View Full Version : Mayo Maroons

pixiehead
24/01/2007, 12:21 AM
HI Guys
There was 3 Supporters here in Castlebar but now weve found 2 more :D bringing our tally to 5. So me and another lad have decided to see if we can have a go at starting a club ( MAYO MAROONS) up here. Plan is to get a bus up to as many home games as possible . We want to know if there is any one in the county interested in joining. Bus will leave Castlebar and go via Ballinrobe( Murphy country so im sure there are a few there) and then either via shurle or Headford depending on who we have. Ive tried this before but i have a good feeling it will work this time as i have a number of people just interested in seeing a few Premier games. We hope to have our own proud flag at the back of the stand come the season so can ye spread the word please. We will go out of our way to drop people home on the way back and we might even have a lemonade or 5 on the journey :D Send me a PM or reply thanks Guys....................... " Were Mayo, Were Maroon and we sing the Galway Tune" ;)

24/01/2007, 8:27 AM
there used to be a castlebar supporters club before i believe, i think they were mainly lads from college. I wonder if any of them are still around or are ye the same guys?

24/01/2007, 8:28 AM
We also used to have a good few supporters up around claremorris one who still comes to Terryland!!!!

GuisaSaigon
24/01/2007, 8:48 AM
Im sure Galway Brian fom Mayo will be interesed, he's fairly fond of the ould lemonade!

JW.
24/01/2007, 10:48 AM
Fair play pixie, all the best with it. Mayo people are generally a sound bunch.

pixiehead
24/01/2007, 11:12 AM
there used to be a castlebar supporters club before i believe, i think they were mainly lads from college. I wonder if any of them are still around or are ye the same guys?

NO never heard that. But i might stick a few posters in the GMIT . Thanks

pixiehead
24/01/2007, 11:14 AM
Im sure Galway Brian fom Mayo will be interesed, he's fairly fond of the ould lemonade!

Ya i met Brian a couple of times. Think hes from Shrule. Sure we could organise a Bottle of lemonade for him im sure :D

eamo1
24/01/2007, 11:37 AM
area who might come to a few games but i dont think dunmore is on the main castlebar or sligo road is it???so he probably cant get yer bus.
why dont ye go all out now and start supporting galway footballers too and ye wont have to wait 55 years or whatever it is for Sam;) .

Sumac
24/01/2007, 3:45 PM
I am living in Shrule at the moment - Bus would be handy some Friday nights

24/01/2007, 3:59 PM
NO never heard that. But i might stick a few posters in the GMIT . Thanks

PM trainee, he would know a few still in GMIT Im sure, that he converted during his stay there.:D

Olander
24/01/2007, 4:22 PM
thats an excellent idea pixiehead

i have a cousin based in swinford and castlebar isnt far from that at all , im sure he would be very interested.

geezer
24/01/2007, 4:32 PM
i have a brother near swinford, and his son might be interested in travelling with a group of supporters to matches in terryland

24/01/2007, 4:47 PM
Are Olander and Geezer related? :D

geezer
24/01/2007, 9:56 PM
defo not. There is a good bit o interest in Mayo, maybe there could be a swinford, castlebar,ballina,claremorris shrule etc supporters clubs. Maybe Utd could throw out feelers in roscommon and clare as well to entice people to big match nites

GuisaSaigon
25/01/2007, 9:05 AM
Daniel Walsh, the clubs new promotions officer is the guy to talk to about setting up supporters clubs/branches of GUST around the county and in neighbouring counties. He is currently doing a lot of work to set up these clubs, anyone interested should make themselves known to him. I'd say phoning the club would be the easiest way to contact him.

25/01/2007, 9:26 AM
I dont know why the lads in the likes of Ballina and Swinford arent more attracted by lure of Sligo Rovers :)

MyTown
25/01/2007, 10:33 AM
Gustavo: I know a couple of lads in Castlebar and Ballina who have been long time Sligo Rovers supporters. So there is probably a 50/50 divide in County Mayo when it comes to allegiance to Eircom League clubs. The opening of the GMIT campus in Castlebar might have swung it a bit our way added to the signing of a fair few players from Mayo over the years.

All this could change of course if Mayo press ahead with their intention to enter a team in the League themselves. There was a rumour doin' the rounds about Gavin Dykes' Castlebar Celtic putting their hat in the ring & they have some influence at the top table insofar as a former President of the FAI is a native of Castlebar. The way things are at Shelbourne & Limerick anything could happen - even this close to the start of the season.

Ranger
25/01/2007, 10:36 AM
Swinford has a long association with Galway United. It goes back to the Seamus Mc Donagh era as his dad was from Swinford. His brother Mick Mc Donagh also looked the GU reserve team for a while. GU also signed a goalkeeper Leo Tierney from Swinford FC. When Swinford FC opened their new clubhouse & grounds they played a Galway United team that had won the FAI Cup that season.

25/01/2007, 11:47 AM
I dont know why the lads in the likes of Ballina and Swinford arent more attracted by lure of Sligo Rovers :)

Too easy Gustavo.:)

pixiehead
25/01/2007, 4:32 PM

As my town said there is a 50/50 divide. Castlebar people tend to see Galway as "the big town" while Ballina people head to Sligo ;) . Also Sligo tend to recruit players from north mayo as Galway do with the south

26/01/2007, 2:53 PM
Ah well as eveyone knows Ballina is the main town in Mayo so its good that the heartland of Mayo is with the Rovers ;)

26/01/2007, 7:02 PM
Ah well as eveyone knows Ballina is the main town in Mayo so its good that the heartland of Mayo is with the Rovers ;)

It also has the highest population of travellers residing in it. :D

13/02/2007, 4:23 PM
Id say the Claremorris Branch will be starting up again.

pixiehead
14/02/2007, 3:02 PM
Never Knew there was one :confused: Do you know any contacts

GuisaSaigon
15/02/2007, 9:30 AM
I think GUFCT was referring to our new signing Derek Glynn who is from Claremorris

15/02/2007, 9:33 AM
there was about 7 guys from claremorris who went to nearly all the home games back in the 90's and one of them still comes down the odd time a good QPR fan like myself.