil iad féin is ní Gaill ná Spáinnigh,
is cuirfidh siad ruaig ar Ghallaibh.

A bhuí le Rí na bhFeart go bhfeiceann,
mura mbim beo ina dhiaidh ach seachtain,
Gráinne Mhaol agus míle gaiscíoch,
ag fógairt féin ar Ghallaibh.

cullenswood
31/01/2007, 2:05 PM
You'll never walk alone (maybe not as difficult for manyoo fans now given that they sang it before Liverpool did)

?????

31/01/2007, 3:57 PM
Yeah I like Ooh Ahh Paul McGrath Sung it all the way out to the stadium in Stuttgart.

WexDec
31/01/2007, 5:27 PM

There's always one

billybunter
31/01/2007, 11:35 PM
the fields of athenrye, on the one road, boys in green, molly malone and the good old roars of "ireland" is a sound repertoire (could always thro in the national anthem at the second half kick off!!). no hint of english influence, every irish fan knows the words and best of all - they are sure to rouse the team!!! - anyone with a fookin pulse would kick it up a notch if you heard thousands of paddy's belting any of these tunes out!!!!

01/02/2007, 12:36 PM
You'll never walk alone has always been a big favourite.

I don't support eithwer Man Utd or Liverpool. Many Manyoo and Ireland fans had a problem with it. I used to (well still do) give a mate a terrible ribbing as he stood on the kop scarf aloft singing YNWA. (euro 96 playoff).

The reference to manyoo was a recent study proved that it was first sung by Man utd fans in 1958 whereas Liverpool didn't pick it up until the early 60's. Celtic had aclaim on it too I believe.

SuperDave
01/02/2007, 3:30 PM
We need a dedicated SongSheets thread on here, with lyrics to songs, and possibly links to the sings.

I'll start:

1) "On the One Road"

(Chorus)
We're on the one road
Sharing the one load
We're on the road to God knows where
We're on the one road
It may be the wrong road
But we're together now who cares
North men, South men, comrades all
Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
We're on the one road swinging along
Singing a soldier's song

Though we've had our troubles now and then
Now is the time to make them up again
Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
Now is the time to step together now

(Chorus repeat)

Tinker, tailor, every mother's son
Butcher, baker shouldering his gun
Rich man, poor man, every man in line
All together just like Old Land Syne

(Chorus repeat)

Night is darkest just before the dawn
From dissention Ireland is reborn
Soon we'll all be United Irishmen
Make our land a Nation Once Again

(Chorus repeat)

2) "Molly Malone"

1. In Dublin's fair city,
Where girls are so pretty,
I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone,
As she pushed her wheelbarrow
Chorus:
Alive, alive oh! alive, alive oh!

2. Now she was a fishmonger,
And sure twas no wonder,
For so were her mother and father before,
And they each wheeled their barrow,
Chorus:

3. She died of a fever,
And no one could save her,
And that was the end of sweet Molly Malone.
Now her ghost wheels her barrow,
Chorus:

3) Oró, sé do bheatha abhaile

(Chorus)-
Oró, sé do bheatha abhaile
Anois ar theacht an tsamhraidh.

'Sé do bheatha, a bhean ba léanmhar,
do ba é ár gcreach tú bheith i ngéibheann,
do dhúiche bhreá i seilbh méirleach,
is tú díolta leis na Gallaibh.

Tá Gráinne Mhaol ag teacht thar sáile,
óglaigh armtha léi mar gharda,
Gaeil iad féin is ní Gaill ná Spáinnigh,
is cuirfidh siad ruaig ar Ghallaibh.

A bhuí le Rí na bhFeart go bhfeiceann,
mura mbim beo ina dhiaidh ach seachtain,
Gráinne Mhaol agus míle gaiscíoch,
ag fógairt féin ar Ghallaibh.

4) The Fields of Athenry

1-
By a lonely prison wall
I heard a young girl calling
Micheal they are taking you away
For you stole Trevelyn's corn
So the young might see the morn.
Now a prison ship lies waiting in the bay.
Chorus
Low lie the Fields of Athenry
Where once we watched the small free birds fly.
Our love was on the wing we had dreams and songs to sing
It's so lonely 'round the Fields of Athenry.

-2-
By a lonely prison wall
I heard a young man calling
Nothing matters Mary when you're free,
Against the Famine and the Crown
I rebelled they ran me down
Now you must raise our child with dignity.

Chorus

-3-
By a lonely harbour wall
She watched the last star falling
As that prison ship sailed out against the sky
Sure she'll wait and hope and pray
For her love in Botany Bay

Chorus

5) You'll Never Walk Alone

When you walk through the storm
Hold your head up high
And don't be afraid of the dark
At the end of the storm
There's a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of the lark

Walk on, through the wind
Walk on, through the rain
Though your dreams be tossed and blown
Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone

Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone

cullenswood
01/02/2007, 3:34 PM
Chorus
Low lie the Fields of Athenry
Where once we watched the small free birds fly.
Our love was on the wing we had dreams and songs to sing

And I hope people stop singing that ridiculous "IRA" and "Sinn Féin" bits in the chorus. It really p1sses me off

01/02/2007, 3:42 PM
Ill make the first objection, molly malone is not inclusive enough, its about some smelly DUB!!! :D

But seriouslly though, some people will be against "on the one road" for its "sectarian" references. I wonder could they be replaced - the lines that is? Cos its a great sing along song, especially if you could get one sectoin singing one part and the other section singing the other!!

SuperDave
01/02/2007, 3:54 PM
we need YBIG to put in a songs page or two in future editions. Might work.

01/02/2007, 3:56 PM
good thinking superdavedub...and a free pint for everyone who sings :D

its a start though i think some people would be embarrassed to have to look at a magazine for the words, would be great for oro se de bheath abhaile though, especially if you did an "english" sound of it like eirebhoy did for the national anthem.

actually on that point, do ye think it would be worth trying to get onto carslberg or something and say something about getting singing going at matches, I mean more people who are drunk sing, and more people who sing are drunk, it benefits both parties!

Mento
01/02/2007, 4:03 PM
we need YBIG to put in a songs page or two in future editions. Might work.

Did it in our very first issue, must brong itback for the future.

what about "there's only one Gualltieri" for San marino!

Collyontour
01/02/2007, 4:25 PM
The Diego Maradona song that was sung in Stuttgart is a good one too.

01/02/2007, 8:17 PM
what about "there's only one Gualltieri" for San marino!
"Are you watching Engerland?" when (if) we're still 0-0 after 9 seconds.

Collyontour
02/02/2007, 8:05 AM
And for those of us who weren't in Stuttgart??? What is it???

You put your left hand in,
You put your left hand out,
You put your left hand in and you shake it all about,
You do the hokey cokey and you score a goal,
That's what it's all about,
Oh, Diego Maradona,
He put the English OUT, OUT, OUT

Got a great laugh out of it in Germany

02/02/2007, 11:29 AM
And the one we sang in Stuttgart in 1988 to the tune of the Banana boat song

Di E go Di E go
Diego scores and the Brits go home
Di E go Di E go
Diego scores and the Brits go hiome
Not once but twice and with his hand
Diego scores and the Brits go home

Subsequently

Rayo Rayo
Rayo Houghton sent England home

and

Marco Marco
Marco Van Basten sent England home.

hp123
04/02/2007, 3:05 PM
should we not be more concerned with getting songs going for our players and team than worrying about some sh!t team from across the water?

If they relate to any of our wins over them fine, but singing about marco van basten. bit sad I think.

Its hard to get new songs going as we only have a small number of games a year but with a bit of work it can be done.

On a side note, met Stephen Hunt and shane Long at the airport in Manchester. Hunt is a muppet. Long seemed like a nice lad. Richard Dunne and Stephen Ireland were then on our flight.

Passenger Dunne was asked to go to the top of the queue, so up walked Ritchie and he brought Ireland with him, turned out it was a different Dunne they were looking for. Queue with the rest of us lads!!! He got quiet a bit of stick. Tight ba$tard$ flying Ryanair!!!

05/02/2007, 11:58 AM
should we not be more concerned with getting songs going for our players and team than worrying about some sh!t team from across the water?

It was in 1988.

Shock horror football fans sing song about rival team. :eek: :eek:

05/02/2007, 12:08 PM
Yeah nothing wrong with a bit of baiting your rival. It happens. Scottish fans sing about the English also but from what a few of the Tartan boys tell me the ones that travel for years dont sing about the English as much as they guys that just go to the big trips etc. But nothing wrong with singing songs about England etc as its all a bit of good fun banter.

fergalr
05/02/2007, 12:47 PM
But seriouslly though, some people will be against "on the one road" for its "sectarian" references. I wonder could they be replaced - the lines that is? Cos its a great sing along song, especially if you could get one sectoin singing one part and the other section singing the other!!

The words are printed earlier in the thread and unless I'm missing something I can't see any lines that are "sectarian".

reder
05/02/2007, 1:36 PM
And I hope people stop singing that ridiculous "IRA" and "Sinn Féin" bits in the chorus. It really p1sses me off

If I ever came accross anyone singing that bit over within 5 rows of me, I woulg go to where they are and deck them. Thats one thing that needs to be stamped out now! Find most of our songs very cheesy. Molly malone is probably the best of the lot. YNWA is a liverpool song through and through and I dont think we should try and sing it, we only embarrass ourselves with a half hearted version. I for one will never sing a song with irish words.

joe_barry80
05/02/2007, 1:39 PM
If I ever came accross anyone singing that bit over within 5 rows of me, I woulg go to where they are and deck them. Thats one thing that needs to be stamped out now!
Well Said

superdubs
05/02/2007, 4:27 PM
If I ever came accross anyone singing that bit over within 5 rows of me, I woulg go to where they are and deck them. Thats one thing that needs to be stamped out now! Find most of our songs very cheesy. Molly malone is probably the best of the lot. YNWA is a liverpool song through and through and I dont think we should try and sing it, we only embarrass ourselves with a half hearted version. I for one will never sing a song with irish words.

u wont sing a sons with irish words?????? sorry thought we were irish there for a minute!

hp123
05/02/2007, 4:43 PM
It was in 1988.

Shock horror football fans sing song about rival team. :eek: :eek:

yeah, so what? The dutch also sent us home.

Would rather sing about our vistories over them than Van Basten putting them out of the same competition that his team knocked us out of.

Bring Back Mick
05/02/2007, 6:30 PM
On a side note, met Stephen Hunt and shane Long at the airport in Manchester. Hunt is a muppet. Long seemed like a nice lad. Richard Dunne and Stephen Ireland were then on our flight.

Well there's a Surprise :D

05/02/2007, 7:25 PM
The words are printed earlier in the thread and unless I'm missing something I can't see any lines that are "sectarian".

There is a sectarian version sung by a snal minority of fans of a British team and I also heard it in a Student Union context not football related

Northmen Southmen comrades all
soon there'll be no protestants at all.

Thankfully I've never heard this sung like that in an Irish football context all some of the stuff in the square in Stuttgart wasn't far off.

WexDec
05/02/2007, 8:57 PM
You'll never walk alone has always been a big favourite.

I don't support eithwer Man Utd or Liverpool. Many Manyoo and Ireland fans had a problem with it. I used to (well still do) give a mate a terrible ribbing as he stood on the kop scarf aloft singing YNWA. (euro 96 playoff).

The reference to manyoo was a recent study proved that it was first sung by Man utd fans in 1958 whereas Liverpool didn't pick it up until the early 60's. Celtic had aclaim on it too I believe.

The fact there's conflicting claims just drags it down to club culture which is the exact reason it wouldn't be appropriate for an eclectic mix of Liverpool, Celtic and Man Utd fans who's common bond is their Irishness and that of the team they support.

theworm2345
06/02/2007, 1:20 AM
Anyone know what (if anything) was being sung when the English started rioting back in February (the 15th?) 1995?

06/02/2007, 9:50 AM
If I ever came accross anyone singing that bit over within 5 rows of me, I woulg go to where they are and deck them. Thats one thing that needs to be stamped out now! Find most of our songs very cheesy. Molly malone is probably the best of the lot. .

like to see you try and deck me!:cool:

molly malone!:eek:

ForzaWexford
07/02/2007, 12:39 AM
Anyone know what (if anything) was being sung when the English started rioting back in February (the 15th?) 1995?

I was only 6 or so at the time, so probably not your best source!, but...

...I was in the East Upper and the only chant I can vividly remember is "You'll never beat the Irish" after KELLY! scored. I'm sure there were others though.

AFAIK the English hooligans were chanting "No surrender to the IRA", but thats just something I read somewhere, not remember hearing.

theworm2345
07/02/2007, 2:29 AM

...I was in the East Upper and the only chant I can vividly remember is "You'll never beat the Irish" after Quinn scored. I'm sure there were others though.

AFAIK the English hooligans were chanting "No surrender to the IRA", but thats just something I read somewhere, not remember hearing.
Twas David Kelly I believe who scored. Who came out worst of the riot (most banged up) The English or Irish

cullenswood
07/02/2007, 8:25 AM
Twas David Kelly I believe who scored. Who came out worst of the riot (most banged up) The English or Irish

The English got hammered by the Gardaí and yes they were singing songs like No Surrender to the IRA aswell as various songs inssulting the pope!

07/02/2007, 2:32 PM
Supasparx did the dog on it...
who doesn't? :)

theworm2345
09/02/2007, 8:23 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Irish_Football_Songs
Please add on :)

theworm2345
10/02/2007, 4:49 PM
http://www.attachmax.com/Irish_Football_Songs.html
http://www.attachmax.com/Irish_Soccer_Put_em_Under_Pressure.html
http://www.attachmax.com/Liam_Harrison_The_Goal_Celebrities_Give_It_A_Lash_ Jackmp3.html
All the songs are listed here

cullenswood
12/02/2007, 8:31 AM

...I was in the East Upper and the only chant I can vividly remember is "You'll never beat the Irish" after KELLY! scored. I'm sure there were others though.

I know its OT but there is a documentary on that game tonite on RTE at 7.30 for anyone interested

theworm2345
14/02/2007, 2:08 AM
All songs from this page

http://www.attachmax.com/The_Memories_The_Game.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Irish_Soccer_Put_em_Under_Pressure.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Liam_Harrison_The_Goal_Celebrities_Give_It_A_Lash_ Jackmp3.html

http://www.attachmax.com/The_Dubliners_and_The_Pogues_Jacks_Heroes.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Frank_OMeara_Here_We_Go.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dublin_City_Ramblers_The_Boys_In_Green.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Penneys_Winning_Team_The_Team_That_Jack_Built.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Pat_Good_Bless_Them_All.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Padraig_Bailey_Horray_Horray.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dublin_City_Ramblers_Que_Sera_Sera.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dermot_Morgan_World_Cup_Rap.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dermot_Morgan_What_A_Beautiful_Team.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dermot_Morgan_Not_A_Great_Player.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dermot_Morgan_Deck_Of_Cards.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Charlie_ONeill_and_the_Goal_Celebrities_Drive_it_J ack.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Against_The_Grain_On_The_Ball.html

http://www.attachmax.com/The_Memories_Jack_Is_The_DaddyO.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Watch_Your_House_featuring_Paul_McGrath_Ooh_Ahh_Pa ul_Mc_Grath.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Venture_A_Nation_Behind_You.html

http://www.attachmax.com/The_Irish_World_Cup_Players_Pool_Watch_Your_House_ For_Ireland.html

http://www.attachmax.com/The_Boys_In_Green_Were_On_Our_Way_To_The_USA.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Paddy_Reilly_Ray_Treacy_And_Shamrock_Rovers_Squad_ Thank_You_Jack.html

http://www.attachmax.com/One_Hit_Wonder_Ole_94.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Liam_Harrison_And_Goal_Celebrities_Give_It_A_Lash_ Again.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dublin_City_Ramblers_Youll_Never_Beat_The_Irish.ht ml

http://www.attachmax.com/Born_Na_Gaeilge_Seo_Linn_Go_Mherica.html

http://www.attachmax.com/Dr_Morgan_That_Old_Jack_Magic.html

antrimgreen
14/02/2007, 7:50 AM

Completely right fergalr, i was thinking the same myself, what tripe are you talking oshea, it maybe a song about irish independance but that does NOT make it sectarian you balloon.

14/02/2007, 9:44 AM
thats great Worm, cheers

irishfan86
14/02/2007, 8:10 PM
Any chance anybody could upload "To Win Just Once" by the Saw Doctors?