View Full Version : GB Phone Networks & Banks

23/01/2007, 6:12 PM
I'm moving to London soon and I thought that I'd tap the collective intelligence of the London contingent for advice on what bank you'd recommend opening up with (or, alternatively, what one should I avoid), and which phone ks are better - I'm planning on starting up with a pay as you go, but I want to move to a monthly pay plan as soon as possible.

Any ideas folks?

23/01/2007, 9:27 PM
Ah Bluebeard, don't leave us for the English!:p

24/01/2007, 8:01 AM
Not sure about the banking but go to Vodafone or Orange online and you'll get some great monthly deals.

i.e I have a Sony Eriksson W810i which I got free as part of my deal. I also get 125 free minutes which carry over if you have not used them all within the month as well as free internet and 250 text messages. This costs me £18 per month and my average bill is about £25.

Can't get much better than that really.

24/01/2007, 8:41 AM
drink you dont live in london, so i think that rules you out to post here :p

i think the cheapest pay as you go is stellios' easymobile, but in terms of contract i would go with orange. At the moment I am with t-mobile ( i got a free psp with 1 gig card to join them, that I might add I have never used ), I find them quite expensive, some of my bills have been over £120 and when I was on holliers and roaming they were £170 for the month. Orange do some very good tariffs with free weekend and evening calls to any network. It really depends on what you are looking for specifically. Another thing to note is if you dont know people over here initially, then you aren't going to make many calls to people and pay as you go is fine.

In terms of banks, if you are a recent graduate ( last 2 years ) HSBC offer a great package with free overdraft of up to £2000, which is great if you are moving over as the initial few months are expensive when moving. I found it very difficult to open a bank accound at first when I moved over. LLoyds were hte only one who would offer me an account and it was an "offshore" account. So i didnt have the same benefits and easy access as standard.

A mate of mine went to liverpool for 6 months during college and for 3 months he wasnt able to open up an account and unable to cash his cheques from work. It was mad, so keep an eye out, and if you can't open an account with anyone, then try LLoyds.

24/01/2007, 9:50 AM
whatever you phone wise, dont go contract with 3. regretting it and pay as you go should do the job at first. As for banks, NatWest have been grand for me, wasnt hugely difficult to open an account but have some utiility bills when you move in handy...

24/01/2007, 10:53 AM
but have some utiility bills when you move in handy...

ya, but if you dont thats where the problem comes in, and its hard to get one without the other, its a cache 22/knock on effect, a phone requires a bank statement/utility a bank requires utility. trust me it can be tricky.

Also heard 3 were crap.

grounded
24/01/2007, 11:05 AM
You could go with a "cashflow" account. You wont get any of the benefits a current account would offer but they are easier to open. I used to have one of them with Bank of Scotland but I'm sure other Banks have them too.

Regarding the phone I would go with Vodafone. Had them in Ireland, the UK, Holland and Germany and never had any problems. You probably have to go with pay as you go first but their card only costs five pound if I remember correctly. You also get credit if you register with them.

beautifulrock
24/01/2007, 11:57 AM
Unfortunately with the introduction of the Money Laundering Act that requires the banks to prove who you are it is quite difficult to open an account in any bank account unless you have proof of address (your UK one) together with a passport or driving licence. Of course the easiest might be to open a UK account with your current Irish bank as AIB and BOI have offices over here (assuming you use one of them).

24/01/2007, 1:25 PM
ya, but if you dont thats where the problem comes in, and its hard to get one without the other, its a cache 22/knock on effect, a phone requires a bank statement/utility a bank requires utility. trust me it can be tricky.

Also heard 3 were crap.

Id recommend anyone to steer well clear of 3 over here. 18 month contracts are so difficult to get out of. and steer clear of mobile phone sellers in the likes of Phones 4 U. Too persuasive by half sometimes. you need to live somewhere to have utility bills. But you may need a bank account to deal with househunting too. Oh and try and get a National Insurance number as soon as. You'll get whupped with tax. the phonecalls to them can take forever too. know theres a quicker way, email them at a certain address, if i find it ill put it up...

24/01/2007, 1:26 PM
Unfortunately with the introduction of the Money Laundering Act that requires the banks to prove who you are it is quite difficult to open an account in any bank account unless you have proof of address (your UK one) together with a passport or driving licence. Of course the easiest might be to open a UK account with your current Irish bank as AIB and BOI have offices over here (assuming you use one of them).

Think both those banks only do business banking in UK. I was able to open a hsbc account with my lease agreement and a passport.

Virgin pay as you go sim will cost you €5 and are the cheapest of all for calling and texting Ireland.

24/01/2007, 1:29 PM
Of course the easiest might be to open a UK account with your current Irish bank as AIB and BOI have offices over here (assuming you use one of them).

Business Banking only, you have to have over £50K sterling or they wont deal with ye, and they wont deal with anyone that walks in off the street anymore.

24/01/2007, 1:33 PM
Virgin pay as you go sim will cost you €5 and are the cheapest of all for calling and texting Ireland

i think i have 2 of their sims from a free offer ages ago!

lofty9
24/01/2007, 2:21 PM
Stay away from the contract phones. Get yourself a pay as you go 02 phone and get hold of a genie sim card. If you need one of these sims PM me and I'll post you one. With a £10 top up they give you 300 free texts or 100 free minutes.

24/01/2007, 2:25 PM
lofty what are these genie sim cards? I think I remember someone telling me about one of these but i didnt beleive them.

lofty9
24/01/2007, 2:38 PM
Paul, they are normally advertised online on sites such as MSN's homepage. You get them free from 02 to give to friends and family, quite handy as you can get up to 4 at a time on their offers. You just gotta look out for them. There are sites that sell them for up to £5 though. But that is still good value. The free texts/calls end at the end of each top up month then you can dip into your credit - when that expires top up again.

If I see any again I'll post the link here.

24/01/2007, 3:11 PM
Think both those banks only do business banking in UK. I was able to open a hsbc account with my lease agreement and a passport.

Virgin pay as you go sim will cost you €5 and are the cheapest of all for calling and texting Ireland.

Shame I didnt do this thread before moving here. Ringing on 3 to Ireland costs a bomb, and had a Virgin pay as you go before and never had a problem. Thinking of going pay as you go on Virgin, is that the best PAYG phone option for ringing Ireland?

24/01/2007, 3:25 PM
its something like 20p a min.

i should use it really, especially considering i pay 50 - 70 p at the moment, ah well only for laziness!!

24/01/2007, 8:54 PM
Thinking of going pay as you go on Virgin, is that the best PAYG phone option for ringing Ireland?

Seems to be alright. There is another one called mobile world AFAIK thats fairly cheap but you have to go to car phone warehouse to get credit for it.

I keep my Irish phone on me at all times though too, a pay as you go Meteor one, they abolished roaming charges in the UK.

For landline rates I find by far the best deal to get is vonage.co.uk. £8 a month for unlimited calls to Ireland and UK. Voip service using an ata. No difference to a normal phone really in opperation or quality if you have broadband. Get NTL broadband and TV for £20 a month so no need for a BT line either.

25/01/2007, 9:24 AM
or landline rates I find by far the best deal to get is vonage.co.uk. £8 a month for unlimited calls to Ireland and UK. Voip service using an ata. No difference to a normal phone really in opperation or quality if you have broadband. Get NTL broadband and TV for £20 a month so no need for a BT line either.

Great idea. I buy phonecards and they either never work or last very long. What's voip and ata though?

25/01/2007, 11:04 AM
Thanks for all the advice folks, and don't stop it coming - it's making it a hell of a lot easier than it might have been a few years ago, before I hooked into foot.ie.

Sounds like PAYG is the way to go. A quick questions for lofty9 about these genie sims: do the 100 mins or texts work for Ireland or other networks, or are you tied into O2 (not that this is a bad thing - 100 mins is great)?

25/01/2007, 11:33 AM
If I'd read this thread before moving here id have saved a fortune! Also, for house moving and job seeking, a very handy website is gumtree.com (London), very useful! In fact, ive met my housemates, got a job, and met my girlfriend all on that site! :)

lofty9
25/01/2007, 1:41 PM
Thanks for all the advice folks, and don't stop it coming - it's making it a hell of a lot easier than it might have been a few years ago, before I hooked into foot.ie.

Sounds like PAYG is the way to go. A quick questions for lofty9 about these genie sims: do the 100 mins or texts work for Ireland or other networks, or are you tied into O2 (not that this is a bad thing - 100 mins is great)?

With the genie sims the more you pay per month the more free texts/calls. £10 is the basic payment. You can text/call any network in the UK with them. For International calls to Ireland, I think there is a £4.99 one off charge taken from your credit to enable you to call at a reduced price to Ireland - something like 5p per min to landlines and 25p per min to mobiles (any network). I rarely text to the free state with mine but the cost is minimal to text to the US as I always do so . If i'm away at a Derry match I add a bolt on of £1.99 for a month if I know I'll be at a few games as it enables me to use my phone without the serious roaming charges. To be honest you will be saving money as any texts/calls made in the uk, will be free leaving money for you to text home.

25/01/2007, 2:13 PM
Thanks a million Lofty9, I reckon I'll take you up on that as soon as I'm over and have a place, if you don't mind.

Also, for house moving and job seeking, a very handy website is gumtree.com (London), very useful! In fact, ive met my housemates, got a job, and met my girlfriend all on that site! :)
Sounds good. They don't do places in the new FAI Premiership, do they?

lofty9
25/01/2007, 2:23 PM
Thanks a million Lofty9, I reckon I'll take you up on that as soon as I'm over and have a place, if you don't mind.

PM me your address and I'll get one sent to you before you go as I'll probably lose it if it is left around the house!

endabob1
25/01/2007, 3:21 PM
If you have a mate/relative already in London, get them to bolt your name on a utility bill (water is a good one), hey presto when you tun up you have "proof" of address, with your passport you should be ok to open an a/c.
As previously mentioned Lloyds do an offshore a/c but from memory they were changing how it was done and you had to be able to prove an income of a certain amount per year.
I use the Virgin payg Sim jobbie and it's easy and relatively cheap.

25/01/2007, 3:21 PM

Everything except that im afraid. ;)

25/01/2007, 4:50 PM
Great idea. I buy phonecards and they either never work or last very long. What's voip and ata though?

Voip sends the phone call over the internet rather than an old style phone line. You can still call old style phones and all just that if your internet connection goes your phone will go too.

An ata is a router that you plug into your broadband modem. It has a socket for a normal old style phone on it, you simply plug in the phone to that and us it as you normally would. Broadband modem has to be on at all times, computer doesnt have to be though. One of the best features of this is you can just bring it with you where ever you go. When I went back to Ireland for Christmas I took my ata with me and connected it up to the broad band at home. That way I was able to make all the phone calls I wanted and have people from the UK ring me for local rate.

www.vonage.co.uk (http://www.vonage.co.uk) seem to be the cheapest if you want to be ringing Ireland. Umlimited for £8 a month, you can even get and Irish number for something like and extra £5 a month were basically anyone in Ireland can ring you for a local call rate

20/02/2007, 12:31 PM
By the way had to repeat something.

DO NOT GET A PHONE CONTRACT WITH 3. THEY ACTUALLY ADD ON A FEE IF YOU WANT TO BRING DOWN YOUR TARRIFF. STAY CLEAR.

20/02/2007, 1:48 PM
Thanks for the warning, Pauro 7, I took lofty9's space O2 Genie Sim and I'm laughing now.

Still battling for a bank though - right bartasds to join over here aren't they!

20/02/2007, 3:32 PM
Still battling for a bank though - right bartasds to join over here aren't they!

i LOVE to tell ya i told ye so ;)

I need to get one of those things, did lofty send one to you or what? my bill costs 90 - 120 sterling a month....

20/02/2007, 4:32 PM
i LOVE to tell ya i told ye so ;)

I need to get one of those things, did lofty send one to you or what? my bill costs 90 - 120 sterling a month....

Ouch. Yeah, Lofty sent it in the post - he reckons that they're handy got. It has a notional retail price of £9.99 or something, but they can be got for nothing on promotions, apparently that's how he got it - I'd give O2 a bell anyway.

20/02/2007, 5:28 PM
Cheers man, decided to do the warning as got my phone stolen today in Edinburgh, didnt insure it, and now im finding myself paying for a service i dont need and threatened to cancel the contract. Costs way too much so only way is to bring down my tarriff. But 3, the sneaky f*ckers charge £25 for each tariff step you bring down. And the only way you can bypass that is if you stay on another 6 months. I F*CKING WISH ID STAYED CLEAR OF 3. :mad: :mad: :mad:

Phones4U are threatening not to do business with them anymore so that's why you're seeing so many 3 stores all of a sudden

lofty9
20/02/2007, 5:45 PM
Paul, I might have a spare one at home. I'll look about and let you know.

21/02/2007, 11:43 AM
cheers lofty!

lofty9
21/02/2007, 11:47 AM
even better - order them now:

http://freesim.o2.co.uk/messages.php

or

http://mates.o2.co.uk/messages.php

21/02/2007, 12:12 PM
good man, just to recap on these simms you can get 100 mins or 200 texts for £10? is that right? or do you have to keep changing simms everytime you want to get the 100 mins or 200 texts for £10 in more than one month?

lofty9
22/02/2007, 11:43 AM
good man, just to recap on these simms you can get 100 mins or 200 texts for £10? is that right? or do you have to keep changing simms everytime you want to get the 100 mins or 200 texts for £10 in more than one month?

£10 per month gets you your 300 texts or 100mins. Then you have your credit after the month is up to use. I top up every 6 - 8 weeks.

22/02/2007, 12:07 PM
ok cheers lofty, so just go into an o2 shop then and get some credit and im sorted!! fair play. 300 texts is quality.