View Full Version : Security is a Shambles

NorthoftheLee
01/12/2002, 2:06 PM
Anyone else in the shed on Friday night think it was pathetic the way the guard threw a young fella out of the ground for ...wait...throwing the ball back across the shed as is the normal halftime pastime..instead of throwing it back onto the pitch as the guarda had tols him... I'm sure the guard got a great ego boast and also they can now say that they threw a "hooligan" out of the ground. This overreaction policy is typical. If the young fella had done something else then correct me because I didnt see anything else.

Also there was still way to many young scobes in the shed. Big bunch of 14-16 year olds, really ****e me off. Myself and a few of the lads had to drag a few girls off the ground during the penalty "cerlebrations". Those little ****s were there for the mess as usual. Stewards coped onto them at one stage but didnt do a thing about it except stand behind them for a while.

Another thing that ****es me off is the fact that the club has put a message into the programme week after week about staying off the pitch,but their stewards dont do a thing about it except laugh at the kids running on. they have to sort it out.

02/12/2002, 12:17 AM
They were trying to sort it out, if they told a young fella not to throw the ball then he should of had the cop on not to do so, everyone at the cross knew the current climate, everyone knew there were Gardas at the back of the shed and everyone saw the stewards at the front of the shed. There is no excuse really ... the lad brought it on himself, even though i would like to see an end to those young knackers at the back sorted out.

As for stopping the pitch invasion .... you cant blame the stewards. It is too hard to avoid, people on this board have before commented on how a steward stopped a young lads going onto the pitch while 20 more around him were running on. It is impossible. I think we might see barriers if it is not sorted out soon though. It seems to be the cheaper solution in the long run.

02/12/2002, 9:30 AM
Why is it that there isnt an announcement at the Cross on 85mins, like every other ground in Europe to say

Stewards to end of match positions please ?

Surely that would help matters.

Dricky
02/12/2002, 10:20 AM
<
Why is it that there isnt an announcement at the Cross on 85mins, like every other ground in Europe to say

There already at there match postions sitting on there arse!!!

fonzi
02/12/2002, 10:56 AM
its weird.
of this season and the higher attendences we have got more stewards in.
they still dont do the job properley.
mr. lennox should hire a proper group instead of the one he is currently using.
the ones he is using now should be the type of crowd who monitor the peace park and so forth............

Ali-G
02/12/2002, 11:36 AM
It is dead easy to stop the pitch invasion at the end of every game.
At the moment, as soon as the final whistle goes, some stewards run onto the pitch, to escort the ref and linesmen away. But the kids see this as people running onto the pitch, so they go for it too. And then, in the space on ten seconds, there are 2000 people on the pitch.

Just stop the stewards running onto the pitch. If they stop people getting onto the pitch in the first place, there is no need for them to run over and shield the ref/linesmen.

rolo
02/12/2002, 11:41 AM
Originally posted by GWA
[B]Why is it that there isnt an announcement at the Cross on 85mins, like every other ground in Europe

there is a message. u just cant hear it half the time over that bloody tannoy....

Badweather Fan
02/12/2002, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by rolo
there is a message. u just cant hear it half the time over that bloody tannoy.... True that tannoy is a ****ing antique. TANNOY OUT. Lets be honest, could we really spend our "considerable" finances more effectively?

02/12/2002, 1:49 PM
Originally posted by A face
They were trying to sort it out, if they told a young fella not to throw the ball then he should of had the cop on not to do so, everyone at the cross knew the current climate, everyone knew there were Gardas at the back of the shed and everyone saw the stewards at the front of the shed. There is no excuse really ... the lad brought it on himself, even though i would like to see an end to those young knackers at the back sorted out. .
Fair point. I was afraid something like this would happen though- they threaten a big crack-down, one fella gets booted out for something small, and then they go around saying we´ve done our thing etc etc. The crack down has to be proper if it´s to work. That means- no throwing stuff, no racism, no slaps and no over the top pushing and shoving. We used to go "fcukin mental" when we scored, leapin all around and it was a laugh, but now theres fellas trying to make sure someone has an accident theyre pushing people so hard- has to be sorted.

02/12/2002, 2:53 PM
Was good to see stewards looking half alive. There was a young fella throwing coins onto the pitch though bout 4 yards in front of them. It will take more than one match to sort this. I just hope this new efforts lasts.

02/12/2002, 3:00 PM
Originally posted by niamh
I just hope this new efforts lasts.
the key to it is keeping up the efforts after the initial game or two