dmand

You were saying about Darren? :D

26/01/2007, 9:44 PM
Confirmed by the club. Excellent news!

26/01/2007, 9:50 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=26238

It is thought that a clause has been inserted in his new deal which will allow him to move on for a small fee should any club express an interest over the coming campaign. :( How small I wonder?

26/01/2007, 10:02 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=26238

:( How small I wonder?

Well as long as there is a percentage of any future transfer fees after that it should be ok.

27/01/2007, 12:16 AM
dmand

You were saying about Darren? :D
Feck off!:mad: I heard from the man himself he wouldn't be signing!

27/01/2007, 8:26 AM
dmand

You have to admit, my point about players not being "gone" till they ACTUALLY sign for another team , still holds true!

27/01/2007, 1:37 PM
dmand

You have to admit, my point about players not being "gone" till they ACTUALLY sign for another team , still holds true!
My point about telling you to feck off still holds true!

27/01/2007, 9:10 PM
dmand

If you can't accept you were WRONG, to assert he was gone , BEFORE he SIGNED FOR ANYONE ELSE! than quite frankly you are an IGNORAMUS of the LOWEST Order.... now Go and Sh1te!

I was around for the Jason Sherlock for Liverpool rumours in 1995 and he even went on trial there. Three years later he joined SHAMROCK ROVERS.... about as far from Liverpool as possible! FACT!

27/01/2007, 9:14 PM
Well as long as there is a percentage of any future transfer fees after that it should be ok.

Isn't that something that has to be negotiated with his future club and won't the minimum fee release clause ensure there's no negotiation?

I'm delighted to see Darren stay, he's a tremendous keeper, great shot stopper, excellent kicker with both feet with the ball under pressure and has a good presence too. He's prone to the odd mistake but he's still young. I hope we can retain his services for the whole season and that someone won't come knocking.

CTID, here's one for yourself, who was UCD's longest serving keeper? I mean as in who stayed the most consecutive seasons at No. 1 spot? Any keeper I can think of didn't stay too long e.g. Barry Ryan, Pat Jennings, Shay Kelly, Alan O'Neill.

27/01/2007, 9:16 PM
dmand

If you can't accept you were WRONG, to assert he was gone , BEFORE he SIGNED FOR ANYONE ELSE! than quite frankly you are an IGNORAMUS of the LOWEST Order.... now Go and Sh1te!

I was around for the Jason Sherlock for Liverpool rumours in 1995 and he even went on trial there. Three years later he joined SHAMROCK ROVERS.... about as far from Liverpool as possible! FACT!
Will you relax FFS- I was just being light hearted. I never said I wasn't wrong.

27/01/2007, 9:23 PM
Ok Jim McCabe joined UCD in 1974 before we joined the League did his few years as a student and returned in 1979 staying until 1983 when he joined Shamrock Rovers as cover for Jodi Byrne. He played 109 League games.

He was succeeded briefly by Paul Brogan who played 7 games in 1982/83 another 7 in 1985/86 before losing his place.

Alan O'Neill joined in 1983 and played all 56 League games over the next two seasons before joining Dundalk in 1985.

Paul Kavanagh joined in 1985 and ousted Paul Brogan and stayed till 1990 when he signed for Shamrock Rovers. He finished his League career with Dundalk in 1994.

Martin Mulligan joined UCD in 1989 and stayed till 1992 only chalking up 42 League appearances. Brian McKenna joined in 1991 and ousted Martin Mulligan and he moved on in 1993 when he was replaced by Shay Kelly.

Seamus Kelly joined in 1993 and stayed at UCD till 1998 when he left for Cardiff City. Barry Ryan joined in 1996 and stayed with the club until the end of the 2002/03 season when he left for Shamrock Rovers. Pat Jennings Jr. joined in 2000/01 season about half way through and stayed till the end of the 2003 season. He was replaced by Niall Gallagher and Darren Quigley at the start of 2004. I hope that answers your question.

27/01/2007, 9:24 PM
Will you relax FFS- I was just being light hearted. I never said I wasn't wrong.

Well you could have gotten away with saying Darren was wrong !:D

27/01/2007, 10:14 PM
Apparently today's Star said we were asking for E40k for him; Derry appear to have baulked at that.

27/01/2007, 10:15 PM
Apparently today's Star said we were asking for E40k for him; Derry appear to have baulked at that.
€400k makes more sense.:rolleyes:

27/01/2007, 10:41 PM
There's a very specific formula for out of contract players U-23 and I think it was pointed out before the wages paid to the player largely determine the fee. I'm sure the club has a fair idea of what we're entitled to (that said Sherro didn't even seem to know we were due compensation for him at the end of the season:rolleyes: ) and wouldn't be asking for too far off that.

Thanks for the info, CTID.

BrayUnknowns
29/01/2007, 10:02 AM
Sure i told ya's that a few weeks ago ! Great that he re-signed for ye, fair play

Aberdonian Stu
29/01/2007, 10:37 AM
I was in Trinity at a debating competition when I got the text telling me he had resigned. About an hour earlier I had said to Burnsie, with a great deal of certainty, that I thought there was no chance he'd rejoin us. I felt it rather amusing when I told him the news.

29/01/2007, 11:53 AM
Sure i told ya's that a few weeks ago ! Great that he re-signed for ye, fair play
When you said he had signed he hadn't, and hadn't intended to.

BrayUnknowns
29/01/2007, 1:15 PM
I'm almost sure he had or was just about to, well that's according to Josh Moran (new Goalkeeping coach)