View Full Version : Las Vegas

Paddyfield
21/01/2007, 12:51 AM
I had to open a thread on Sin City. I was there for a week in 2001 (it was half of my honeymoon) and it was amazing. You must wear your Cultiure Blinkers and soak it up.

Every hotel has a different theme and each one has a ploy to make you part with your Dollars. Typically, they will have free-for-all buffets that cost damn all and you can eat steak, shrimp and lobster till it comes out your, er, .... ears.

If you gamble, you get "free" drinks. The scantly clad waitresses will make you stronger dinks and serve them more often if you tip generously. I gave a dollar for my first vodka and Coke but she was unimpressed and avoided me for ages, despite my empty glass, In another hotel, I tipped five dollars for a drink for me and one for my wife and the hostess 'minded' us until we left.

Anyone else been there?

21/01/2007, 1:17 AM
About 4 hours drive away....so I've been several times. Once the novelty wears off its actually a manky sh!t hole. Did ya notice that there are no clocks or windows in the casinos?....an attempt to make you lose track of time and money.

lim abroad
21/01/2007, 6:32 AM
yeah i've been there a lot too,have to say i love going but 2 days is more than enough

21/01/2007, 9:55 PM
Great place,particularly if you're a gambler.
I wasn't bored for a minute during my 4 days there.Can't wait to go back.Grand Canyon a really impressive sight.Got a good deal and stayed at the Belaggio Hotel:cool:

Eoingull
21/01/2007, 11:43 PM
I had a great time there back in the summer of 1998, spending a weekend in Ballys. I'd agree it's best kept short and sweet, as the place is a little too far removed from reality to make for the total holiday. Still, I've always said I'd love to go back. Incidently, I never gambled a bean over there.

Paddyfield
22/01/2007, 7:41 PM
.... Incidently, I never gambled a bean over there.

I decided before I even landed there, that I wouldn't gamble more than $100 during my stay in Vegas. As it so panned out, I poured sixty dollars into one machine in the airport while I waited for the luggage! It was all over in a few minutes and I would've put more in, only for our luggage arrived. I spent another 300 dollars the following day and retired from gambling after that..

25/02/2008, 8:58 PM
Heading over to Las Vegas in mid May with the missus. I'm a geek so obviously I've researched it a bit but anyone got any must sees (or "avoid like the plagues")

We're staying in Caesaers Palace

25/02/2008, 9:06 PM
I fecking hate people who don't check to see if there's alreadya thread here....

25/02/2008, 9:10 PM
Heading over to Las Vegas in mid May with the missus. I'm a geek so obviously I've researched it a bit but anyone got any must sees (or "avoid like the plagues")

We're staying in Caesaers Palace

Check out Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam. Ye can get a decent fry up in the "Nine Fine Irishmen" in NewYork NewYork.

25/02/2008, 9:15 PM
I fecking hate people who don't check to see if there's alreadya thread here....So do I:)

25/02/2008, 9:31 PM
Venetian Hotel (close enough to Ces Palace) worth checking out just for a look at its indoor river complete with Gondoliers .

Old Vegas - a bit away from the main drag (where the Golden Nugget is)has gotten a bit run down so give it a miss imo.

26/02/2008, 9:47 AM
Miss Raptor has always wanted to get Married in Vegas where as I always swore I'd never set foot in that particular den of iniquity, but hey who am I to deny her dreams, so when we finally do get around to tying the knot it'll be the chapel o' love for us

DaveyCakes
26/02/2008, 11:54 AM
It's 4 or 5 years since i've been, but....

Essentials:

Hoover Dam
The Sterling Sunday Brunch in Ballys (expensive, but well worth a blow-out)
The Big Shot at the Stratosphere
The Star Trek Experience in the Hilton is fun (I'm not a trekkie)
If you venture downtown, there's a great buffet at the Main Street Station
The $4 roulette tables in Excalibur are great fun
The Poker room in the Monte Carlo is nice

Avoid:
Most comedy shows
Everything to do with the Stratosphere except the Big Shot
The Hard Rock Hotel

shedite
29/02/2008, 12:48 PM
I was there last month. Great place. Spent a lot gambling but absolutely loved the rush. It's so hard to walk away when winning. Played Blackjack most of the time, bar one poker competition.

Stayed there twice, Flamingo first time and Bellagio second time. Lovely places. Pure nightclub is brilliant. It's in Caesars Palace.

By the way, if anyone has a few million to spare, they're building a luxurious apartment complex on the strip at the moment:

http://www.citycenter.com/

02/03/2008, 11:26 AM
Just back from a few days there at the tail end of California Holiday.

* Hoover Dam is ok (I wouldn't go out of my way to go there) but the Grand Canyon is worth making the effort. I did the South & East rim & sunset is spectacular.
* Planet Hollywood has a huge indoor mall for shopping needs.
* There is a large Outlet Mall south of the strip ($15-20 taxi ride).
* Probably best to book shows in advance. Blue Man Group at the Venetian was very good. There are several ticket agents on the strip that give discounted tickets for that night but even though they say you may get 50% off seemed more like 20%.
* Days of cheap food long gone & the couple of buffets I tried were average.
* Casino gave me $1.47 when credit card & Irish bank giving $1.42. Seems casino not taking any commission so if I was returning would just bring Euro.

At this time of year mid week was fairly quiet but weekend crowd had arrived by the time I was leaving. Played Blackjack (hard to lose too much at) but I must admit I got bored with it. I had no interest in slots. I would expect it to be busy in May. Stayed in MGM Signature (suites are very impressive but is long trek to the MGM Grand & the strip & Monte Carlo (very average, would not recommend).

My overall impression was that Vegas has something to attract all tastes. Gambling is optional & seems to be more an entertainment centre than anything else. If you want seedy you can find it & if not very easy to avoid.

a.a.d
07/03/2008, 12:50 PM
I can't beleave you lot left out NAPKIN NIGHTS.

We were there as part of our honeymoon also and went onto napkinnights.com and registered, they put you on the VIP lists in a lot of the top nightclubs on the strip. Pure nightclub being on of them.

Do the roller coaster around New York New York - it's great fun.

The Grand canyon is a must

Rent a car and travel a little outside of the city towards - San Fran and you will come across some Ghost Towns - there pretty cool.

The old town is alright for an hour or two but keep your wits about you

Try and get married by Elvis - this is probably the hardest thing to do in Vegas unless you have it pre booked, we tried for three full days and couldn't get a free slot at all. SO all those stars that get married when drunk as a bit of a laugh are lying.

carrickharp
09/07/2008, 11:42 AM
Ye can get a decent fry up in the "Nine Fine Irishmen" in NewYork NewYork.
We have booked into that NewYork NewYork Hotel mad looking spot!! Any other suggestions about things to do in Vegas would be very welcome, we are staying 3 nights so have to get as much in a possible!!

11/07/2008, 9:08 AM
Can I second Pete's recommendation for the Blue Man Group (the guys from the Intel ads years ago) show at the Venetian.

Get tickets near the front, its expensive but I thought it was absolutely brilliant.

Enjoyed Stratosphere more than I thought I would. chickened out of the rides though (clearly getting old, wouldn't have bothered me a few years ago). The new one that catapults you over the edge and then stops is possibly the scariest thing I've ever seen, particularly as you can feel it shake the tower :eek:

Very good Asian restaurant in the Venetian called Tao.

I stayed in the Bellagio this time having stayed in the Luxor the other times I'd been there. Its a lovely hotel but I'm not sure I'd pay the premium again as the standards weren't sufficiently better. I also missed the inclinators at the Luxor which are great fun after a night on the beers :D

14/07/2008, 11:21 AM
in the hills of donegal?!

casso36
16/07/2008, 8:59 AM
Anyone Heading to Vegas, should do the helicopter trip with over night stay in cowboy ranch, cheesy but best trip i've done on a holiday.

Fly over Lake Mead, Hoover Dam, Through Grand Canyon, Dropped off at cowboy ranch where you will be picked up by horse and wagon, brought to ranch where you have the chance to stay in a log cabin or Teepee. Dinner cooked and severed under candle light. After dinner out to camp fire for roasting marshmellows, singing cowboys, few beers, etc. Excellent!!!

Piocked up next morning by helicopter and flown up the Vegas main strip on way back to airport. Think is was around $300 each but well worth it and keeps you away from gambling for a full day and night!!

05/08/2010, 10:39 AM
Right, been a couple of years since anyone posted on this thread. Any updates? I was there for 4 nights in 08 and loved every second. Missus and her mate are planning on going (with hubbies) next year for a joint 30th and Missus is looking for stuff to persuade the other one about Vegas.

05/08/2010, 7:14 PM
if its to convince women - great shopping, lovely weather and cirque du soleil?

05/08/2010, 8:22 PM
if its to convince women - great shopping, lovely weather and cirque du soleil?

Nope, burds are on board. One bloke is hesitatiing. Not a gambler...

05/08/2010, 8:59 PM
hmmm, well theres still plenty to see and do there - Fremont Street at night, catch a show, stuff your faces... its a pretty entertaining city - i doubt he would be disappointed. What is he into? Theres a shooting range that we went to for the laugh and theres places around LV where you can head out to and do outdoorsy stuff too.

higgins
05/08/2010, 9:38 PM
You are trying to convince a guy on the merits of Las Vegas?
If he doesn't know that already then he's probably not the type of guy you want to go to vegas with!!

Ask him what he wants to do...
99% likely that it can be done in Vegas

06/08/2010, 9:41 AM
Tell him the helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon is definetly worth it.If possible get the package that takes you on the helicopter ride down to the surface and takes you on a boat ride down the river. Also the Skywalk there is pretty cool :)

Carrot Top at the Luxor is worth seeing IMO he's very funny

DaveyCakes
06/08/2010, 8:07 PM
Do some shooting...

http://www.thegunstorelasvegas.com/

The "coalition package" is fun

11/03/2011, 11:16 AM
I’m off in May. Any updates on the above?

DaveyCakes
16/03/2011, 1:03 PM
I’m off in May. Any updates on the above?

When in May? Rammstein are playing on the 21st

25/02/2012, 5:45 PM
So excited coz my other half is taking me there in july. Always wanted to go and reading this thread has made me even more excited!

13/04/2012, 9:44 AM
Just completely immerse yourself in the whole lot of it, and enjoy it. Set your limits on gambling and you are fine. Just dont do anymore, its tough but its the best approach. I really dont know how you could go to Vegas and not gamble, and experience the whole thing or even the real thing.

By the end of my stay there my american buddy would chat to no women because he believed they were all prostitutes...I disagreed on a few occassions and the bluntness then came out and he proved to be right.

Great experience, what I found about the people that worked there, particularly the casions, was very refreshing. Thought i had the 5 time roulette thing down to a T and was about $4-500 dollars up till the last few hours of our stay when we went back down about 7 in the morning, and I ended up losing it all and more.

13/04/2012, 10:26 AM
Casino Wars is the only game to play. I love Vegas

17/09/2012, 2:02 AM
Vegas.............Disney for adults. Amazing. I wake up every day and want to be back there. Anyone who can't enjoy vegas can't enjoy life.

Did the Grand Canyon helicopter, landed in the Canyon, picnic lunch with "champagne" and a sun set flight back. Magical.

Shot pink guns (machine gun and hand gun), negotiated with mobsters while lying to cops at the Tropicana, was sent flying up into the night sky on top of the stratosphere in the big shot ride, watched people jump off the stratosphere while sipping a raspberry martini, went to Pawn Stars shop, spent a night soaking up the amazing atmosphere in Fremont street, gambled a little and lived a lot.

Heaven on earth. Even got my fella into a little white chapel. Perfect holiday.

17/09/2012, 2:46 PM
Anyone been to Vegas in July? Would like to go there as part of the Honeymoon but looks likely to be over 40 degrees so might be too warm to really enjoy it. Debating just going on a short break in Europe straight after the wedding and heading to Vegas and New York around October.

17/09/2012, 3:07 PM
Was there in May and it hit 40 on one day. You can't really dress it up as anything other than really, really hot (sorry to blind you with the technical terms)

Everywhere has air con, and as long as I had access to water I'd have no issue with going in July (there'll be lads selling bottles on the bridge walkways from coolers for a dollar - heaven sent)

IsMiseSean
17/09/2012, 4:10 PM
I was there at the end of March 2011. Temp was knocking around the 25-28, perfect really...

17/09/2012, 7:59 PM
I was there from 22nd July to 2nd of August this year and it was hot hot hot. Even at nite it was like walking into an oven when you walked out of a casino. That said it wasn't too big a deal coz everywhere is airconditioned and if walking the strip just pop into one of the many shops and buy cold drinks (including beer) for a few dollars. Or go to Binnions and buy their $1 margarita slushy and enjoy!

Defo go honeymoon there and maybe look at a nite on a grand canyon ranch as well as helicopter.

18/09/2012, 8:58 AM
Oh BTW our honeymoon was Vegas/new York too

18/09/2012, 9:19 AM
Oh BTW our honeymoon was Vegas/new York too

It's been our plan for a long time but only really considered the heat at that time of year when I started thinking of booking it. Loved New York when we were there and she's always wanted to go to Vegas so makes sense to do that.

Given the chance to do it again would you do stick with Vegas/New York or go for something else?

18/09/2012, 10:43 AM
, went to Pawn Stars shop,

Just wondering,were the people off the TV show there? :p

18/09/2012, 5:23 PM
Just wondering,were the people off the TV show there? :p

Unfortunately not! Was gutted! Although when I bought my sons t-shirts was served by a guy that you see working there sometimes.

May I suggest passing that you head to San Francisco too? We spent the weekend there and it was just wonderful. Really lovely atmosphere and only a short flight.

18/09/2012, 10:23 PM
Given the chance to do it again would you do stick with Vegas/New York or go for something else?

I'd do it again in a heart beat (although we got married in the Carribean so we had 2 differing types of holiday in one trip)

I've been back to Vegas since too