View Full Version : Flights to away games this season.

eamo1
25/01/2007, 5:56 PM
heard that it was mentioned at a trust meeting that theres talk of organising charter flights to away games this season.id def be up for that,i was always put off by the distance to travel to the brandywell etc but if there was a flight id probably go,others would be the same im sure.if we got enough of us going we might be able to get a cheap enough rate too(for us poor students).think about a 20 minute flight to games in dublin as opposed to 3 hours plus by road.also its 40 mins to cork by plane and turners cross isnt too far from the airport too.so id def be up for it.anyone else think its a good idea????

corbyeire
25/01/2007, 6:07 PM
well it is a great idea - for saving time on the journey

but as regards - money! for the poor student types

your talking 100 yoyo for the plane as opposed to 15 for a bus - so i think it may be a once off for cork/derry

wouldnt be enough people willing to be orgainsed that much in advance for flights on a number of occasions - would be good to get it off the ground once though

to get the charter plane it was mentioned that the cost would be 7Kish and youd need money up front about 2 months in advance etc.

you can see the logistacal nightmare already!

dont sell out a bus, you lose maybe €500 - with a plane your talking thousands

so a big risk involved - and lots and lots of planning
:cool:

MyTown
26/01/2007, 8:32 AM
[QUOTE=corbyeire;611271]
would be good to get it off the ground once though:)

Would be interested in the Dublin trips - definitely deterred from the away trips in the past by the bus making unscheduled stops on the way home. I know that makes me a killjoy. It's something to do with getting older and being a non drinker.

so a big risk involved - and lots and lots of planning

Definitely true & it's' the same with everything

GuisaSaigon
26/01/2007, 9:11 AM
I hear the Dog and Duck in Athlone are building an airstip as we speak! ;)

galwayhoop
26/01/2007, 9:35 AM
with aer arann as sponsors could the whole thing not be subsidised????

also i don't think there is taxes charged on internal flights so cud they not sort it out? imagine going to a friday night game in dalymount (or anywhere) and not having to leave work early!

26/01/2007, 10:31 AM
This was all discussed at the GUST meeting.

A chartered flight is highly expensive.

It would be much more logistical for everyone to go on one of the scheduled flights.

More info regarding this will be up on www.galwayunitedfc.net today or tomorrow.

GUISAUltra
26/01/2007, 10:56 AM
it'd be fairly tough trying to go up and down on the regular flights. that costs 90 and the last flight leaves dublin airport at 10:30. we'd need to have travel organised to take us from most grounds to the airport. most games dont finish til half 9 so you're only looking at 1 hour from the time the game finishes to the plane taking off

26/01/2007, 12:56 PM
lads we couldnt fill a bus to Dundalk last year and now were talking about flying to games!

galwaygirl
26/01/2007, 2:09 PM
lads we couldnt fill a bus to Dundalk last year and now were talking about flying to games!

and can you tell me what club did fill a bus to Dundalk last year on a Thurs nite:rolleyes:

26/01/2007, 2:22 PM
Rovers had over 400 up there we had 8.

eamo1
26/01/2007, 2:42 PM
to dundalk is aprox 100 miles,a round trip from galway is well over 300miles.chances of utd fans being back at a reasonable hour for work the next day are 0,the rovers fans on the other hand will be back in plenty of time to get decent sleep for dole signing the following morning;) .

26/01/2007, 3:28 PM

The usual from you gufct.

A half hour flight to watch UTD play Bohs in Dalymount for E40(including return) is the same as a 4+hour trip to Dundalk on a Thursday night.:rolleyes:

The interest on this is very high and it will be happening.

JW.
26/01/2007, 3:52 PM
A chartered flight!? You're having a laugh. We're going to Dublin lads, not Tajikistan.

Olander
26/01/2007, 4:22 PM
JW that point is that common folk don't get off early on friday and it takes over 3 hours to get to Dubland, for instance do you think everybody finishes work at 4pm? I doubt it , its an excellent idea in my opinion.

JW.
26/01/2007, 5:02 PM
I wouldn't know anything about common folk but chartered flights to away games for United fans from Galway to places like Dublin is one of the most irrational ideas I've ever heard. Flying (relatively) low-budget between Irish cities is obviously another matter, though I've my doubts about its practicalities.

26/01/2007, 5:19 PM
I wouldn't know anything about common folk but chartered flights to away games for United fans from Galway to places like Dublin is one of the most irrational ideas I've ever heard. Flying (relatively) low-budget between Irish cities is obviously another matter, though I've my doubts about its practicalities.

We won't be discussing the financial aspects of chartering a flight on foot.ie

However JW you seem to be jumping the gun just a tad.We will be flying to one or two games this season......not necessarily on a chartered flight.The practicalities of such have been studied and it is feasible and logistical.

JW.
26/01/2007, 5:23 PM
.We will be flying to one or two games this season......not necessarily on a chartered flight.The practicalities of such have been studied and it is feasible and logistical.
I'll do a lap of Terryland naked if ye run a chartered flight this season but the idea of flying to a game low-budget is somewhat feasible, and could be sold as some sort of package trip by GUST or whatever.
(Somwhere like Cork)

26/01/2007, 7:00 PM
myself and a few lads will be paying for a chartered flight this season in aid of JW's run !!!! :D

26/01/2007, 7:13 PM
It'd take at least an hour to get from Dublin airport to Richmond Park on a Friday night (less for the other grounds, obviously)

We looked at flying to Cork last year from Dublin and getting to/from the airport. Waiting time in airport and flying time was about 20 minutes dhorter than the bus. €90 dearer per head too (if full)

Good luck

26/01/2007, 7:41 PM
We looked at flying to Cork last year from Dublin and getting to/from the airport. Waiting time in airport and flying time was about 20 minutes dhorter than the bus. €90 dearer per head too (if full)

What about if ye were sober?

26/01/2007, 7:48 PM
I'll do a lap of Terryland naked if ye run a chartered flight this season but the idea of flying to a game low-budget is somewhat feasible, and could be sold as some sort of package trip by GUST or whatever.
(Somwhere like Cork)

JW's cunning ploy to put us off running a chartered flight with his pledge to run naked around Terryland!:p

Nevertheless we shall explore all avenues!

corbyeire
26/01/2007, 7:54 PM
go on do the lap anyway - we got promoted! - still feel the need to celebrate our election to the top flight and all that!!!

JW.
27/01/2007, 10:24 AM
Lol :)

27/01/2007, 10:45 AM
I hear the Dog and Duck in Athlone are building an airstip as we speak! ;)
We're planning something similar right beside our new stadium. :p

eamo1
27/01/2007, 11:09 AM
flights to places like derry or cork.turners cross is a short trek from cork airport.the cork flight doesnt have to be chartered as aer arann fly there and a flight back to galway leaves at around 10.30pm which is feasable to get.the derry one would have to be though.its just for the many people who cant make 5 hour trips(10hour round trip) to derry and cork on friday evenings so i think its a good idea too.in galway airport you only have to check in 10mins before a flight so no hassle with waiting either.so for 1 or 2 games it makes sense.

27/01/2007, 11:19 AM
I got the plane back from Cork last year, I think (could have been the year before). We organised a race back from the Gresham in Cork to the Gresham in Dublin by plane, bus and train for the craic. The plane won by ten minutes (although I don't think I had to check in the full two hours beforehand) from the bus, with the train ten minutes further behind, including a 30-minute wait to change in Mallow. Much more expensive too. It's not as quick as it sounds (or as Michael O'Leary would have you believe), to be honest.

galwayhoop
29/01/2007, 11:02 AM
It's not as quick as it sounds (or as Michael O'Leary would have you believe), to be honest.

yeah your probably right for galway-dublin as new dual carriageways have taken a good chunk off the journey in the last 18 months. but cork and derry remain a nightmare journey from galway. the problem getting anywhere in dublin from the airport remains but it would represent a massive shortening for derry/cork games

29/01/2007, 12:37 PM
Sure isn't the new Atlantic motorway going to be built any decade soon? :)

GUISAUltra
29/01/2007, 1:00 PM
its nearly 100 euro for a return flight leaving galway airport at 5:30 and the return flight leaves dublin at 22:30. its really expensive for the amount of rushing around that people will have to do